DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/01/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the self-heating process” in lines 9-10. It is understood by the examiner that by performing the claimed “self-heating control method”, a “self-heating process” is being performed. However, the examiner suggests amending the claim to further clarify that execution of the method steps results in a “self-heating process” being performed, in order to ensure that there is no basis for a lack of antecedent basis rejection to be made under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the step of generating a battery heating current adjustment instruction” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Nowhere in Claim 1 upon which Claim 6 depends is there recitation of “a step of generating a battery heating current adjustment instruction”. It would not be clear to the skilled artisan what step is being referred to by “the step of generating a battery heating current adjustment instruction” nor what such a step entails. For purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation will be given to the limitation during review of the prior art. Claim 7 is also rejected due to its dependency upon Claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. (US 2022/0271358 A1) further in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0292461 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 01/08/2025).
Regarding Claim 1:
Qin discloses a self-heating control method for a rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) having a battery core including a negative electrode (anode) [0005-0009]. Qin further discloses that the voltage of the negative electrode (anode) is measured to determine the reference potential of the negative electrode (anode) of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) [0025]. Qin further discloses that the method comprises: a step of detecting the potential difference between a reference electrode and the negative electrode (anode) of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) [0007, 0025]. Qin further discloses that the method comprises generating a charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) according to the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode and adjusting the charging current (signal for adjustment) of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) according to the charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) during the self-heating process of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) [0008, 0026].
Qin is deficient in disclosing 1) a separator provided between a positive electrode and the negative electrode of the battery core; 2) that a reference electrode is correspondingly provided at the separator; 3) that a surface electrode is provided on the surface of the negative electrode surface and used to measure the voltage of the negative electrode.
Kim discloses a method for predicting a battery charge limit for a rechargeable battery (three-electrode cell, 10) having a battery core comprising a separator (40) provided between a positive electrode (30) and a negative electrode (20) of the battery core (Figure 2, [0010, 0041, 0043]). Kim further discloses that a reference electrode (60) is provided at the separator (40) (Figure 2, [0041]). Kim further discloses that a surface electrode (electrode tab, see Figure 2) is provided on the surface of each of the negative electrode (20) surface and the positive electrode (30) surface (Figure 2, [0041]). Kim further discloses that the surface electrode (negative electrode tab, see Figure 2) is used to measure a voltage (negative electrode potential) of the negative electrode (20) (Figure 2, [0043]). Kim further teaches that the electrode configuration of the rechargeable battery (three-electrode cell, 10) allows for in-situ analysis by measuring a potential difference in the rechargeable battery (three-electrode cell, 10) (Figure 2, [0041]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to adopt the battery core configuration of Kim for the battery core of Qin, wherein the battery core comprises a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, and wherein a reference electrode is provided at the separator and a surface electrode is provided at the surface of each of the negative electrode and the positive electrode, as such a configuration is known in the art to be useful for collecting voltage data for a rechargeable battery, as taught by Kim. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Regarding Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Qin as modified by Kim discloses the self-heating control method of Claim 1 as set forth above. Qin further discloses that the step of generating a charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) according to the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode comprises: when the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode is less than a first potential threshold (threshold potential), generating the charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) with a charging current amplitude of zero [0014]. Qin further discloses that the step of generating a charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) according to the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode comprises: when the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode is greater than or equal to the first potential threshold (threshold potential) and less than a second potential threshold, generating the charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) according to the first potential threshold (threshold potential), and the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode [0020-0026]. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
Regarding Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Qin as modified by Kim discloses the self-heating control method of Claim 1 as set forth above. Qin further discloses that the method comprises a step of detecting the potential difference between a reference electrode and the negative electrode (anode) of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) [0007, 0025]. Qin further discloses that the relationship between the reference potential of the anode and the threshold potential is used to determine whether Li plating has occurred on the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) [0029].
Qin is deficient is disclosing 1) that the first potential threshold is determined by: detecting the potential difference between the negative electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode; 2) acquiring a potential curve of the negative electrode at various charging rates according to the potential difference between the negative electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode, and 3) acquiring the relation between the lithium precipitation potential and the charging rate according to the potential curve of the negative electrode at various charging rates; and determining the first potential threshold according to the relation between the lithium precipitation potential and the charging rate.
