DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
The drainpipe or an embodiment of a fluid injection unit comprising a structure which is a ring and is removably couplable between a chamber of the waste disposal system and a drainpipe of a sink basin
The trench formed by the base portion of the splashguard
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 8-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 states “oriented at an angle a radius defined”. As best understood an angle ‘a’ is not being defined but the statement should read ‘oriented at an angle to a radius defined’.
Claims 8-10 introduce a ‘valve’ and define it as having a power source, relay and integrated power monitor however the claimed structure does not appear to be a ‘valve’ but instead Applicant’s “manifold 154” which is configured to control one or more valves.
For the purpose of examination the ‘valve’ is being interpreted as a manifold or other control structure.
Claim 11 requires a splashguard be provided with:
a plurality of inverted petals extending within a perimeter of the sidewall
What applicant considers a ‘petal’, including what structure/arrangement would be required for said ‘petals’ be considered ‘inverted petals’ is not defined in the claims or further details in the specification. For the purpose of examination Fig. 8 is being relied upon to define the petals as individual protrusions extending within the perimeter of the splashguard sidewalls. Applicant is advised to define what constitutes an ‘inverse petal’ for a more specified/detailed limitation/interpretation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the ring" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 depends from claim 13 which doesn’t define the ‘structure’ as a ring.
Claim 16 is rejected due to its dependency from claim 15.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the modular flange" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,249,749 (Krebsbach).
Regarding claim 1, Krebsbach discloses a waste disposal system for use with a sink assembly (50) including a basin and structure defining a drain opening (Figs. 1, 4), the waste disposal system comprising:
a waste disposal unit (10), comprising a chamber having at least a first end (42) and a second end (16), wherein the first end of the first chamber is fluidly coupled to the drain opening (Figs. 1, 3) and the second end is connected to a drainpipe (16 is defined as a sewage drain hose connection), and a motorized cutting mechanism (blades 11, power line 17) housed within the first chamber; and
a fluid-injection unit (12/20/21/22/23) disposed within or proximate the first end of the waste disposal unit, the direct injection assembly including a structure having a fluid inlet (12) defined on an outer surface thereof, the fluid inlet being coupleable to a fluid source, and a plurality of nozzles (22/23) defined on an inner surface of the structure and directed toward an interior of the chamber (Figs. 1, 4, 8), wherein the fluid-injection unit is configured to direct fluid received from the fluid inlet to the plurality of nozzles to allow a plurality of fluid streams to enter the chamber (C3 L2-22).
Regarding claim 2, Krebsbach discloses that the structure of the fluid injection unit comprises a hollow ring (20), wherein an inner surface defines a plurality of baffles (barriers between jet openings 23) and wherein a nozzle (22) of the plurality of nozzles is defined between adjacent baffles (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Krebsbach discloses that each of the nozzles of the plurality of nozzles is oriented at an angle to a radius defined by the inner surface of the hollow ring such that the fluid-injection unit is configured to deliver fluid into the chamber as a plurality of angled fluid streams (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Krebsbach discloses that the fluid inlet (12) comprises a stem (Fig. 2), and wherein the fluid source is removably couplable to the stem (connection between inlet stem 12 and control manifold 40 or a direct connection to a source can be detached or otherwise broken).
Regarding claim 7, Krebsbach further discloses further comprising a solenoid assembly having at least a first solenoid valve (24), wherein the solenoid assembly is configured to receive signals from associated sensors or actuators (actuated when disposal is actuated by relay 25), and wherein, in response to received signals, the solenoid assembly causes the first solenoid valve to open and allow fluid to enter the direct injection assembly (C3 L23-49).
Regarding claim 8, Krebsbach further discloses a valve/manifold (40) configured to control and operate waste disposal unit, wherein the valve includes an independent power source (28) and a relay (25) to activate and deactivate the waste disposal unit (C3 L31-38).
Regarding claim 13, Krebsbach discloses a fluid-injection unit for use with and coupleable to a waste disposal system, the fluid injection assembly comprising:
a structure (20) having a fluid inlet (12) on an outer surface thereof, the fluid inlet being coupleable to an external fluid source; and
at least one nozzle (22/23) formed on a surface of the structure and oriented toward a central axis of the structure (Fig. 8), wherein the fluid injection unit is configured to direct fluid from the fluid inlet through the at least one nozzle toward the central axis.
Regarding claim 14, Krebsbach discloses that the structure comprises a ring (20; C3 L2-3) removably coupleable between a chamber of the waste disposal system and a drainpipe of a sink basin (50) (Annotated figure below. The spray ring is recessed into the bottom of collar 21 beneath flange 34, as such the ring will be below part of the drain pipe).
