DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention of Group I, Claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 05/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 14, the recitation of “apply the green sub-pixel to the second green data value” is unclear because the second green data value should be applied to the green sub-pixel instead.
In claim 1, line 15, the recitation of “apply the blue sub-pixel to the second blue data value” is unclear because the second blue data value should be applied to the blue sub-pixel instead.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cok et al. (US 2010/0013748).
Regarding claim 1, Cok et al. discloses, as shown in Figures 2-5, an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display device comprising:
a display panel (10, [0038]) configured to display an image and includes a plurality of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixels (15) including a red sub-pixel (20R, [0038], Fig. 2), a green sub-pixel (20G, [0038], Fig. 2), a blue sub-pixel (20B, [0038], Fig. 2), and a white sub-pixel (20W, [0038], Fig. 2); and
a processor (25, [0038]) configured to:
obtain a first red data value (205, [0066]-[0067], Fig. 5), a first green data value (205, [0066]-[0067], Fig. 5), and a first blue data value (205, [0066]-[0067], Fig. 5) based on the image;
select one among a plurality of data combinations for a pixel having the same brightness and color as the image (210, [0066], Fig. 5);
convert each of the first red data value, the first green data value, and the first blue data value into a second red data value (220, [0067], Fig. 5), a second green data value (220, [0067], Fig. 5), a second blue data value (220, [0067], Fig. 5), and a first white data value (220, [0067], Fig. 5) corresponding to the data combination;
apply (240, [0069], Fig. 5) the second red data value (220, [0067], Fig. 5) to the red sub-pixel (20R, [0038]);
apply the second green data value (220, [0067] , Fig. 5) to the green sub-pixel (20G, [0038]);
apply the second blue data value (220, [0067], Fig. 5) to the blue sub-pixel (20B, [0038]); and
apply the first white data value (220, [0067], Fig. 5) to the white sub-pixel (20W, [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Cok et al. discloses the processor is further configured to: obtain a first cumulative light emission time (215, [0066]-[0067]) of the red sub-pixel (20R), a second cumulative light emission time (215, [0066]-[0067]) of the green sub-pixel (20G), a third cumulative light emission time (215, [0066]-[0067]) of the blue sub-pixel (20B), and a fourth cumulative light emission time (215, [0066]-[0067]) of the white sub-pixel (20W); and
select a data (225, [0068]-[0069]) combination based on the first accumulated light emission time, the second accumulated light emission time, the third accumulated light emission time, and the fourth accumulated light emission time.
Regarding claim 3, Cok et al. discloses the processor is configured to: select the data combination (245, 250, 255, [0070]-[0076], Fig. 5) to increase the brightness of a sub-pixel having the smallest cumulative light emission time among the first cumulative light emission time, the second accumulated light emission time, the third accumulated light emission time, and the fourth accumulated light emission time.
Regarding claim 4, Cok et al. discloses the processor is configured to: select the data combination (245, 250, 255, [0070]-[0076], Fig. 5) to reduce the brightness of a sub-pixel having the largest accumulated light emission time among the first cumulative light emission time, the second accumulated light emission time, the third accumulated light emission time, and the fourth accumulated light emission time.
Regarding claim 5, Cok et al. discloses the processor is further configured to: calculate difference values (245, 250, 255, [0070]-[0076], Fig. 5) between two cumulative light emission times among the first cumulative light emission time, the second cumulative light emission time, the third cumulative light emission time, and the fourth cumulative light emission time; select the data combination such that a sum of the difference values is minimized.
Regarding claim 6, Cok et al. discloses the processor is further configured to: calculate a difference value (245, 250, 255, [0070]-[0076], Fig. 5) between two cumulative light emission times among the first cumulative light emission time, the second cumulative light emission time, the third cumulative light emission time, and the fourth cumulative light emission time; select the data combination to reduce the difference value to less than the predetermined value if the calculated difference value is greater than or equal to the predetermined value.
Regarding claim 7, Cok et al. discloses the processor is further configured to: randomly, select any one of the plurality of data combinations (245, 250, 255, [0070]-[0076], Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Cok et al. discloses the display panel is configured to display a still image and a background image, the processor is configured to select the data combination such that the brightness of sub-pixel becomes smooth from the pixel of the still image to the pixel of the background image (245, 250, 255, [0070]-[0076], Fig. 5).
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897