Kim further discloses that the method for predicting a battery charge limit for a rechargeable battery (three-electrode cell, 10) includes acquiring a potential curve of the negative electrode (20) at various charging rates according to the potential difference between the negative electrode (20) of the battery core and the reference electrode (60) 0064-0069]. Kim further teaches that the potential curve allows for the relationship between the lithium precipitation potential (Li-plating) and the charging rate according to the potential curve of the negative electrode (20) at various charging rates to be determined [0070]. Kim further discloses that determining such a relationship allows a threshold to be set at such a potential at which Li-plating does not occur [0070-0071].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the method of Qin to include a step of determining the first potential threshold according to a potential curve of the negative electrode at various charging rates, as such an approach is known in the art as suitable for determining a threshold for negative electrode potential in a rechargeable battery, as taught by Kim. Furthermore, the selection of a known process based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Regarding Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Qin as modified by Kim discloses the self-heating control method of Claim 1 as set forth above. Qin further discloses that when the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode is less than a first potential threshold (threshold potential), a battery heating current adjustment instruction (adjusting first heating parameters) is generated according to the potential difference between the negative electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode, and adjusting the heating current amplitude of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) according to the battery heating current adjustment instruction (adjusting first heating parameters) during the self-heating process of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) [0014-0015].
Qin is deficient in disclosing that when the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode is less than a first potential threshold (threshold potential), the method further comprises: detecting the potential difference between the positive electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode; and generating a battery heating current adjustment instruction according to the potential difference between the positive electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode, and adjusting the heating current amplitude of the rechargeable battery according to the battery heating current adjustment instruction during the self-heating process of the rechargeable battery.
However, upon the modification made above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Qin includes a surface electrode at the positive electrode surface of the battery core. Kim further discloses that the surface electrode (negative electrode tab, see Figure 2) is used to measure a voltage (electrode potential) of the electrodes (Figure 2, [0043]). Kim further teaches that the electrode configuration of the rechargeable battery (three-electrode cell, 10) allows for in-situ analysis by measuring a potential difference in the rechargeable battery (three-electrode cell, 10) (Figure 2, [0041]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to expand the measurements of Qin to include the measurement of potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode of the positive electrode of the battery core and then use such measurements to determine a battery heating current adjustment instruction as Qin teaches is performed based on the negative electrode potential difference, as it is known in the art that measurements made in reference to a negative electrode may likewise be made in reference to a positive electrode, as taught by Kim. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would further appreciate that the health and function of the positive electrode is an important factor to the overall health and function of the battery core. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
Regarding Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Qin as modified by Kim discloses the self-heating control method of Claim 1 as set forth above. Qin further discloses that the step of generating a charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) according to the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode comprises: when the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode is less than a first potential threshold (threshold potential), generating the charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) with a charging current amplitude of zero [0014]. Qin further discloses that the step of generating a charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) according to the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode comprises: when the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode is greater than or equal to the first potential threshold (threshold potential) and less than a second potential threshold, generating the charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) according to the first potential threshold (threshold potential), and the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode [0020-0026].
Qin is deficient in disclosing a step of generating a battery heating current adjustment instruction according to the potential difference between the positive electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode comprises: when the potential difference between the positive electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode is greater than a third potential threshold, generating a battery heating current adjustment instruction with a heating current amplitude of zero; and when the potential difference between the positive electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode is greater than a fourth potential threshold and less than or equal to the third potential threshold, generating the battery heating current adjustment instruction according to the third potential threshold, and the potential difference between the positive electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode.