Regarding claim 15, Krebsbach discloses that the structure of the fluid injection unit comprises a hollow ring (20), wherein an inner surface defines a plurality of baffles (barriers between jet openings 23) and wherein a nozzle (22) of the at least one nozzle is defined between adjacent baffles (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Krebsbach discloses that at least one nozzle comprises a plurality of nozzles (22), and wherein each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is oriented at an angle degree relative to a radius length defined by the inner surface (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Krebsbach discloses that the ring includes structure defining at least a first barrier wall proximal to the fluid inlet (inner ring wall opposite the fluid inlet), the fluid injection unit being configured such that fluid flow entering via the fluid inlet is forced in a particular direction (circumferential direction instead of radial) relative to an outer wall of the ring (‘modular flange’), thereby enabling the fluid to be delivered in a variety of intersecting streams at different orientations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected in the alternate under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebsbach in view of US 2023/0064960 (Chen).
Regarding claim 5, Krebsbach does not disclose the inclusion of an ozone generator configured to produced ozonated water for the water injection unit.
Chen teaches a waste disposal system comprising a waste disposal unit (2) which is supplied with water from a fluid source (141) through a sink faucet outlet (13). Chen further teaches the provision of an ozone generator (12/121) between the fluid source and outlet and that the system is configured to direct fluid from the fluid source (521) through the ozone generator (523/1414/1415) which is configured to generate ozonated water for dispensing into the waste disposal unit (Para. 0040, 0043-0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an ozone generator between the fluid source and water injection unit configure the system to direct fluid from the fluid source through the oxygen generator to generate ozonated water for the fluid injection system, as taught by Chen, to prevent the spread of odor and/or disease from the processed waste and/or to provide additional cleaning/sterilization functionality to the waste disposal system.
Claim 6 is rejected in the alternate under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebsbach in view of US 9,696,728 (Gormley).
Regarding claim 4, Krebsbach does not disclose the inclusion of a cleaning agent repository configured for directing a cleaning agent from the repository into the fluid for cleaning the chamber.
Gormley teaches a waste disposal system (300) comprising a waste disposal (102) with a chamber for processing food/waste, a water injection unit (122/208) configured for dispensing water into the waste disposal chamber and a cleaning agent repository (266) comprising a cleaning agent which is in fluid communication with the waste disposal system (264/268/208) and is configured for directing a cleaning agent from the repository into the fluid/water supplied to the waste disposal for cleaning the waste disposal (C11 L52- C12 L30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a cleaning agent repository configured to supply a cleaning agent to the fluid injector, as taught by Gormley, to facilitate the addition of cleaning agents or other additives into the supplied water for sanitizing the disposal and drainage systems and/or assisting with the break-up of food.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebsbach in view of CN 110471358 (Li).
Regarding claim 9, Krebsbach discloses that the valve/manifold includes a control unit comprising a timer (26) for run-cycle timing of the disposal unit (C3 L35-49) however it does not disclose the inclusion of an integrated power monitor measuring electrical current.
Li teaches a waste disposal unit for use with a sink comprising a waste disposal (5) with a cutting mechanism, a water injection system (4) and a valve/manifold (1) for controlling the water disposal unit and fluid injection unit. Li further teaches that the valve/manifold comprises an integrated power monitor (103) with a current sensor (1034) and a timer (1035). Wherein the integrated power monitor is configured to measure electrical current to determine a loaded consumption and an unloaded consumption of the cutting mechanism, thereby indicating when the cutting mechanism is in use (Specification). Li teaches that the integrated power monitor is configured to use the current monitoring to determine when to permit a shutdown timer to end the disposal process (Specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a power monitoring unit configured to monitor the current of the cutting mechanism which indicates the presence or absence of waste to be cut, as taught by Li, so that the system is configured to control the run cycle timing based upon the presence or absence of waste.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Krebsbach in view of Li would result in a power monitoring unit comprising a current sensor monitoring the cutting unit and a timer configured to shut down the system. As such the resultant combination would be configured to monitor run-cycle timing to enhance elimination of waste water from the waste disposal unit at least by ensuring continued operation of the waste disposal unit until an absence of waste is detected and then shutting the system down.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebsbach in view of US 6,719,228 (Berger).
Regarding claim 11, Krebsbach discloses the inclusion of a splashguard (18) however it doesn’t provide details such as if it comprises a sidewall, base portion and a plurality of ‘inverted petals’.
