DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first retaining wall" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner assumes applicant meant the first retaining wall layer and will examine under this assumption.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the first retaining wall" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner assumes applicant meant the first retaining wall layer and will examine under this assumption.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first retaining wall" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner assumes applicant meant the first retaining wall layer and will examine under this assumption.
Claims 2-18 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention. The claims are rejected in view of Lina Wang et al. (US 20220238618 A1) herein after referred to as “Wang”.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches
A display panel (100), comprising:
a substrate (1); and
a retaining wall (Fig. 4 element 12), disposed on the substrate, disposed outside (area B Para.[0085]) a display area (area A Para.[0086][0082] of the display panel and surrounding the display area, and comprising:
a first retaining wall layer (layers 42, 43, 44, 45, and 46); and
a second retaining wall layer (47 and 48), stacked on the first retaining wall layer and disposed on a side of the first retaining wall away from the substrate, (Fig. 4)
wherein an area of an orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer on the substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate, (Fig. 4 the area of 47 and 48 is less than the area of layers 42-46) and a horizontal distance between a boundary (left most edge of 47) of the second retaining wall layer away from the display area (47) and a boundary (left most edge of 42-46) of the first retaining wall layer away from the display area is greater than a first threshold (the first threshold is any length and there is a length between the left most edge of 47 and the left most edge or layers 42-46).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first retaining wall layer (layers 42-46) is continuously arranged in a direction away from the display area,(Fig. 4) and the orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer(48 and 47) on the substrate partially overlaps the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate.(Fig. 4 element 47 and 48 are on top of 42-46)
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 2, wherein the orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer (47 and 48) on the substrate is located in a middle area (the area where the layers 42-46 have a flat area) of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer (42-46) on the substrate. (Fig. 4 elements 47 and 48 are on top of the middle areas or 42-46)
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 2, wherein the orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer (47 and 48) on the substrate covers part of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate close to the display area (fig. 4 element 48 covers the right side of 42-46)
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 4, wherein an orthographic projection of a boundary (the right most edge of 47) of the second retaining wall layer away from the display area (47) on the substrate is located in a middle area (Fig.4 or see above diagram) of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer (42-46) on the substrate (1).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 4, wherein an orthographic projection of a boundary (the upper edge boundary) of the second retaining wall layer close to the display area (48) on the substrate covers an orthographic projection of a boundary (the right most edge of 42-46) of the first retaining wall layer close to the display area (the right side of 42-46) on the substrate.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 6, wherein the orthographic projection of the boundary of the second retaining wall layer close to the display area (the right most edge of 48) on the substrate is located adjacent to an edge area of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate.(Fig. 4. The right most edge of 48 is adjacent to the right most edge of 42-46)
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first retaining wall layer (42-46) comprises a first retaining wall segment (the right segment of 42-46 of element 4) and a second retaining wall segment (the left segment of 42-46 of element 5) disposed on a side of the first retaining wall segment away from the display area, a groove (shown in diagram at the right) is formed between the first retaining wall segment and the second retaining wall segment, and the second retaining wall layer (47 and 48) is disposed on the first retaining wall segment and at least partially fills the groove.(see diagram at the right)
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 8, wherein an orthographic projection of a boundary (the right most boundary) of the second retaining wall layer away from the display area (47) is located in the groove.(see last diagram above)
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 8, wherein the second retaining wall layer (47 and 48) completely covers the first retaining wall segment. (of 47 and 48, 48 covers the first retaining wall segment (see last diagram above)
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 10, wherein an orthographic projection of the first retaining wall segment on the substrate is located in the orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer on the substrate. (fig. 4 elements 47 and 48 are on top of the right segment of 42-46)
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 8, wherein the orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer (47 and 48)on the substrate partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the first retaining wall segment on the substrate. (fig 4 elements 47 and 48 are on top of the right segment of 42-46)
