Claims 1-16 are currently being examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 9: in line 8 of claim 1 and in line 9 of claim 9, “a spray area of at least two or more nozzle chips” should read as -- a spray area of the at least two or more nozzle chips.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 13 each recite in line 2 of each claim “a spray area” which is unclear whether “a spray area” is the same as or different than “a spray area” of claims 1 and 9 from which claims 5 and 13 indirectly depend. For current examination purposes, “a spray area” in each of claims 5 and 13 is interpreted as the same as “a spray area” of each of claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Surineedi et al. 20220041139 in view of Dodson 20140103147.
Regarding independent claim 1, Surineedi teaches a nozzle system (Fig. 3) comprising:
a nozzle housing (36, 38 in Figs. 5-6) having fluid flowing thereinto (air, which is a first fluid, from air cleaning system 62 described in [0049] and [0053] is fluidly connected to 36, 38 of nozzle housing as air flows between 36, 38 and along 88 as shown in Figs. 4-5, and liquid washer fluid, a second fluid and described in [0054], from liquid cleaning system 76 is fluidly connected to 104, 16, 88 and 90 which are within 36, 38 as shown in Figs. 4-6);
a nozzle cover (16 including 88 and 90 as shown in Figs. 5-6 and described in [0059]) located at an upper end (labeled in annotated Fig. 5) of the nozzle housing (16, 88 and 90 are located at upper end of nozzle housing in annotated Fig. 5) and configured to form a flow path for the fluid flowing into the nozzle housing (as shown in annotated Fig. 5 a flow path for first fluid air is formed along 88, and a flow path for second fluid liquid washer fluid flowing into 104 is formed in 92 between 88 and 90 and second fluid flow path extends circumferentially within 92 as shown in Fig. 6);
at least two or more nozzle chips (nozzle chip is interpreted as spray nozzle portion; plurality of nozzle chips 20 shown in Figs. 6, 9 and 10) configured to face a sensor part (as shown in Figs. 5 and 9 and described in [0035], nozzle chips 20 face sensor part 14), wherein each of the at least two or more nozzle chips is coupled to a corresponding opening (one opening is labeled in annotated Fig. 8 and there is a corresponding opening in 90 for each 20 in Fig. 6) located in the nozzle cover (each corresponding opening is in 90 of nozzle cover as shown in annotated Fig. 8); and
a drainage part (per [0075] drainage channel 46, i.e., drainage part, shown in Fig. 10 can help drain fluid that flows through the gap 74 into the chamber 68) disposed along a spray area (labeled in annotated Fig. 10; 46 is disposed along spray area) of at least two or more nozzle chips (spray area is of at least two or more nozzle chips 20 as shown in annotated Fig. 10; spray area is area from which fluid is sprayed from nozzle chips and drained),
wherein the at least two or more nozzle chips comprise two or more discharge ports (each 20 has discharge ports 22, 24 as shown in Figs. 8 and 9) having different spray angles (22 and 24 have different spray angles as shown in Figs. 8 and 9), wherein the fluid is sprayed to an area of the sensor part at each of the spray angles through each of the discharge ports (as shown in Figs. 8-9 and described in [0034-0035] and [0070-0071], each of 22, 24 sprays at different angles and each sprays a different area of sensor part 14).
Surineedi is silent regarding each of the at least two or more nozzle chips is detachably coupled to the corresponding opening in the nozzle cover.
Dodson teaches a nozzle chip (100 Figs. 1-7) which is detachably coupled to a corresponding opening in a suitable fixture (per [0072-0073] nozzle chip 100 includes threading 106 and circular sealing groove 108 adapted to receive an O-ring for sealing which allows installation and removal of, i.e., detachably coupling, of 100 in a corresponding threaded opening in a suitable fixture such as 800 shown in Figs. 57D-57E which is configured to receive nozzle chip 100 in a corresponding opening). The threading may be configured to mate with threading in a fluid spray system allowing the nozzle chip to be removable for servicing and replacement per [0143].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Surineedi to have each of the at least two or more nozzle chips be detachably coupled to the corresponding opening in the nozzle cover as taught by Dodson to allow the nozzle chips to be removable for servicing and replacement.
