DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention I and Species A directed to Figs. 4-7 (Claims 1-3 and 6-8) in the reply filed on February 29th, 2012 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 7-10, and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 29th, 2012.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the photodiodes” in line 8 referring back to “a plurality of photodiodes” in line 3 and should be amended to “the plurality of photodiodes” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites “the respective photodiodes” in line 4 referring back to “a plurality of photodiodes” in line 3 of claim 1 and should be amended to “the respective plurality of photodiodes” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites “the respective sensor pixels” in line 6-7 referring back to “a plurality of sensor pixels” in line 2 and should be amended to “the respective plurality of sensor pixels” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites “the openings” in line 2 referring back to “a plurality of openings” in line 9 of claim 1 and should be amended to “the plurality of openings” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites “the openings” in line 2 referring back to “a plurality of openings” in line 9 of claim 1 and should be amended to “the plurality of openings” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites “the openings” in line 2 referring back to “a plurality of openings” in line 9 of claim 1 and should be amended to “the plurality of openings” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0367582 A1), hereinafter as Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a detection device in Figs. 3, 6 and 9 comprising: a substrate (substrate 10) (see [0070]); a plurality of photodiodes (a plurality of sensors 11), in each of which a lower electrode (conductive pattern SD2), a lower buffer layer (layer 1111), an active layer (layer 1112), an upper buffer layer (layer 1113), and an upper electrode (electrode 112) are stacked in the order as listed, in a detection region of the substrate (a region having sensor 11) (see Figs. 3, 6 and 9 and [0076-0077], [0080-0082], [0088]); and a protective film (planarization layer 14) that covers the photodiodes, wherein the protective film has a plurality of openings (plurality of holes K1) in the detection region (see Fig. 9 and [0091], [0128]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the detection device according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of sensor pixels (plurality of pixel regions P) that are arranged in a matrix having a row-column configuration in the detection region and have the respective photodiodes (each pixel region P has sensor 11) (see Fig. 3 and [0062-0063], [0077]), wherein the openings (holes K1) are provided in regions overlapping the respective sensor pixels and are arranged in a matrix having a row-column configuration in the detection region (see Figs. 3, 9-11 and [0093]).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the detection device according to claim 1, wherein areas of the openings are substantially equal (see Fig. 11 and [0122]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the detection device according to claim 1, wherein each of the openings overlaps the lower buffer layer (see Figs. 9-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0367582 A1), hereinafter as Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MISAKI (Pub. No.: US 2019/0187309 A1), hereinafter as MISAKI
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the detection device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the openings is provided in a region surrounded by gate lines and signal lines.
MISAKI discloses a detection device in Fig. 2-3 comprising a plurality of sensor pixels (plurality of photodiode 12) and each sensor pixel is provided in a region surrounded by gate lines (gate lines 11) and signal lines (bias line 16/source line10).
Modifying each of the plurality of sensor pixels of Wang to be surrounded by the gate lines and signal lines as same as the detection device of MISAKI for making each of the openings is provided in a region surrounded by gate lines and signal lines as recited in claim 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify each of the plurality of sensor pixels of Wang to be surrounded by the gate lines and signal lines as same as the detection device of MISAKI for making each of the openings because the modified structure would provide a minimal pixel pitch and higher density for achieving high resolutions imaging in application.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0367582 A1), hereinafter as Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LEE et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0245008 A1), hereinafter as MISAKI
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the detection device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the protective film comprises both an inorganic insulating film and an organic insulating film.
LEE discloses a detection device comprising a protective film (planarization layer 320) comprises both an inorganic insulating film and an organic insulating film (Fig. 2 and [0126]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protective film of Wang to be made of both inorganic and organic insulating films as same as the detection device of LEE because the modified structure would improve thermal stress and moisture protection.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818