Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 recites the limitation "the cover" in line 1 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US 20160043511), hereinafter Hsu.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses an electrical connector (electrical connector 100, Fig. 1), comprising: a housing (insulative housing 5, Fig. 2), the housing defining a receiving slot (mating cavity 101, Fig. 1) configured to at least partially receive a mating module (Par. 0016, an electrical connector 100 is preferably a plug to be mounted on a printed circuit board for a corresponding mating connector inserted) along a first direction; the housing comprising a first upper surface (see Fig. 3 above, first upper surface 5a) and at least one weight-reducing groove (see Fig. 3 above, weight reducing groove 5b) recessed downwardly from the first upper surface; a first conductive terminal (first conductive terminals, Fig. 3), the first conductive terminal being mounted to the housing (Fig. 2); the first conductive terminal comprising a first contact arm (part of first conductive terminal 31, see Fig. 4); the first contact arm comprising a first contact portion (first contacting portions 311, Fig. 4) protruding into the receiving slot; and a cover plate (metal shell 2, Fig. 1-2), the cover plate being fixed to the first upper surface and covering the at least one weight-reducing groove (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the cover is configured to be sucked by a suction cup so as to grasp the electrical connector (see Fig. 1-2 for flat smooth surface of metal shell 2 capable of being sucked by a suction cup).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20200412067), hereinafter Xu in view of Hsu (US 20160043511).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a housing (metal housing 60, Fig. 1), the housing defining a receiving slot (opening slot 643, Fig. 3) configured to at least partially receive a mating module along a first direction (Par. 0044, “the first conductive terminals 10 and the second terminals 20 described in the previous paragraphs are respectively and symmetrically disposed on the upper surface of the first carrier board 301 and the lower surface of the second carrier board 302 for mating with another connector”); a first conductive terminal (first conductive terminals 10, Fig. 1), the first conductive terminal being mounted to the housing (see Fig. 5); the first conductive terminal comprising a first contact arm (see Fig. 6 above, 10a); the first contact arm comprising a first contact portion protruding into the receiving slot (see Fig. 6 above, 10b).
However, Xu fails to disclose wherein the housing comprises a first upper surface and at least one weight-reducing groove recessed downwardly from the first upper surface; and a cover plate, the cover plate being fixed to the first upper surface and covering the at least one weight-reducing groove.
Hsu teaches wherein the housing comprises a first upper surface (see Fig. 3 above, first upper surface 5a) and at least one weight-reducing groove (see Fig. 3 above, weight reducing groove 5b) recessed downwardly from the first upper surface; and a cover plate (metal shell 2, Fig. 1-2), the cover plate being fixed to the first upper surface and covering the at least one weight-reducing groove (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hsu to modify the invention of Xu to provide an electrical connector wherein the conductive housing comprises a first upper surface and a plurality of weight reducing grooves and a cover plate fixed to the upper surface and covering the weight reducing grooves. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to simplify manufacturing costs. Weight reducing grooves are well known in the field and a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to cut away material from an upper surface of the connector body.
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the housing is a conductive housing; the conductive housing is a metal housing (metal housing 60, Fig. 1); or the conductive housing is a composite housing formed by electroplating a metal material on an insulating material.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Hsu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ni et al. (US Patent 7,297,024), hereinafter Ni.
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 1.
However, Xu fails to disclose wherein the cover is a polyester film.
Ni teaches wherein the cover (plastic cover 68, Fig. 2B) is a polyester film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ni to modify Hsu to provide a cover plate being made of a polyester film. Plastic covers are well known in the art and a person of ordinary skill would make this modification to reduce weight of the connector as well as provide a nonconductive part attached to the electrical connector.
Claim(s) 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 20200412067), in view of Hsu (US 20160043511).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses an electrical connector (connector 100, Fig. 1), comprising: a conductive housing (metal housing 60, Fig. 1), the conductive housing defining a receiving slot (opening slot 643, Fig. 3) configured to at least partially receive a mating module along a first direction (Par. 0044, “the first conductive terminals 10 and the second terminals 20 described in the previous paragraphs are respectively and symmetrically disposed on the upper surface of the first carrier board 301 and the lower surface of the second carrier board 302 for mating with another connector”); a first conductive terminal (first conductive terminals 10, Fig. 1), the first conductive terminal being mounted to but not in contact with the conductive housing (see Fig. 5); the first conductive terminal comprising a first contact arm (see Fig. 6 above, 10a); the first contact arm comprising a first contact portion (see Fig. 6 above, 10b) protruding into the receiving slot to mate with the mating module.
