DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3 June 2026 have been fully considered.
Section 112
The rejection is overcome by amendment.
Section 101, Step 2A, Prong 1
Applicant argues that under Step 2A, Prong 1, the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. This is a misstatement of the steps. Prong 1 is whether the claim recites an abstract idea; Prong 2 is whether the claim is directed to an abstract idea. The grounds of rejection, in Step 2A, Prong 1, explain how every claim limitation, other than “passing the mask tokens to a masked Language Model along with its context,” recites an abstract idea. Insofar as Applicant’s remarks can be characterized as arguing that limitations held to recite an abstract idea do not recite an abstract idea, they are responded to below:
Applicant argues that concatenation is technical and “ensures visual attributes guide the extraction.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Concatenation is the act of combining two strings; combining the words “base” and “ball” to form “baseball” is concatenation. Applicant advances no argument why concatenation is not practically performable in the human mind. There is no articulatable rationale how combining two strings “ensures visual attributes guide the extraction.” Applicant’s argument that this is novel is not a rationale why a person could not concatenate attributes.
Applicant argues that “identifying, by the meta-data extraction device, a cell-wise location coordinates for text characters associated with the document, wherein the cell-wise location coordinates are indicative of inter-relationship of one or more cells of the document based on surrounding embedding,” is not practically performable in the human mind because the coordinates are “pixel-level spatial data rather than qualitative human observation of position.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not require pixel-level spatial data. Even were this claimed, a human can nevertheless arbitrarily guess a pixel absent a specific computer-implemented means of identifying the pixels coordinates of the cell that is a) not itself a calculation or b) not practically performable in the human mind.
Applicant argues that calculating distance is not a mental process. This is not responsive to the grounds of rejection, which held it to be a calculation.
Applicant argues that GCN-IA transforming data does not recite an abstract idea. Examiner agrees. That is why it was treated as an additional element.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Applicant argues that the claims are directed to an improvement to technology. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Every claim limitation, aside from “passing the mask tokens to a masked Language Model along with its context” in the independent claims, and “wherein distance of each of top, left, right and bottom cell is determined with respect to a main text cell to create a compact surrounding embedding, wherein the surrounding embedding is created using a Graph Convolution Network with Informative Attention (GCN-IA),” in claims 4, 12, and 20, was held to recite an abstract idea.
As to the masked language model, the claims do not explicitly recite that the masked Language Model actually do anything. Even if it did, mere functional claiming is not sufficient; details of how the masked Language Model works would be necessary to establish that this is more than mere instruction to apply the exception of substituting tokens using a masked Language Model as a tool. MPEP § 2106.05(f).
As to the GCN-IA, Applicant does not contest the holding that this merely links the abstract idea of calculating the distance to the technological field of machine learning. See Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., 134 F.4th 1205, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2025).
Applicant argues that transforming attributes into meta-data is an improvement. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Transforming data is not a patentable transformation. MPEP § 2106.05(c).
Step 2B
Applicant argues that the combination of limitations is not well-understood, routine, or conventional. This is immaterial. As above with Step 2A, Prong 2, every claim limitation, aside from “passing the mask tokens to a masked Language Model along with its context” in the independent claims, and “wherein distance of each of top, left, right and bottom cell is determined with respect to a main text cell to create a compact surrounding embedding, wherein the surrounding embedding is created using a Graph Convolution Network with Informative Attention (GCN-IA),” in claims 4, 12, and 20, was held to recite an abstract idea.
Any combination of abstract ideas alone, no matter how novel, no matter how non-conventional, is an abstract idea. Given that every claim limitation aside from the two identified above recite an abstract idea, and given that there is no explanation as to what the masked Language Model accomplishes or how the GCN-IA improves technology on its own, these are both generic computer functions used to implement the abstract idea, and therefore represent a conventional arrangement. MPEP §§ 2106.07(a)(III)(B), 2106.05(d)(II); see BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Section 103
Applicant argues that Li does not teach capturing, by the meta-data extraction device, a deep contextual meaning from the one or more text cells present in the document using a domain specific language model or capturing, by the meta-data extraction device, a complex visual layout of the document using a domain specific visual model. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Applicant admits, “Li employs an LSTM-based semantic feature extractor and CNN-derived visual features.” Whatever other differences there are between Applicant’s disclosure and the disclosure of Li, they exist in the disclosure, not the claims. Applicant is welcome to amend these features into the claims, but until this is done, Applicant may not rely on them to distinguish the invention as claimed under a broadest reasonable interpretation and Li.
As in the last office action, Applicant keeps pointing to terms that cannot be found in the claims and arguing that these distinguish the claimed invention from those of the references. As in the last office action, Applicant is welcome to amend these features into the claims, but still has not done so.
