DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 15-20 are claiming a system (apparatus) not method and therefore do not impart significant patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rue et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No.2012/0056088 A1).
[Re claim 15] Rue discloses a system controller (219) in communication with one or more process chambers (226) and an ion processing tool within the one or more process chambers, the system controller comprising a processor (242) and a memory storing (221) instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform operations (see figure 10 and paragraph [0059]-[0064],). The limitations “forming a gate-all-around (GAA) stack comprising a plurality of alternating first layers and second layers, wherein the GAA stack is positioned atop a bottom dielectric isolation (BDI) layer; forming a source/drain (S/D) cavity by etching the plurality of alternating first layers and second layers; forming an inner spacer in the S/D cavity, adjacent the plurality of alternating first layers and second layers; and performing, using the ion processing tool, an implant by directing ions to the GAA stack, through the S/D cavity, wherein the implant is performed at a temperature greater than 500° Celsius, and wherein a S/D material is formed in the S/D cavity following the implant” are limitations directed to details of the device being made by the claimed apparatus and therefore do not impart significant patentable weight. See MPEP 2114(II).
[Re claim 16] Rue discloses the system wherein the ion processing tool (210) (see figure 10 and paragraph [0057]-[0058]). The limitation “operable to direct the ions into the inner spacer and into the first layers of the plurality of alternating first layers and second layers” are limitations directed to details of the device being made by the claimed apparatus and therefore do not impart significant patentable weight. See MPEP 2114(II).
[Re claim 17] Rue discloses the system wherein the ion processing tool is beamline tool (218) (see paragraph [0059]-[0060]). The limitation “operable to direct the ions into the GAA stack at a non-zero angle relative to a plane defined by a sidewall surface of the inner spacer, and wherein the ions are boron ions” are limitations directed to details of the device being made by the claimed apparatus and therefore do not impart significant patentable weight. See MPEP 2114(II).
[Re claim 18] Rue discloses the system wherein the ion processing tool is a plasma doping tool operable to perform a plasma doping process (see paragraph [0051]-[0052]).
[Re claim 19] Rue discloses the system wherein the ion processing tool (210) (see figure 10 and paragraph [0057]-[0058]). The limitation “operable to direct the ions to the GAA stack before or after formation of the BDI layer” are limitations directed to details of the device being made by the claimed apparatus and therefore do not impart significant patentable weight. See MPEP 2114(II).
[Re claim 20] Rue discloses the system comprising deposition chamber (210) (see figure 10 and paragraph [0057]-[0058]). The limitation “the BDI layer comprises one or more of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon carbide, or a high-k material” are limitations directed to details of the device being made by the claimed apparatus and therefore do not impart significant patentable weight. See MPEP 2114(II).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 1 allowable because of the closest prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the method, the step of performing an implant by directing ions to the GAA stack, through the S/D cavity, wherein the implant is performed at a temperature greater than 500° Celsius; and forming a S/D material in the S/D cavity following the implant. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 8 allowable because of the closest prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the method, the step of performing an implant by directing ions to the inner spacer, through the S/D cavity, wherein the implant is performed at a temperature greater than 500° Celsius; and forming a S/D material in the S/D cavity following the implant. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 2-7 and 8-14 depend on claim 1 or 8 so they are allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYOUNG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817