DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2023 and 12/11/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0006694A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches a light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] comprising:
a substrate (100) fig. 2 [0031] including a first area (EA1) and a second area (EA2) adjacent to the first area (EA1) (see annotated fig. 2 below for EA1, EA2 definitions);
a first pixel (RP2 in EA1 boundaries) fig. 2 [0036] disposed in the first area (EA1);
a light blocking layer (BM2) fig. 2 [0031] (laterally) surrounding the (center of) first pixel (RP2 in EA1 boundaries) in the first area (EA1) (see also fig. 1);
a second pixel (RP1 in EA2 boundaries) fig. 2 [0031] disposed in the second area (EA2); and
a metal patterning layer (352) fig. 2 [0031] (partially) covering and (laterally) surrounding the (center of) second pixel (RP2 in EA2 boundaries) in the second area (EA2).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (352 length away from edge of EA2)][AltContent: textbox (SW2 = between two points in EA1 and EA2 defined as separated by 2x 352 length)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (SW1 = between two points in EA1 and EA2 defined as separated by 2.5x BM2 length)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (BM2 length away from edge of EA2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (EA1)][AltContent: textbox (EA2)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig. 2 of Lim
Regarding claim 2, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 1. Lim also teaches wherein the light blocking layer (BM2) fig. 2 [0031] is disposed from an edge of a first emission area (EA1) [see annotated fig. 2 above] of the first pixel (RP2) fig. 2 [0031] to a point defined between 1/3 and 1/2 of a separation width (SW1, defined in fig. 2 above) the first emission area (EA1) of the first pixel (RP2) and a second emission area (EA2) of the second pixel (RP1) [0031] (SW1 is defined between two points spaced apart by 2.5x BM2 width such that BM2 length from an edge of EA1 is 1/2.5 = 0.4 of SW1, as defined in annotated fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 1. Lim also teaches further comprising:
a first pixel electrode (310b) fig. 2 [0031, 0040] in the first pixel (RP2 in EA1 boundaries) fig. 2 [0036];
a second pixel electrode (310a) fig. 2 [0031, 0040] in the second pixel (RP1 in EA2 boundaries) fig. 2 [0031];
a bank (comprising 340, AG, 352) fig. 2 [0031, 0102] disposed (diagonally) between the first pixel electrode (310b) and the second pixel electrode (310a) to define (borders of) a first emission area (EA1) of the first pixel (RP2) and a second emission area (EA2) of the second pixel (RP1) (see annotated fig. 2 above);
an emission layer (320) fig. 2 [0031] over the first pixel electrode (310b), the bank (comprising 340, AG, 352) and the second pixel (RP1 in EA2 boundaries);
a common electrode (330) fig. 2 [0031] on the emission layer (320); and
a first protective layer (362) fig. 2 [0083] on the common electrode (330).
Regarding claim 5, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 4. Lim also teaches wherein the metal patterning layer (352) fig. 2 [0031] is disposed on (supported by bottom of) the first protective layer (362) fig. 2 [0083], and disposed within (partially within/ shared between) the first emission area (EA1) and the second emission area (EA2), and wherein the metal patterning layer (352) is further disposed from the second emission area (EA2) to a position on the bank (comprising 340) fig. 2 [0031, 0102] defined at 1/2 to 2/3 (1/2) of a separation width (SW2) between the first emission area (EA1) and the second emission area (EA2) (SW2 is defined between two points spaced apart by 2x 352 in EA2 width such that 352 length from an edge of EA2 is 1/2 = 0.5 of SW2, as defined in annotated fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 6, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 4. Lim also teaches wherein the light blocking layer (BM2) fig. 2 [0031] is disposed from the first emission area (EA1) on the first protective layer (362) fig. 2 [0083] to a position defined at 1/3 to 1/2 (2/5 of SW1) between (selected points spaced by SW1 of) the first emission area (EA1) and the second emission area (EA2) (SW1 is defined between two points spaced apart by 2.5x BM2 width such that BM2 length from an edge of EA1 is 1/2.5 = ~0.4 of SW1, as defined in annotated fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 7, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 4. Lim also teaches wherein the metal patterning layer (352) fig. 2 [0031] and the light blocking layer (BM2) fig. 2 [0031] is disposed on the first protective layer (362) fig. 2 [0083], and wherein the light emitting display device further comprises:
a second protective layer (400) fig. 2 [0148] on (supported by) the metal patterning layer (352) and the light blocking layer (BM2).
