DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claims 8-10 are canceled.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments filed 08/17/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1-7 have been amended.
The Section 102 rejections have been updated to reflect Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Pervan et al. (US 2010/0300030 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Pervan teaches panels for a floor element comprising a surface layer coating (Pervan: par. 0013). The coating comprising a surface coating comprising decorative surface layer (5) comprising cork particles (powder) mixed with a synthetic binder (a coating varnish for application to the floor element) (Pervan: par. 0098-0099). The surface coating layer could be a single continuous layer that is directly placed on both sides of a balancing layer (6, a flooring element), and thus one of the layers may be a single layer that may be opposite a visible side as only one side would be visible (Pervan: Fig. 7; par. 0164).
The limitation requiring the coating varnish to be “applied to the flooring element in a single application step by machine application by means of an application roller” are product by process and/or functional limitations. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either Section 102 or Section 103 is proper. See MPEP 2113. A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2173.05 (g). In this case, there appears to be no structural difference between the claimed coating varnish and the coating varnish disclosed by Pervan. The coating varnish (the surface layer coating) may be considered a single and continuous layer as detailed in the Figures and that it has a defined thickness (Pervan: Figs. 3-5; par. 0144). The coating varnish may have a thickness of between 0.1 to 0.2 mm, which is within the claimed range of from 0.05 to 0.3 mm (Pervan: par. 0144).
Regarding claim 2,
Pervan teaches the coating layer required by claim 1. Pervan further teaches the coating varnish may have a thickness of between 0.1 to 0.2 mm, which is within the claimed range of from 0.1 to 0.3 mm (Pervan: par. 0144).
Regarding claim 3,
Pervan teaches the coating layer required by claim 1. Pervan further teaches the coating varnish comprises cork, synthetic binders, and wear resistant particles and thus may be considered to consists only of a mixture of natural and synthetic components (Pervan: par. 0099).
Regarding claim 4,
Pervan teaches the coating layer required by claim 1. Pervan further teaches the synthetic binder may be a resin such as a polyester (Pervan: par. 0270).
Regarding claim 6,
Pervan teaches the coating layer required by claim 1. Pervan further teaches the cork particles may have a size in a range and thus may have single or different grain sizes (Pervan: par. 0106 and 0108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pervan.
Regarding claim 5,
Pervan teaches the coating layer required by claim 1. Pervan further teaches the cork powder has a particle (grain) size of 1 mm or less, which overlaps with the claimed 0.1 to 1 mm (Pervan: par. 0106).
Regarding claim 7,
Pervan teaches the coating layer required by claim 1. Pervan is silent towards the cork powder being present in terms of vol%.
However, Pervan teaches the cork particles are homogenously (equal amounts) mixed with the other components (Pervan: claim 1; 0052, 0099, and 0149) and teaches an example of 25 wt% of wood fibers which may be swamped for the cork particles (Pervan: par. 0191) and another example of the wood fibers (which may be swapped with cork particles) is present in at least 5% (Pervan: par. 0267). Thus, the cork particles may be present in overlapping amounts to the claimed 5 to 50 vol% when converted. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the cork dust particles and the other ingredients in the surface layer to achieve the desired decorative and wear resistant effects as taught by Pervan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments toward the Section 112(b) are found persuasive in view of the amendments. The Section 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments filed 08/17/2026 toward the Section 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended limitations requiring the coating layer to be applied as a single continuous layer directly applied in a single application step by machine application by means of an application roller is a materially different process of applying said coating than that of Pervan which utilizes printing or pressure to apply said coating.
The argument is not found persuasive as the claims are drawn to products. The method in which the coating is made or applies to the flooring element is considered product by process and not given patentable weight as only the final structure is considered in terms of patentability. Pervan teaches the claimed coating composition, thickness, and is a single continuous layer as noted in the rejection above. Thus, there appears to be no structural difference between the final claimed structure and the structure of Pervan. Applicant’s argument that Pervan has different structural aspects that make it possible to not be capable of being applied to a roller is also not found persuasive as none of these structural differences are reflected in the claims as the claim is broadly claimed to be a coating varnish layer comprising cork powder having a certain thickness and is a single continuous layer. All of which is met by the structure of the coating of Pervan. Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2145 I. That is, Applicant has not provided evidence beyond conclusionary statements that the resulting coating layer of Pervan is structurally different from the final structure of the claimed coating layer product of claim 1. It is further noted that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See MPEP 2145 VI.
Applicant argues that the Section 103 rejections are invalid for the reasons listed in the arguments for the Section 102 rejections.
The arguments are not found persuasive for the reasons listed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS M FIGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783