Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0408496)
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 15, PI1/PI2) having a plurality of subpixels (see Fig. 3, subpixels R/G/B), each subpixel including an emission area and a non-emission area (see Fig. 3, emission area where pixel is located, and non-emission are where blank squares are located and surrounding pixels);
a polarization layer (polarization layer 18) disposed on the substrate, and including a first area (18b) and a second area (18d) having single transmittances (inherent quality of any polarizer); and
an organic light emitting element (OLED at EL) disposed in the emission area (see Fig. 3 and 15),
wherein a single transmittance of the second area is higher than a single transmittance of the first area from among the single transmittances (18d is transparent, and 18b is polarizing, therefore 18d inherently has a higher single transmittance than 18b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Hatanaka et al. (WO 2021/020264).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein:
the polarization layer has a single transmittance of about 40% to 50%, and
the single transmittance of the second area is higher by about 0.1% or more than the single transmittance of the first area.
Choi does not teach the specific single transmission values. However, Hatanaka teaches a similar polarizer with a transparent section, wherein the first area has a single transmittance of 40-50% (Hatanka translation page 7, 30-55%), and the second area has a single transmittance of 60& or more, i.e. 0.1% higher or more (Hatanka translation page 7, up to 100%). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that the polarizing layer of Choi could have been replaced with the polarizing layer of Hatanaka because Hatanaka teaches that the single transmittance change is done gradually, reducing the visible conspicuousness of the change to a user (Hatanaka translation page 7).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein:
the polarization layer includes a third area between the first area and the second area, and a single transmittance of the third area is equal to or higher than the single transmittance of the first area and is equal to or lower than the single transmittance of the second area.
However, Hatanaka teaches the polarization layer includes a third area (Hatanaka Fig. 4, area 3) between the first area and the second area (see Hatanaka Fig. 4), and a single transmittance of the third area is equal to or higher than the single transmittance of the first area and is equal to or lower than the single transmittance of the second area (see Hatanaka translation page 5 and Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that the polarizing layer of Choi could have been replaced with the polarizing layer of Hatanaka because Hatanaka teaches that the single transmittance change is done gradually in steps by utilizing 3 regions, reducing the visible conspicuousness of the change to a user (Hatanaka translation page 7).
Regarding claim 4, Choi in view of Hatanaka teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the single transmittance of the third area decreases from that of the single transmittance of the second area to that of the single transmittance of the first area in a direction from the second area to the first area (Hatanaka Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 17, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a shape of the second area and a shape of the emission area of at least one of the plurality of subpixels is the same (see Choi Fig. 4, second area and are least one pixel can both be circles).
Regarding claim 18, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a bank (Fig. 15, bank BNK)to define the emission area of at least one of the plurality subpixel,
wherein the second area overlaps the bank (see Fig. 15, overlaps a portion of the bank).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5-6, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest wherein the second area is positioned in an area of the polarization layer which overlaps with the organic light emitting element.
Regarding claims 7-13, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the second area is positioned in the emission area of the first subpixel, and the first area is positioned in an area of the polarization layer other than the second area.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest wherein the second area extends from the non-emission area to the emission area of at least one of the plurality of subpixels.
Regarding claims 15-16, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest wherein the second area at least partially overlaps the emission area of at least one of the plurality of subpixels.
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 19-20, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest wherein the bleach area of the polarization layer at least partially overlaps the emission area of at least one of the plurality of subpixels and does not overlap the non-emission area of the at least one of the plurality of subpixels..
Conclusion
/EVAN G CLINTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899