DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species J in the reply filed on 05/12/2026 is acknowledged. The Applicant identifies claims 1 and 6-11, 13, 17 and 19 as encompassing species J. However, the Examiner notes that claim 13 is dependent on non-elected claim 12, claim 17 is dependent on non-elected claim 16, and claim 19 is dependent on non-elected claim 18. As a result, claims 13, 17 and 19 are also considered withdrawn.
As such claims 2-5, 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/12/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
gas filling unit in claim 1, interpreted to an empty space between the substrate and the electrostatic chuck [0023].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation "a second lift pin" in claim 1, but there is no first lift pin to associate with in Claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 9 should be dependent on claim 7, and for the purposes of examining based on merits will be examined as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No. 2020/0105568 to Pilgrim.
In regards to Claim 1, Pilgrim teaches plasma processing equipment Fig. 1-4 comprising: an electrostatic chuck 101 on which a substrate 110 is provided; a gas filling unit (empty space 118) provided between the substrate and the electrostatic chuck; a gas supply unit (gas inlet 200/102) extending through the electrostatic chuck and connected to the gas filling unit, the gas supply unit comprising a plurality of first nonconductive balls (alumina balls 120 [0038]); and a focus ring 406 provided along an edge of the electrostatic chuck [0024-0075].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2020/0105568 to Pilgrim in view of United States Patent Application No. 2021/0013063 to Tamura.
The teachings of Pilgrim are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection.
In regards to Claim 6, Pilgrim does not expressly teach a gas exhaust unit extending through the electrostatic chuck and connected to the gas filling unit.
Tamura teaches a substrate stage 5 Fig. 2 which has multiple lines for supplying heat transfer gas 13a, 14a to a gap G between the substrate and the electrostatic chuck, the lines being connected to a gas supply/source 11 but also to a gas exhaust pump 12 through a valve system such that the vertical lines can be used for either supplying the heat transfer gas or exhausting the heat transfer gas [0018-0044]. By controlling the heat transfer gas, cooling efficiency and distribution of an etching rate on the surface of the substrate can be controlled [0025].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Pilgrim, by making the gas supply unit also connected to a vacuum exhaust pump, as per the teachings of Tamura. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of to improve cooling efficiency and control of distribution of an etching rate on the surface of the substrate. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus would thus have gas supply units and gas exhaust units extending through the electrostatic chuck and connected to the gas filling unit.
In regards to Claim 11, Pilgrim teaches plasma processing equipment Fig. 1-4 comprising: an electrostatic chuck 101 on which a substrate 110 is provided; a gas filling unit (empty space 118) provided above the electrostatic chuck and configured to provide a gas pressure (heat transfer gas) to a lower side of the substrate; a gas supply unit (gas inlet 200/102) extending through the electrostatic chuck and connected to the gas filling unit and configured to supply a gas to the gas filling unit, the gas supply unit comprising a plurality of first nonconductive balls (alumina balls 120 [0038]); and a focus ring 406 provided along an edge of the electrostatic chuck [0024-0075].
Pilgrim does not expressly teach a gas exhaust unit connected to the gas filling unit and configured to discharge the gas supplied from the gas supply unit to the gas filling unit.
Tamura teaches a substrate stage 5 Fig. 2 which has multiple lines for supplying heat transfer gas 13a, 14a to a gap G between the substrate and the electrostatic chuck, the lines being connected to a gas supply/source 11 but also to a gas exhaust pump 12 through a valve system such that the vertical lines can be used for either supplying the heat transfer gas or exhausting the heat transfer gas [0018-0044]. By controlling the heat transfer gas, cooling efficiency and distribution of an etching rate on the surface of the substrate can be controlled [0025].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Pilgrim, by making the gas supply unit also connected to a vacuum exhaust pump, as per the teachings of Tamura. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of to improve cooling efficiency and control of distribution of an etching rate on the surface of the substrate. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus would thus have gas supply units and gas exhaust units extending through the electrostatic chuck and configured to discharge the gas supplied from the gas supply unit to the gas filling unit.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2020/0105568 to Pilgrim in view of United States Patent Application No. 2021/0098238 to Hayashi.
The teachings of Pilgrim are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection.
