Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites that the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the Group 13 elements of different concentrations and the resonant cavity work together to have a synergistic effect.
This is indefinite because it is unclear as to what feature should be enhances due to the Group 13 elements of different concentrations and the resonant cavity working together to have a synergistic effect.
For the purpose of examination on the merits, Claim 7 is interpreted to recite the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein at least one element from Group 13 and a resonance cavity are present in the semiconductor device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1) and Tansu (US9349910B2)
With respect to Claim 1, Bour teaches in Fig. 1A, a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 134; ¶ [0032]);
a second type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 136; ¶ [0032]);
a quantum well structure (Fig. 1A; 120; ¶ [0032]) disposed between the first type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 134; ¶ [0032]) and the second type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 134; ¶ [0032]), and comprising a pair of barrier layers (Fig. 2A; 201 and 202; ¶ [0044]),
a first reflection unit disposed under the first type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 110; ¶ [0031]); and
a second reflection unit disposed on the second type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 111; ¶ [0031]) and defining a resonant cavity with the first reflection unit (Fig 1A; 1A; 130; ¶ [0032]; optical cavity is a type of resonate cavity), wherein, the quantum well structure is arranged in the resonant cavity (Fig 1A;120 and 130; ¶ [0032]; optical cavity is a type of resonate cavity).
Bour does not teach a first active layer and a second active layer which are disposed between the pair of barrier layers, and the first active layer and the second active layer respectively comprising Group 13 elements of different concentrations.
Tansu teaches in Column 2 and Column 3, a first active layer (Column 2 Line 67 and Column 3 Line 1-2) and a second active layer (Column 3 Line 2-4) which are disposed between the pair of barrier layers (Column 3 Line 4-6), and the first active layer and the second active layer respectively comprising Group 13 elements (Column 3 Line 9-14) of different concentrations (Column 3 Line 9-14).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, and optical cavity and a quantum well structure and Tansu, explaining a Type ll multi-quantum well structure with two active layers. This combination would produce a semiconductor structure with a first semiconductor layer forming a quantum well for electrons and a second semiconductor layer forming a quantum well for holes formed on the first semiconductor layer and third semiconductor layers sandwiching the first and second semiconductor layers as barrier layers to the electrons and holes Tansu(Column 3 Line 1-6).
With respect to Claim 7, Bour and Tansu teach the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Bour teaches in Fig. 1A, at least one element from Group 13 (Fig. 2A; 205; ¶ [0049]; InGaAsN) and a resonance cavity (Fig. 1A; 130; ¶ [0032]) are present in the semiconductor device.
With respect to Claim 12, Bour and Tansu teach the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Bour does not teach the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Tansu teaches in Column 4, having a staggered quantum well structure (Fig. 1, 1, Column 4 Line 33-35).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and Tansu, a light-emitting device with staggered quantum wells. This combination would produce a structure to improve luminescence efficiency in nitride gain media by utilizing a staggered InGaN quantum well Tansu(Column 3 Line 32-25).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1) and Tansu (US9349910B2) as applied to claim 1, 7 and 12 above, and further in view of Sakong (US20070297474A1).
With respect Claim 2, Bour and Tansu teach the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Bour and Tansu do not teach wherein the quantum well structure further comprises a third active layer, the second active layer is disposed between the first active layer and the third active layer, wherein a concentration of the Group 13 elements in the first active layer and in the third active layer is respectively smaller than a concentration of the Group 13 elements in the second active layer.
Sakong teaches in Fig 2, wherein the quantum well structure (Fig 2; 16; ¶ [0041]) further comprises a third active layer (Fig 2; 16 and 14; ¶ [0041]), the second active layer is disposed between the first active layer and the third active layer (Fig 2; 16 and 14; ¶ [0041]), wherein a concentration of the Group 13 elements in the first active (Fig 2; 14; ¶ [0058]) layer and in the third active layer (Fig 2; 14; ¶ [0058]) is respectively smaller than a concentration of the Group 13 elements in the second active layer. (Fig 2; 14; ¶ [0051])
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Sakong, a light emitting semiconductor device with active three layers comprising the quantum well. This combination would produce a semiconductor device with active layers in the quantum well to prevent diffusion of group 13 element from the barrier layers Sakong(¶ [0041]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1) and Tansu(US9349910B2) as applied to claims 1, 7 and 12 above, and further in view of Hamaguchi(US20180366906A1).