Applicant argues that Liu does not teach calculating n-gram minimum edit distance for remaining OOV sub-words. Examiner agrees, but notes that the claims do not require that there actually be any OOV sub-words not substituted; the claims cover an embodiment where the advanced text tokenization performs token substitution on all the OOV tokens by finding all the missing sub-words in the vocabulary of a pre-trained model, in which case there are no OOV sub-words remaining to calculate an m-gram distance for.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As per claims 1, 9, and 17:
The claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
The limitation, “capturing, by a meta-data extraction device, one or more of style attributes from the document, where a style embedding is created by concatenating the captured one or more style attributes, and wherein the style embedding is created before creating a word embedding from text present in the document,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “capturing” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to what style attributes are used. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The limitation, “identifying, by the meta-data extraction device, a cell-wise location coordinates for text characters associated with the document, wherein the cell-wise location coordinates are indicative of inter-relationship of one or more cells of the document based on surrounding embedding,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “identifying” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to position of text with relation to other text on a page. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The limitation, “capturing, by the meta-data extraction device, a deep contextual meaning from the one or more text cells present in the document using a domain specific language model,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “capturing” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to the semantic meaning of the texts. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The limitation, “capturing, by the meta-data extraction device, a complex visual layout of the document using a domain specific visual model,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “capturing” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to what meaning can be gleaned from the visual layout. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The limitation, “processing, by the meta-data extraction device, the captured deep contextual meaning and the complex visual layout to determine the meta-data information,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “processing” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to the content of the meta-data information. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The limitation, “substituting a missing sub-word with already available sub-word in a vocabulary of pre-trained model,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “substituting” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to what available sub-word to use. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The limitation, “substituting OOV sub-words by mask tokens,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “substituting” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to what mask token to use. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The limitation, “for any OOV sub-words not substituted by any in-vocabulary sub-word, calculating m-gram minimum edit distance between remaining OOV sub-words and in-vocabulary sub-words to determine a substitution word for OOV sub-words,” as drafted, covers a calculation. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
Accordingly, the claim(s) recites abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a).
For the purposes of evaluating whether the claim(s) is directed to an abstract idea or is significantly more than an abstract idea, these recited abstract ideas can be considered together as a single abstract idea, namely extracting text and metadata from a document. MPEP § 2106.04(II)(B).
The abstract idea of extracting text and metadata from a document is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional element, “passing the mask tokens to a masked Language Model along with its context,” merely invokes machine learning as a tool to perform the mental process of figuring out what token to substitute for the out-of-vocabulary token. MPEP § 2106.05(f).
As an ordered combination, the claim(s) merely automates the manual task of determining a replacement token using generic computer functions. MPEP §§ 2106.05(a), 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claim(s) as a whole, and therefore the claim is directed to an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(d).
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the conclusions for the additional elements being generic computer components and mere instructions to apply on a computer, insignificant extra-solution activity, and/or mere field of use limitations are carried over and these additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.05(II).
As an ordered combination, the claim simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the abstract idea because the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement the abstract idea. MPEP §§ 2106.07(a)(III)(B), 2106.05(d)(II); see BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Accordingly, the claim(s) does not recite additional elements, either individually or in combination, that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.05. Therefore, as the claim(s) is directed to an abstract idea and does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, the claim(s) is not patentable. MPEP § 2106.
As per claims 2, 10, and 18:
The claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
The limitation, “wherein the cell-wise location coordinates for the at least one attribute are captured using a page segmentation and a border table extraction mechanism,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “capturing” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to the location of page segments and border tables. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Accordingly, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(a). As the claim(s) recites no additional elements, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application, the claim is directed to the abstract idea, and the claim(s) does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.07. Therefore, as the claim(s) is directed to an abstract idea and does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, the claim(s) is not patentable. MPEP § 2106.
As per claims 3, 11, and 19:
The claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
The limitation, “wherein for determining the relationship between nearby one or more cells present in the document, a distance between each of the cells is determined, and wherein upon determination of the distance between each of the cells, a shortest distant text cell in top, left, right and bottom direction of the particular cell is determined,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “determining” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to the distances. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Accordingly, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(a). As the claim(s) recites no additional elements, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application, the claim is directed to the abstract idea, and the claim(s) does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.07. Therefore, as the claim(s) is directed to an abstract idea and does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, the claim(s) is not patentable. MPEP § 2106.
As per claims 4, 12, and 20:
The abstract idea of extracting information from a document is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional element, “wherein distance of each of top, left, right and bottom cell is determined with respect to a main text cell to create a compact surrounding embedding, wherein the surrounding embedding is created using a Graph Convolution Network with Informative Attention (GCN-IA),” amounts to no more than generally linking the abstract idea to the particular field of use or technological environment of machine learning. MPEP § 2106.05(h).
