DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 line 12 states “and a the horizontal distance between…” please fix the grammatical error of “a the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, 19, and 20 objected to because of the following informalities: the amendment states “away from the display area and the display area” Examiner believes applicant just meant to state the display area once and will examine under that assumption.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sadafumi Hirai (CN 113273311 A) hereinafter referred to as "Hirai"
Regarding claim 1 Hirai teaches
A display panel (Fig 6-17, 20), comprising:
a substrate (Fig 6 element 102); and
a retaining wall (Fig 7 element 250), disposed on the substrate(102), disposed outside a display area (106) of the display panel and surrounding the display area(Fig 20), and comprising:
a first retaining wall layer(Fig 9 element 250a and 250b); and
a second retaining wall layer(250c), stacked on the first retaining wall layer and disposed on a side (the top side) of the first retaining wall layer (250a and 250b) away from the substrate(102),
wherein an area of an orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer(250c) on the substrate(102) is less than an area of an orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer(250a and 250b) on the substrate(102), (Hirai Page 11 highlighted portion)
a boundary of the second retaining wall layer(250c) away from the display area is located between a boundary of the first retaining wall layer(250a and 250b) away from the display area and the display area(106)(fig 17), and
the horizontal distance between the boundary of the second retaining wall layer away from the display area and the boundary of the first retaining wall layer away from the display area is greater than a first threshold. (The first threshold may be any length and there is this distance that exists. Therefore, it is greater than an undefined threshold)
Regarding Claim 2 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the first retaining wall layer (250a and 250b) is continuously arranged in a direction away from the display area, and
the orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer(250c) on the substrate(102) partially overlaps the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate.(Fig 9)
Regarding Claim 3 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 2,
wherein the orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer(250c) on the substrate(102) is located in a middle area of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate.(Fig 9)
Regarding Claim 4 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 2,
wherein the orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer(250c) on the substrate covers part of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate close to the display area.(Fig 9)
Regarding Claim 5 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 4,
wherein an orthographic projection of a boundary of the second retaining wall layer(250c) away from the display area on the substrate is located in a middle area of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate.(Fig 9 250 c is in the middle)
Regarding Claim 6 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 4,
wherein an orthographic projection of a boundary of the second retaining wall layer(250c) close to the display area on the substrate covers an orthographic projection of a boundary of the first retaining wall layer close to the display area on the substrate. (the boundary of 250c is in front of and therefore covers a boundary of 250a and 250b)
Regarding Claim 7 Hirai
The display panel according to claim 6,
wherein the orthographic projection of the boundary of the second retaining wall layer(250c) close to the display area on the substrate is located adjacent (near) to an edge area of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer(250a and 250b) on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 8 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the first retaining wall layer(250a and 250b Fig 7c) comprises a first retaining wall segment(right) and a second retaining wall segment (left) disposed on a side of the first retaining wall segment away from the display area, a groove is formed between the first retaining wall segment and the second retaining wall segment, and the second retaining wall layer(250c) is disposed on the first retaining wall segment(right) and at least partially fills the groove.(see diagrams)
(Defining 1st segment for claims 12, 13, and 14) OR
(Defining 1st segment for claims 9, 10, and 11) AND
(Defining Groove for all claims)
Regarding Claim 9 Hirai teaches
The display panel
according to claim 8,
wherein an orthographic
projection of a boundary of the
second retaining wall layer(250c) away from the display area is located in the groove.(see diagram)
Regarding Claim 10 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 8,
wherein the second retaining wall layer(250c) completely covers the first retaining wall segment(see diagram)
Regarding Claim 11 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 10,
wherein an orthographic projection of the first retaining wall segment(right) on the substrate is located in the orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer(250c) on the substrate. (see diagram)
Regarding Claim 12 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 8,
wherein the orthographic projection
of the second retaining wall layer(250c) on the substrate partially overlaps an orthographic
projection of the first retaining wall segment(right) on the substrate. (see diagram)
Regarding Claim 13 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 12,
wherein a horizontal distance between a boundary of the second retaining wall layer(250c) close to the display area and a boundary of the first retaining wall segment(right) close to the display area is greater than the first threshold.(this distance exists and therefore may be greater than an undefined threshold)
