DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishimura et al (Nishumura) (US 2024/0030384 A1 now US 12,610,662 B2).
In regards to claims 1 and 3-8, Nishumura (Figs. 1-12 and associated text) discloses the Applicant’s claimed invention.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2016/0017515 A1) in view of Brookhyser et al. (Brookhyser) (US 2022/0048135 A1) as evidenced by and/or in view of Shi et al. (Shi) “Temperature-induced structural change through glass transition of silicate glass by neutron diffraction” and Okamoto et al. “Borosilicate glasses with high softening points for glass-ceramic/copper multilayer substrates” in view of Ono et al. (Ono) (WO 2020100834 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Han (Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) discloses a laminate comprising: an amorphous glass substrate (item 418, paragraphs 9, 10, 17, 37, 45); and an AlN layer (item 416) formed on the amorphous glass substrate (item 418), wherein the AlN layer (item 416) is c-axis oriented (paragraph 52) on the amorphous glass substrate (item 418), but does not specifically disclose a glass transition temperature (Tg) of the amorphous glass substrate is 720° C. to 810° C., a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the amorphous glass substrate is 3.5×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K], and a softening point of the amorphous glass substrate is 950° C. to 1050° C.
As evidence by Brookhyser (paragraph 40), the amorphous substrate/amorphous glass substrate can be semiconductor or optical device substrate materials (e.g., Al.sub.2O.sub.3, AlN, BeO, Cu, GaAS, GaN, Ge, InP, Si, SiO2, SiC, Si1−xGex (where 0.0001<x<0.9999), or the like, or any combination or alloy thereof), glass (e.g., fused quartz, soda-lime-silica glass, sodium borosilicate glass, lead oxide glass, aluminosilicate glass, germanium oxide glass, aluminate glass, phosphate glass, borate glass, chalcogenide glass, amorphous metal, or the like or any combination thereof), sapphire, polymeric materials (e.g., polyamide, polyimide, polyester, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyacetal, polycarbonate, modified polyphenylene ether, polybutylene terephthalate, polyphenylene sulfide, polyether sulfone, polyether imide, polyether ether ketone, liquid crystal polymer, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, or any compound, composite or alloy thereof), leather, paper, build-up materials (e.g., AJINOMOTO Build-up Film, also known as “ABF”, etc.), solder resist, or the like or any composite, laminate, or other combination thereof.
As evidence by Shi (Tables 1 and 2, Glass I.D. CG and Jade), amorphous glass substrates can have a glass transition temperature (Tg) between 600° C. to 800° C, (item CG, Jade) and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of around 3.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.2×10.sup.−6 [1/K] (Jade)
As evidenced by Okamota (Abstract), amorphous glass can have a softening point ranging from 725° C. to over 900° C (900°C to 1000°C).
Therefore Han as evidenced and/or modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses a glass transition temperature (Tg) of the amorphous glass substrate is 720° C. to 810° C., a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the amorphous glass substrate is 3.5×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K], and a softening point of the amorphous glass substrate is 950° C. to 1050° C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Brookhyser evidenced by or modified by Shi and Okamoto for the purpose of high maximum working temperatures, solving the issue of glass relaxation (Shi) and improve the manufacturing process of substrates (Okamoto).
Han as evidenced/modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto does not specifically disclose wherein an arithmetic mean roughness (Ra) on a surface of the amorphous glass substrate is equal to or less than 3 nm.
Ono (Description-of-Embodiments) discloses wherein an arithmetic mean roughness (Ra) on a surface of the amorphous glass substrate is equal to or less than 3 nm (1.5 nm or less).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Ono for the purpose of reducing dielectric loss of high frequency signals (Industrial Applicability).
In regards to claim 3, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein the amorphous glass substrate (item 418) has a local Si—O crystal structure.
In regards to claim 4, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein the AlN layer (item 416) is a thin film deposited and formed on the amorphous glass substrate (item 418).
In regards to claim 5, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein the AlN layer (item 416) is deposited and formed on the amorphous glass substrate at a deposition temperature of 400° C. to 600° C.
The method of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
In regards to claim 6, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto does not specifically disclose wherein a film thickness of the AlN layer is 20 nm to 400 nm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a film thickness of the AlN layer being 20 nm to 400 nm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)). Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given any criticality as to where any value within the claimed range yields and advantageous or unexpected result.
In regards to claim 7, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein the AlN layer (item 416) is in direct contact with the amorphous glass substrate (item 418).