Regarding claim 8, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 1. Lim also teaches wherein the first area (EA1 overlapping RP2, GP2, BP2) and the second area (EA2 overlapping RP1) have a strip (rectangular) shape [see fig. 1] extending in a first direction (y), and are arranged alternately in a second direction (x) [0037] different from the first direction (y) [0119].
Regarding claim 9, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 8. Lim also teaches wherein the first direction (y) is a vertical direction on the substrate (100) [0031] in a plan view (in configuration as shown in fig. 1), and wherein the second direction (x) is a horizontal direction (in configuration as shown in fig. 1) on the substrate in the plan view (in configuration as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 8. Lim also teaches wherein the first direction (y) is a horizontal direction on the substrate (100) [0031] in a plan view (see rotated fig. 1 below), and wherein the second direction (x) is a vertical direction on the substrate (100) in the plan view (see rotated fig. 1 below).
Rotated fig. 1 from which device has been considered with respect to claim 10
Regarding claim 12, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 1. Lim also teaches wherein, in a narrow viewing angle mode (“security mode” [0036, 0077]), the first pixel (RP2 in EA1 boundaries) fig. 2 [0036] emits lights [0077], and the second pixel (RP1 in EA2 boundaries) fig. 2 [0036] does not emit lights (in central regions) (P2 pixels driven separately from P1 pixels [0036, 0077]).
Regarding claim 15, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 1. Lim also teaches wherein the light blocking layer (BM2) fig. 2 [0031] is disposed at an area where the metal patterning layer (352) fig. 2 [0031] is not disposed (BM2 in area vertically beyond area where 352 disposed)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0006694A1), as applied in claim 1 above, in view of Chang (U.S. PG Pub No US2016/0181476A1) and Yim (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0013100A1).
Regarding claim 3, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 1. However, Lim does not explicitly disclose wherein the light blocking layer (BM2) fig. 2 [0031] includes a metal material (black-pigment organic material instead [0090]) with a light absorption or light reflectance of 90%, at least, and wherein the metal patterning layer (352) fig. 2 [0031] includes an organic material (SiON instead) [0061] with a light transmittance of 90%, at least.
Chang teaches a light emitting display device [see fig. 21, 0061] wherein the light blocking layer (340) fig. 21 [0061] includes a metal material (silver particles [0061]) with a light reflectance of 90%, at least.
Although Chang does not explicitly disclose the light absorption or light reflectance values of the metal material included in the light blocking layer (“black matrix”) 340, Chang discloses that the light blocking material of 340 may comprise silver particles [0061 Chang] – which is substantially the same as the metal material disclosed in [0092] of the instant application’s specification as having a reflectance of “90% or more”. Therefore, silver is assumed to inherently have a light reflectance of 90% or more – in view of [0092] of the instant application’s disclose. (See MPEP 2112.01).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the black matrix in the light emitting display device of Lim to comprise silver particles [0061 Chang] in order to enhance light blockage characteristics [0061] of the black matrix, as taught by Chang.
However, Lim in view of Chang does not explicitly disclose and wherein the metal patterning layer (352) fig. 2 [0031] includes an organic material (SiON instead) [0061] with a light transmittance of 90%, at least.
Yim teaches a display device (102) fig. 8 [0136-0137] wherein the metal patterning layer (331) figs. 7-8 [0121] includes an organic material (TAZ instead of SiN/SiON) [0121] with a light transmittance of 90%, at least.
