DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 21-29 and 40 in the reply filed on 4/1/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant also added claims 41-50.
Newly submitted claims 41-50 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the elected invention of Group I for the following reasons:
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 21-29 and 40, drawn to node apparatus with for use in a hybrid network, classified in H04L12/2801.
II. Claims 41-50, drawn to receive configuration data from a control entity in communication with the computerized network node apparatus and allocate first and second radio-frequency resources of the coaxial cable portion to first and second data channels associated with first and second wireless network modules of the computerized network node apparatus, classified in H04W72/20.
Inventions I and II are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because invention of Group I does not rely on at least the features of receive configuration data from a control entity and allocate first and second radio-frequency resources. The subcombination has separate utility such as being used to receive configuration data from a control entity in communication with the computerized network node apparatus and allocate first and second radio-frequency resources of the coaxial cable portion to first and second data channels associated with first and second wireless network modules of the computerized network node apparatus.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a continuation or divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Since applicant has elected the invention of Group I as stated in the reply filed 4/1/2026, claims 41-50 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/6/2024, 3/7/2024, 9/2/2025 and 4/1/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: “bid-directional” should be changed to “bi-directional” to correct misspelling. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-29 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,985,641. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-25 of the patent teaches all the limitations of claims 21-30 and 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 25-29 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0028915 (hereinafter Jia).
Regarding claims 21 and 40, Jia discloses a Computerized node apparatus for use within a hybrid network topology, the computerized node apparatus comprising: a first port for interfacing with a first portion of the network topology using at least a first type of network medium for data transmission (Fig. 3-7, [0057]: details optical fiber); first network interface logic in communication with the first port (Fig. 3-7, [0057]); at least one RF integrated circuit in data communication with the first network interface logic, the at least one RF integrated circuit configured to at least generate RF waveforms within a prescribed frequency band (Fig. 3-7, [0044], [0057]-[0058]: details RFoG analog optics technology transmits RF over fiber); frequency shifter apparatus configured to shift the RF waveforms within the prescribed frequency band to a frequency lower than the prescribed frequency band (Fig. 3-7, [0057]-[0058], [0060]: details hybrid fiber-coaxial HFC); amplification logic configured to amplify the shifted RF waveforms (Fig. 3-7, [0057]: details amplifiers); and a second port for interfacing with a second portion of the network topology using at least a second type of network medium for data transmission, the second port in communication with the amplification logic (Fig. 3-7, [0057]: details coaxial cable).
Regarding claims 22, Jia discloses wherein the first portion of the network topology comprises a fiber-optic distribution portion of the network topology, and the second portion comprises a coaxial cable portion of the network topology ([0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claims 23, Jia discloses wherein the network topology comprises a hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) cable television network topology operated by a multiple systems operator (MSO) ([0057] and [0066]).
Regarding claims 25, Jia discloses wherein the at least one RF integrated circuit comprises two IEEE-Std. 802.11ax compliant ICs or chipsets, a first of the two ICs or chipsets configured to generate at least part of the RF waveforms within a first sub-band of the prescribed frequency band, and a second of the two ICs or chipsets configured to generate at least part of the RF waveforms within a second sub-band of the prescribed frequency band, the first and second sub-bands being non-overlapping in frequency ([0057], [0062]-[0063], [0067]).
Regarding claims 26, Jia discloses wherein the first of the two ICs or chipsets are configured to generate the at least part of the RF waveforms within the first sub-band for output via four (4) first ports or spatial diversity channels, and the second of the two ICs or chipsets are configured to generate the at least part of the RF waveforms within the second sub-band for output via four (4) second ports or spatial diversity channels (Fig. 13, [0057]).
Regarding claims 27, Jia discloses an RF waveform IC, wherein the RF waveform IC is configured to generate a plurality of RF waveforms with a cellular frequency band ([0057][0063][0066][0074]).
Regarding claims 28, Jia discloses wherein the plurality of RF waveforms within the cellular frequency band are coupled to the second port via a signal path comprising at least a second frequency shifter apparatus and at least a portion of the amplification logic ([0057][0063][0066][0074]).
Regarding claims 29, Jia discloses wherein the second frequency shifter apparatus is configured to shift the RF waveforms within the cellular band to a third sub-band within the prescribed frequency band ([0057][0063][0066][0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of US 2015/0326237 (hereinafter Hamzeh).
Regarding claim 24, Jia does not explicitly teach a plurality of bid-directional amplifier apparatus; a plurality of signal splitting apparatus; and a plurality of diplexer apparatus.
However, Hamzeh teaches bi-directional amplifier apparatus (FIG. 6, 412: details bi-directional amplifiers); signal splitting apparatus (FIG. 6, 411: details splitter); and diplexer apparatus (FIG. 6, 409: details diplexer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jia to incorporate the teachings of Hamzeh and include bi-directional amplifier apparatus; signal splitting apparatus; and diplexer apparatus of Hamzeh with the amplifiers of Jia. Doing so would provide increase capacity (Hamzeh, paragraph [0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Williams (US 2020/0059206) details full duplex amplification.
Li (US 2019/0052577) details MoCA connectivity between RF amplifiers or splitter devices.
/JASPER KWOH/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415