With respect to Claim 3, Bour and Tansu teach the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the second reflection unit Bour(Fig. 1A; 111; ¶ [0031])
Hamaguchi teaches in Fig. 1, comprises a first Bragg reflector (Fig. 1; 41; ¶ [0096] ¶ [0075]), a second Bragg reflector (Fig. 1; 42; ¶ [0096] ¶ [0075]) and a middle layer (Fig. 1; 20; ¶ [0097] ¶ [0075]) between the first Bragg reflector and the second Bragg reflector, wherein the first Bragg reflector and the second Bragg reflector form a mirror structure by using the middle layer to serve as a mirror axis (Fig. 1; 20; 41; 42; ¶ [0096] ¶ [0097]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, light-emitting devices with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Hamaguchi, a light emitting element with two Distributed Braggs Reflector (DBR) light reflectors. This combination would produce a semiconductor device that can obtain a desired light reflectance depending on the stack configuration of the DBR layers Hamaguchi(¶ [0075]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1), Tansu (US9349910B2) and Hamaguchi(US20180366906A1) as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of Pfeffer(US20230124794A1).
With respect to Claim 4, Bour, Tansu and Hamaguchi The semiconductor device of Claim 3.
Bour teaches wherein the first Bragg reflector and the second Bragg reflector
Bour does not teach in nano-porous Bragg reflectors.
Pfeffer teaches in ¶ [0043] are nano-porous Bragg reflectors ¶ [0043].
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the inventions of Bour, Tansu a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Hamaguchi, a light-emitting element with two Distributed Braggs Reflector light reflectors modified by the invention of Pfeffer teaching Distributed Braggs Reflectors being nanoporous. This combination would produce a semiconductor device that uses nanoporous structures to increase scattering Pfeffer(¶ [0043]).
Claim 5, 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1) and Tansu (US9349910B2) as applied to claim 1, 7 and 12 above, and further in view of Pfeffer (US20230124794A1).
With respect to Claim 5, Bour and Tansu teach the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Bour teaches in Fig 1A, wherein the first reflection unit (Fig 1A; 110; ¶ [0031]) is a nano-porous Bragg reflector.
Bour and Tansu does not teach wherein the first reflection unit is a nano-porous Bragg reflector.
Pfeffer teaches in ¶ [0043], a nano-porous Brags reflector is a Brags reflector (¶ [0043]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Pfeffer a semiconductor structure with microLEDs and nanoporous Bragg reflectors. The combination would produce a semiconductor device with nanoporous Bragg reflectors with high reflectivity that may be used to increase scattering Pfeffer(¶ [0043]).
With respect to Claim 6, Bour and Tansu teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 5.
Bour and Tansu do not teach wherein the nano-porous Bragg reflector comprises a plurality of alternately stacked nano-porous gallium nitride layers and gallium nitride layers.
Pfeffer teaches in Fig 3C, wherein the nano-porous Bragg reflector comprises a plurality of alternately stacked nano-porous gallium nitride layers and gallium nitride layers (Fig 3C; 302; ¶ [0043]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Pfeffer a semiconductor structure with microLEDs and nanoporous Bragg reflectors comprises a plurality of alternately stacked nano-porous gallium nitride layers and gallium nitride layers. The combination would produce a semiconductor light-emitting device with reflector units that contain Bragg reflectors with embedded nanoporous structures that may be used to increase scatter Pfeffer(¶ [0043]).
With respect to Claim 13, Bour and Tansu teach the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Bour and Tansu do not teach having a thin film filter structure.
Pfeffer teaches in ¶ [0095], having a thin film filter structure. (¶ [0095]; anti reflective coating)
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Pfeffer a semiconductor structure with microLEDs, nanoporous Bragg reflectors and a thin film filter. The combination would produce a semiconductor light-emitting device with a thin film filter structure to prevent Fresnel reflection Pfeffer(¶ [0095]).
Claim 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1) and Tansu (US9349910B2) as applied to claim 1, 7 and 12 above, and further in view of Han (US8779412B2).
With respect to Claim 8, Bour and Tansu teach the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Bour and Tansu do not teach wherein an indium concentration of the first active layer is different from an indium concentration of the second active layer.
Han teaches in Fig. 1, wherein an indium concentration of the first active layer is different from an indium concentration of the second active layer (Fig. 1; 103a; Column 4 Line 36-40).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Hans, a semiconductor light emitting device with various indium concentrations in the active layer. This combination produces a semiconductor structure with a tunable band gap in the quantum well layer. The material in the active layer determines the band gap energy affecting the light emitted. The content of indium of the quantum well layers (active layer) determines the band gap energy in the quantum well. When the content of indium (In) of the quantum well layer (active layer) made of InGaN is gradually increased, the band gap energy can be gradually reduced. Similarly, when the content of indium (In) of the quantum well layer (active layer) made of InGaN is gradually reduced, the band gap energy can be gradually increased Han(Column 6 Line 24-34).
