Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “A1 corner” as described in the specification e.g. see ¶0027. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-11, 13-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Athreya et al. (US 2016/0254629 A1), hereafter Athreya.
Regarding claim 1, Athreya at fig. 3-5 and ¶0044 discloses a socket apparatus 500, comprising: a socket cavity sized and configured to receive a chip package [cavity for 106 as shown at fig. 5]; a plurality of base contacts portion of 408 near 210] on a bottom surface S2 of the socket a socket housing 204/504, the plurality of base contacts being mountable on a circuit board 102; and a plurality of uniformly oriented pins 211,209,408a positioned across a top surface [S1] of the socket apparatus housing opposite the bottom surface, each pin of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins [uniform as shown at fig. 3] having a location that is referenced relative to a datum reference [top right sides corner of 204 at fig. 3 where curve portion of 211,209 faces], wherein the datum reference is positioned in a first corner of the socket housing [top right corner of 204 at fig. 3], wherein the plurality of uniformly oriented pins deflect in a uniform direction and parallel to one another [see fig. 3-4], and wherein, when a load from the chip package 106 is applied to the plurality of uniformly oriented pins [see fig. 3-4], the plurality of uniformly oriented pins flex to bias a first corner of the chip package [when 106 is loaded. See fig. 4a-4b] to the first corner of the socket housing, wherein a top portion [top of curved/angle portion 408a near 106a] of each uniformly oriented pin of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins is angled [see curved/angled portion of 211,209,408a] in parallel to a diagonal of the socket cavity extending from the first corner of the socket housing [fig. 3-4], wherein an angling of the top portion is parallel to the diagonal of the socket cavity [see fig. 3-4] and causes each uniformly oriented pin of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins to flex in the uniform direction when the load is applied [fig. 4a-4b], wherein the uniform direction is parallel to the diagonal towards the first corner [fig. 3], and wherein, when a plurality of electrical pads 106a of the chip package 106 come into contact with the plurality of uniformly oriented pins and the load is applied [fig. 4b], the plurality of uniformly oriented pins are configured to wipe in the uniform direction [wiping direction of plurality of 408a towards corner as shown from fig. 3-4b] towards the first corner of the socket housing [wiping direction of 408a towards corner as shown from fig. 4a-4b].
2. (Canceled).
Regarding claim 3, Athreya at fig. 3-5 discloses the socket apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of uniformly oriented pins [408a as an example] is configured to wipe between initial contact points [initial contact before compressive force, see ¶0042] and final resting points [fig. 4b and ¶0042] in which a direction between the initial contact points and the final resting points is towards the first corner of the socket housing parallel to a diagonal of the socket cavity [wiping direction of 408a towards the corner as shown from fig. 4a-4b and 3]. .
Regarding claim 4, Athreya at fig. 3-5 discloses the socket apparatus of claim 3, each initial contact point and each final resting point of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins are within an area of a corresponding electrical pad from the plurality of electrical pads [wiping area of pad 106a of plurality of 106a].
5. (Canceled).
Regarding claim 6, Athreya at fig. 3-5 discloses the socket apparatus of claim 1, wherein the socket cavity includes one or more of: a partial enclosure [partial enclosures aa shown at fig. 5-6 on top surface of 504] of the top surface of the socket housing, the partial enclosure including at least a corner structure [four corner alignment feature 562as shown] around the first corner of the socket housing [corner alignment feature 562]; or a full enclosure of the socket housing.
Regarding claim 7, Athreya at fig. 4a-4b discloses the socket apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of base contacts and the plurality of uniformly oriented pins are part of a continuous member 408 having solder balls 210 added to the plurality of base contacts to solder the continuous member to the circuit board 102.
Regarding claim 8, Athreya at fig. 3-5 and ¶0047 discloses the socket apparatus of claim 1, wherein the socket apparatus housing has a first size, and wherein the chip package has a second size having a set of dimensions that are smaller than the first size such that the chip package fits within the socket cavity of the socket housing.
Regarding claim 9, Athreya at fig. 3-5 and ¶0047 discloses the socket apparatus of claim 1, wherein the socket housing includes a ball grid array (BGA) [because of 210].
Regarding claim 10, Athreya at fig. 3-5 discloses the socket apparatus of claim 1, wherein the chip package is a land grid array (LGA) package [106a of 106 is land].
