DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the claims filled on 12/6/2023 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-24 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/6/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "organic light-emissive layers" in line 1, “cathode electrode layers” in line 2 and “passivation layers” in line 3 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claim 9 from which claim 10 depends defines “an organic light-emissive layer, a cathode electrode layer … and a passivation layer … in a sub-pixel from the plurality of sub-pixels” but does not define plural "organic light-emissive layers", “cathode electrode layers” or “passivation layers”. For the purpose of examination, claim 10 limitation of “the display device of claim 9, wherein” will be interpreted as “the display device of claim 9, wherein each sub-pixel from the plurality of sub-pixels contains the organic light-emissive layer, the cathode electrode layer and the passivation layer and”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 , 12-16, 18, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/035803 A1) herein Kim ‘803.
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘803 teaches a display device(Fig. 9) comprising:
a substrate(110);
a plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) on the substrate(110);
a bank layer(152, ¶0054) on the substrate(110);
a structure(154, ¶0055) on the bank layer(152, ¶0054);
an organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046), a cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) on the organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046), and a passivation layer(972, ¶0113) on the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) in a sub-pixel from the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) such that a portion of the organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046), a portion of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046), and a portion of the passivation layer(972, ¶0113) overlap the bank layer(152, ¶0054) and the structure(154, ¶0055), the passivation layer(972, ¶0113) including an opening that exposes a portion of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) that is on the structure(154, ¶0055); and
a power connection line(960, ¶0115) overlapping the structure(154, ¶0055) such that the structure(154, ¶0055) is between the power connection line(960, ¶0115) and the substrate(110),
wherein the portion of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) is in contact with the power connection line(960, ¶0115).
Regarding claim 12, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the display device further comprises:
a data line(134, ¶0050) on substrate(110); and
a first capping layer(170, ¶0046) between the bank layer(152, ¶0054) and the power connection line(960, ¶0115), wherein the bank layer(152, ¶0054) and the first capping layer(170, ¶0046) are between the data line(134, ¶0050) and the power connection line(960, ¶0115).
Regarding claim 13, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein at least a portion of the data line(134, ¶0050) is non-overlapping with the power connection line(960, ¶0115).
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the first capping layer(170, ¶0046) and the structure(154, ¶0055) are in a same layer on the bank layer(152, ¶0054).
Regarding claim 15, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the display device further comprises:
a second capping layer(182, ¶0046) on the first capping layer(170, ¶0046), the second capping layer(182, ¶0046) covering the power connection line(960, ¶0115).
Regarding claim 16, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the structure(154, ¶0055) comprises a tapered shape(¶0055).
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘803 teaches a display device(Fig. 9) comprising:
a substrate(110);
a bank on the substrate(110), the bank including an opening;
a structure(154, ¶0055) on the bank that is non-overlapping with the opening;
a power connection line(960, ¶0115) including a portion that overlaps the structure(154, ¶0055),
an anode electrode layer(150a, 150b, ¶0046) in the opening;
an organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046) including a first portion(portion of 156 in 1PA and 2PA) and a second portion(portion of 156 in BA), the first portion(portion of 156 in 1PA and 2PA) of the organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046) on the anode electrode layer(150a, 150b, ¶0046) in the opening and the second portion(portion of 156 in BA) of the organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046) on the structure(154, ¶0055);
a cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) including a first portion(portion of 158 in 1PA and 2PA) and a second portion, the first portion(portion of 158 in 1PA and 2PA) of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) on the first portion(portion of 156 in 1PA and 2PA) of the organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046) in the opening and the second portion(portion of 158 in BA) of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) on the second portion(portion of 156 in BA) of the organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046) and the structure(154, ¶0055), the second portion(portion of 158 in BA) of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) in contact with the portion of the power connection line(960, ¶0115) that overlaps the structure(154, ¶0055); and
a passivation layer(972, ¶0113) including a first portion(portion of 972 in 1PA and 2PA) and a second portion, the first portion(portion of 972 in 1PA and 2PA) of the passivation layer(972, ¶0113) on the first portion(portion of 158 in 1PA and 2PA) of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) in the opening and the second portion(portion of 972 in BA) of the passivation layer(972, ¶0113) on the second portion(portion of 156 in BA) of the organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046) and the structure(154, ¶0055) without being between the second portion(portion of158 in BA) of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) and the portion of the power connection line(960, ¶0115) that is in contact with the second portion(portion of158 in BA) of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046).