Regarding independent claim 9, Surineedi teaches a nozzle system (Fig. 3) comprising:
a nozzle housing (36, 38 in Figs. 5-6) comprising an inlet part (as shown in Fig. 4, 38 has an inlet part at the connection with filter 66 to fluidly connect them as described in [0049], and as shown in annotated Fig. 5, 38 has at least one inlet part which is an opening to allow passage of 104, a plurality of 104 shown in Fig. 6, which are fluidly connected with reservoir 78 shown in Fig. 4 as described in [0060]), and configured to allow fluid to flow thereinto (air, which is a first fluid, from air cleaning system 62 described in [0049] and [0053] is fluidly connected to 36, 38 of nozzle housing as air flows between 36, 38 and along 88 as shown in Figs. 4-5, and liquid washer fluid, a second fluid contained in reservoir 78 and described in [0054], from liquid cleaning system 76 is fluidly connected to 104, 16, 88 and 90 which are within 36, 38 as shown in Figs. 4-6);
a nozzle cover (16 including 88 and 90 as shown in Figs. 5-6 and described in [0059]) located at an upper end (labeled in annotated Fig. 5 above) of the nozzle housing (16, 88 and 90 are located at upper end of nozzle housing in annotated Fig. 5 above) to cover the upper end (16 including 88 and 90 cover upper end of 36, 38 near sensor part 14 in annotated Fig. 5 above) and configured to form a flow path of the fluid (as shown in annotated Fig. 5 above a flow path for first fluid air is formed along 88, and a flow path for second fluid liquid washer fluid flowing into 104 is formed in 92 between 88 and 90 and second fluid flow path extends circumferentially within 92 as shown in Fig. 6), wherein the nozzle cover comprises openings (an opening is labeled in annotated Fig. 8 above and there is a respective opening in 90 of the nozzle cover for each nozzle chip 20 shown in Figs. 3 and 6) in an area thereof facing a sensor part (similar to as shown in instant application Fig. 2 which indicates opening 210, at which nozzle chip 300 is connected, is in area of nozzle cover 200 facing upward toward sensor part 20 in Fig. 1, in annotated Fig. 8 of Surineedi opening in 90, which is part of the nozzle cover, openings at which nozzle chips 20 are connected are in area of 90 facing upward toward sensor part 14);
at least two or more nozzle chips (nozzle chip is interpreted as spray nozzle portion; plurality of nozzle chips 20 shown in Figs. 6 and 9) configured to face the sensor part (as shown in Figs. 5 and 9 and described in [0035], nozzle chips 20 face sensor part 14), wherein each of the at least two or more nozzle chips is coupled to a corresponding one of the openings (one opening is labeled in annotated Fig. 8 and there is a corresponding opening in 90 for each 20 in Fig. 6) located in the nozzle cover (each corresponding opening is in 90 of nozzle cover as shown in annotated Fig. 8); and
a drainage part (per [0075] drainage channel 46, i.e., drainage part, shown in Fig. 10 can help drain fluid that flows through the gap 74 into the chamber 68) disposed along a spray area (labeled in annotated Fig. 10; 46 is disposed along spray area) of at least two or more nozzle chips (spray area is of at least two or more nozzle chips 20 as shown in annotated Fig. 10; spray area is area from which fluid is sprayed from nozzle chips and drained),
wherein each of the at least two or more nozzle chips comprise two or more discharge ports (each 20 has discharge ports 22, 24 as shown in Figs. 8 and 9) having different spray angles (22 and 24 have different spray angles as shown in Figs. 8 and 9), wherein the fluid is sprayed to an area of the sensor part at each of the spray angles through each of the discharge ports (as shown in Figs. 8-9 and described in [0034-0035] and [0070-0071], each of 22, 24 sprays at different angles and each sprays a different area of sensor part 14).
Surineedi is silent regarding each of the at least two or more nozzle chips is detachably coupled to the corresponding one of the openings.
