DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first guide part and the second guide part are formed in a zigzag pattern [claim 14] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al (US Pub 2022/0109179).
Regarding claim 1, Choi et al disclose [see Figs. 3 & 8 above] a unified battery cell sensor integrated battery module (battery module 10) comprising: an end plate part (end plates 20) positioned on the left and right sides of the battery module (10) [via battery cell 110]; and a unified sensor part (temperature sensor 80 & bus bar assemblies 30 [via nuts 70 and bolts 21]) formed integrally on the end plate part (20) and configured to sense at least one of voltage [via item 30] or temperature [via item 80] of a battery cell (battery cell 110).
Regarding claim 2, Choi et al disclose wherein the unified sensor part (80 & 30) comprises: a wire part comprising a first voltage sensing part (bus bar 30 on the left side cell 110) and a second voltage sensing part (bus bar 30 on the right side of cell 110) configured each to measure voltage at the front and rear ends of the battery module (10); and a temperature sensing part (temperature sensor 80) formed integrally on the wire part and configured to contact the battery cell (110) and sense the temperature of the battery cell (110).
Regarding claim 3, Choi et al disclose wherein the end plate part (20) comprises: an outer plate part (external plate 201); and an inner plate part (internal plate 202) coupled with the outer plate part (201) on one side thereof and facing the battery cell (110) on the other side, wherein the temperature sensing part (80) is positioned between the inner plate part (201) and the battery cell (110).
Regarding claim 4, Choi et al disclose wherein the temperature sensing part (80) comprises a temperature sensor (80) configured to sensing the temperature of the battery cell (110), and the inner plate part (202) comprises a compartment [shown but not numbered in Fig. 8] facing the outer plate part (201) at a position corresponding to the temperature sensor (80) to accommodate the temperature sensor (80) in response to swelling of the battery cell (110).
Regarding claim 10, Choi et al disclose wherein the temperature sensing part (80) comprises an adhesive portion to be fixed to the inner plate part (202).
Regarding claim 12, Choi et al disclose wherein the end plate part (20) comprises an air gap part configured to dissipate heat generated during welding.
Regarding claim 13, Choi et al disclose wherein the end plate part (20) comprises a first guide part (cover 60 on the left side of cell 110) and a second guide part (cover 60 on the right side of cell 110) protruded upward at the top thereof to guide the wiring work of the wire part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US Pub 2022/0109179).
Regarding claim 5, Choi et al disclose wherein the temperature sensor (80). However, the prior art does not discloses a second temperature sensor as claimed. It is well known to have more than one item where needed by the user [see MPEP 2144.04; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one temperature sensor since it was held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 14, Choi et al disclose guide parts (60) However, the prior art does not disclose the first and the second guide parts are formed in a zigzag pattern as claimed. It is well known to have different pattern where needed by the user [see MPEP 2144.04; In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form a different patterns for guide parts since it was held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 15, Choi et al disclose [see Figs. 3 & 8 above] a unified battery cell sensor integrated battery module (battery module 10) comprising: an end plate part (end plates 20) contacting battery cell (battery cell 110); and a unified sensor part (temperature sensor 80 & bus bar assemblies 30 [via nuts 70 and bolts 21]) formed integrally on the end plate part (20) and configured to sense at least one of voltage [via item 30] or temperature [via item 80] of a battery cell (battery cell 110), wherein the unified sensor part (80 & 30) comprises: a wire part comprising a first voltage sensing part (bus bar 30 on the left side cell 110) and a second voltage sensing part (bus bar 30 on the right side of cell 110) configured each to measure voltage at the front and rear ends of the battery module (10); and a temperature sensing part (temperature sensor 80) formed integrally on the wire part and configured to contact the battery cell (110) and sense the temperature of the battery cell (110). However, the prior art does not discloses a second temperature sensor as claimed. It is well known to have more than one item where needed by the user [see MPEP 2144.04; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one temperature sensor since it was held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 6, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to the first temperature sensor is positioned on the upper side of the temperature sensing part to sense the temperature at the top of the battery cell, and the second temperature sensor is positioned on the lower side of the temperature sensing part to sense the temperature at the bottom of the battery cell. Since claims 7-9 depends from claim 6, they also have allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 11, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to wherein the adhesive portion is positioned between the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858