The claim limitation of the power connection line(960, ¶0115) configured to supply a voltage; the second portion(portion of 158 in BA) of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) receives the voltage from the power connection line(960, ¶0115) is a recitation how the product/device is being used. The structure as defined in Kim ‘803 could be used in the manner claimed (i.e. the power connection line of Kim ‘803 could be used to configured to supply a voltage and the second portion of the cathode electrode layer of Kim ‘803 could be configured to receives the voltage from the power connection line) and thus Kim ‘803 anticipates the limitations of this claim. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, MPEP 2114 (II).
Regarding claim 21, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 19, further comprising:
a first capping layer(170, ¶0046) on the bank, the first capping layer(170, ¶0046) on a same layer as the structure(154, ¶0055); and
a second capping layer(182, ¶0046) on the first capping layer(170, ¶0046) and the power connection line(960, ¶0115).
Regarding claim 23, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 18, further comprising:
a plurality of pixels(1PA, 2PA, red, green, blue and white color pixels ¶0048) are arranged in a matrix form along a first direction and a second direction that intersects the first direction, wherein the power connection line(960, ¶0115) comprises a grid pattern(mesh, ¶0062, ¶0013) extending across the second portion of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/035803 A1) herein Kim ‘803 in view of Kim et al. (US 2011/0241563 A1) herein Kim ‘563 and Kim et al. (US 2022/0208902 A1) herein Kim ‘902.
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘803 teaches a display device(Fig. 9) comprising:
a plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048);
a power line(not illustrated, ¶0061) configured to supply a voltage;
a plurality of structures(154, ¶0055), each structure(154, ¶0055) respectively disposed in a corresponding one of the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048); and
a power connection line(960, ¶0115) overlapping the plurality of structures(154, ¶0055), the power connection line(960, ¶0115) electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048),
wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) includes an organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046), a cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) on the organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046), and a passivation layer(972, ¶0113) on the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046), the passivation layer(972, ¶0113) including an opening that exposes a portion of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) that is on a corresponding structure(154, ¶0055) from the plurality of structures(154, ¶0055) such that the portion of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) is in contact with the power connection line(960, ¶0115).
Kim ‘803 is not relied on to teach the power connection line(960, ¶0115) electrically connected to the power line(not illustrated, ¶0061), and supplies the voltage from the power line to the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) and wherein organic light-emissive layers(156, ¶0046) of adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) from the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are disconnected from each other, cathode electrode layers(158, ¶0046) of the adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are disconnected from each other, and passivation layers(972, ¶0113) of the adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are disconnected from each other. Kim ‘803 does teach the power connection line(960, ¶0115) is an auxiliary electrode(¶0115).
Kim ‘563 teach a display device(Fig. 4) wherein the power connection line(220, ¶0057) electrically connected to the power line(150, ¶0057), and supplies the voltage from the power line(150, ¶0057) to the plurality of sub-pixels(PE, Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kim ‘803, so that the power connection line electrically connected to the power line, and supplies the voltage from the power line to the plurality of sub-pixels, as taught by Kim ‘563, in order to minimize a voltage drop that in the second power voltage VSS due to electrical resistance of the cathode(¶0057).
Kim ‘803 and Kim ‘563 are not relied on to teach organic light-emissive layers(156, ¶0046) of adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) from the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are disconnected from each other, cathode electrode layers(158, ¶0046) of the adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are disconnected from each other, and passivation layers(972, ¶0113) of the adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are disconnected from each other.
