DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/532119 filed 12/7/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/8/24 has been considered. Note: 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. The examiner has considered the NPL citations due to them being US co-pending applications easily attainable via Patent system and not requiring copies of each at this time.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the isolation structure extending between an upper edge and a lower edge of the intermediate frame (as recited in claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breu et al 20200282846. As to claim 1, Breu discloses an electric work vehicle comprising: a chassis (abstract); a battery housing ([0040]) supported by the chassis; and a rear axle (via 14); wherein the chassis includes an intermediate frame (2) attached to a rear portion of the battery housing ([0040]; Figure 6 shows that 2 is attached to bottom of motor); the intermediate frame is located between the battery housing and the rear axle in a front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (Figure 6 shows 2 between bottom of motor and axially disposed in front of rear wheel 14 in a front to rear direction (front 8 to rear 14) of vehicle); and the intermediate frame includes a plurality of wall portions (24, 26, 28, 30 and 36) that define an interior space.
As to claim 2, wherein at least one of the plurality of wall portions is curved (46 and 48; see drawings below).
As to claim 3, wherein at least one of the plurality of wall portions includes an opening (31, 38, 40 and openings formed by curved recesses).
As to claim 4, further comprising a coolant line ([0048]) that passes through the opening (31).
As to claim 5, wherein the coolant line is connected to a pump or a hydraulic manifold (5; [0044]) located within the interior space of the intermediate frame.
As to claim 6, further comprising an electrical cable ([0059]) that passes through the opening (31).
As to claim 7, wherein the electrical cable is connected to an electrical converter (22; [0061]) located within the interior space of the intermediate frame.
As to claim 8, further comprising a pump (5; [0044]) located within the interior space.
As to claim 9, further comprising a hydraulic manifold located within the interior space ([0044], [0059] it is obvious that a manifold is located within frame based on description of pipes/hoses of cooling system being guided through opening 31 to connect to motor).
As to claim 12, further comprising an electrical converter (22) located within the interior space.
As to claim 13, wherein the electrical converter is a DC-DC converter ([0061]).
As to claim 14, further comprising an isolation structure (18a, 18b, 18c) located within the interior space.
As to claim 17, further comprising a bracket located within the interior space to fix the electrical converter within the intermediate frame (interior sides of 24, 26, 28 can be considered brackets).
As to claim 18, further comprising: an electric motor (62; Figure 6) located rearward of the intermediate frame in a front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle; and an inverter ([0043] describes that inverter can be interfaced with converter) connected to the battery housing, wherein at least one of the plurality wall portions includes an opening to permit passage of a cable connected to each of the inverter and the electric motor ([0059]).
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 1020230060249 (with machine translation). As to claim 1, KR discloses an electric work vehicle comprising: a chassis (as shown in Figure 4); a battery housing (400) supported by the chassis; and a rear axle (120); wherein the chassis includes an intermediate frame (800, 900) attached to a rear portion of the battery housing (Figure 4 shows 800 and 900 attached to what can be considered rear of 400); the intermediate frame is located between the battery housing and the rear axle in a front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (Figure 4 shows 800 and 900 between 400 and rear axle 120 from front to rear direction of vehicle); and the intermediate frame includes a plurality of wall portions (811 and 812, see drawing below) that define an interior space.
As to claim 2, wherein at least one of the plurality of wall portions is curved (Figures 4 and 6 show 800 having curved corners).
As to claim 19, further comprising: a motor cover (via 300); wherein the electric motor is mounted to the intermediate frame (300 is described as disposed in 800 and 900); and the motor cover is located within the interior space to cover a mounting location of the electric motor (via 910; page 6, lines 16-22 in translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breu in view of WO 2021110232. Breu discloses a hydraulic manifold ([0044], [0059] it is obvious that a manifold is located within frame based on description of pipes/hoses of cooling system being guided through opening 31 to connect to motor), but doesn’t disclose the manifold including a direction control valve.
WO discloses an electric vehicle having a motor (60) coupled to a hydraulic manifold (65) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the manifold with a direction control valve (62, 63).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the manifold in Breu with a direction control valve in view of WO to allow precise management of fluid flow between electrical components which increases operating efficiency of vehicle.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breu in view of EP 0705530 (with machine translation). Breu discloses a hydraulic manifold which is described in the form of a distribution type ([0059] it is obvious that a manifold is located within frame based on description of pipes/hoses of cooling system being guided through opening 31 to connect to motor), but doesn’t disclose the manifold including a return hydraulic manifold.
EP discloses an electric vehicle (page 2 in translation) having an electrical converter disposed within a housing (2) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the housing with a distribution (74) and return (82) manifold.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the Breu manifold with both a distribution and return manifold in view of EP to allow precise management of fluid flow cooling between electrical components which reduces thermal wear of components during operation of vehicle.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breu in view of Schaefer 20140152264. Breu discloses an isolation structure located within interior space, but doesn’t disclose the structure covering the converter.
Schaefer discloses a converter for use in a vehicle ([0001]-[0002]) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide an isolation structure (7, 7a; [0144]-[0145], [0181]) to cover the converter.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cover the Breu converter with an isolation structure in view of Schaefer to reduce damaging influences against surrounding of converter which increase mechanical stability of converter during operation of vehicle.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breu and KR in view of Lopez 20120181095. Breu and KR both disclose intermediate frames, but doesn’t disclose the frames made of metal as recited.
Lopez discloses an electric work vehicle and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the vehicle with a frame (17) made of metal ([0031]) for supporting electrical components of vehicle, i.e., motor and battery).
It would have been an obvious design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the frame in Breu and KR from metal material in view of Lopez to protect against mechanical impacts increasing durability during operation of vehicle.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12-14, 16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 10 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12358560. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present invention are encompassed in the claims of the patent (some claims from patent are disclosed and bolded below to show common scope with present invention):
1. An electric work vehicle comprising: a chassis; a battery housing supported by the chassis; a rear axle; and an isolation structure, wherein the chassis includes an intermediate frame attached to a rear portion of the battery housing; the intermediate frame is located between the battery housing and the rear axle in a front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle; the intermediate frame includes a plurality of wall portions that define an interior space; at least one of the plurality of wall portions includes a wall surface that faces the interior space; and the isolation structure is attached to the wall surface.
3. The electric work vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising: an electrical component located within the interior space, wherein the isolation structure and the electrical component overlap in the front-rear direction.
4. The electric work vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the electrical component includes a DC-DC converter.
5. The electric work vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising: an electric motor located rearward of the intermediate frame in the front-rear direction; and a DC-DC converter located within the interior space.
10. The electric work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the isolation structure extends between an upper edge and a lower edge of the intermediate frame.
11. The electric work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate frame is made of metal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 16 in combination with claims 1, 12 and 14 exactly as written)…… wherein the isolation structure extends between an upper edge and a lower edge of the intermediate frame.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-The corresponding EP application 24207696.6 having an office action filed 3/18/25 has been reviewed by examiner (KR ‘249 prior art cited as novelty in office action was used in above rejections).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
November 19, 2025