DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. The numbering of claims 27 – 33, pages 6, 7 of claim set are not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution.
The numbered orders of claims 27 – 33, pages 6, 7 are objected as being a substantial duplicate of number orders of claims 27 – 29, pages 5, 6.
The numbered claims 27 – 33, pages 6, 7 of claim set been renumbered 30 - 36, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 14, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Curatola et al. (2019/0280093).
With regard to claim 1, Curatola et al. disclose a semiconductor device (for example, figure 1) comprising:
a substrate (116) of a first semiconductor material (for example, paragraph [0023]);
a conductive barrier structure (a conductive barrier layer 104 functioning as a conductive barrier structure) on the substrate (116);
a channel layer (106) of a second semiconductor material on the conductive barrier structure (104);
a barrier layer (108) on the channel layer (106), in which the channel layer (106) is between the barrier layer (108) and the conductive barrier structure (104); and a
gate (126) over the barrier layer (108) opposing the channel layer (106);
With regard to claim 2, Curatola et al. disclose the channel layer (106) is inherently configured to conduct a charge of a first polarity; and the conductive barrier structure (104) is inherently configured to conduct a charge of a second polarity opposite from the first polarity (for example, paragraph [0059] discloses GaN may be combined with AlGaN or InGaN to form an electron gas inversion region as the channel. The semiconductor device 100 may have AlInN/AlN/GaN barrier/spacer/channel layer structures. In general, the normally-off compound semiconductor transistor can be realized using any suitable III-nitride technology such as GaN that permits the formation of opposite polarity inversion regions due to piezoelectric effects).
With regard to claim 3, Curatola et al. disclose the conductive barrier structure (104) includes an Aluminum Gallium Nitride (AlGaN) layer (for example, paragraphs [0024], [0059]).
With regard to claim 4, Curatola et al. disclose the first semiconductor material includes silicon, and the second semiconductor material includes Gallium Nitride (for example, see paragraph [0023]).
With regard to claim 14, Curatola et al. disclose a gate structure (126) comprising a first gate (referred to as “126A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below; wherein the gate portion 126A functioning a first gate) and a second gate (referred to as “126B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below; wherein the gate portion 126B functioning a second gate) over the barrier layer (108) opposing the channel layer (106); and a first electrical contact (referred to as “132A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below; wherein the first electrical contact 132A is a portion of the electrical contact 132) on a surface of the barrier layer (108) and a second electrical contact (118) on the surface of the barrier layer (108), the first gate (126A) is on a region in the channel layer (106).
With regard to claim 29, Curatola et al. disclose a semiconductor device (for example, figure 1) comprising:
a substrate (116) of a first semiconductor material (for example, paragraph [0023]);
a conductive barrier structure (a conductive barrier layer 104 functioning as a conductive barrier structure) on the substrate (116);
a channel layer (106) of a second semiconductor material on the conductive barrier structure (104);
a barrier layer (108) on the channel layer (106), in which the channel layer (106) is between the barrier layer (108) and the conductive barrier structure (104); and a
gate (126) over the barrier layer (108) opposing the channel layer (106);
a gate structure (126) comprising a first gate (referred to as “126A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below; wherein the gate portion 126A functioning a first gate) and a second gate (referred to as “126B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below; wherein the gate portion 126B functioning a second gate) over the barrier layer (108) opposing the channel layer (106); and a first electrical contact (referred to as “132A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below; wherein the first electrical contact 132A is a portion of the electrical contact 132) and a second electrical contact (118) on a surface of the barrier layer (108), in which the first gate (126A) and the second gate (126B) are between the first electrical contact (132A) and the second electrical contact (118).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 - 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curatola et al. (20190280093) in view of Kushida et al. (10680091).
With regard to claim 6, Curatola et al. do not clearly disclose the conductive barrier structure includes a quantum well configured to confine a first charge having an opposite polarity from a second charge that the channel layer is configured to conduct.
However, Kushida et al. discloses the conductive barrier structure (21, 22) includes a quantum well (22) configured to confine a first charge having an opposite polarity (p-type) from a second charge (i-type) that the channel layer (24) is configured to conduct. (for example, see fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Curatola et al.’s device to have the conductive barrier structure includes a quantum well configured to confine a first charge having an opposite polarity from a second charge that the channel layer is configured to conduct as taught by Kushida et al. in order to enhance the strength of electric field between the drain portion and the source portion for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claims 7 - 9, Curatola et al. do not clearly disclose an electrical contact that penetrates through the barrier layer; wherein: the electrical contact is a first electrical contact; the semiconductor device further comprises a second electrical contact; the gate and the second electrical contact are on a region in the channel layer; and the first electrical contact is outside the region wherein: the electrical contact is a first electrical contact; the semiconductor device further comprises a second electrical contact and a third electrical contact on two sides of the gate; and the first electrical contact is electrically coupled to the gate.
