DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung (U.S. PG Pub No US2024/0121989A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116], comprising:
forming a lower electrode (AE2) fig. 6 [0167];
forming a rib (IL1) fig. 12 [0169] covering at least a part (right sidewall) of the lower electrode (AE2); and
forming a partition (P) (see annotated fig. 15 below) on the rib (IL1), the partition (P) including a conductive bottom portion (BNK) fig. 15 [0173], an insulating stem portion (comprising CLP1) fig. 15 [0129, 0139] located on the bottom portion (BNK), and a top portion (comprising CEP3) fig. 15 [0145-0147] located on the stem portion (CLP1) and protruding (diagonally) relative to (left/right) side surfaces of the stem portion (CLP1 of partition),
wherein the formation of the partition (P) includes:
forming a first layer (BNK) including a layer (BNK3) fig. 15 [0132] formed of a conductive first material (BNK3 comprising titanium) [0132];
forming a second layer (CPL1) fig. 15 [0129, 0139] including a layer (CPL1) formed of an insulating second material (CLP1 may be formed of silicon oxide) [0129, 0139] on the first layer (BNK);
forming a third layer (comprising CEP3, CLP2, CLP3 and intervening layers) fig. 15 [0145-0147] including a layer (CEP3) (metal) [0146] formed of a third material (metal) [0146] on the second layer (CPL1);
forming the top portion (comprising CEP3) by patterning the third layer (comprising CEP3) by a first etching process (process of etching CEP3) [see fig. 14, 0201];
forming the stem portion (CLP1) by patterning the second layer (CLP1) by a second etching process (process of etching CLP1) [see fig. 12, 0185]; and
forming the bottom portion (BNK) by patterning the first layer (BNK3) by a third etching process (process of etching BNK) [see fig. 7, fig. 12, 0172, 0185], and
an etching rate of the third material (CEP3) (metal) in the second etching process (process of etching CLP1) [see fig. 12, 0185] is lower (zero) than an (non-zero) etching rate of the second material (CLP1) in the second etching process (process of etching CLP1) [see fig. 12, 0185] (CEP3 is not etched in the second etching process [see fig. 12, 0185], and therefore, has a lower (zero) etching rate which is lower compared to the non-zero etching rate of CLP1).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (CLP2)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (CLP1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rib)][AltContent: textbox (Partition (P))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 15 of Jung
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 1. Jung also teaches wherein the first layer (BNK3) fig. 15 [0173] includes a first bottom layer (BNK3) fig. 15 [0173] formed of the first material (metal = titanium [0173]) and a second bottom layer (BNK1) fig. 15 [0173] formed of a conductive material (Aluminum [0173]) different from the first material (titanium) [0173] and overlapping with the first bottom layer (BNK3).
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 2. Jung also teaches wherein the second bottom layer (BNK1) fig. 15 [0173] is thicker (overall) [0209] than the first bottom layer (BNK3) fig. 15 [0173].
Regarding claim 4, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 1. Jung also teaches wherein the third layer (comprising CEP3, CLP2, CLP3 and intervening layers) includes a first top layer (CEP3) fig. 15 [0145-0147] formed of the third material (CEP3 = metal) [0146] and a second top layer (CLP3) fig. 15 [0143] formed of a material (insulator such as silicon oxide) [0129] different from the third material (metal) [0146] and overlapping with the first top layer (CEP3).
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 4. Jung also teaches wherein one of the first top layer (CEP3 = metal) [0146] has conductive property (metal [0146]) and the second top layer (CLP2) has insulation property (insulator such as silicon oxide) [0129].
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 2. Jung also teaches wherein the third layer (comprising CEP3, CLP2 and intervening layers) fig. 15 [0145-0147] includes a first top layer (CEP3) formed of the first material (CEP3 = metal) [0146, 0132] and a second top layer (CLP2) fig. 15 [0143] formed of a material (insulator such as silicon oxide) [0129] different from the first material (metal) and overlapping with the first top layer (CEP3).
Regarding claim 7, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 1. Jung also teaches further comprising:
forming an organic layer (EL2) fig. 15 [0125] covering the lower electrode (AE2) fig. 15 [0167] and emitting light [0125] in response to application of a voltage [0072]; and
forming an upper electrode (CE2) fig. 15 [0127] covering the organic layer (EL2) and (directly) contacting the bottom portion (BNK) fig. 15 [0173].
Regarding claim 8, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 7. Jung also teaches further comprising:
forming a sealing layer (TL2) fig. 15 [0144] continuously covering (at least portions of) a thin film (comprising EL2, CE2), which includes the organic layer (EL2) fig. 15 [0125] and the upper electrode (CE2) fig. 15 [0127], and the partition (P) (see annotated fig. 15 above).