Kim ‘902 teaches a display device(Fig. 5) wherein organic light-emissive layers(OL, ¶0076) of adjacent sub-pixels(EA) from the plurality of sub-pixels(EA) are disconnected from each other(¶0078), cathode electrode layers(CAT, ¶0076) of the adjacent sub-pixels(EA) are disconnected from each other(¶0078), and passivation layers(PT, ¶0076) of the adjacent sub-pixels(EA) are disconnected from each other(¶0078). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim ‘803 so that organic light-emissive layers of adjacent sub-pixels from the plurality of sub-pixels are disconnected from each other, cathode electrode layers of the adjacent sub-pixels are disconnected from each other, and passivation layers of the adjacent sub-pixels are disconnected from each other, as taught by Kim ‘902, in order to reduce the parasitic capacitances between the cathode electrode and the data line and between the cathode electrode and the driving current line VDD while having no degradation of video quality due to the interference between the lines with the ultra-high density structure(¶0090).
Regarding claim 2, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the display device further comprises:
a plurality of data lines(134, ¶0050).
Kim ‘803 and Kim ‘563 are not relied on to teach each data line(134, ¶0050) from the plurality of data lines(134, ¶0050) disposed between a pair of adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) adjacent from the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) and is non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) of each of the pair of adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048).
Kim ‘902 teaches a display device(Fig. 5) wherein each data line(DL, ¶0099) from the plurality of data lines(DL, ¶0099) disposed between a pair of adjacent sub-pixels(EA) adjacent from the plurality of sub-pixels(EA) and is non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer(CAT, ¶0076) of each of the pair of adjacent sub-pixels(EA). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim ‘803 so that each data line from the plurality of data lines disposed between a pair of adjacent sub-pixels adjacent from the plurality of sub-pixels and is non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer of each of the pair of adjacent sub-pixels, as taught by Kim ‘902, in order to reduce the parasitic capacitances between the cathode electrode and the data line(¶0099) and between the cathode electrode and the driving current line VDD while having no degradation of video quality due to the interference between the lines with the ultra-high density structure(¶0090).
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are arranged in a matrix form along a first direction and a second direction that intersects the first direction, and the power connection line(960, ¶0115) is formed in a grid pattern(wherein 960 overlaps black matrix 182) extending across the exposed portion of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) in each of the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the power connection line(960, ¶0115) covers an entire area of all of the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048), the power connection line(960, ¶0115) comprising a transparent material.
Kim ‘563 teach a display device(Fig. 4) wherein the power connection line(220, ¶0057) covers an entire area of all of the plurality of sub-pixels(PE, Fig. 3), the power connection line(220, ¶0057) comprising a transparent material(ITO, IZO, ¶0050). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kim ‘803, so that the power connection line covers an entire area of all of the plurality of sub-pixels, the power connection line comprising a transparent material, as taught by Kim ‘563, in order to minimize a voltage drop that in the second power voltage VSS due to electrical resistance of the cathode(¶0057).
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) includes a light-emitting area(¶0048), and the structure(154, ¶0055) included in the sub-pixel(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) is on at least one side of the light-emitting area without overlapping the at least one side of the light-emitting area(¶0048).
Regarding claim 8, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the power line(not illustrated, ¶0061) is a voltage line and the voltage is applied to the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) included in each of the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048).
The limitation of a the power line(not illustrated, ¶0061) is a low-potential voltage line and the voltage is a low-potential voltage that is applied to the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) is a recitation how the product/device is being used. The structure as defined in Kim ‘803 could be used in the manner claimed (i.e. the power line of Kim ‘803 could be configured to supply a low-potential voltage to the cathode electrode layer) and thus Kim ‘803 anticipates the limitations of this claim. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, MPEP 2114 (II).
Kim ‘803 is not relied on to teach the voltage that is applied to the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) via the power connection line(960, ¶0115).