However, Kushida et al. discloses an electrical contact (102) that penetrates through the barrier layer (21); wherein: the electrical contact (102) is a first electrical contact; the semiconductor device further comprises a second electrical contact (104); the gate (103) and the second electrical contact (104) are on a region in the channel layer (24); and the first electrical contact (102) is outside the region; or wherein: the electrical contact (102) is a first electrical contact; the semiconductor device further comprises second and third electrical contacts (104) on two sides of the gate (103); and the first electrical contact (102) is electrically coupled (couple via channel layer 24) to the gate (103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Curatola et al.’s device to have an electrical contact that penetrates through the barrier layer; wherein: the electrical contact is a first electrical contact; the semiconductor device further comprises a second electrical contact; the gate and the second electrical contact are on a region in the channel layer; and the first electrical contact is outside the region wherein: the electrical contact is a first electrical contact; the semiconductor device further comprises a second electrical contact and a third electrical contact on two sides of the gate; and the first electrical contact is electrically coupled to the gate as taught by Kushida et al. in order to enhance the electrical connection efficiency between the drain portion and the source portion, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4, 6 – 10, 12 – 14, 17 – 32 of copending Application No. 18/326,698 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 of current Application is corresponding to claim 1 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 2 of current Application is corresponding to claim 2 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 3 of current Application is corresponding to claim 3 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 4 of current Application is corresponding to claim 4 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 5 of current Application is corresponding to claims 1, 17, 21 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 6 of current Application is corresponding to claim 6 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 7 of current Application is corresponding to claim 7 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 8 of current Application is corresponding to claim 8 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 9 of current Application is corresponding to claim 9 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 10 of current Application is corresponding to claim 10 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25 wherein a trench functioning as an isolation structure.
Claim 11 of current Application is corresponding to claim 10 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25 wherein a trench functioning as an isolation structure.
Claims 12, 13 of current Application is corresponding to claim 11 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25. It is inherently that a power or voltage signal functions as bias wherein the bias circuit includes at least one of: a resistive divider, or a minimum voltage selector for connecting the first and second contacts and substrate in order to perform the semiconductor device.
Claim 14 of current Application is corresponding to claim 12 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25 wherein a trench functioning as an isolation structure.
Claim 15 of current Application is corresponding to claim 13 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25 wherein a trench functioning as an isolation structure.
Claim 16 of current Application is corresponding to claim 14 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25 wherein a trench functioning as an isolation structure.
Claim 17 of current Application is corresponding to claim 17 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25 wherein a trench functioning as an isolation structure.
Claim 18 of current Application is corresponding to claim 18 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 19 of current Application is corresponding to claim 19 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 20 of current Application is corresponding to claim 20 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 21 of current Application is corresponding to claim 21 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 22 of current Application is corresponding to claim 22 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25. It is inherently that a semiconductor layer including injection layer in order to secure the electron mobility efficiency.
Claim 23 of current Application is corresponding to claim 23 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 24 of current Application is corresponding to claim 24 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 25 of current Application is corresponding to claim 25 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 26 of current Application is corresponding to claim 17 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 29 of current Application is corresponding to claim 26 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 27 (a second claim 27), page 5 in claim set of current Application is corresponding to claim 27 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 28 (a second claim 28), page 6 in claim set of current Application is corresponding to claim 28 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 29 (a second claim 29), page 6 in claim set of current Application is corresponding to claim 29 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 30, pages 6, 7 in claim set of current Application is corresponding to claim 30 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 31, page 7 in claim set of current Application is corresponding to claim 31 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 32, page 7 in claim set of current Application is corresponding to claim 30 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Claim 33, page 7 in claim set of current Application is corresponding to claim 32 of Application No. 18/326,698 which filed on 11/24/25.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 17 – 28 in pages 4 - 6, claims 27 – 33, pages 6, 7 of claim set (Notably, allowable claims 27 - 33 assumed to be claim 30 - 36 based on a renumber of the objection) are allowable if a terminal disclaimer filing to overcome, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as an isolation structure between a respective first portion of the barrier layer, the channel layer, and the conductive barrier structure and a respective second portion of the barrier layer, the channel layer, and the conductive barrier structure; a first gate over the first portion of the barrier layer opposing the channel layer; a first electrical contact on a surface of the first portion of the barrier layer opposing the channel layer; a second gate over the second portion of the barrier layer opposing the channel layer; and a second electrical contact on a surface of the second portion of the barrier layer opposing the channel layer, in which the second electrical contact is electrically coupled to the first electrical contact as recited in claim 17.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812