As an ordered combination, the claim(s) is mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a computer. MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claim(s) as a whole, and therefore the claim is directed to an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(d).
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the conclusions for the additional elements being generic computer components and mere instructions to apply on a computer, insignificant extra-solution activity, and/or mere field of use limitations are carried over and these additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.05(II). In re-evaluating the limitations that are field of use, the following limitations represent elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, conventional activity within the field of computer functions:
The additional element, “wherein distance of each of top, left, right and bottom cell is determined with respect to a main text cell to create a compact surrounding embedding, wherein the surrounding embedding is created using a Graph Convolution Network with Informative Attention (GCN-IA),” is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity because it is described in a manner that indicates that the additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. 112(a). MPEP § 2106.07(a)(III)(A).
As an ordered combination, the claim simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the abstract idea because the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement the abstract idea. MPEP §§ 2106.07(a)(III)(B), 2106.05(d)(II); see BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Accordingly, the claim(s) does not recite additional elements, either individually or in combination, that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.05. Therefore, as the claim(s) is directed to an abstract idea and does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, the claim(s) is not patentable. MPEP § 2106.
As per claims 5 and 13:
The claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
The limitation, “an erroneous output is corrected,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “correcting” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to the correct output. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Accordingly, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(a).
The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional element, “wherein an erroneous output is corrected using an advanced post processing steps comprising at least one of a rule based post-processing mechanism, a hashed dictionary based rapid text alignment mechanism, a machine learning language model for alphabetic spelling correction, and a dimension unit conversion mechanism,” amounts to no more than generally linking the abstract idea to the particular field of use or technological environment of machine learning. MPEP § 2106.05(h).
As an ordered combination, the claim(s) is mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a computer. MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claim(s) as a whole, and therefore the claim is directed to an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(d).
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the conclusions for the additional elements being generic computer components and mere instructions to apply on a computer, insignificant extra-solution activity, and/or mere field of use limitations are carried over and these additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.05(II). In re-evaluating the limitations that are field of use, the following limitations represent elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, conventional activity within the field of computer functions:
The additional element, “wherein an erroneous output is corrected using an advanced post processing steps comprising at least one of a rule based post-processing mechanism, a hashed dictionary based rapid text alignment mechanism, a machine learning language model for alphabetic spelling correction, and a dimension unit conversion mechanism,” is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity because it is described in a manner that indicates that the additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. 112(a). MPEP § 2106.07(a)(III)(A).
As an ordered combination, the claim simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the abstract idea because the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement the abstract idea. MPEP §§ 2106.07(a)(III)(B), 2106.05(d)(II); see BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Accordingly, the claim(s) does not recite additional elements, either individually or in combination, that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.05. Therefore, as the claim(s) is directed to an abstract idea and does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, the claim(s) is not patentable. MPEP § 2106.
As per claims 6 and 14:
The claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
The limitation, “wherein the extracted output represents linguistic and visual contexts of the document, and wherein the extracted output captures one or more of specific terms and design of the document using a detailed region information mechanism,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “searching” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to the semantic meaning of the secondary texts. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Accordingly, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(a). As the claim(s) recites no additional elements, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application, the claim is directed to the abstract idea, and the claim(s) does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.07. Therefore, as the claim(s) is directed to an abstract idea and does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, the claim(s) is not patentable. MPEP § 2106.
As per claims 8 and 16:
The claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
The limitation, “wherein for reducing the out-of-vocabulary problem, one or more of secondary vocabulary is created for linking new words to existing words of the document during fine-tuning of an advanced language model for down streaming tasks,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of this limitation, “creating” encompasses a person forming a judgment as to the content of the secondary vocabulary. This limitation therefore falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Accordingly, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(a). As the claim(s) recites no additional elements, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application, the claim is directed to the abstract idea, and the claim(s) does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.07. Therefore, as the claim(s) is directed to an abstract idea and does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, the claim(s) is not patentable. MPEP § 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., GFTE: Graph-based Financial Table Extraction, in view of Anders et al., US 2022/0058336 A1, and Liu et al., WO 2022/169656 A1.
As per claims 1, 9, and 17, Li teaches:
identifying, by the meta-data extraction device, a cell-wise location coordinates for text characters associated with the document, wherein the cell-wise location coordinates are indicative of inter-relationship of one or more cells of the document based on surrounding embedding, Li pg. 5 (“the absolute locations”);
capturing, by the meta-data extraction device, a deep contextual meaning from the one or more text cells present in the document using a domain specific language model, Li pg. 5 (“the textual content”);
capturing, by the meta-data extraction device, a complex visual layout of the document using a domain specific visual model, Li pg. 5 (“the image”); and
processing, by the meta-data extraction device, the captured deep contextual meaning and the complex visual layout to determine the meta-data information, Li pg. 5, where the underlying tabular layout is metadata.