Regarding claim 9, Jung teaches a display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116], comprising:
forming a lower electrode (AE2) fig. 6 [0167];
forming a rib (IL1) fig. 12 [0169] covering at least a part (right sidewall) of the lower electrode (AE2); and
forming a partition (P) (see annotated fig. 15 below) on the rib (IL1), the partition (P) including a conductive bottom portion (BNK) fig. 15 [0173], an insulating stem portion (comprising CLP1) fig. 15 [0129, 0139] located on the bottom portion (BNK), and a top portion (comprising CEP3, CLP3) fig. 15 [0145-0147] located on the stem portion (CLP1) and protruding (diagonally) relative to (left/right) side surfaces of the stem portion (CLP1 of partition), wherein
the formation of the partition (P) includes:
forming a first layer (BNK 1, BNK3) including a layer (BNK1) fig. 15 [0132] formed of a conductive first material (BNK1 comprising aluminum) [0132];
forming a second layer (CPL1) fig. 15 [0129, 0139] including a layer (CPL1) formed of an insulating second material (CLP1 may be formed of silicon oxide) [0129, 0139] on the first layer (BNK 1, BNK3);
forming a third layer (comprising BNK2, CEP3, CLP2, CLP3) fig. 15 [0129, 0145-0147] including a layer (BNK2) (metal) [0132] formed of a third material (titanium) [0146] on the second layer (CPL1);
forming the top portion (comprising CEP3) by patterning the third layer (comprising CEP3) by a first etching process (process of etching CEP3) [see fig. 7, fig. 12, fig. 14, 0185, 0201];
forming the stem portion (CLP1) by patterning the second layer (CLP1) by a second etching process (process of etching CLP1) [see fig. 12, 0185]; and
forming the bottom portion (BNK 1, BNK3) by patterning the first layer (BNK1) by a third etching process (defined as collective etching process of BNK 1-3 material) [see fig. 7, fig. 12, 0172, 0185],
and an etching rate of the third material (BNK2) (titanium) [0132, 0172] in the third etching process (defined as collective process of etching BNK 1-3 material) [see fig. 7, fig. 12, 0172, 0185] is lower [0132, 0172] than an etching rate of the first material (BNK1 comprising aluminum) [0132] in the third etching process [see fig. 7, 0172] (BNK1 etched faster than BNK2 [0172] in step of etching process shown in fig. 7).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (T2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (T1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (CLP2)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (CLP1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rib)][AltContent: textbox (Partition (P))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 15 of Jung
Regarding claim 10, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 9. Jung also teaches wherein the first layer (BNK 1, BNK3) fig. 15 [0132] includes a first bottom layer (BNK1) [0132] formed of the first material (aluminum) [0132] and a second bottom layer (BNK3) fig. 15 [0132] formed of a conductive material (titanium) [0132] different from the first material (aluminum) [0132] and overlapping with the first bottom layer (BNK1).
Regarding claim 11, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 10. Jung also teaches wherein the (middle of) second bottom layer (BNK3) fig. 15 [0173] is thicker (in middle, has thickness T2) than the (corner of) first bottom layer (BNK1) fig. 15 [0173] (at corner, has infinitesimal thickness T1) (T1 < T2; as defined in annotated fig. 15 above).
Regarding claim 12, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 9. Jung also teaches the third layer (comprising BNK2, CEP3, CLP2, CLP3) fig. 15 [0129, 0145-0147] includes a first top layer (BNK2) [0132] formed of the third material (titanium) [0132] and a second top layer (CLP2) fig. 15 [0143, 0129] formed of a material (silicon oxide) [0129] different from the third material (titanium) [0132] and overlapping with (right portions of) the first top layer (BNK2).
Regarding claim 13, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 12. Jung also teaches wherein one of the first top layer (BNK2) [0132] has conductive property (titanium metal is conductive) [0132] and the and the second top layer (silicon oxide) [0129, 0143] has insulation property (silicon oxide is insulative) [0129].
Regarding claim 14, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 10. Jung also teaches wherein the third layer (comprising BNK2, CEP3, CLP2) fig. 15 [0129, 0145-0147] includes a first top layer (CEP3) [0146] formed of the first material (metal) [0146] and a second top layer (CLP3) fig. 15 [0129, 0143] formed of a material (silicon oxide) [0129] different from the first material (metal) and overlapping with the first top layer (CEP3).
Regarding claim 15, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 9. Jung also teaches further comprising:
forming an organic layer (EL2) fig. 15 [0125] covering the lower electrode (AE2) fig. 15 [0167] and emitting light [0125] in response to application of a voltage [0072]; and
forming an upper electrode (CE2) fig. 15 [0127] covering the organic layer (EL2) and (directly) contacting the bottom portion (BNK 1) fig. 15 [0173].
Regarding claim 16, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 15. Jung also teaches further comprising:
forming a sealing layer (TL2) fig. 15 [0144] continuously covering (at least portions of) a thin film (comprising EL2, CE2), which includes the organic layer (EL2) fig. 15 [0125] and the upper electrode (CE2) fig. 15 [0127], and the partition (P) (see annotated fig. 15 above).
