DETAILED ACTION
This Notice is responsive to communication filed on 06/16/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, reading on claims 1 - 5 in the reply filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/16/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saggau et al. (US 20240373761).
Regarding claim 1, Saggau discloses a van der Waals stacked Josephson junction structure comprising:
a substrate Fig. 1A: 100;
a first layer Fig. 1A: 102a of a van der Waals material separable into layers and positioned on the substrate Fig. 1A: 100; and
a second layer Fig. 1A: 102b of the van der Waals material positioned on the first layer Fig. 1A: 102a, wherein the first layer Fig. 1A: 102a and the second layer Fig. 1A: 102b are twisted at a predetermined angle with each other, and
a Josephson junction is formed between the first layer Fig. 1A: 102a and the second layer Fig. 1A: 102b (para. 0057-0058).
Regarding claim 2, Saggau discloses the van der Waals stacked Josephson junction structure of claim 1, wherein each of the first layer Fig. 1A: 102a and the second layer Fig. 1A: 102b includes a superconducting layer (para. 0058, pg. 3, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Saggau discloses the van der Waals stacked Josephson junction structure of claim 1, wherein a crystal structure of the first layer Fig. 1A: 102a and a crystal structure of the second layer Fig. 1A: 102b are twisted at the predetermined angle (para. 0058 teaches crystallographic orientations of the first and second layers are twisted).
Regarding claim 4, Saggau discloses the van der Waals stacked Josephson junction structure of claim 1, wherein the van der Waals material is a superconductor selected from Bi-2212, NbSe2, FeSe, and FeTe (para. 0058 teaches superconductor Bi2Sr2Ca1Cu2O8 (i.e. Bi-2212)).
Regarding claim 5, Saggau discloses the van der Waals stacked Josephson junction structure of claim 1, wherein each of the first layer Fig. 1A: 102a and the second layer Fig. 1A: 102b may include CuO2 (para. 0058 teaches superconductor Bi2Sr2Ca1Cu2O8 which includes CuO2).
Conclusion
/Nkechinyere Esiaba/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817