With respect to Claim 9, Bour, Tansu and Hans teach the semiconductor device of Claim 8.
Bour and Hans do not teach wherein an indium to gallium ratio of the first active layer is 0.155/0.845
Tansu teaches in Column 11, wherein an indium to gallium ratio of the first active layer is 0.155/0.845 (Column 11 Line 1-7).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Han, a light-emitting semiconductor device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Tansu a light-emitting device with staggered quantum wells. This would produce a semiconductor device with a first active layer of indium to gallium ratio to be 0.1555/0.845 similar content with conventional quantum wells Han(Column 11 Line 6-7).
With respect to Claim 10, Bour, Tansu and Hans teach The semiconductor device of Claim 8.
Bour, Tansu and Hans do not teach wherein an indium to gallium ratio of the second active layer is 0.33/0.67.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the ratio of indium to gallium in the second active layer to be a result effective variable affecting the band gap of the active layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to have a ratio of indium to gallium within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Claim 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1) and Tansu (US9349910B2) and further in view of Shur (US20120217473A1).
With respect to Claim 14, Bour and Tansu teach a semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Bour and Tansu do not teach electronic device, comprising: a circuit substrate
Shur teaches in Fig 5 and Fig 6, an electronic device, comprising: a circuit substrate (Fig. 5; 120, 122 and 124; ¶ [0051]); and the circuit substrate (Fig. 6; 116 and 126; ¶ [0051]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Shur a light emitting semiconductor device on a substrate. This combination produces a semiconductor device on a substrate including the device design, circuit design and the fabrication of the physical circuit Shur(¶ [0051]).
With respect to Claim 18, Bour teaches in Fig. 1A, a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 134; ¶ [0032]);
a second type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 136; ¶ [0032]);
a quantum well structure (Fig. 1A; 120; ¶ [0032]) disposed between the first type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 134; ¶ [0032]) and the second type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 134; ¶ [0032]), and comprising a pair of barrier layers (Fig. 2A; 201 and 202; ¶ [0044]),
a first reflection unit disposed under the first type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 110; ¶ [0031]); and
a second reflection unit disposed on the second type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A; 111; ¶ [0031]) and defining a resonant cavity with the first reflection unit (Fig 1A; 1A; 130; ¶ [0032]; optical cavity is a type of resonate cavity), wherein, the quantum well structure is arranged in the resonant cavity (Fig 1A;120 and 130; ¶ [0032]; optical cavity is a type of resonate cavity).
Bour does not teach a first active layer and a second active layer which are disposed between the pair of barrier layers, and the first active layer and the second active layer respectively comprising Group 13 elements of different concentrations.
Tansu teaches in Column 2 and Column 3, a first active layer (Column 2 Line 67 and Column 3 Line 1-2) and a second active layer (Column 3 Line 2-4) which are disposed between the pair of barrier layers (Column 3 Line 4-6), and the first active layer and the second active layer respectively comprising Group 13 elements (Column 3 Line 9-14) of different concentrations (Column 3 Line 9-14).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, and ab optical cavity and Tansu, explaining a Type ll multi-quantum well structure with two active layers. This combination would produce a semiconductor structure with a first semiconductor layer forming a quantum well for electrons and a second semiconductor layer forming a quantum well for holes formed on the first semiconductor layer and third semiconductor layers sandwiching the first and second semiconductor layers as barrier layers to the electrons and holes Tansu(Column 3 Line 1-6).
Bour and Tansu do not teach two semiconductor elements.
Shur further teaches in Fig. 6, two semiconductor elements (Fig. 6; 126; ¶ [0050] and ¶ [0051]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Shur a light emitting semiconductor device a substrate with one or more devices. This combination produces a semiconductor device with multiple devices on a substrate including the device design, circuit design and the fabrication of the physical circuit Shur(¶ [0051]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1) and Tansu (US9349910B2) and in further view of Hsiao(US20220209049A1).
With respect to Claim 11, Bour and Tansu teach the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Bour and Tansu do not teach wherein a thickness of the first active layer is different from a thickness of the second active layer.
Hsiao teaches in Fig. 5, wherein a thickness of the first active layer (Fig. 5; 003; ¶ [0032]) is different from a thickness of the second active layer (Fig. 5; 007; ¶ [0048]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and Hsiao a semiconductor multi-junction LED with varying thicknesses in active layers. This combination produces a semiconductor device that can be configured to emit light having targeted wavelengths that are influenced by active layer thickness Hsiao(¶ [0032]).
Claims 15, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1), Tansu (US9349910B2) and Shur (US20120217473A1) as applied to claims 14 and 18 above, and further in view of Pfeffer (US20230124794A1).
With respect to Claim 15, Bour, Tansu and Shur teach the electronic device of Claim 14.
