Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract is currently 180 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, the limitation “S shape” is not clear. It is not clear what is encompassed by “S shape” since the shape of an “S” can vary. For example, a cursive or script “S s” is not the same shape as a non-script “S”. For example, it is noted that while the shape of ball race 86 in figure 6 in an arcuately curved manner, is it not necessarily in the shape of an “S”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " the depressions” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, from which claim 6 depends, has defined “a depression”. Claim 1 does not show support for a plurality of depressions thereby being capable of uniform distribution.
Claim 15 recites the limitation " the depressions” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 1 and 2, from which claim 15 depends, has defined “a depression” and “the depression”, respectively. Claims 1 and 2 do not show support for a plurality of depressions thereby being capable of uniform distribution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kuo et al. (US-9400041).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo et al. discloses a ball screw drive (10),comprising a ball screw spindle (30) rotatably mounted about a spindle axis (fig 2), on which a spindle nut (20) is received, wherein at least one thread track (32) is formed on an outer circumferential surface (fig 2) of the ball screw spindle (30), which track extends over less than 360 degrees (fig 2, 32/321/322/323) of the a circumference of the ball screw spindle (30), and in which a multiplicity of balls (50) is guided in such a way that a rotation of the ball screw spindle (30) causes an axial movement of the spindle nut (20) along the spindle axis (30), wherein the ball screw spindle (30) has a ball return (40) for each thread track (32) on the outer circumferential surface (fig 2), which ball return connects a beginning (321a) and an end (323b) of the thread track (32) to one another, and wherein a ball race (42/44) for the balls (50) in the ball return (40) is formed in a separate insert (40, fig 5), which is inserted into a depression (36) arranged in the outer circumferential surface (fig 2).
Regarding claim 2, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the depression (36) is of elongate design (fig 2), and an outer contour of the insert (40) is matched precisely to an inner contour (34/38) of the depression (36).
Regarding claim 3, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the depression (36) is aligned obliquely to the thread track (32, fig 2 at least wherein a portion or all of 36 is oblique to 30 and 32).
Regarding claim 4, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the ball race (42/44) runs in an S shape along the longitudinal extent of the insert (40 in at least figs 2, 3, and 5).
Regarding claim 5, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the ball race (42/40) runs in an arcuately curved manner perpendicularly to the radial direction and towards the spindle axis (fig 3 at least axis of 30).
Regarding claim 8, Kuo et al. discloses a method for producing a ball screw spindle (30) of a ball screw drive (10) comprising the following steps: - introducing a thread (32) into an outer circumferential surface of a ball screw spindle (30, fig 2), - introducing at least one depression (34/36) into the outer circumferential surface, wherein the depression defines a beginning (321a) and an end (323b) of a thread track (fig 2); and - inserting an insert (40) into the depression (34/36), such that its ball race (42/44) adjoins the beginning and the end of the thread track (fig 2 and col. 3, lines 35-46 wherein in installation, the reflow component 40 is mounted in the mounting groove 34 of the screw shaft 30 to let the second bearing surface 46 of the reflow component 40 be abutted against the first bearing surface 38 of the screw shaft 30. After installation, the second reflow groove 44 of the reflow component 40 faces toward the first reflow groove 36 of the screw shaft 30, thereby defining with the first reflow groove 36 of the screw shaft 30 a reflow channel 16 therebetween that is connected to the spiral channel 12). It has been interpreted that the elements listed above have been introduced by Kuo et al. since the term “introduced” is broad with regards to a method of manufacturing of fabrication.
Regarding claim 10, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the initially introduced thread (32) is a continuous thread comprising a plurality of thread grooves (321/322/323), which is subdivided into a plurality of mutually separate thread tracks (321/322/323) by the introduction of at least one depression (34/36), and wherein the insert (40) is then inserted into the at least one depression (fig 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the ball race (42/44) runs in an S shape along the longitudinal extent of the insert (40 in at least figs 2, 3, and 5).
Regarding claim 14, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the ball race (42/40) runs in an arcuately curved manner perpendicularly to the radial direction and towards the spindle axis (fig 3 at least axis of 30).
Regarding claim 17, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the initially introduced thread (32) is a continuous thread comprising a plurality of thread grooves (321/322/323), which is subdivided into a plurality of mutually separate thread tracks (321/322/323) by the introduction of at least one depression (34/36), and wherein the insert (40) is then inserted into the at least one depression (fig 2).