Li, however, does not teach:
capturing, by a meta-data extraction device, one or more of style attributes from the document, where a style embedding is created by concatenating the captured one or more style attributes, and wherein the style embedding is created before creating a word embedding from text present in the document.
The analogous and compatible art of Anders, however, teaches that a document can be classified also by font attributes. Anders ¶ 0041.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to determine style attributes as in Anders, where the representation of the embedding as a concatenation is a design choice (suggested by Li, pg. 5 (“We then concatenate”)), where the timing is a design choice, in order to better recognize the layout of a table within a PDF.
Neither Li nor Anders teach:
performing advanced text tokenization by identifying one or more out-of-vocabulary (OOV) tokens based on token substitution, wherein the token substitution comprises:
substituting a missing sub-word with already available sub-word in a vocabulary of pre-trained model;
substituting OOV sub-words by mask tokens;
passing the mask tokens to a masked Language Model along with its context; and
for any OOV sub-words not substituted by any in-vocabulary sub-word, calculating m-gram minimum edit distance between remaining OOV sub-words and in-vocabulary sub-words to determine a substitution word for OOV sub-words.
The analogous and compatible art of Liu, however, teaches substituting mask tokens in place of out of vocabulary tokens, then using a trained language model to substitute the unknown word. Liu ¶¶ 00039-42.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Li to use the advanced text tokenization by identifying one or more out-of-vocabulary (OOV) tokens based on token substitution of Liu in order to ensure that all words are recognized.
As per claims 2, 10, and 18, the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 17 is incorporated, and Li further teaches:
wherein the cell-wise location coordinates for the at least one attribute are captured using a page segmentation and a border table extraction mechanism, Li pg. 4 (“Cross-page table”).
As per claims 3, 11, and 19, the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 17 is incorporated, and Li further teaches:
wherein for determining the relationship between nearby one or more cells present in the document, a distance between each of the cells is determined, and wherein upon determination of the distance between each of the cells, a shortest distant text cell in top, left, right and bottom direction of the particular cell is determined, Li pg. 5 (“Meanwhile, it is not hard to notice that a table structure can be represented by far fewer edges, as long as a node is connected to its nearest neighbors including both vertical ones and horizontal ones. With the knowledge of node position, we are also capable of recovering the table structure from these relations.”).
As per claims 4, 12, and 20, the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 17 is incorporated, and Li further teaches:
wherein distance of each of top, left, right and bottom cell is determined with respect to a main text cell to create a compact surrounding embedding, wherein the surrounding embedding is created using a Graph Convolution Network with Informative Attention (GCN-IA), Li pg. 5 (“We concatenate the position feature and the text feature together and feed them to a two-layer graph convolutional network (GCN).”).
As per claims 5 and 13, the rejection of claims 1 and 9 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein an erroneous output is corrected using an advanced post processing steps comprising at least one of a rule based post-processing mechanism, a hashed dictionary based rapid text alignment mechanism, a machine learning language model for alphabetic spelling correction, and a dimension unit conversion mechanism.
Official notice is taken, however, that, at the very least, a machine learning language model for alphabetic spelling correction is known in the prior art.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a machine learning language model for alphabetic spelling correction in interpreting a table in order to interpret it correctly.
As per claims 6 and 14, the rejection of claims 1 and 9 is incorporated, and Li further teaches:
wherein the extracted output represents linguistic and visual contexts of the document, and wherein the extracted output captures one or more of specific terms and design of the document using a detailed region information mechanism, Li pg. 5 (“three types of information are included, i.e. the textual content, the absolute locations and the image”).
As per claims 8 and 16, the rejection of claims 1 and 15 is incorporated, but Li does not teach:
wherein for reducing the out-of-vocabulary problem, one or more of secondary vocabulary is created for linking new words to existing words of the document during fine-tuning of an advanced language model for down streaming tasks.
The analogous and compatible art of Liu, however, teaches substituting mask tokens in place of out of vocabulary tokens, then using a trained language model to substitute the unknown word, where the process links new words to existing words in order to improve the knowledge encoder. Liu ¶¶ 00039-42.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Li to use the advanced text tokenization by identifying one or more out-of-vocabulary (OOV) tokens based on token substitution of Liu in order to ensure that all words are recognized.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM SPIELER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2159
/WILLIAM SPIELER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159