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 12, wherein a horizontal distance between a boundary (the upper edge boundary see diagram at the right) of the second retaining wall layer close to the display area (48) and a boundary of the first retaining wall segment close to the display area (right most edge of the right segment of 42-46) is greater than the first threshold.(the first threshold is any length and there is a length between the given boundaries).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 13, wherein an orthographic projection of the boundary (the upper edge boundary) of the second retaining wall layer close to the display area (48) on the substrate is located in a middle area of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall segment on the substrate.(see last diagram above)
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 8, wherein in a direction parallel to the substrate in a cross-sectional view of the retaining wall, a width of the first retaining wall layer (42-46) is greater than a width of the second retaining wall layer (Fig. 4 elements 47 and 48 or see diagram at the right).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches
17. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein in the direction perpendicular to the substrate, a maximum thickness of the first retaining wall layer (42-46 with the middle double-sided arrow) is greater than a maximum thickness of the second retaining wall layer. (47 and 48 the outer two double-sided arrows)
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display layer (Fig 3 and 5 layer 21), disposed on the substrate and in the display area (the right portion of fig 5 after the unlabeled dark line of demarcation where we have layers 71 of display substrate 100 meaning we are in display area A2 Para.[0057], [0102]); and an organic encapsulation layer (32), stacked on the display layer and disposed on a side of the retaining wall close to the display area (32 is in on 12),
wherein, in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, a thickness of an end of the organic encapsulation layer close to the retaining wall is less than a thickness of the retaining wall. (see diagram below)
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches
A display panel (100), comprising:
a substrate (1); and
a plurality of retaining walls (4 and 5), disposed on the substrate and outside (area B) a display area of the display panel (Fig. 4), spaced apart to form a plurality of closed loops each surrounding the display area (Fig. 1), and each of the retaining walls comprising:
a first retaining wall layer(left side of 42-46 for 5 and right side of 42-46 for 4);
and a second retaining wall layer (47 for 5 and 48 for 4), stacked on the first retaining wall layer and disposed on a side of the first retaining wall away from the substrate (Fig. 4),
wherein an area of an orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer (47 or 48) on the substrate is less than an area (Fig.4) of an orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer (left or right sides of 42-46) on the substrate, and a horizontal distance between a boundary (left most edge) of the second retaining wall layer away from the display area (47) and a boundary of the first retaining wall layer away from the display area (left most edge of the left side of 42-46) is greater than a first threshold. (there is a length between them)
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches
A display terminal (Fig. 6 element 1000), comprising a display panel(100), and the display panel comprising:
a substrate(1); and
a plurality of retaining walls (4 and 5), disposed on the substrate, disposed outside (area B) a display area (Fig. 4 area A2) of the display panel, spaced apart to form a plurality of closed loops surrounding the display area (Fig. 1), and each comprising:
a first retaining wall layer(left side of 42-46 for 5 and right side of 42-46 for 4);
and a second retaining wall layer (47 for 5 and 48 for 4), stacked on the first retaining wall layer and disposed on a side of the first retaining wall away from the substrate (Fig. 4),
wherein an area of an orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer (47 and 48) on the substrate is less than an area (Fig. 4) of an orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer(left or right sides of 42-46) on the substrate, and a horizontal distance between a boundary (left most edge) of the second retaining wall layer away from the display area (47) and a boundary of the first retaining wall layer away from the display area(left most edge of the left side of 42-46) is greater than a first threshold. (there is a length between them)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jian Jin et al. (US 20180053810 A1) hereinafter referred to as “Jin”.
Regarding Claim 16, Wang teaches
The display panel according to claim 1, and a first threshold of an undetermined length
Jin teaches a display panel
…and a horizontal distance between a boundary (right most edge) of the second retaining wall layer away from the display area (Fig. 11 element 4a) and a boundary (right most edge) of the first retaining wall layer away from the display area (fig. 11 element 80) is greater than a first threshold. (The top edge of the first retaining wall 30 can be 50-100 microns and in view of Fig. 11 it would have been obvious to make the second retaining 80 the same size as the first so 80 can surround 30 Para [0087]. Therefore, the distance will be at least 50-100 microns Para. [0086][0087])
wherein a value of the first threshold is 8.5 microns. (the distance of 50-100 microns is greater than 8.5 microns Para.[0086],[0087])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang so that the first threshold is 8.5 microns, as described in Jin because modification allows for the second retaining wall to block and contain the second retaining wall layer which in turn supports a mask for fabricating the rest of the inorganic portion of the encapsulation layer. (Para. [0078], [0088])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yang; Jie et al. (US-11209859-B2), CHEN; Yang-Chen et al. (US-20180061728-A1), CHEN, Yang-zheng et al. (CN-107768402-B), HARADA, KEISUKE et al. (WO-2020049811-A1).
/JAIME LYNN SPRENGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893