However, Xu fails to disclose wherein the conductive housing comprises a first upper surface and a plurality of weight-reducing grooves recessed downwardly from the first upper surface; wherein the plurality of weight-reducing grooves do not extend through the conductive housing so that the plurality of weight-reducing grooves are not in communication with the receiving slot and a cover plate, the cover plate being fixed to the first upper surface and covering the plurality of weight-reducing grooves.
Hsu teaches wherein the conductive housing comprises a first upper surface (see Fig. 3 above, first upper surface 5a) and a plurality of weight-reducing grooves (see Fig. 3 above, weight reducing groove 5b) recessed downwardly from the first upper surface; wherein the plurality of weight-reducing grooves do not extend through the conductive housing so that the plurality of weight-reducing grooves are not in communication with the receiving slot and a cover plate (metal shell 2, Fig. 1-2), the cover plate being fixed to the first upper surface and covering the plurality of weight-reducing grooves (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hsu to modify the invention of Xu to provide an electrical connector wherein the conductive housing comprises a first upper surface and a plurality of weight reducing grooves and a cover plate fixed to the upper surface and covering the weight reducing grooves. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to simplify manufacturing costs. Weight reducing grooves are well known in the field and a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to cut away material from an upper surface of the connector body.
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 11.
However, Xu fails to disclose a cover plate.
Hsu teaches a cover plate (see discussion in claim 11 above) wherein the cover is configured to be sucked by a suction cup so as to grasp the electrical connector (see Fig. 1-2 for flat smooth surface of metal shell 2 capable of being sucked by a suction cup).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hsu to modify Xu to provide an electrical connector comprising a cover plate capable of being sucked by a suction cup.
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein the conductive housing is a metal housing (metal housing 60, Fig. 1); or the conductive housing is a composite housing formed by electroplating a metal material on an insulating material.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Hsu as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ni et al. (US Patent 7,297,024), hereinafter Ni.
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 11.
However, Xu fails to disclose wherein the cover is a polyester film.
Ni teaches wherein the cover (plastic cover 68, Fig. 2B) is a polyester film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ni to modify Hsu to provide a cover plate being made of a polyester film. Plastic covers are well known in the art and a person of ordinary skill would make this modification to reduce weight of the connector as well as provide a nonconductive part attached to the electrical connector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 15-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art of record not fairly showing, suggesting, or teaching the electrical connector according to claim 4, wherein the conductive housing comprises a first conductive housing; the first conductive housing defines a first terminal module installation slot extending along the first direction; the electrical connector comprises a first terminal module; the first terminal module is partially received in the first terminal module installation slot; the first terminal module comprises the first conductive terminal; the first conductive terminal comprises a first fixing portion connected to the first contact arm; the first fixing portion is arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot, as recited in claim 5. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination. Claims 6-9 are dependent on claim 5 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art of record not fairly showing, suggesting, or teaching the electrical connector according to claim 4, further comprising an insulating fixing block fixed to the conductive housing; wherein the insulating fixing block is located adjacent to a plug-in end of the receiving slot; the insulating fixing block comprises at least one slit communicating with the receiving slot; an end of the first contact arm extends at least partially into the at least one slit, as recited in claim 10. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination.
Regarding claim 15, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art of record not fairly showing, suggesting, or teaching the electrical connector according to claim 14, wherein the conductive housing comprises a first conductive housing; the first conductive housing defines a first terminal module installation slot extending along the first direction; the electrical connector comprises a first terminal module; the first terminal module is partially received in the first terminal module installation slot; the first terminal module comprises the first conductive terminal; the first conductive terminal comprises a first fixing portion connected to the first contact arm; the first fixing portion is arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot, as recited in claim 15. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination. Claims 16-19 are dependent on claim 15 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art of record not fairly showing, suggesting, or teaching the electrical connector according to claim 14, further comprising an insulating fixing block fixed to the conductive housing; wherein the insulating fixing block is located adjacent to a plug-in end of the receiving slot; the insulating fixing block comprises at least one slit communicating with the receiving slot; an end of the first contact arm extends at least partially into the at least one slit, as recited in claim 20. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dang (US 20140273585) discloses an electrical connector comprising a conductive housing.
Wang et al. (US 20150004839) discloses an electrical connector with a housing, a tongue portion, and a plurality of conductive terminals.
Ju et al. (US Patent 9,350,121) discloses an electrical connector including a body, a metallic shell, and a plurality of conductive terminals.
Horii (US 20200091635) discloses an electrical connector comprising a housing, a plurality of grooves, and a plurality of conductive terminals.
Azad (US 20200176937) discloses a connector comprising a conductive housing.
Tsai et al. (US 20200235535) discloses a receptacle connector having a metallic shell and a plurality of conductive terminals.
Lin et al. (US 20230283025) discloses an electrical connector comprising a body, a metallic shell, and a plurality of conductive terminals.
/JEFFREY MOUNTAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834