Regarding claim 17, Jung teaches a display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116], comprising:
forming a lower electrode (AE2) fig. 6 [0167];
forming a rib (IL1) fig. 12 [0169] covering at least a part (right sidewall) of the lower electrode (AE2); and
forming a partition (P) (see annotated fig. 15 below) on the rib (IL1), the partition (P) including a conductive bottom portion (BNK) fig. 15 [0173], an insulating stem portion (comprising CLP1) fig. 15 [0129, 0139] located on the bottom portion (BNK), and a top portion (comprising CEP3, CLP3) fig. 15 [0145-0147] located on the stem portion (CLP1) and protruding (diagonally) relative to (left/right) side surfaces of the stem portion (CLP1 of partition), wherein
the formation of the partition (P) includes:
forming a first layer (BNK1, BNK3) including a layer (BNK3) fig. 15 [0132] formed of a conductive first material (BNK3 comprising titanium) [0132];
forming a second layer (CPL1) fig. 15 [0129, 0139] including a layer (CPL1) formed of an insulating second material (CLP1 may be formed of silicon oxide) [0129, 0139] on the first layer (BNK 1, BNK3);
forming a third layer (comprising BNK2, CEP3, CLP2, CLP3) fig. 15 [0129, 0145-0147] including a layer (BNK2) (metal) [0132] formed of the first material (titanium) [0146] on the second layer (CPL1);
forming the top portion (comprising CEP3) by patterning the third layer (comprising CEP3) by a first etching process (process of etching CEP3) [see fig. 7, fig. 12, fig. 14, 0185, 0201];
forming the stem portion (CLP1) by patterning the second layer (CLP1) by a second etching process (process of etching CLP1) [see fig. 12, 0185]; and
forming the bottom portion (BNK 1, BNK3) by patterning the first layer (BNK3) by a third etching process (defined as collective etching process of BNK 1-3 material) [see fig. 7, fig. 12, 0172, 0185],
forming a third layer (comprising CEP3, CLP2, CLP3 and intervening layers) fig. 15 [0145-0147] including a layer (CEP3) (metal) [0146] formed of a third material (metal) [0146] on the second layer (CPL1);
forming the top portion (comprising CEP3) by patterning the third layer (comprising CEP3) by a first etching process (process of etching CEP3) [see fig. 14, 0201];
forming the stem portion (CLP1) by patterning the second layer (CLP1) by a second etching process (process of etching CLP1) [see fig. 12, 0185]; and
forming the bottom portion (BNK) by patterning the first layer (BNK1) by a third etching process (process of etching BNK) [see fig. 12, 0185], and
and the layer (comprising BNK2) formed of the first material (titanium) included in the third layer (comprising BNK2, CEP3, CLP2, CLP3) is formed to be thicker (in middle, has thickness T1) than the layer (BNK3) formed of the first material (titanium) included in the first layer (BNK3 with BNK1) (at corner, has infinitesimal thickness T2) (T2< T1; as defined in annotated fig. 15 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (CLP2)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (CLP1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rib)][AltContent: textbox (Partition (P))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (T1)][AltContent: textbox (T2)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (CLP2)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (CLP1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rib)][AltContent: textbox (Partition (P))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 15 of Jung
Regarding claim 18, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 17. Jung also teaches wherein the first layer (BNK 1, BNK3) fig. 15 [0132] includes a first bottom layer (BNK3) [0132] formed of the first material (titanium) [0132] and a second bottom layer (BNK1) fig. 15 [0132] formed of a conductive material (aluminum) [0132] different from the first material (titanium and aluminum different metals [0132]) and overlapping with the first bottom layer (BNK3).
Regarding claim 19, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 18. Jung also teaches wherein
the second bottom layer (BNK1) fig. 15 [0173] is thicker (overall) [0209] than the first bottom layer (BNK3) fig. 15 [0173].
Regarding claim 20, Jung teaches the display device manufacturing method [see figs. 6-15, 0116] of claim 17. Jung also teaches further comprising:
forming an organic layer (EL2) fig. 15 [0125] covering the lower electrode (AE2) fig. 15 [0167] and emitting light [0125] in response to application of a voltage [0072]; and
forming an upper electrode (CE2) fig. 15 [0127] covering the organic layer (EL2) and (directly) contacting the bottom portion (BNK 1) fig. 15 [0173].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ishida (US-20240130167-A1), Fukuda (US-20230240118-A1), Imai (US-20230413645-A1), Fukuda (US-20230354674-A1), Choung (US-20220077251-A1), Huang (US-20220344421-A1), Nitta (US-20220199937-A1), and Yoo (US-20240121992-A1) all feature other examples of display devices with etched, multilayered partitions.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 02/09/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892