DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the patent application no. 18/534,829 filed on December 11, 2023.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show line V-V' in FIG. 4A as described in the paragraphs (¶) [0028] and [0080] of the specification and “buffer layer 111 is disposed on the plurality of high-potential power lines VDD, the plurality of data lines DL, the plurality of reference lines RL” as described in the ¶ [0097]. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: The reference character, “AN” in FIG. 4A is not mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The spacing of the lines of the specification is such as to make reading difficult. New application papers with lines 1 1/2 or double spaced (see 37 CFR 1.52(b)(2)) on good quality paper are required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The buffer layer 111 only is disposed on the light-blocking layer (LS) and the insulating layer (IN) and is NOT “disposed on the plurality of high-potential power lines VDD, the plurality of data DL, the plurality of reference lines RL” as described in ¶ [0097]. ITO and IZO are provided as examples of conductive material having a high work function for the anode 121 in ¶ [00138] and ITO and IZO are provided as examples of conductive material having a low work function for the cathode 123 in ¶ [00141]. Are ITO and IZO high work function or low work function for this invention? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is missing “of” between “more indium”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Shimmoto et al. (Shimmoto hereinafter) (US 2008/0050893).
Regarding Claim 15:
Shimmoto (see FIGs. 2, 5B, and10) teaches a display device comprising: a substrate comprising a light-emitting area DA, and a circuit area in which a drive circuit DR1/DR2 for operating a light-emitting element is disposed, wherein the substrate comprises: a plurality of first substrate patterns 703a overlapping with a part of the light-emitting area and a part of the circuit area; a second substrate pattern 704a overlapping with the circuit area and made of a material different from a material of the plurality of first substrate patterns.
Shimmoto (see ¶ [0067], [0064], [0025]) teaches “the semiconductor layer of the TFT device for each of the pixels in the display region DA is formed of a hydrogenated amorphous silicon (a-Si:H) and the semiconductor layer of the semiconductor devices of the first driving circuit DRV1 and the second driving circuit DRV2 are formed of a polycrystal silicon”; the driving circuits on two sides of the DA; and a plurality of scanning signal lines GL and a plurality of video signal lines DL and the TFT device having a gate, drain, and a source; “the second step conducts irradiation of a first continuous oscillation laser only to the region of forming the driving circuit and the peripheral region thereof at the outside of the display region”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimmoto et al. (Shimmoto hereinafter) (US 2008/0050893) in view of Kwon (US 2023/0074232).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 10-14:
Shimmoto (see FIGs. 2, 5B, and10) teaches {1} a display device comprising: a substrate 10 including a plurality of DA in which a light-emitting element is disposed, and a circuit area in which a drive circuit DR1/DR2 for operating the light-emitting element is disposed, wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of first substrate patterns 703a disposed to correspond to the light-emitting area, and a second substrate pattern 704a disposed to correspond to the circuit area, and wherein the plurality of first substrate patterns are made of different materials from the second substrate pattern; {2} a width of each of the plurality of first substrate patterns is equal to or larger than a width of the light-emitting area; {3} the plurality of first substrate patterns comprises: a first pattern overlapping with the light-emitting area; and a second pattern connected with the first pattern and disposed at a portion adjacent to the second substrate pattern, and wherein at least a part of the second pattern overlaps with the circuit area; and {14} the second substrate pattern surrounds the plurality of first substrate patterns.
Shimmoto (see ¶ [0067], [0064], [0025]) teaches “the semiconductor layer of the TFT device for each of the pixels in the display region DA is formed of a hydrogenated amorphous silicon (a-Si:H) and the semiconductor layer of the semiconductor devices of the first driving circuit DRV1 and the second driving circuit DRV2 are formed of a polycrystal silicon”; the driving circuits on two sides of the DA; and a plurality of scanning signal lines GL and a plurality of video signal lines DL and the TFT device having a gate, drain, and a source; “the second step conducts irradiation of a first continuous oscillation laser only to the region of forming the driving circuit and the peripheral region thereof at the outside of the display region”.
However, Shimmoto does not explicitly teach {1} subpixels; {10} an insulation layer above the substrate; {11} the insulation layer comprises inorganic material and is disposed on the plurality of first substrate patterns and the second substrate pattern; {12} a film member under the substrate; and {13} the film member comprises at least one of a polarizing plate and a barrier film.
Kwon (see FIG. 10 and ¶ [0163], [0096], [0100], [0133], [0144]. [0172]) teaches a display device comprising “a plurality of third patterns PTN3 may be disposed only in the emission area EA … and the circuit area CA in each of the plurality of subpixels SP … the shape and size of the third patterns PTN3 may be substantially the same as the shape and size of the emission area EA on a plane”; a buffer layer 111 and a gate insulating layer 112 and a passivation layer 113 “may be formed of a single layer or a multiplayer of silicon oxide (SiOx) or silicon nitride (SiNx)”; a polarizing plate 150 below the patterns PTN1-PTN3; “a barrier film may be disposed together with the polarization plate 150 under the lower substrate 110”; and “non-display area NA is an area surrounding the display area AA”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teaching of Shimmoto et al. to further include the teaching of Kwon to apply to newer technology development, such as subpixels instead of just pixels; to slightly enlarge the polycrystal silicon coverage to the display area DA as long as the enlargement does not impact the functionality of the DA; to form additional inorganic insulating layer above the patterned substrate to isolate the various signal lines and electrodes; to form additional layers underneath the patterned substrate to selectively transmit light to reduce reflection of external light incident to the substrate and to minimize moisture and oxygen entering into the substrate.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimmoto et al. (Shimmoto hereinafter) (US 2008/0050893) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kwon (US 2023/0074232).
Regarding Claim 20:
Shimmoto does not explicitly teach an insulation layer above the substrate.
Kwon (see FIG. 10 and ¶ [0096], [0100], [0133]) teaches a display device comprising a buffer layer 111 and a gate insulating layer 112 and a passivation layer 113 “may be formed of a single layer or a multiplayer of silicon oxide (SiOx) or silicon nitride (SiNx)”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teaching of Shimmoto et al. to further include the teaching of Kwon to form additional inorganic insulating layer above the patterned substrate to isolate the various signal lines and electrodes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 16-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/ALICE W TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814