Claims 1-3,5, 6, 8, 10, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kuo et al. (US-20150369349).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo et al. discloses a ball screw drive (10),comprising a ball screw spindle (30) rotatably mounted about a spindle axis (fig 3), on which a spindle nut (20) is received, wherein at least one thread track (34/32) is formed on an outer circumferential surface (fig 3) of the ball screw spindle (30), which track extends over less than 360 degrees (figs 8, 32/34) of the a circumference of the ball screw spindle (fig 3), and in which a multiplicity of balls (50) is guided in such a way that a rotation of the ball screw spindle (30) causes an axial movement of the spindle nut (20) along the spindle axis (30), wherein the ball screw spindle (30) has a ball return (40) for each thread track (32/34) on the outer circumferential surface (fig 3), which ball return connects a beginning and an end ([0018], 36 between two ends) of the thread track (32/34) to one another, and wherein a ball race (42/44/46) for the balls (50) in the ball return (40) is formed in a separate insert (40, fig 5), which is inserted into a depression (36) arranged in the outer circumferential surface (fig 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the depression (36) is of elongate design (fig 4), and an outer contour of the insert (40) is matched precisely to an inner contour of the depression (fig 8).
Regarding claim 3, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the depression (36) is aligned obliquely to the thread track (fig 4, at least at
𝜃).
Regarding claim 5, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the ball race (42/44/46) runs in an arcuately curved manner perpendicularly to the radial direction and towards the spindle axis (fig 3 at least axis of 30).
Regarding claim 6, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the depressions (plurality of 36) are distributed uniformly over the circumference of the ball screw spindle (30, figs 3 and 8).
Regarding claim 8, Kuo et al. discloses a method for producing a ball screw spindle (30) of a ball screw drive (10) comprising the following steps: - introducing a thread (32/34) into an outer circumferential surface of a ball screw spindle (30, fig 3), - introducing at least one depression (36/36) into the outer circumferential surface, wherein the depression defines a beginning and an end ([0018]) of a thread track (fig 3); and - inserting an insert (40/40) into the depression (36/36), such that its ball race (42/44/46) adjoins the beginning and the end of the thread track (fig 3 and [0022]. At least wherein together with the returning member 40 installed in the receiving recesses 36 to accomplish return of the balls). It has been interpreted that the elements listed above have been introduced by Kuo et al. since the term “introduced” is broad with regards to a method of manufacturing of fabrication.
Regarding claim 10, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the initially introduced thread (32/34) is a continuous thread comprising a plurality of thread grooves (fig 3 and 8), which is subdivided into a plurality of mutually separate thread tracks (34/32, fig 8) by the introduction of at least one depression (36/36), and wherein the insert (40/40) is then inserted into the at least one depression (fig 3 and 8).
Regarding claim 14, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the ball race (42/44/46) runs in an arcuately curved manner perpendicularly to the radial direction and towards the spindle axis (fig 3 at least axis of 30).
Regarding claim 15, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the (plurality of 36) are distributed uniformly over the circumference of the ball screw spindle (30, figs 3 and 8).
Regarding claim 17, Kuo et al. discloses wherein the initially introduced thread (32/34) is a continuous thread comprising a plurality of thread grooves (fig 3 and 8), which is subdivided into a plurality of mutually separate thread tracks (34/32, fig 8) by the introduction of at least one depression (36/36), and wherein the insert (40/40) is then inserted into the at least one depression (fig 3 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 11, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (US-20150369349) in view of Gerber et al. (US-9976614).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Kuo et al. discloses as set forth above but is silent to an actuator assembly and its utility or use. Gerber teaches a ball screw and nut device (170, fig 4) with first and second internal screw ball return inserts (144/146) wherein its utility as a ball screw actuator assembly is for a brake (Gerber, Title).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the utility of Kuo et al. by employing it in the environment of a brake as taught by Gerber as it is one of many environments wherein a ball screw/nut assembly actuator of Kuo et al. provides utility, such as a parking feature for a brake (Gerber, Col. 1, Background and Summary).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Kuo et al. is silent as to the material properties of the inserts. Gerber teaches a ball screw and nut device (170, fig 4) with first and second internal screw ball return inserts (144/146) that may be cast from plastic (Gerber, col. 7, line 36-41, at least produced from spring steel and/or cast from plastic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an insert component as in Kuo et al. and produced from several known and alternative methods and materials as taught by Gerber (Gerber, Col. 7, lines 36-41).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (US-20150369349) in view of Dabringhaus (US-3512426).
Regarding claim 9, Kuo et al. discloses that the depression if formed/introduced into the outer circumferential surface in a radial direction of the ball crew spindle and perpendicularly thereto (see at least figure 2). However, Kuo does not expressly state how the depression is formed/introduced. Dabringhaus teaches that it was old and well known to be desirable/obvious in the ball screw actuator art to form depressions with a cutting tool (Dabringhaus, col.2, lines 62-72, claim 13 and claim 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cut the depression of Kuo with a cutting tool as taught by Dabringhaus since Dabringhaus teaches such to have been known to be desirable, suitable, and/or advantageous.
Conclusion
/JAMES K HSIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 3616