DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…contacted the circuit…” should be “…contacting the circuit…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US Pub. No. 2017/0207208).
Regarding claim 1, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses an electronic device, comprising: a circuit structure layer (120, paragraph [0016]) having a first side (facing 105) and a second side (facing 141) opposite to the first side; an insulation layer (107, paragraph [0015]) disposed on the first side and contacted the circuit structure layer; a function element (one 141, paragraph [0023]) disposed on the second side of the circuit structure layer; and a protection layer (151, paragraph [0026]; provides at least some mechanical protection), wherein the protection layer exposes a surface of the function element and the surface is away from the circuit layer.
Regarding claim 2, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses that the protection layer is in contact with the circuit structure layer.
Regarding claim 3, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses that the circuit structure layer comprises a plurality of first conductive pads (portion of 123 contacting 109, paragraph [0017]) located at the first side, and the insulation layer is in contact (via intervening layers) with at least one of the plurality of first conductive pads.
Regarding claim 4, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses that the circuit structure layer comprises a plurality of second conductive pads (127, paragraph [0019]) located at the second side and electrically connected with the function element.
Regarding claim 5, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses that the function element comprises a plurality of pads (143, paragraph [0024]), one of the plurality of pads is overlapped with one of the plurality of second conductive pads, and a width of the one of the plurality of second conductive pads is greater than a width of the one of the plurality of pad of the function element.
Regarding claim 6, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses that the circuit structure layer includes a plurality of dielectric layers (121, 122, paragraph [0016]), a plurality of circuit layers, and a plurality of conductive vias, and the conductive vias penetrates through at least one dielectric layer to be electrically connected to the circuit layers (123, paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 7, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses that at least two of the plurality of dielectric layers have different thicknesses (portion of 122 over 123 is thinner than 121), and at least two of the plurality of circuit layers have different thicknesses (measured at different portions of 123).
Regarding claim 8, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses that the function element comprises a light emitting element (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 9, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses that the function elements comprises a sensing element (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 10, in FIGs. 1-6, Chen discloses another function element (another 141) adjacent to the function element, wherein the function element and the another function element are different in height.
Conclusion
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891