DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species IA (Fig. 3; Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-11 and 13) in the reply filed on 04/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 6 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention I, Species IC (“the first ferroelectric memory stack and the second ferroelectric memory stack are each within a respective metal wiring layer above the substrate.“ (Fig. 6) [0039 of PGPub), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on .
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“ the first ferroelectric memory stack is on a device layer, and wherein the second ferroelectric memory stack is within a metal wiring layer over the device layer.” Of Claim 5.
“a metal wiring layer” of Claim 9
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Slesazeck et al. (US 2017/0162250 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Slesazeck (Fig. 3) discloses a structure comprising:
a first ferroelectric memory stack (c2) over a substrate (108), the first ferroelectric memory stack having a first switching voltage (VC1=V (C1+C2)/C1); and
a second ferroelectric memory stack (C1) serially coupled to the first ferroelectric memory stack (C2) over the substrate (109), the second ferroelectric memory stack having a second switching voltage (“VC2=V (C1+C2)/C2) different from the first switching voltage. (“Upon further increase of the applied voltage V, also the coercive voltage of C2 will reached) [0058]
Regarding Claim 5, Slesazeck discloses the structure of claim 1, wherein
the first ferroelectric memory stack (303) is on a device layer (101, 102), and wherein
the second ferroelectric memory stack. (304) is within a metal wiring layer (layer of 304) over the device layer. (101, 102)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slesazeck et al. (US 2017/0162250 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0403863 A1).
Regarding Claim 2,. Slesazeck (Fig. 3) discloses the structure of claim 1, wherein
the first ferroelectric memory stack (C2) includes a first ferroelectric layer (303a), and the second ferroelectric memory stack (C1) includes a second ferroelectric layer (304a).
Slesazeck further discloses materials for ferroelectric layers a different material composition from the first ferroelectric layer. (“ the ferroelectric material may comprise any of HfO.sub.2, ZrO.sub.2, any ratio of Hf and Zr combined with oxygen (e.g., Zr.sub.xHf.sub.1-xO.sub.2, where x<1) as well as any combinations thereof.”) [0028]
Slesazeck does not explicitly disclose a second ferroelectric layer having a different material composition from the first ferroelectric layer.
Chen (Fig. 4) discloses a second ferroelectric layer (114,the ferroelectric material includes hafnium zirconium oxide (HfZrO) among limited number of other materials) having a different material composition from the first ferroelectric layer (414 hafnium oxide (HfO.sub.2), among limited number of other materials).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure in Slesazeck in view of Chen such that a second ferroelectric layer having a different material composition from the first ferroelectric layer in order to since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07) and to have different polarization states which result in four different threshold voltages of the memory cell transistor [0058 Hartner]
Regarding Claim 3, Slesazeck in view of Chen discloses the structure of claim 2, wherein
the first ferroelectric layer includes hafnium oxide (HfO.sub.2) (414 hafnium oxide (HfO.sub.2)” Chen) and the second ferroelectric layer includes hafnium-zirconium oxide (HZO). (“114, the ferroelectric material includes hafnium zirconium oxide (HfZrO)” Chen)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slesazeck et al. (US 2017/0162250 A1) in view of Banerjee et al. (“Hafnium Oxide (HfO2) – A Multifunctional Oxide: A Review on the Prospect and Challenges of Hafnium Oxide in Resistive Switching and Ferroelectric Memories” Small Volume 18, Issue 23 Jun 2022; Published in 05 May 2022).
Regarding Claim 8, Slesazeck discloses the structure of claim 1, wherein
a magnitude of the first switching voltage and a magnitude of the second switching [0052, 0058].
Slesazeck further discloses materials for ferroelectric layers a different material composition from the first ferroelectric layer. (“the ferroelectric material may comprise any of HfO.sub.2, ZrO.sub.2, any ratio of Hf and Zr combined with oxygen (e.g., Zr.sub.xHf.sub.1-xO.sub.2, where x<1) as well as any combinations thereof.”) [0028] and differences between a magnitude of the first switching voltage and a magnitude of the second switching [0052]
Slesazeck does not explicitly disclose a magnitude of the first switching voltage is approximately two volts (V) and a magnitude of the second switching voltage is approximately four V.
Banerjee discloses a magnitude of the second switching voltage of HfO is dependent on thickness of the layer is approximately 1.5V
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure in Slesazeck in view of Banerjee to select material thickness for ferroelectric layers such that a magnitude of the first switching voltage is approximately two volts (V) and a magnitude of the second switching voltage is approximately four V since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 13 are allowable.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
With regards to claim 9, none of the prior art teaches or suggests, alone or in combination, “a second conductive plate within the metal wiring layer, a second ferroelectric layer on the second conductive plate, and a third conductive plate on the second ferroelectric layer, wherein the second ferroelectric memory stack has a second switching voltage different from the first switching voltage such that a first bit stored within the second ferroelectric memory stack is independently adjustable relative to a second bit stored within the second ferroelectric memory stack” in the combination required by the claim.
Claims 10-11 and 13 are allowed by virtue of their dependency on the independent claim 9.
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891