Although Yim does not explicitly disclose the light transmittance of the organic material 3-(4-biphenyl)-4-phenyl-5-t-butylphenyl-1,2,4-triazole (TAZ) included in the metal patterning layer, Yim discloses that the light blocking material may comprise 3-(4-biphenyl)-4-phenyl-5-t-butylphenyl-1,2,4-triazole (TAZ) [0121 Yim] – which is substantially the same as the metal material disclosed in [0094] of the instant application’s specification as having a light transmittance of “90% or more”. Therefore, TAZ-material is assumed to inherently have a light transmittance of 90% or more – in view of [0094] of the instant application’s disclose. (See MPEP 2112.01).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the metal patterning layer in the light emitting display device of Lim in view of Chang to comprise a material such as 3-(4-biphenyl)-4-phenyl-5-t-butylphenyl-1,2,4-triazole (TAZ) [0121 Yim] in order to selectively vary and control the refractive index of the metal patterning layer [0121-0123] so as to improve light emission uniformity and efficiency [0104], as taught by Yim.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0006694A1), as applied in claim 1 above, in view of Engelen (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0335164A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 1. However, Lim wherein does not explicitly disclose a first viewing angle of the first area (EA1 overlapping P2 pixels) is 30-degree, at most, and wherein a second viewing angle (EA2 overlapping P1 pixels) of the second area is 70-degree, at least (“narrow” first viewing angle said to be less than “wide” second viewing angle [0036], but degree-values not explicitly disclosed).
Engelen teaches a light emitting display device [see fig. 1, 0051-0057] wherein a first viewing angle of the first area (14) fig. 1 [0056] (corresponding to “narrow viewing angle” display area) [0057] is 30-degree (10-25 degrees [0057]), at most (at most 25 degrees), and wherein a second viewing angle of the second area (10) fig. 1 [0053] (corresponding to “wide viewing angle” display area) [0053] of the second area is 70-degrees [0053], at least (100 to 175-degrees [0052-0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display device of Lim such that the narrow viewing angle explicitly corresponds to an angle of at most 25 degrees [0057] and the wide viewing angle explicitly corresponds to a viewing angle of at least 100 degrees [0052-0053] in order to improve resolution of the narrow display area [0056-0058] while maximizing viewing distance for the wide display area [0052-0053], as taught by Engelen.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0006694A1), as applied in claim 1 above, in view of Chang (U.S. PG Pub No US2016/0181476A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lim teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 1. However, Lim does not explicitly disclose wherein the light blocking layer (BM2) fig. 2 [0031] includes at least one of ytterbium (Yb), calcium (Ca), titanium (Ti), magnesium (Mg), barium (Ba), silver (Ag), sliver-ytterbium silver-ytterbium (Ag-Yb) alloy and silver-magnesium (Ag-Mg) alloy (black-pigment organic material instead of metal [0090]).
Chang teaches a light emitting display device [see fig. 21, 0061] wherein the light blocking layer (340) fig. 21 [0061] includes at least one of silver [0061] (silver particles [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the black matrix in the light emitting display device of Lim to comprise silver particles [0061 Chang] in order to enhance light blockage characteristics [0061] of the black matrix, as taught by Chang.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0006694A1) modified by Chang (U.S. PG Pub No US2016/0181476A1), as applied in claim 13 above, and further in view of Yim (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0013100A1).
Regarding claim 14, Lim in view of Chang teaches the light emitting display device [see fig. 2, 0030] according to claim 13. However, Lim in view of Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the metal patterning layer (352) fig. 2 [0031] includes a 3-(Biphenyl-4-yl)-5-(4-tert1butylphenyl)-4-phenyl-4H-1,2,4-triazole (TAZ) (SiON instead [0061]).
Yim teaches a display device (102) fig. 8 [0136-0137] wherein the metal patterning layer (331) figs. 7-8 [0121] includes a 3-(Biphenyl-4-yl)-5-(4-tert1butylphenyl)-4-phenyl-4H-1,2,4-triazole (TAZ) [0121] (and/or SiN/SiON [0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the metal patterning layer in the light emitting display device of Lim in view of Chang to comprise a material such as 3-(4-biphenyl)-4-phenyl-5-t-butylphenyl-1,2,4-triazole (TAZ) [0121 Yim] in order to selectively vary and control the refractive index of the metal patterning layer [0121-0123] so as to improve light emission uniformity and efficiency [0104], as taught by Yim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
All references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature display devices with light-modulating structures.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 01/27/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892