In regards to Claim 7, Pilgrim does not expressly teach a first lift pin penetrating the focus ring and the edge of the electrostatic chuck, and configured to adjust a height of the focus ring.
Hayashi teaches a plasma processing equipment Fig. 1-5 with an electrostatic chuck 20 and a focus ring 222 that is lifted up/a height is adjusted by a first lift pin 722 that goes through hole 162h and penetrates the focus/edge ring 222 in hole 221h [0014-0094]. Hayashi also gas is pushed through this hole to allow movement for the lift pin [0024].
Hayashi further teaches that the adjustment of the focus/edge ring 222 is adjusted so that the characteristics of plasma processing performed on the edge of the substrate can be adjusted [0074].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Pilgrim, with the teachings of Hayashi and its lift pins and gas hole, to the edge ring of Pilgrim. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of being able to adjust the characteristics of plasma processing performed on the edge of the substrate. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2020/0105568 to Pilgrim in view of United States Patent Application No. 2021/0098238 to Hayashi, as applied to Claim 7 above, and in further view of Korean Application No. KR 10-2021-0191337 (filed 06/23/2022, United States Patent Application No. 2023/0207288 to Lee et al relied upon as the English language equivalent.)
The teachings of Pilgrim in view of Hayashi are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection.
In regards to Claim 8, Pilgrim in view of Hayashi teach the first lift pin is provided inside a first lift pin hole penetrating the focus ring and the edge of the electrostatic chuck, as per the rejection of Claim 7 above, but does not expressly teach the first lift pin hole comprises a plurality of second nonconductive balls.
Lee teaches that lift pin holes can have porous plugs 646 Fig. 5, 6 for the gas lines of the lift pin holes and thus also in the holes as it opens into the holes [0041-0115], the porous plugs giving the added benefit of preventing arcing in the lift pin hole [0114-0117].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Pilgrim in view of Hayashi by adding the porous plug of Lee. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of preventing arcing in the lift pin hole.
Pilgrim in view of Hayashi and Lee do not expressly teach that said porous plug is made out of non-conductive balls.
However, Pilgrim teaches a porous plug can be substituted with nonconductive balls, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above, and as shown in Fig. 1B and Fig. 2, 5A-5C.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a porous plugs analogous to that of Pilgrim in view of Hayashi and Lee out of non-conductive balls, as taught by Pilgrim, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 8, as the balls in the lift pin holes would be considered a second set of nonconductive balls.
In regards to Claim 9, Pilgrim in view of Hayashi does not expressly teach a second lift pin provided below the substrate and penetrating the electrostatic chuck, the second lift pin being configured to adjust a height of the substrate.
Lee teaches lift pins 671 Fig. 2 for a substrate support to elevate the substrate [0122] or adjust a height of the substrate. Lee teaches that lift pin holes can have porous plugs 646 Fig. 5, 6 for the gas lines of the lift pin holes and thus also in the holes as it opens into the holes [0041-0115], the porous plugs giving the added benefit of preventing arcing in the lift pin hole [0114-0117].
As it is known to provide lift pins with gas holes in an electrostatic chuck, as taught by Lee, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have modified Pilgrim in view of Hayashi as taught by Lee to include lift pins in gas filled holes with a porous plug. One would be motivated to do so in order to adjust the height of the substrate or elevate the substrate as a functionality. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationales A. The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim, with a second lift pin provided below the substrate and penetrating the electrostatic chuck, the second lift pin being configured to adjust a height of the substrate.
In regards to Claim 10, Pilgrim in view of Hayashi and Lee teach the second lift pin is provided in a second lift pin hole penetrating the electrostatic chuck but does not expressly teach wherein the second lift pin hole comprises a plurality of third nonconductive balls.
However, Pilgrim teaches a porous plug can be substituted with nonconductive balls, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above, and as shown in Fig. 1B and Fig. 2, 5A-5C.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a porous plugs analogous to that of Pilgrim in view of Hayashi and Lee out of non-conductive balls, as taught by Pilgrim, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 10, as the balls in the lift pin holes would be considered a second set of nonconductive balls.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. United States Patent No. 2004/0003898 which teaches balls in the gas line.
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716