However, upon the modification made above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Qin includes a surface electrode at the positive electrode surface of the battery core. Kim further discloses that the surface electrode (negative electrode tab, see Figure 2) is used to measure a voltage (electrode potential) of the electrodes (Figure 2, [0043]). Kim further teaches that the electrode configuration of the rechargeable battery (three-electrode cell, 10) allows for in-situ analysis by measuring a potential difference in the rechargeable battery (three-electrode cell, 10) (Figure 2, [0041]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to expand the measurements of Qin to adapt the step of generating a charging current adjustment instruction relative to the negative electrode potential to do the same relative to the positive electrode potential, as it is known in the art that measurements made in reference to a negative electrode may likewise be made in reference to a positive electrode, as taught by Kim. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would further appreciate that the health and function of the positive electrode is an important factor to the overall health and function of the battery core. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
Regarding Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Qin as modified by Kim discloses the self-heating control method of Claim 1 as set forth above. Qin further discloses a computer readable storage medium (judging and processing device, 300), storing a self-heating control program for a rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) thereon, the self-heating control program for a rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery), when executed by a processor, implementing the self-heating control method for a rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) according to Claim 1 (Figure 4, [0056-0057]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Regarding Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Qin as modified by Kim discloses the self-heating control method of Claim 1 as set forth above. Qin further discloses a battery manager (positive and negative pulsed heating device, 100, anode reference potential acquisition device, 200, and judging and processing device, 300), comprising a memory, a processor and a self-heating control program for a rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) stored on the memory and able to run on the processor, the self-heating control program for a rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery), when executed by the processor, implementing the self-heating control method for a rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) according to Claim 1 (Figure 4, [0056-0059]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. (US 2022/0271358 A1) as modified by Kim et al. (US 2018/0292461 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 01/08/2025), as applied to Claims 2 and 6 above, further in view of Fang et al. (CN 112582710 A) (citations made in reference to the English machine translation attached to this office action).
Regarding Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Qin as modified by Kim discloses the self-heating control method of Claim 2 as set forth above. Qin further discloses that when the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode is greater than or equal to the first potential threshold (threshold potential) and less than a second potential threshold, generating the charging current adjustment instruction (adjusting the first heating parameters) according to the first potential threshold (threshold potential), and the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode [0020-0026].
Qin is deficient in disclosing that the charging current amplitude corresponding to the charging current adjustment instruction is determined by: I_dc = I_dc0 * f(s1)*(VN – E_plating), wherein s1 is a first safety parameter, f(s1) is a function of s1, I_dc is the charging current amplitude, I_dc0 is the initial charging current amplitude, VN is the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode, and E_plating is the first potential threshold; and is generally silent to how the charging current adjustment is determined.
Fang discloses a self-heating method for a rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) which allows the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) to be continuously heated to a target temperature until the target temperature is reached [0005]. Fang further discloses that the self-heating method includes obtaining the first current amplitude of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) and then calculating the second current amplitude and the minimum and maximum frequency values of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) via the second, third, and fourth formulas [0009]. Fang further discloses that the step of calculating the second current amplitude includes parameters such as battery temperature (T), heating time (t), safety parameter (Ucell, safe voltage), effective current (I), and potential threshold (Ucell_max, voltage threshold) [0010].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to calculate the charging current adjustment instruction of Qin based on the parameters taught by Fang, as such parameters are known in the art as suitable for calculating a charging current amplitude for performing a self-heating method for a rechargeable battery, as taught by Fang. Furthermore, the selection of a known process based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
Regarding Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 6):
Qin as modified by Kim discloses the self-heating control method of Claim 6 as set forth above. Upon the modifications detailed above in the rejection of Claim 6, modified Qin discloses that when the potential difference between the reference electrode and the surface electrode at the positive electrode is greater than the fourth potential threshold and less than or equal to the third potential threshold, a battery heating current adjustment instruction is generated.
Qin is deficient in disclosing that when the potential difference between the positive electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode is greater than the fourth potential threshold and less than or equal to the third potential threshold, the heating current amplitude corresponding to the battery heating current adjustment instruction is determined by: I_ac = I_ac0 * f(s2)*(VP – E_max), wherein s2 is a second safety parameter, f(s2) is a function of s2, I_ac is the heating current amplitude, I_ac0 is the initial heating current amplitude, VP is the potential difference between the positive electrode of the battery core and the reference electrode, and E_max is the third potential threshold; and is generally silent to how the battery heating current adjustment instruction is determined.
Fang discloses a self-heating method for a rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) which allows the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) to be continuously heated to a target temperature until the target temperature is reached [0005]. Fang further discloses that the self-heating method includes obtaining the first current amplitude of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) and then calculating the second current amplitude and the minimum and maximum frequency values of the rechargeable battery (lithium-ion battery) via the second, third, and fourth formulas [0009]. Fang further discloses that the step of calculating the second current amplitude includes parameters such as battery temperature (T), heating time (t), safety parameter (Ucell, safe voltage), effective current (I), and potential threshold (Ucell_max, voltage threshold) [0010].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to calculate the battery heating current adjustment instruction of Qin based on the parameters taught by Fang, as such parameters are known in the art as suitable for calculating a battery heating current amplitude for performing a self-heating method for a rechargeable battery, as taught by Fang. Furthermore, the selection of a known process based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
Conclusion
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724