In regards to claim 8, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein a thickness of the amorphous glass substrate (item 418) is 0.4 mm to 1.0 mm (paragraph 69).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2016/0017515 A1) in view of Brookhyser et al. (Brookhyser) (US 2022/0048135 A1) as evidenced by and/or in view of Shi et al. (Shi) “Temperature-induced structural change through glass transition of silicate glass by neutron diffraction” and Okamoto et al. “Borosilicate glasses with high softening points for glass-ceramic/copper multilayer substrates”in view of Henn et al. (Henn) (US 2015/0355382 A1) in view of Ono et al. (Ono) (WO 2020100834 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Han (Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) discloses a method of manufacturing a laminate, the method comprising: preparing an amorphous glass substrate (item 418) having a glass transition temperature (Tg) of 720° C. to 810° C., a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of 3.5×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K], and a softening point of 950° C. to 1050° C.; and forming an AlN layer (item 416) on the amorphous glass substrate (item 418), but does not specifically disclose preparing an amorphous glass substrate having a glass transition temperature (Tg) of 720° C. to 810° C., a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of 3.5×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K], and a softening point of 950° C. to 1050° C.
As evidence by Brookhyser (paragraph 40), , the amorphous substrate/amorphous glass substrate can be semiconductor or optical device substrate materials (e.g., Al.sub.2O.sub.3, AlN, BeO, Cu, GaAS, GaN, Ge, InP, Si, SiO2, SiC, Si1−xGex (where 0.0001<x<0.9999), or the like, or any combination or alloy thereof), glass (e.g., fused quartz, soda-lime-silica glass, sodium borosilicate glass, lead oxide glass, aluminosilicate glass, germanium oxide glass, aluminate glass, phosphate glass, borate glass, chalcogenide glass, amorphous metal, or the like or any combination thereof), sapphire, polymeric materials (e.g., polyamide, polyimide, polyester, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyacetal, polycarbonate, modified polyphenylene ether, polybutylene terephthalate, polyphenylene sulfide, polyether sulfone, polyether imide, polyether ether ketone, liquid crystal polymer, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, or any compound, composite or alloy thereof), leather, paper, build-up materials (e.g., AJINOMOTO Build-up Film, also known as “ABF”, etc.), solder resist, or the like or any composite, laminate, or other combination thereof.
As evidence by Shi (Tables 1 and 2, Glass I.D. CG and Jade), amorphous glass substrates can have a glass transition temperature (Tg) between 600° C. to 800° C, (item CG, Jade) and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of around 3.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.2×10.sup.−6 [1/K] (Jade)
As evidenced by Okamota (Abstract), amorphous glass can have a softening point ranging from 725° C. to over 900° C (900°C to 1000°C).
Therefore Han as evidenced and/or modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses a glass transition temperature (Tg) of the amorphous glass substrate is 720° C. to 810° C., a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the amorphous glass substrate is 3.5×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K], and a softening point of the amorphous glass substrate is 950° C. to 1050° C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Brookhyser evidenced by or modified by Shi and Okamoto for the purpose of high maximum working temperatures, solving the issue of glass relaxation (Shi) and improve the manufacturing process of substrates (Okamoto).
Han modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto does not specifically disclose forming an AlN layer on the amorphous glass substrate at a deposition temperature of 400° C. to 600° C.
Henn (paragraphs 42, 64, 71,72) discloses forming an AlN layer on the amorphous glass substrate at a deposition temperature of 400° C. to 600° C (paragraph 72, preferably temperatures above 300° C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate aluminosilicate glass substrate as taught by Henn for the purpose of a preferred orientation of the crystal structure can be influenced in a particularly advantageous manner (paragraph 72).
Han as evidenced/modified by Brookhyser, Shi, Okamoto and Henn does not specifically disclose wherein an arithmetic mean roughness (Ra) on a surface of the amorphous glass substrate is equal to or less than 3 nm.
Ono (Description-of-Embodiments) discloses wherein an arithmetic mean roughness (Ra) on a surface of the amorphous glass substrate is equal to or less than 3 nm (1.5 nm or less).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Ono for the purpose of reducing dielectric loss of high frequency signals (Industrial Applicability).
In regards to claim 10, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Brookhyser, Shi, Okamoto and Henn discloses wherein, at the forming, the AlN layer (item 416) is c-axis oriented on the amorphous glass substrate (item 418), but does not specifically disclose the AlN layer is deposited and formed with a film thickness of 20 nm to 400 nm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a film thickness of the AlN layer being 20 nm to 400 nm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)). Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given any criticality as to where any value within the claimed range yields and advantageous or unexpected result.
In regards to claim 11, Han (Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi, Okamoto and Henn discloses wherein the AlN layer (item 416) is deposited on the amorphous glass substrate (item 418) by sputtering (paragraphs 28, 46, 52, 54., 56, 59, 77).