Kim ‘563 teach a display device(Fig. 4) wherein voltage is applied to the to the cathode electrode(730, ¶0057, ¶0044) via the power connection line(220, ¶0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kim ‘803, so that voltage is applied to the to the cathode electrode via the power connection line, as taught by Kim ‘563, in order to minimize a voltage drop that in the second power voltage VSS due to electrical resistance of the cathode(¶0057).
Claims 10-11, 19-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/035803 A1) herein Kim ‘803 in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0208902 A1) herein Kim ‘902.
Regarding claim 10, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein each sub-pixel from the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) contains the organic light-emissive layer(156, ¶0046), the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) and the passivation layer(972, ¶0113).
Kim ‘803 is not relied on to teach organic light-emissive layers(156, ¶0046) of adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) from the plurality of sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are disconnected from each other, cathode electrode layers(158, ¶0046) of the adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are disconnected from each other, and passivation layers(972, ¶0113) of the adjacent sub-pixels(1PA, 2PA, ¶0048) are disconnected from each other.
Kim ‘902 teaches a display device(Fig. 5) wherein organic light-emissive layers(OL, ¶0076) of adjacent sub-pixels(EA) from the plurality of sub-pixels(EA) are disconnected from each other(¶0078), cathode electrode layers(CAT, ¶0076) of the adjacent sub-pixels(EA) are disconnected from each other(¶0078), and passivation layers(PT, ¶0076) of the adjacent sub-pixels(EA) are disconnected from each other(¶0078). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim ‘803 so that organic light-emissive layers of adjacent sub-pixels from the plurality of sub-pixels are disconnected from each other, cathode electrode layers of the adjacent sub-pixels are disconnected from each other, and passivation layers of the adjacent sub-pixels are disconnected from each other, as taught by Kim ‘902, in order to reduce the parasitic capacitances between the cathode electrode and the data line and between the cathode electrode and the driving current line VDD while having no degradation of video quality due to the interference between the lines with the ultra-high density structure(¶0090).
Regarding claim 11, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the display device further comprises: a data line(134, ¶0050) on the substrate(110).
Kim ‘803 is not relied on to teach the data line(134, ¶0050) non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046).
Kim ‘902 teaches a display device(Fig. 5) wherein the data line(DL, ¶0099) non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer(CAT, ¶0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim ‘803 so that the data line non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer, as taught by Kim ‘902, in order to reduce the parasitic capacitances between the cathode electrode and the data line(¶0099) and between the cathode electrode and the driving current line VDD while having no degradation of video quality due to the interference between the lines with the ultra-high density structure(¶0090).
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein an upper surface of the second portion(portion of 158 in BA) of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046) that is in contact with the power connection line(960, ¶0115).
Kim ‘803 is not relied on to teach the second portion(portion of 972 in BA) of the passivation layer(972, ¶0113) includes an end that is coplanar with an upper surface of the second portion of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046).
Kim ‘803 teaches a display device(Fig. 5) wherein the second portion(portion of 972 in BA) of the passivation layer(PT, ¶0076) includes an end that is coplanar with an upper surface of the second portion of the cathode electrode layer(CAT, ¶0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim ‘803 so that the second portion of the passivation layer includes an end that is coplanar with an upper surface of the second portion of the cathode electrode layer, as taught by Kim ‘902, in order to reduce the parasitic capacitances between the cathode electrode and the data line and between the cathode electrode and the driving current line VDD while having no degradation of video quality due to the interference between the lines with the ultra-high density structure(¶0090).
Regarding claim 20, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the display device further comprises: a data line(134, ¶0050).
Kim ‘803 is not relied on to teach a data line(134, ¶0050) that is non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046).
Kim ‘902 teaches a display device(Fig. 5) comprising data line(DL, ¶0099) that is non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer(CAT, ¶0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim ‘803 to include a data line that is non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer, as taught by Kim ‘902, in order to reduce the parasitic capacitances between the cathode electrode and the data line(¶0099) and between the cathode electrode and the driving current line VDD while having no degradation of video quality due to the interference between the lines with the ultra-high density structure(¶0090).
