Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026, with regards to claims 11, 12, and 17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that because Lutz et al. (US. Pub. 20050019974), hereinafter referred to as Lutz. cites a selection of possible materials, which includes silicon, and that the disclosure does not state that they become monocrystalline silicon, Lutz fails to disclose or suggest each and every element of claim 11. Per MPEP 2131.02(III) a generic disclosure will anticipate a claimed species covered by that disclosure when the species can be “at once envisaged” from the disclosure. Because Lutz includes silicon as a material for the anchors and that silicon can be grown as a monocrystalline structure, Lutz anticipates claim 11.
Lutz describes the anchors (Lutz, 30a-30c, Fig. 3) as comprising silicon, silicon nitride, silicon carbide germanium, silicon germanium, or gallium arsenid (and combinations thereof) (Lutz, para. 53). Additionally, in describing the anchors (Lutz, 30a-30c, Fig. 3) Lutz describes the anchors as being formed or grown using a “CVD”: process (Lutz, para. 54). Applicant also states that para. 70 of Lutz has to do with the sacrificial layer 64, and the encapsulation layer 56. However, para. 70 also states that those may be made of, among other materials, monocrystalline silicon, and may be deposited or formed by a CVD based reactor, thereby showing that a CVD process can be used to create monocrystalline silicon.
Because Lutz includes silicon as a material for the anchors and that silicon can be grown as a monocrystalline structure using a CVD process, Lutz anticipates claim 11.
Arguments regarding claim 12 and 17 are based on the above argument regarding claim 11 and are likewise not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 regarding claims 13 and 18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Arguments regarding claims 13 and 18 were based on the above argument regarding claim 11 and are likewise not persuasive.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 11, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lutz.
Regarding claim 11, Lutz teaches semiconductor component, comprising: a semiconductor substrate ((Lutz, 38, Fig. 4D, para. 56); an insulation layer (Lutz, 40, Fig. 4D, para. 56); and a first monocrystalline silicon layer (Lutz, 42, Fig. 4D, para. 57), wherein the insulation layer is arranged on the semiconductor substrate and the first monocrystalline silicon layer is arranged on the insulation layer (Lutz, see Fig. 4D), and at least one first region (Lutz, 30a-c and 32a-c, Fig. 4D, paras. 50-55) that extends starting from the first monocrystalline silicon layer up to a surface of the semiconductor substrate; wherein the at least one first region includes a second monocrystalline silicon (Lutz, para. 54. Lutz shows that 30a-c may be crystalline and created via “CVD processes”, which are known in the art as a means of growing mono-crystalline silicon, see Lutz para. 70).
Regarding claim 12, Lutz teaches the semiconductor component according to claim 11, wherein the at least one first region is an array with a plurality of connection regions that extend starting from the first monocrystalline silicon layer up to the surface of the semiconductor substrate (Lutz, Fig. 4D, see above), wherein the connection regions are filled with the second monocrystalline silicon (Lutz, para. 54. Lutz shows that 30a-c may be crystalline and created via “CVD processes”, which are known in the art as a means of growing mono-crystalline silicon, see Lutz para. 70).
Regarding claim 17, Lutz teaches the semiconductor component according to claim 11, wherein the at least one first region (Lutz, Fig. 4D, see above) has a lateral extension that is at least twice as large as a thickness of the insulation layer(Lutz, 40, Fig. 4D, see above, 1st region is much wider than twice the width of the insulation layer).
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US Pub. 20200105689), hereinafter referred to as Hwang.
Regarding claim 13, Lutz teaches the semiconductor component according to claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein the connection regions have a round cross-section.
Lutz does teach that the openings (Lutz, 46, Fig. 4B) where connections regions (Lutz 30a-c and 32a-c, Fig. 4d) will be created can be formed using well known lithographic and etching techniques (Lutz, para. 59).
Further Hwang teaches a technique which may cause cylindrical through holes, which would have a round cross section (Hwang, para. 37). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the technique of Hwang which would allow for the incorporation of testing methodologies that incorporated verification with known good dies to increase yield and decrease costs (Hwang para. 19)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gogoi (US Pub 20160167954), hereinafter referred to as Gogoi.
Regarding claim 18, Lutz teaches the semiconductor component according to claim 11, but does not teach wherein the first monocrystalline silicon layer has second regions laterally with respect to the first region, and the surface of the semiconductor substrate has second regions in the first region, wherein the second regions have the same doping type as the semiconductor substrate.
However, Gogoi teaches a semiconductor device with an n-type doped substrate (Gogoi, 519, Fig. 5B, para. 236) an n-type doped monocrystalline layer (Gogoi, 517, Fig. 5A para 236), linked by vertical interconnects (Gogoi, 650, 651, 652, 655, 656, Fig. 5B, paras. 149, 151)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Lutz with the doped monocrystalline layer and substrate of Gogoi in order to improve performance, lower costs, and reduce complexity in manufacturing and assembly (Gogoi, para. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Geisberger et al. (US Pub. 20150041927) teaches a MEMS device with trenches that separate sense electrodes and sense masses and reach down to a junction region.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIERAN M. CUNNINGHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893