Berger teaches a splashguard (300) for use with a waste disposer (110) which is configured to seat in a drain opening of a sink assembly (Fig. 9). The splashguard comprises a sidewall (annotated figure below, 310 above groove 312, a base portion extending below a bottom edge of the sidewall (annotated figure below, beneath groove 312) and a plurality of ‘inverted petals’ (340) extending within a perimeter of the sidewall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a splashguard comprising a base portion, sidewall and a plurality of inverted petals extending within the perimeter of the sidewall, as taught by Berger, so as to prevent food/waste/water from splashing out of the disposer and back into the sink during use while still facilitating the insertion of food/waste and passing of water.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,471,438 (Chavez) in view of Krebsbach.
Regarding claims 18-19, Chavez discloses a sink assembly, comprising:
a basin (101) comprising a floor and a plurality of sidewalls extending upwardly from the floor, the floor and the plurality of sidewalls defining a reservoir that is configured to receive fluid therein;
a faucet (111) for dispensing a fluid therefrom;
a drainpipe (511) extending downwardly from the floor of the basin;
a waste disposal unit (103/601) comprising a chamber (602) having a cutting or pulverizing unit (201) housed within the chamber, the chamber having at least a first end (inlet) and a second end (outlet 106), wherein the first end of the first chamber is fluidly coupled to the drainpipe; and
a fluid-injection unit (510/606/607) disposed within or proximate the first end of the waste disposal unit, the fluid-injection unit including a nozzle (607) directed toward an interior of the first chamber, wherein the fluid-injection unit is configured to direct fluid received from an external fluid source coupled to the fluid-injection unit to the nozzle and into the chamber.
Chavez, however, does not explicitly disclose details of the structure of the fluid injection unit such as the number of nozzles or fluid inlets.
Krebsbach teaches a waste disposal system for a sink comprising a disposal unit (10) and a fluid injection unit (12/20/22/23), wherein the fluid injection unit can be formed in an upper end of a chamber of the disposal unit (Fig. 3).or between the sink and the disposal unit (Fig. 1). Krebsbach further teaches that the fluid injection unit comprises a structure having a fluid inlet (12) on an outer surface thereof for connecting to an external fluid source and to provide fluid to a plurality of nozzles (22/23) configured to direct fluid toward a center of the disposal unit chamber (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the fluid inject unit to comprise a body comprising a water inlet on an outer surface and a plurality of nozzles on an inner surface, as taught by Krebsbach, so as to facilitate the supply of fluid/water from an external fluid source and distributing said fluid throughout the chamber to facilitate an efficient/safe disposal process.
Regarding claim 20, Chavez states that the waste disposal unit is configured to be run when fluid is directed within the chamber via the fluid-injection unit, independent of whether the faucet is dispensing fluid therefrom (C8 L51-C9 L7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose a waste disposal system as claimed comprising a waste disposal unit, a fluid injection unit and a splashguard wherein the fluid injection unit comprises a water inlet on an exterior surface and a plurality of nozzles on an inner surface and wherein the splashguard comprises a sidewall and a base which forms a trench extending down from the sidewall, an opening/aperture in the side of the base in fluid communication with at least one nozzle of the water injection unit and a plurality of inverse petals extending within the perimeter of the sidewall such that fluid supplied to the fluid injection unit flows through a nozzle of the fluid injection unit, into the trench of the splashguard through the base opening and onto the underside of the inverted petals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 20130025936 (Lee) teaches a waste disposal system comprising a disposal unit, a fluid injection unit and a splash guard comprising a trench and a plurality of nozzles on the bottom however it doesn’t comprise a plurality of ‘inverted petals’ extending within a perimeter of the sidewall and having an underside exposed to water in the trench.
US 2,784,915 (Gordon) teaches a garbage disposal unit comprising a spray ring positioned between the drain outlet and a chamber of the disposal wherein the spray ring comprises a plurality of nozzles directed into the chamber and an external fluid outlet.
US 4,183,470 (Hovartos) teaches a waste disposal system comprising a disposal chamber and water injection unit including a spray ring with a plurality of nozzles.
US 5,308,000 (Riley) teaches a waste disposal system comprising a disposal unit and a fluid injection system as well as a valve and control system configured to ensure proper fluid supply to the disposal unit through the fluid injection unit during use.
US 7,100,850 (Farmerie) teaches a waste disposal system comprising a disposal unit with a chamber and a fluid injection unit with the disposal removably coupled to a drainpipe of a sink.
/NICHOLAS A ROS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754