Regarding Claim 14 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 13,
wherein an orthographic projection of the boundary of the second retaining wall layer(250c) close to the display area on the substrate is located in a middle area of the orthographic projection of the first retaining wall segment(right) on the substrate.(see diagram)
Regarding Claim 15 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 8,
wherein in a direction parallel to the substrate in a cross-sectional view of the retaining wall, a width of the first retaining wall layer (250a and 250b width of W1) is greater than a width of the second retaining wall layer(250c width of W2) .(Fig 7)
Regarding Claim 17 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 1, wherein in the direction perpendicular to the substrate, a maximum thickness(h1) of the first retaining wall layer(250a and 250b) is greater than a maximum thickness (h2) of the second retaining wall layer.(250c)(Figure 7 Hirai Page 11)
Regarding Claim 18 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 1,
further comprising:
a display layer(130), disposed on the substrate(102) and in the display area (Fig 6 element 106); and
an organic encapsulation layer(234), stacked on the display layer(130 Fig 6) and disposed on a side of the retaining wall close to the display area, (Fig 6)
wherein, in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, a thickness of an end of the organic encapsulation layer close to the retaining wall is less than a thickness of the retaining wall.(Hirai Page 22, Fig 6)
Regarding Claim 19 Hirai teaches
A display panel (Fig 6-17, 20), comprising:
a substrate (Fig 6 element 102); and
a plurality of retaining walls (Fig 6 elements 250-1 through 250-4), disposed on the substrate and outside a display area(106) of the display panel, spaced apart to form a plurality of closed loops (Fig 4) each surrounding the display area, and each of the retaining walls comprising:
a first retaining wall layer (Fig 9 element 250a and 250b); and
a second retaining wall layer (250c), stacked on the first retaining wall layer and disposed on a side (the top side) of the first retaining wall layer away from the substrate(102),
wherein an area of an orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer (250c) on the substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate,
a boundary of the second retaining wall layer (250c) away from the display area is located between a boundary of the first retaining wall layer (250a and 250b) away from the display area and the display area, and
a horizontal distance between the boundary of the second retaining wall layer away from the display area and the boundary of the first retaining wall layer away from the display area is greater than a first threshold. (the first threshold may be any length and there is this distance that exists. Therefore, it is greater than an undefined threshold)
Regarding Claim 20 Hirai teaches
A display terminal (100), comprising
a display panel(106 and retaining wall element 118), and the display panel comprising:
a substrate(102); and
a plurality of retaining walls (250-1through 250-4), disposed on the substrate, disposed outside a display area (106) of the display panel, spaced apart to form a plurality of closed loops(Fig 4) surrounding the display area, and each comprising:
a first retaining wall layer (Fig 9 element 250a and 250b); and
a second retaining wall layer(250c), stacked on the first retaining wall layer and disposed on a side(top side) of the first retaining wall layer away from the substrate,
wherein an area of an orthographic projection of the second retaining wall layer (250c)on the substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of the first retaining wall layer on the substrate,(Fig 6, 7)
a boundary of the second retaining wall layer (250c) away from the display area is located between a boundary of the first retaining wall layer(250a and 250b) away from the display area and the display area, and
a horizontal distance between the boundary of the second retaining wall layer away from the display area and the boundary of the first retaining wall layer away from the display area is greater than a first threshold (the first threshold may be any length and there is this distance that exists. Therefore, it is greater than an undefined threshold)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jian Jin et al. (US 20180053810 A1) Hereinafter referred to as “Jin”.
Regarding Claim 16 Hirai teaches
The display panel according to claim 1,
Hirai further teaches the widths (Page 11-12) of the layers define the shape (page 12, 14, 22 )and therefore contribute to how well they block the liquid material. Hirai defines it as a result effective variable but does not teach specifically on the scale of greater than 8.5 microns and therefore is not relied upon to teach
wherein a value of the first threshold is 8.5 microns.
Jin teaches making the retaining walls at least 50-100 microns (Para [0086][0087]) and therefore is relied upon to teach
The display panel according to claim 1, wherein a value of the first threshold is 8.5 microns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hirai such that the distance between boundaries is greater than the first threshold of 8.5 microns, as described in Jin. Since Jin teaches the retaining walls to be about 50 microns and Hirai teaches that the width of the second retaining wall layer can be half meaning 25 microns that leaves us with threshold of about 12.5 microns which is greater than the threshold of 8.5 microns. The modification narrows the result effective variable defined in Hirai and would be a simple substitution of a known scale size as to maintain a shape that is effective at blocking the liquid material. (Hirai Page 11-12, 14, 22, Jin Para [0086][0087][0078][0088]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAIME LYNN SPRENGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893