DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention II (claim 9-20 and 1) and Applicant’ election with traverse of Species C in the reply filed on May 26th, 2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species C of Figs. 9-11 belongs to a single semiconductor manufacturing process includes multiple steps in Fig. 1A-11. This is found persuasive and therefore, the restriction among Species A, B, C and D is withdrawn.
Claims 2-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “a first frontside contact side”, “a second frontside contact size”, “a first backside contact size”, and “a second backside contact size”. It is unclear to the examiner how to measure or define the “size” because the claim fails to recite the “size” belongs to any structures of the device.
Claim 17 recites “replacing the backside sacrificial region with the backside contact” in line 3. It is unclear to the examiner how to replace the backside sacrificial region with the backside contact when “a backside contact” already formed on the first S/D region in line 3 of claim 10.
Claims 18-20 are rejected for being depended on claim 17 and having the above issue incorporated into the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-10, and 12-15 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0120165 A1), hereinafter as Nam.
Regarding claim 1, Nam discloses a semiconductor device in Figs. 1-3 comprising: a first source or drain (S/D) region (left source/drain region SD) (see Fig. 3 and [0038]); a second S/D region (right source/drain region SD) (see Fig. 3 and [0038]); and an angled isolation pillar (insulation layer 132) between the first S/D region and the second S/D region (see Fig. 3 and [0049]).
Regarding claim 9, Nam discloses a method for forming a semiconductor device in Figs. 10-24 comprising: forming a first source or drain (S/D) region (left source/drain region SD) (see Fig. 10 and [0084-0088]); forming a second S/D region (right source/drain region SD) (see Fig. 10 and [0088]); and forming an angled isolation pillar (insulation layer 132) between the first S/D region and the second S/D region (see Fig. 10 and [0090]).
Regarding claim 10, Nam discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: forming a frontside contact (contact CA2) on the second S/D region (see Figs. 13-19 and [0097-0113]); and forming a backside contact (power rail wiring 230) on the first S/D region (indirectly on left source/drain region SD) (see Figs. 20-24 and [0116-0125]).
Regarding claim 12, Nam discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the first S/D region is electrically coupled to a backside of the semiconductor device (the backside of IC device 10) through the backside contact device (through power rail wiring 230) and the second S/D region is electrically coupled to a frontside of the semiconductor device (defined by top surface of insulation layer 150 of IC device 10) through the frontside contact (contact CA and via structure 160) (see Fig. 24 and [0110-0114]).
Regarding claim 13, Nam discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the first S/D region is not electrically coupled to the frontside of the semiconductor device (right source/drain region SD is not electrically coupled to the top surface of insulation layer 150) and the second S/D region is not electrically coupled to the backside of the semiconductor device (left source/drain region SD is not electrically coupled to the bottom surface of insulating structure 220) (see Fig. 24 and [0109], [0120]).
Regarding claim 14, Nam discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising forming a nanosheet stack (nanosheet stack NS) comprising one or more nanosheets in direct contact with the first S/D region and the second S/D region (see Figs. 2, 4 and [0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Nam discloses the method of claim 10, wherein a width of the backside contact (width of power rail wiring 230) is greater than a width of the one or more nanosheets (width of nanosheet NS) (see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0120165 A1), hereinafter as Nam as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Sarkar et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0167118 A1), hereinafter as Sarkar.
Regarding claim 16, Nam discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: forming a frontside interconnect (via structure 160) on the frontside contact (see Fig. 19 and [0113]), but fails to disclose further comprising: forming a backside interconnect on the backside contact.
Sarkar discloses a method comprising forming a backside contact (conductive 274) on a first S/D region (top S/D 222a) and forming a backside interconnect (BSPDN 280) on the backside contact (see Fig. 15A and [0034], [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the backside interconnect of the method of Sarkar into the method of Nam for connecting to the backside contact because the modified structure would provide a reliable and effective way for having a power line to bias the source/drain of the transistor.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818