DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Pub. 2022/0102236; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a package comprising: a first substrate 160 (page 3, paragraph 39); an integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) (page 2, paragraph 25) coupled to the first substrate 160 (see fig. 1A), wherein the integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) comprises a step back side (the integrated device has a stepped shape defined by a first length S1 and a second length S2; see figs. 1A, 3A and 3B); a second substrate (110, 190) comprising a cavity 112 (page 2, paragraph 26), wherein the integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) is located at least partially in the cavity 112 of the second substrate (110, 190) (see fig. 1A); and an encapsulation layer 180 (page 4, paragraph 42) coupled to the first substrate 160 and the second substrate (110, 190) (see fig. 1A), wherein the encapsulation layer 180 is located between the first substrate 160 and the second substrate (110, 190) (see fig. 1A), and wherein the encapsulation layer 180 is located at least partially in the cavity 112 of the second substrate (110, 190) (see fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) comprises a die substrate (130, 140, 150) (the integrated device includes a die substrate disposed on a semiconductor chip 120, the die substrate comprising an adhesive layer 130, a thin film layer 140, and a heat spreader layer 150) that includes a step contour (see figs. 3A and 3B).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the die substrate (130, 140, 150) comprises a first thickness H1 and a second thickness (H2 + H3) that is different from the first thickness H1 (H1 and H3 may have the same thickness; page 3, paragraph 38).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses wherein a first portion 130 of the die substrate (130, 140, 150) comprises a first width (W1, W2), and wherein a second portion (140, 150) of the die substrate (130, 140, 150) comprises a second width (W3-W6) that is different from the first width (W1, W2) (the second width W3-W6 is less than the first width W1, W2; see figs. 3A and 3B).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the first substrate 160 comprises: at least one first dielectric layer 162 (page 3, paragraph 39); and a first plurality of interconnects (164, 166) (page 3, paragraph 39), and wherein the second substrate (110, 190) comprises: at least one second dielectric layer (114, 192) (page 2, paragraph 30; page 4, paragraph 44); and a second plurality of interconnects (116, 118, 194, 196, 198, 199) (page 2, paragraph 26; page 4, paragraphs 44 and 46).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the second plurality of interconnects (116, 118, 194, 196, 198, 199) of the second substrate (110, 190) comprise a plurality of trace interconnects 116 (page 2, paragraph 26) that are located laterally to the integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) (see fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses wherein the second plurality of interconnects (116, 118, 194, 196, 198, 199) of the second substrate (110, 190) comprise a plurality of trace interconnects (116, 198) (page 2, paragraph 26) that are (i) located laterally to the integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) (see fig. 1A) and (ii) vertically overlap with a portion of the integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) (see fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses further comprising a second integrated device 520 (page 6, paragraph 63) coupled to the second substrate (110, 190) through at least a plurality of solder interconnects (page 4, paragraph 41; see fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses a method for fabricating a package comprising: providing a first substrate 160 (page 3, paragraph 39); coupling an integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) (page 2, paragraph 25) to the first substrate 160 (see fig. 1A), wherein the integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) comprises a step back side (the integrated device has a stepped shape defined by a first length S1 and a second length S2; see figs. 1A, 3A and 3B); proving a second substrate (110, 190) comprising a cavity 112 (page 2, paragraph 26), wherein the second substrate (110, 190) is provided such that the integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) is located at least partially in the cavity 112 of the second substrate (110, 190) (see fig. 1A); and forming an encapsulation layer 180 (page 4, paragraph 42) that is coupled to the first substrate 160 and the second substrate (110, 190) (see fig. 1A), wherein the encapsulation layer 180 is located between the first substrate 160 and the second substrate (110, 190) (see fig. 1A), and wherein the encapsulation layer 180 is located at least partially in the cavity 112 of the second substrate (110, 190) (see fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses wherein the integrated device (120, 130, 140, 150) comprises a die substrate (130, 140) (the integrated device includes a die substrate disposed on a semiconductor chip 120, the die substrate comprising an adhesive layer 130 and a thin film layer 140) that includes a step contour (see figs. 3A and 3B).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses wherein the die substrate (130, 140) comprises a first thickness H1 and a second thickness H2 that is different from the first thickness H1 (page 3, paragraphs 34 and 37; see figs. 3A and 3B).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses wherein a first portion 130 of the die substrate (130, 140) comprises a first width (W1, W2), and wherein a second portion 140 of the die substrate (130, 140) comprises a second width (W3, W4) that is different from the first width (W1, W2) (the second width W3, W4 is less than the first width W1, W2; page 3, paragraph 36; see figs. 3A and 3B).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses further comprising a second die substrate 150 (because a heat spreader layer 150 is disposed on and mechanically supports the semiconductor chip 120, it may be considered a die substrate) coupled to the die substrate (130, 140) (see figs. 1A, 3A and 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Im et al. (US Pub. 2018/0315740; hereinafter “Im”).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim fails to disclose explicitly wherein the cavity has a cavity width that is less than a width of the integrated device.
However, Im discloses wherein an interposer 300, considered as a substrate, may include an interposer hole 300h-_1 (page 2, paragraph 27), wherein the interposer hole 300h_1 width is less than a width W1 of a first semiconductor chip 110 (see fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a cavity of a substrate having a width less than a width of an integrated device, as taught by Im, in order to accommodate the integrated device while maintaining structural support around its periphery.
Regarding Claim 13, Kim fails to disclose explicitly wherein the integrated device is coupled to the first substrate through at least one a plurality of solder interconnects.
However, Im discloses wherein a first semiconductor chip 110 is connected to a first semiconductor package substrate 101 through a plurality of solder balls 113 (pages 1-2, paragraph 15; see fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple an integrated device and a substrate through a plurality of solder interconnects, as taught by Im, in order to provide reliable electrical and mechanical connection while accommodating thermal expansion differences between the integrated device and the substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 recites a second die substrate coupled to the die substrate through an adhesive.
Claim 6 recites a plurality of ball interconnects and a plurality of solder interconnects coupled to the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the plurality of ball interconnects and the plurality of solder interconnects are located between the first substrate and the second substrate.
Claim 14 recites the integrated device is coupled to the first substrate through at least a plurality of solder interconnects and a plurality of pillar interconnects.
Claim 20 recites the second substrate is coupled to the first substrate through a plurality of ball interconnects and a plurality of solder interconnects, and wherein the plurality of ball interconnects and the plurality of solder interconnects are located between the first substrate and the second substrate.
These features in combination with the other elements of the base claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 7 depends from claim 6, so it is objected for the same reason.
Conclusion
/CHEUNG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 February 6, 2026