Bour, Tansu and Shur do not teach further comprising a light conversion unit overlapping the semiconductor element along a normal direction of the circuit substrate
Pfeffer teaches in Fig 1, further comprising a light conversion unit overlapping the semiconductor element along a normal direction of the circuit substrate (Fig.1; 102; ¶ [0023]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Shur a light emitting semiconductor device comprised of a substrate with one or more devices and Pfeffer a semiconductor structure with microLEDs and a light conversion unit overlapping the semiconductor element along a normal direction of the circuit substrate. This would produce a semiconductor device with light conversion units connect to semiconductor elements so the semiconductor elements can drive the light conversion units Pfeffer(¶ [0023]).
With respect to Claim 16, Bour, Tansu and Shur teach the electronic device of Claim 14.
Bour, Tansu and Shur do not teach further comprising a color filter unit overlapping the semiconductor element along a normal direction of the circuit substrate.
Pfeffer teaches in ¶ [0087], further comprising a color filter unit overlapping the semiconductor element along a normal direction of the circuit substrate. (Fig 1; Fig 9; 924; ¶ [0087])
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Shur a light emitting semiconductor device a substrate with one or more devices and Pfeffer a semiconductor structure with microLEDs and color filters. This would produce a semiconductor device that can render light to produce a specific image using colors Pfeffer(¶ [0087]).
With respect to Claim 17, Bour, Tansu and Shur teach the electronic device of Claim 14.
Bour teaches wherein the first reflection unit.
Bour, Tansu and Shur do not teach comprises alternately stacked first lower reflection unit layers and second lower reflection unit layers to form a plurality of sets of lower reflection unit stack layers, and the lower reflection unit stack layer comprises alternately stacked doped nano-porous semiconductor layers and undoped non-porous semiconductor layers to form a nano-porous Bragg reflector.
Pfeffer teaches in Fig. 3B alternately stacked first lower reflection unit layers and second lower reflection unit layers to form a plurality of sets of lower reflection unit stack layers (Fig. 3B; 302c; ¶ [0123] ¶ [0043]), and the lower reflection unit stack layer comprises alternately stacked doped nano-porous semiconductor layers and undoped non-porous semiconductor layers to form a nano-porous Bragg reflector (Fig. 3B; 302c; ¶ [0043]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Shur a light emitting semiconductor device a substrate with one or more devices and Pfeffer explaining the stacking order of the reflection units. This combination would produce a semiconductor device with a reflection unit having alternately stacked doped nano-porous semiconductor layers and undoped non-porous semiconductor layers to form a nano-porous Bragg reflector stacked layers that contain embedded voids that scatter light effectively Pfeffer(¶ [0043]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US20040206949A1), Tansu (US9349910B2) and Shur (US20120217473A1) as applied to claims 14 and 18 above, and further in view of Haberem (US10797201B2).
With respect to Claim 19, Bour, Tansu and Shur teach the semiconductor chip of Claim 18,
Bour and Tansu and Shur do not teaches wherein the two semiconductor elements are electrically connected in series.
Haberem teaches in Column 3, wherein the two semiconductor elements are electrically connected in series. (Column 3 Line 60-63)
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Shur a light emitting semiconductor device a substrate with one or more devices and Haberem a monolithic LED chip with semiconductor elements connected ins series. This combination would produce a microchip with multiple semiconductor elements connected in series to arrange the active areas in close proximity such that space between adjacent ones of the active areas is substantially not visible when the emitter is emitting, thereby allowing the chip to emit light similar to that of a filament Haberem(Column 3 Line 65-67 and Column 4 Line1-2).
With respect to Claim 20, Bour, Tansu and Shur teach the semiconductor chip of claim 18.
Bour, Tansu and Shur do not teach wherein the two semiconductor elements are electrically connected in parallel.
Haberem teach in Column 3, wherein the two semiconductor elements are electrically connected in parallel (Column 3 Line 63-65).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Bour and Tansu, a light-emitting device with two reflector units, an optical cavity and a quantum well structure and of Shur a light emitting semiconductor device a substrate with one or more devices and Haberem a monolithic LED chip with semiconductor elements connected in parallel. This combination would produce a microchip with multiple semiconductor elements collected in parallel to arrange the active areas in close proximity such that space between adjacent ones of the active areas is substantially not visible when the emitter is emitting, thereby allowing the chip to emit light similar to that of a filament Haberem(Column 3 Line 65-67 and Column 4 Line1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Gerhold (US20220393431A1); A semiconductor device comprising Group III nitride material.
Iguchi (US12199213B2); A semiconductor device containing a circuit substrate and micro-LED elements.
/B.Q.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817