DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The 5/11/2026 "Reply" elects with traverse and identifies claims 29-30, 32, 44-46, and 53 as being drawn to Group II, Species B2xx. Accordingly, Examiner has withdrawn claims 3-6, 15-16, 18, 25-26, 31, 43, and 54 from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. See, for example, 37 CFR § 1.142(b). Applicant contends that claim 29 is generic to at least Species A and B, Sub-Species 1 and 2, and Sub-Sub-Species xx and yy. This argument is persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29-30, 32, 44, 46, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang (US pub. No. 2022/0059596).
Regarding claim 29, in FIG. 17, Jang discloses an image sensor device comprising: a sensor comprising: a quantum dot layer (OPD, paragraph [0068]) on a first electrode (leftmost PE) of a substrate (CH1), the substrate comprising: electrodes comprising the first electrode and a second electrode (rightmost PE connected to CE); an interconnect layer (IL/43); and conductive features comprising a first conductive feature (15 associated with leftmost 19) and a second conductive feature (15 associated with connection to CE), wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are electrically connected to the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature, respectively via interconnects (19) in the interconnect layer; a transparent conductive layer (CE, paragraph [0068]) on the quantum dot layer and the second electrode, wherein the transparent conductive layer is electrically connected to the second electrode; and an image processor device (CH2, paragraph [0020]), wherein the sensor is hybrid bonded to the image processor device without use of an intervening adhesive to connect the conductive features of the sensor to conductive features of the image processor device (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 30, in FIG. 17, Jang discloses a dielectric layer (ML) on the transparent conductive layer.
Regarding claim 32, in FIG. 17, Jang discloses that the first electrode protrudes from (away from) a surface of the interconnect layer.
Regarding claim 44, the process limitation of “the quantum dot layer is spin coated” found in product claim 44 invokes the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Anticipation of claim 44 does not require the quantum dot layer is spin coated, but simply that the quantum dot layer is formed on a first electrode, as disclosed by Jang.
Regarding claim 46, the process limitation of “the quantum dot layer is spin coated and then patterned” found in product claim 46 invokes the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Anticipation of claim 46 does not require the quantum dot layer is spin coated and then patterned, but simply that the quantum dot layer is formed on a first electrode, as disclosed by Jang.
Regarding claim 53, in FIG. 17, Jang discloses that the sensor is of a first type or a second type, wherein the first type of sensor comprises a same type of quantum dot layer and a different type of color filter layer (e.g. CF1, paragraph [0068]) than the second type of sensor (e.g. CF2, paragraph [0068]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 45 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 45, in FIG. 17, Jang discloses that electrodes of the sensor comprise pairs of electrodes (e.g. first and second electrodes); the process limitation of “the quantum dot layer is spin coated to form a continuous quantum dot layer” found in product claim 45 invokes the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Anticipation of claim 45 does not require the quantum dot layer is spin coated, but simply that the quantum dot layer is formed on a first electrode and is a continuous quantum dot layer, as disclosed by Jang.
However, the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed image sensor device particularly characterized by a spacing between a first pair of electrodes to a second pair of electrodes is greater than about two times a thickness of the quantum dot layer.
Conclusion
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891