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2016/0017515 A1) in view of Brookhyser et al. (Brookhyser) (US 2022/0048135 A1) as evidenced by and/or in view of Shi et al. (Shi) “Temperature-induced structural change through glass transition of silicate glass by neutron diffraction” and Okamoto et al. “Borosilicate glasses with high softening points for glass-ceramic/copper multilayer substrates” in view of Kazutaka et al. (Kazutaka) (WO 2020100834 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Han (Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) discloses a laminate comprising: an amorphous glass substrate (item 418, paragraphs 9, 10, 17, 37, 45); and an AlN layer (item 416) formed on the amorphous glass substrate (item 418), wherein the AlN layer (item 416) is c-axis oriented (paragraph 52) on the amorphous glass substrate (item 418), but does not specifically disclose a glass transition temperature (Tg) of the amorphous glass substrate is 720° C. to 810° C., a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the amorphous glass substrate is 3.5×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K], and a softening point of the amorphous glass substrate is 950° C. to 1050° C.
As evidence by Brookhyser (paragraph 40), the amorphous substrate/amorphous glass substrate can be semiconductor or optical device substrate materials (e.g., Al.sub.2O.sub.3, AlN, BeO, Cu, GaAS, GaN, Ge, InP, Si, SiO2, SiC, Si1−xGex (where 0.0001<x<0.9999), or the like, or any combination or alloy thereof), glass (e.g., fused quartz, soda-lime-silica glass, sodium borosilicate glass, lead oxide glass, aluminosilicate glass, germanium oxide glass, aluminate glass, phosphate glass, borate glass, chalcogenide glass, amorphous metal, or the like or any combination thereof), sapphire, polymeric materials (e.g., polyamide, polyimide, polyester, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyacetal, polycarbonate, modified polyphenylene ether, polybutylene terephthalate, polyphenylene sulfide, polyether sulfone, polyether imide, polyether ether ketone, liquid crystal polymer, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, or any compound, composite or alloy thereof), leather, paper, build-up materials (e.g., AJINOMOTO Build-up Film, also known as “ABF”, etc.), solder resist, or the like or any composite, laminate, or other combination thereof.
As evidence by Shi (Tables 1 and 2, Glass I.D. CG and Jade), amorphous glass substrates can have a glass transition temperature (Tg) between 600° C. to 800° C, (item CG, Jade) and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of around 3.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.2×10.sup.−6 [1/K] (Jade)
As evidenced by Okamota (Abstract), amorphous glass can have a softening point ranging from 725° C. to over 900° C (900°C to 1000°C).
Therefore Han as evidenced and/or modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses a glass transition temperature (Tg) of the amorphous glass substrate is 720° C. to 810° C., a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the amorphous glass substrate is 3.5×10.sup.−6 [1/K] to 4.0×10.sup.−6 [1/K], and a softening point of the amorphous glass substrate is 950° C. to 1050° C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Brookhyser evidenced by or modified by Shi and Okamoto for the purpose of high maximum working temperatures, solving the issue of glass relaxation (Shi) and improve the manufacturing process of substrates (Okamoto).
Han as evidenced/modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto does not specifically disclose wherein an arithmetic mean roughness (Ra) on a surface of the amorphous glass substrate is equal to or less than 3 nm.
Kazutaka (Ceramic and Glass) discloses wherein an arithmetic mean roughness (Ra) on a surface of the amorphous glass substrate is equal to or less than 3 nm (1.5 nm or less).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kazutaka for the purpose of reducing dielectric loss of high frequency signals.
In regards to claim 3, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein the amorphous glass substrate (item 418) has a local Si—O crystal structure.
In regards to claim 4, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein the AlN layer (item 416) is a thin film deposited and formed on the amorphous glass substrate (item 418).
In regards to claim 5, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein the AlN layer (item 416) is deposited and formed on the amorphous glass substrate at a deposition temperature of 400° C. to 600° C.
The method of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
In regards to claim 6, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto does not specifically disclose wherein a film thickness of the AlN layer is 20 nm to 400 nm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a film thickness of the AlN layer being 20 nm to 400 nm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)). Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given any criticality as to where any value within the claimed range yields and advantageous or unexpected result.
In regards to claim 7, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein the AlN layer (item 416) is in direct contact with the amorphous glass substrate (item 418).
In regards to claim 8, Han (paragraph 48, Figs. 4A-4C and associated text) as modified by Brookhyser, Shi and Okamoto discloses wherein a thickness of the amorphous glass substrate (item 418) is 0.4 mm to 1.0 mm (paragraph 69).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Morimoto et al. (JP 57010280 A) and Tanino et al. (WO 2013100152 A1) both disclose an arithmetic mean roughness of less than or equal to 3 nm.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 August 31, 2026