Regarding claim 22, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 21, but is not relied on to teach an upper surface of the first capping layer(170, ¶0046) is coplanar with the end of the second portion of the passivation layer(972, ¶0113) and the upper surface of the second portion of the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046).
Kim ‘803 teaches a display device(Fig. 5) wherein an upper surface of the first capping layer(PC, ¶0077) is coplanar with the end of the second portion of the passivation layer(PT, ¶0076) and the upper surface of the second portion of the cathode electrode layer(CAT, ¶0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim ‘803 so that an upper surface of the first capping layer is coplanar with the end of the second portion of the passivation layer and the upper surface of the second portion of the cathode electrode layer, as taught by Kim ‘902, in order to reduce the parasitic capacitances between the cathode electrode and the data line and between the cathode electrode and the driving current line VDD while having no degradation of video quality due to the interference between the lines with the ultra-high density structure(¶0090).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/035803 A1) herein Kim ‘803 in view of Kim et al. (US 2011/0241563 A1) herein Kim ‘563.
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the display device further comprises:
a power line(not illustrated, ¶0061) configured to supply a voltage(¶0061).
The limitation of a power line(not illustrated, ¶0061) configured to supply a low-potential voltage is a recitation how the product/device is being used. The structure as defined in Kim ‘803 could be used in the manner claimed (i.e. the power line of Kim ‘803 could be configured to supply a low-potential voltage) and thus Kim ‘803 anticipates the limitations of this claim. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, MPEP 2114 (II).
Kim ‘803 is not relied on to teach the power line(not illustrated, ¶0061) connected to the power connection line(960, ¶0115), wherein the power connection line(960, ¶0115) applies the low-potential voltage to the cathode electrode layer(158, ¶0046). Kim ‘803 does teach the power connection line(960, ¶0115) is an auxiliary electrode(¶0115).
Kim ‘563 teach a display device(Fig. 4) wherein the power connection line(220, ¶0057) electrically connected to the power line(150, ¶0057), wherein the power connection line(220, ¶0057) applies voltage to the cathode electrode(730, ¶0057, ¶0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kim ‘803, so that the power connection line electrically connected to the power line, and supplies the voltage from the power line to the plurality of sub-pixels, as taught by Kim ‘563, in order to minimize a voltage drop that in the second power voltage VSS due to electrical resistance of the cathode(¶0057).
The limitation of the power connection line(960, ¶0115) applies the low-potential voltage to the cathode electrode layer is a recitation how the product/device is being used. The structure as defined in Kim ‘803, in view of Kim ‘563 could be used in the manner claimed (i.e. the power connection line of Kim ‘803, in view of Kim ‘563, could be configured to supply a low-potential voltage to the cathode electrode layer) and thus Kim ‘803 anticipates the limitations of this claim. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, MPEP 2114 (II).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/035803 A1) herein Kim ‘803 in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0014362 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Kim ‘803 teaches the display device of claim 18, further comprising:
a plurality of pixels(1PA, 2PA, red, green, blue and white color pixels ¶0048) are arranged in a matrix form along a first direction and a second direction that intersects the first direction.
Kim ‘803 is not relied on to teach wherein the power connection line(960, ¶0115) covers an entire area of all of the plurality of pixels and comprises a transparent material. Kim ‘803 does teach the power connection line(960, ¶0115) is an auxiliary electrode(¶0115).
Li teaches a display device(Fig. 6) wherein the power connection line(13b, ¶0102) covers(¶0083) an entire area of all of the plurality of pixels and comprises a transparent material(¶0102). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim ‘803 so that the power connection line covers an entire area of all of the plurality of pixels and comprises a transparent material, as taught by Li, in order to forgo patterning of the power connection line thus simplifying the difficulty of the process operation(¶0084).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 5, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the outermost boundary of the cathode electrode layer is between the outermost boundary of the organic light-emissive layer and the outermost boundary of the passivation layer”.
Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and inherits it’s allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 2009/0174318 A1)
Lee et al. (US 2019/0165063 A1)
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892