DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an output terminal of the fast charging port cover being connected with the fast charging port cover” and “an output terminal of the slow charging port cover being connected with the slow charging port cover” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 1-12 and 16. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, the limitations “an output terminal of the fast charging port cover being connected with the fast charging port cover” and “an output terminal of the slow charging port cover being connected with the slow charging port cover” are unclear.
The port cover being connected with the meshing teeth. There was not any output terminal being connected with the port cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2023/0234460).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Liu et al. disclose a vehicle comprising a charging port device (see Fig. 2), comprising:
a fast charging driver (101), a slow charging driver (101), a slow charging port cover (at 102), a fast charging port cover (at 104), and a mounting housing (the vehicle body), the mounting housing being provided with a mounting hole (not shown in the vehicle body); a fast charging port and a slow charging port being arranged in the mounting hole;
an output terminal (see Fig. 4) of the fast charging driver being connected with the fast charging port cover, and the fast charging port cover being configured to cover the fast charging port; and
an output terminal (see Fig. 4) of the slow charging driver being connected with the slow charging port cover, and the slow charging port cover being configured to cover the slow charging port.
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al. disclose a charging port driver (101) and an outer cover, an output terminal of the charging port driver being connected with the outer cover, and the outer cover being configured to cover the mounting hole.
[AltContent: textbox (Outer cover)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claims 13-15, the method claims are deemed inherence. Liu et al. disclose n opening and closing method for a charging port device having a fast charging driver, a slow charging driver, a slow charging port cover, a fast charging port cover, and a mounting housing, comprising: receiving a cover opening instruction, driving the fast charging port cover to expose the fast charging port through the fast charging driver, and driving the slow charging port cover to expose the slow charging port through the slow charging driver; driving the slow charging port cover to cover the slow charging port through the slow charging driver when the fast charging port is in a fast charging state; and driving the fast charging port cover to cover the fast charging port through the fast charging driver when the slow charging port is in a slow charging state;
before the driving the fast charging port cover to expose the fast charging port through the fast charging driver, further comprises: driving the outer cover to expose the mounting hole through the charging port driver;
receiving a cover closing instruction, driving the fast charging port cover to cover the fast charging port through the fast charging driver, driving the slow charging port cover to cover the slow charging port through the slow charging driver, and driving the outer cover to cover the mounting hole through the charging port driver.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2023/0234460) in view of Shin et al. (US 2021/0246701).
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the fast charging driver comprises a fast charging motor, a fast charging gear, and a fast charging rotating shaft; the fast charging rotating shaft is rotatably mounted to the mounting housing; the fast charging port cover is provided with fast charging meshing teeth; the fast charging meshing teeth are adapted to the fast charging gear; an output terminal of the fast charging motor is connected with the fast charging rotating shaft; the fast charging gear is mounted to the fast charging rotating shaft; and the fast charging gear is meshed with the fast charging meshing teeth.
Shin et al. teach a charging driver includes a charging motor (250), a charging gear (240), a meshing teeth (230), and a rotating shaft (232) to move a port cover (300).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the motor, gear, teeth, and shaft into Liu’s charging driver, as taught by Shin et al. for smoothly closing and opening the port cover.
Regarding claim 3, in the modified charging port device, Liu et al. in view of Shin et al. disclose the slow charging driver comprises a slow charging motor, a slow charging gear, and a slow charging rotating shaft; the slow charging rotating shaft is rotatably mounted to the mounting housing; the slow charging port cover is provided with slow charging meshing teeth; the slow charging meshing teeth are adapted to the slow charging gear; an output terminal of the slow charging motor is connected with the slow charging rotating shaft; the slow charging gear is mounted to the slow charging rotating shaft; and the slow charging gear is meshed with the slow charging meshing teeth.
Regarding claim 4, in the modified charging port device, Liu et al. in view of Shin et al. disclose the fast charging driver comprises a fast charging motor, a fast charging gear, and a fast charging rotating shaft; the fast charging rotating shaft is rotatably mounted to the mounting housing; the fast charging port cover is provided with fast charging meshing teeth; the fast charging meshing teeth are adapted to the fast charging gear; an output terminal of the fast charging motor is connected with the fast charging rotating shaft; the fast charging gear is mounted to the fast charging rotating shaft; and the fast charging gear is meshed with the fast charging meshing teeth; and the slow charging driver comprises a slow charging motor, a slow charging gear, and a slow charging rotating shaft; the slow charging rotating shaft is rotatably mounted to the mounting housing; the slow charging port cover is provided with slow charging meshing teeth; the slow charging meshing teeth are adapted to the slow charging gear; an output terminal of the slow charging motor is connected with the slow charging rotating shaft; the slow charging gear is mounted to the slow charging rotating shaft; and the slow charging gear is meshed with the slow charging meshing teeth.
Regarding claim 5, in the modified charging port device, Shin et al. disclose a fast charging chute (200); the fast charging port cover is a fast charging sliding cover; the fast charging port cover is slidably mounted to the fast charging chute.
Regarding claim 6, in the modified charging port device, Shin et al. disclose a slow charging chute (200); the slow charging port cover is a slow charging sliding cover; and the slow charging port cover is slidably mounted to the slow charging chute.
Regarding claim 7, in the modified charging port device, Shin et al. disclose a fast charging chute; the fast charging port cover is a fast charging sliding cover; the fast charging port cover is slidably mounted to the fast charging chute; and the mounting housing is further provided with a slow charging chute; the slow charging port cover is a slow charging sliding cover; and the slow charging port cover is slidably mounted to the slow charging chute.
Regarding claim 9, in the modified charging port device, Shin et al. disclose the charging port driver comprises a charging port motor and an adapter arm; one end of the adapter arm is connected with an output terminal of the charging port motor; and the other end of the adapter arm is connected with the outer cover.
[AltContent: textbox (Adapter arm)][AltContent: arrow]
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2023/0234460) in view of Zhao et al. (CN 213354624).
Liu et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the mounting housing comprises an upper housing and a lower housing; the upper housing is provided with a first engagement portion; the lower housing is provided with a second engagement portion; the upper housing is connected with the lower housing through the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion that are engaged with each other; and the upper housing and the lower housing jointly define the mounting hole;
a decorative plate; the decorative plate is provided with a fast charging opening and a slow charging opening; the decorative plate is configured to cover an end of the fast charging port cover away from the fast charging port and an end of the slow charging port cover away from the slow charging port; the decorative plate is mounted to the mounting hole; the fast charging opening is in communication with the fast charging port; the slow charging opening is in communication with the slow charging port; the decorative plate is provided with an annular sealing skirt; and a vehicle sheet metal is hermetically connected with a side of the annular sealing skirt away from the decorative plate;
an annular sealing member, one end of the annular sealing member being connected with the mounting housing, and the other end of the annular sealing member being connected with an inner wall of the vehicle sheet metal.
Zhao et al. disclose an upper housing (a portion of member 4) and a lower housing (22) defining a mounting hole, a decorative plate (4), a sealing skirt (23), a vehicle sheet metal (3), a fast charging port (11), a slow charging port (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the upper housing, lower housing, decorative plate, and sealing skirt into Liu’s charging port assembly, as taught by Zhao et al. for protecting the charging ports.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834