Regarding claim 11, Athreya at rejection of claim 1 above and at fig. 4a-4b discloses the circuit board package, comprising: a circuit board 102; and a socket apparatus mounted to the circuit board via a plurality of base contacts on a bottom surface of a socket housing 204/504/604 of the socket apparatus, the socket apparatus comprising: a socket cavity sized and configured to receive a chip package; and a plurality of uniformly oriented pins positioned across a top surface of the socket apparatus housing opposite the bottom surface, each pin of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins having a location that is referenced relative to a datum reference, wherein the datum reference is positioned in a first corner of the socket housing, wherein the plurality of uniformly oriented pins deflect in a uniform direction and parallel to one another, and wherein, when a load from the chip package is applied to the plurality of uniformly oriented pins, the plurality of uniformly oriented pins flex to bias a first corner of the chip package to the first corner of the socket housing, wherein a top portion of each uniformly oriented pin of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins is angled in parallel to a diagonal of the socket cavity extending from the first corner of the socket housing, wherein an angling of the top portion is parallel to the diagonal of the socket cavity and causes each uniformly oriented pin of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins to flex in the uniform direction when the load is applied, wherein the uniform direction is parallel to the diagonal towards the first corner, and wherein, when a plurality of electrical pads of the chip package come into contact with the plurality of uniformly oriented pins and the load is applied, the plurality of uniformly oriented pins are configured to wipe in the uniform direction towards the first corner of the socket housing.
12. (Canceled).
Regarding claim 13, Athreya at rejection of claim 4 above and at fig. 4a-4b discloses the circuit board package of claim 11, wherein each electrical pad 106a of the plurality of electrical pads of the chip package has a pad location [location of 106a] that is referenced relative to the datum reference, wherein the datum reference is positioned in the first corner of the chip package that aligns with the first corner of the socket housing when the chip package is placed within the socket cavity [corner of 106 when loaded with corner (datum reference corner) of 204/504].
Regarding claim 14, Athreya at rejection of claim 4 above and at fig. 4a-4b discloses the circuit board package of claim 11, wherein the first corner of the chip package and the first corner of the socket apparatus housing is a same physical corner [corner of 106 when loaded with corner (datum reference corner) of 204/504].
Regarding claim 15, Athreya at rejection of claim 9-10 above and at fig. 4a-4b discloses the circuit board package of claim 11, wherein the chip package is a land grid array (LGA) package, and wherein the socket apparatus housing includes a ball grid array (BGA).
Regarding claim 16, Athreya at rejection of claim 3 above and at fig. 4a-4b discloses the circuit board package of claim 11, wherein the plurality of uniformly oriented pins is configured to wipe between an initial contact point and a final resting point in which a direction between the initial contact point and the final resting point is parallel to a diagonal of the socket cavity passing through and toward the first corner of the socket housing.
Regarding claim 17, Athreya at rejection of claims 1 and 11 above and at fig. 4a-4b discloses the method of facilitating an electrical connection between a circuit board and a chip package, comprising: mounting a socket apparatus to the circuit board via a plurality of base contacts on a bottom surface of a socket housing of the socket apparatus, the socket apparatus including a plurality of uniformly oriented pins positioned across a top surface of the socket apparatus housing opposite the bottom surface, each uniformly oriented pin of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins having a location that is referenced relative to a datum reference, wherein the datum reference is positioned in a first corner of the socket housing, wherein the plurality of uniformly oriented pins deflect in a uniform direction and parallel to one another, and wherein, when a load from the chip package is applied to the plurality of uniformly oriented pins, the plurality of uniformly oriented pins flex to bias a first corner of the chip package to the first corner of the socket housing, wherein a top portion of each uniformly oriented pin of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins is angled in parallel to a diagonal of a socket cavity of the socket apparatus, the diagonal extending from the first corner of the socket housing, wherein an angling of the top portion is parallel to the diagonal of the socket cavity and causes each uniformly oriented pin of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins to flex in the uniform direction when the load is applied, wherein the uniform direction is parallel to the diagonal towards the first corner, and wherein, when a plurality of electrical pads of the chip package come into contact with the plurality of uniformly oriented pins and the load is applied, the plurality of uniformly oriented pins are configured to wipe in the uniform direction towards the first corner of the socket housing; placing the chip package 106 within a socket cavity [fig. 5-6] of the socket apparatus housing to position a plurality of electrical pads 106a on the chip package in contact with the plurality of uniformly oriented pins 408a on the top surface of the socket housing; and applying a biasing load [compressive force ¶0042] to the chip package in the uniform direction such that a first corner of the chip package is biased to the first corner of the socket housing.
18. (Canceled).
Regarding claim 19, Athreya at rejection of claims 1 and 11 above and at fig. 4a-4b discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the biasing load is caused by a combination of physical placement of the chip package [compressive force ¶0042 and fig. 4b] in the first corner of the socket apparatus housing and wiping of the plurality of uniformly oriented pins in parallel to a diagonal of the socket cavity passing through and towards the first corner of the socket housing [compressive force ¶0042 and fig. 5].
Regarding claim 20, Athreya at rejection of claims 3 and 16 above and at fig. 4a-4b discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of uniformly oriented pins are configured to wipe between an initial contact point and a final resting point in which a direction between the initial contact point and the final resting point is parallel to a diagonal of the socket cavity passing through and towards the first corner of the socket housing.
Conclusion
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
February 24, 2026