DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 last paragraph through page 7 line 8, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wei (US20190096680A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7 lines 9-13, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to claims 12-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 of 02/19/2026 have been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
After search the prior art regarded as nearest the claimed invention is Wei (US20190096680A1 – previously of record). Wei discloses a method of forming a structure on a substrate (abstract), comprising: forming an adhesion layer on a substrate within a first substrate processing system (barrier layer 86, para 0030, Fig. 5); forming a tungsten containing layer after forming the adhesion layer (paras 0030-0031, Fig. 5) wherein the tungsten containing layer is formed by a one-time soak process including: soaking the substrate once, and only once, in a first gas (para 0031 disclosing the “ALD process can include cycles of the tungsten fluoride flow, followed by a purge, followed by the other precursor flow, and followed by a purge”, emphasis added); purging the first gas (para 0031); and soaking the substrate once, and only once, in a second gas (para 0031); and removing the tungsten containing layer from the adhesion layer, wherein the tungsten containing layer is substantially removed from the substrate (para 0035). Wei, and the remaining prior art available, fail to disclose wherein: the titanium nitride layer comprises fluorine atoms diffused within the titanium nitride, and the titanium nitride layer is deposited on a high-k dielectric layer, wherein the high-k dielectric layer comprises fluorine atoms diffused therein. The Office is unable to discern a reasonable rationale from the prior art that such features are taught, suggested, or otherwise rendered obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US20190096680A1 – previously of record) in view of Lai (US20060009034A1 – previously of record).
In reference to claim 1:
Wei discloses a method of forming a structure on a substrate (abstract), comprising:
forming an adhesion layer on a substrate within a first substrate processing system (barrier layer 86, para 0030, Fig. 5);
forming a tungsten containing layer after forming the adhesion layer (paras 0030-0031, Fig. 5)wherein the tungsten containing layer is formed by a one-time soak process including:
soaking the substrate once, and only once, in a first gas (para 0031 disclosing the “ALD process can include cycles of the tungsten fluoride flow, followed by a purge, followed by the other precursor flow, and followed by a purge”, emphasis added);
purging the first gas (para 0031); and
soaking the substrate once, and only once, in a second gas (para 0031); and
removing the tungsten containing layer from the adhesion layer, wherein the tungsten containing layer is substantially removed from the substrate (para 0035).
Wei does not explicitly disclose the tungsten containing layer is formed within the first substrate processing system and prior to exposing the adhesion layer to air. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a semiconductor processing tool based on its art recognized suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. As applied to the instant application, Lai teaches a semiconductor tool capable of depositing an adhesion layer and performing the soak and tungsten deposition process without exposing the adhesion layer to air (para 0057).
In reference to claim 2-4:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Wei further discloses using tungsten hexafluoride and diborane as the first and second gases (para 0031). As such, Wei fails to disclose where the first gas includes a boron hydride (claim 2), wherein the boron hydride is diborane (claim 3), or wherein the second gas is tungsten hexafluoride (claim 4). However, this would have been obvious in view of Lai. Lai teaches a method for depositing a tungsten containing layer (abstract). Lai further teaches that introducing a mixture of diborane and hydrogen gases prior to the tungsten hexaflouride conditions the barrier layer to provide for a quicker and smoother deposition of the nucleation layer (para 0032). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the order and composition of tungsten precursors discloses by Wei with the order and composition of tungsten precursors taught by Lai in order to obtain a method which provides for a quicker and smoother deposition of the nucleation layer.
In reference to claim 5:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Wei further discloses wherein the first gas includes tungsten hexafluoride and the second gas includes diborane (para 0031).
In reference to claim 6:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Wei further discloses wherein the tungsten containing layer has a thickness within 0.1 Angstroms of 10 Angstroms (page 0031).
In reference to claim 7:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Wei wherein the tungsten containing layer has a stack resistivity less than 125 micro ohm-cm. However, as the prior art recites the same process steps using the same reactants, it is the Examiner’s position that the structure produced will have the same properties (See MPEP 2144.09.I).
In reference to claim 8:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Wei further discloses wherein the adhesion layer comprises titanium nitride, and wherein the adhesion layer includes fluorine atoms diffused within the titanium nitride (para 0034, as the claim does not explicitly require the adhesion layer includes fluorine atoms before the tungsten deposition the claim is met by para 0034 where the fluorine diffuses into the gate dielectric layer by passing through the barrier layer 86).
In reference to claim 9:
In addition to the discussion of claim 8, above, Wei further discloses wherein the adhesion layer is deposited on a high-κ dielectric layer (para 0029), wherein the high-κ dielectric layer includes fluorine atoms diffused therein (para 0033-0034).
In reference to claim 10:
In addition to the discussion of claim 8, above, Wei further discloses wherein the tungsten containing layer is removed “such as by one or more etch processes and cleaning process”. Wei does not explicitly disclose removing the substrate from the first substrate processing system after forming the tungsten containing layer, wherein the tungsten containing layer is exposed to air; placing the substrate into a second substrate processing system after exposing the tungsten containing layer to air; and wherein removing the tungsten containing layer occurs in the second substrate processing system.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a semiconductor processing tool based on its art recognized suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. As applied to the instant application, Lai teaches a method for depositing a tungsten layer (abstract). Lai further teaches removing the substrate from the first substrate processing system after forming the tungsten containing layer, wherein the tungsten containing layer is exposed to air (para 0068 disclosing moving the substrate from the first processing system to a second processing system, a CMP apparatus, which would expose the substrate to air); placing the substrate into a second substrate processing system after exposing the tungsten containing layer to air (para 0068 disclosing moving the substrate from the first processing system to a second processing system, a CMP apparatus, which would expose the substrate to air); and wherein removing the tungsten containing layer occurs in the second substrate processing system (para 0068). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the separate processing tools/systems of Lai in the method of Wei based on its art recognized suitability for the intended purpose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US10256112B1)
Lai (US20170040214A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW L SWANSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745