Dodson teaches a nozzle chip (100 Figs. 1-7) which is detachably coupled to a corresponding opening in a suitable fixture (per [0072-0073] nozzle chip 100 includes threading 106 and circular sealing groove 108 adapted to receive an O-ring for sealing which allows installation and removal of, i.e., detachably coupling, of 100 in a corresponding threaded opening in a suitable fixture such as 800 shown in Figs. 57D-57E which is configured to receive nozzle chip 100 in a corresponding opening). The threading may be configured to mate with threading in a fluid spray system allowing the nozzle chip to be removable for servicing and replacement per [0143].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Surineedi to have each of the at least two or more nozzle chips is detachably coupled to the corresponding one of the openings as taught by Dodson to allow the nozzle chips to be removable for servicing and replacement.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Surineedi in view of Dodson teaches all that is claimed above and Surineedi further teaches the two or more discharge ports comprise:
a first discharge port (22 Figs. 8-9) configured to spray the fluid to the sensor part (22 sprays sensor part 14 in Fig. 9); and
a second discharge port (24 Figs. 8-9) configured to have a vertical spray angle lower than a vertical spray angle of the first discharge port (in light of vertical spray angles shown in instant application Fig. 4C, as shown in Fig. 8 of Surineedi, vertical spray angle of 24 is lower than vertical spray angle of 22).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Surineedi in view of Dodson teaches all that is claimed above and Surineedi further teaches the first discharge port is spaced farther apart from the sensor part than the second discharge port (as shown in Figs. 5, and 8-9, 22 is spaced farther apart from 14 than is 24).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Surineedi in view of Dodson teaches all that is claimed above and Surineedi further teaches the second discharge port is located at a front end of the first discharge port (in light of instant application Fig. 4A where 320 is in front of 310, in annotated Fig. 8 of Surineedi below 24 is in front of 22, i.e., is at front end of 22), and comprises an inclined portion (portion of wall 110 between 22 and 24 with inclined lower surface 118 of 22 and inclined upper surface 116 of 24 in Fig. 8; [0073] describes each of 22 and 24 having an upper surface 116 and a lower surface 118) configured to form the vertical spray angle of the first discharge port (lower surface 118 of 22 is inclined and is at top of inclined portion and is configured to form the vertical spray angle of 22 as shown in annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Surineedi in view of Dodson teaches all that is claimed above and Surineedi further teaches the drainage part is disposed along a side (lower side of spray area below nozzle cover 16 in annotated Fig. 10) of a spray area (see 112(b): spray area is labeled in annotated Fig. 10) of, and fluidly connected to, the first discharge port (drainage part 46 is fluidly connected to first discharge port 22 as at least a portion of fluid sprayed from first discharge port 22 flows through gap 74 to drainage part 46), wherein the drainage part is disposed along at least one side surface (a lower side surface) of opposite side surfaces (a lower side surface is opposite an upper side surface) of the second discharge port (drainage part 46 is disposed along a lower side surface of the second discharge port 24, with the lower side surface below nozzle cover 16 and below second discharge port 24 while an upper side surface is above nozzle cover 16 and above second discharge port 24; at least a portion of fluid sprayed from second discharge port 24 flows along an upper side surface and through gap 74 to drainage part 46 disposed on a lower side surface).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Surineedi in view of Dodson teaches all that is claimed above and Surineedi further teaches a horizontal area of the fluid sprayed through the second discharge port is wider than a horizontal area of the fluid sprayed through the first discharge port (as shown in Fig. 9 and as described in [0071], spray angle β2 of the second opening 24 may be larger, i.e., wider horizontally, than the spray angle β1 of the first opening 22, such that a horizontal area of the liquid washer fluid sprayed through 24 is wider than a horizontal area of the liquid washer fluid sprayed through 22, similar to as shown in instant application Fig. 4C and described in instant specification [0072]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Surineedi in view of Dodson teaches all that is claimed above and Surineedi further teaches each of the first discharge port and the second discharge port is configured to have a height equal to or lower than a height of an end of the nozzle cover (as shown in Figs. 5 and 8, each of 22 and 24 have a vertical height lower than a vertical height of top end of 88 at 70 of the nozzle cover).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Surineedi in view of Dodson teaches all that is claimed above and Surineedi further teaches each of the nozzle housing and the nozzle cover is configured to have an arc shape (as shown in Figs. 2-3 and 5-6, nozzle housing 36,38 and nozzle cover 16, 88 and 90 are each configured to have an arc shape where they extend around sensor part 14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the current 103 rejection relies on a different interpretation of prior art of record Surineedi with respect to “a drainage part” and “a spray area” necessitated by the amendments to claims 1 and 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741