DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 6/11/2026. Claims 1-9 and 15-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 15 are amended. Claims 10-14 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0069711; hereinafter ‘Lee’) in view of Chiu et al. (US 2018/0174922; hereinafter ‘Chiu’) and Huotari et al. (US 2004/0106261; hereinafter ‘Huotari’).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a capacitor structure (FIG. 1, [0059]), comprising:
a lower electrode (LE, [0060]);
a dielectric pattern (DI, [0062]) on a sidewall of the lower electrode (DI on a sidewall of LE, FIG. 3); and
an upper electrode structure (UE, [0064]), the upper electrode structure (UE) including a first upper electrode (UE1) and a second upper electrode (UE2) sequentially stacked on a sidewall of the dielectric pattern (UE1 and UE2 sequentially stacked on a sidewall of DI, FIG. 3), wherein:
the second upper electrode (UE2) includes a metal nitride (UE2 includes a metal nitride, [0069]), and
the first upper electrode is disposed between and contacts the dielectric pattern and the second upper electrode, and surrounds the second upper electrode (UE1 is conformably provided on DI and UE2 is provided on UE1 to fill the inner space defined by UE1, FIG. 3, [0064, 0080-0081]).
Lee does not teach that the first upper electrode includes a metal nitride, and the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode has a crystal orientation that is different from a crystal orientation of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode, and a work function of the first upper electrode is greater than a work function of the second upper electrode.
Chiu teaches that an upper electrode structure (work-function layer 66 includes different crystalline orientations within the same TiN material, including [111] and [200] orientations, [0032-0037, 0056, 0058]) wherein: the first upper electrode includes a metal nitride (one layer of 66 includes TiN), and the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode ([111] orientation of 66; hereinafter ‘66111’) has a crystal orientation ([111]) that is different from a crystal orientation of the metal nitride ([200]) included in the second upper electrode ([200] orientation of 66; hereinafter ‘66200’).
As taught by Chiu, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Lee to obtain and achieve that the first upper electrode includes a metal nitride, and the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode has a crystal orientation that is different from a crystal orientation of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode as claimed, because different orientations of TiN provide different work function characteristics for tuning the electrical properties of the TiN layer [0037].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Chiu in combination with Lee due to the above reason.
Lee in view of Chiu does not teach that a work function of the first upper electrode is greater than a work function of the second upper electrode.
Huotari teaches that a work function of the first upper electrode is greater than a work function of the second upper electrode (a TiN film having a [111] crystal orientation exhibits a work function of 5.3 eV, whereas a TiN film having a [200] crystal orientation exhibits a work function 4.4 eV, [0061]).
As taught by Huotari, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Lee in view of Chiu to obtain and achieve that a work function of the first upper electrode is greater than a work function of the second upper electrode as claimed, because crystal orientation of the electrode material affects the work function of the electrode and thus allows tuning of the electrical characteristics of the semiconductor device, such as the threshold voltage [0016].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Huotari in combination with Lee in view of Chiu due to the above reason.
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the capacitor structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the metal nitride includes titanium nitride (Lee: UE includes titanium nitride, [0065, 0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the capacitor structure as claimed in claim 2, Lee in view of Huotari does not teach the capacitor structure wherein: a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the first upper electrode is [111], and a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the second upper electrode is [200].
Chiu teaches that a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the first upper electrode is [111] (66111, [0033]), and a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the second upper electrode is [200] (66200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Chiu to obtain and achieve the capacitor structure wherein: a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the first upper electrode is [111], and a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the second upper electrode is [200] as claimed, because different orientations of TiN provide different work function characteristics for tuning the electrical properties of the TiN layer [0037].
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the capacitor structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second upper electrode further includes a Group 15 element or a Group 16 element (Lee: UE2 contains TiN, which includes nitrogen, a Group 15 element, [0101-0103]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the capacitor structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein: the first upper electrode has a thickness in a range of about 5 Å to about 20 Å (Lee: UE1 has a thickness about 1 Å to about 50 Å, [0064]), and the second upper electrode has a thickness in a range of about 10 Å to about 50 Å (UE2 has a thickness about 10 Å to about 100 Å).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Lee to obtain and achieve the capacitor structure wherein: the first upper electrode has a thickness in a range of about 5 Å to about 20 Å, and the second upper electrode has a thickness in a range of about 10 Å to about 50 Å as claimed, because it has been held that where the criticality of the claimed range is not shown and the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the capacitor structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein a volume of the first upper electrode is in a range of about 10% to about 50% of a volume of the upper electrode structure (Lee: the thickness ratio between UE2 and UE1 ranges from 10:1 to 2:1 corresponding to UE1 having about 9% to 33% of the total UE2 volume, [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Lee to obtain and achieve the capacitor structure wherein a volume of the first upper electrode is in a range of about 10% to about 50% of a volume of the upper electrode structure as claimed, because it has been held that where the criticality of the claimed range is not shown and the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches a semiconductor device (FIG. 13B, [0111]), comprising:
a substrate (100, [0112]);
an active pattern (105, [0112]) on the substrate (100);
a gate structure (120, [0112]) extending in a first direction (a first direction, FIG. 8A; hereinafter ‘FD’) through an upper portion of the active pattern (an upper portion of 105), the first direction (FD) being substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (an upper surface of 100, FIG. 8A);
a bit line structure (140, [0118]) on a central portion of the active pattern (a central portion of 105, FIG. 13B), the bit line structure (140) extending in a second direction (a second direction, FIG. 9A; hereinafter ‘SD’) substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (the upper surface of 100) and substantially perpendicular to the first direction (FD, FIG. 9A);
a contact plug structure (135, [0119]) on each of opposite edge portions of the active pattern (shown in FIG. 13B); and
a capacitor structure (a capacitor structure includes LE, DI, and UE, [0129-0130]; hereinafter ‘CS’) on the contact plug structure (135),
wherein: the capacitor structure (CS) includes:
a lower electrode (LE);
a dielectric pattern (DI) on a sidewall of the lower electrode (LE); and
an upper electrode structure (UE),
the upper electrode structure including a first upper electrode (UE1) and a second upper electrode (UE2) sequentially stacked on a sidewall of the dielectric pattern (UE1 and UE2 sequentially stacked on a sidewall of DI),
the second upper electrode (UE2) includes a metal nitride (UE2 includes a metal nitride, [0069]), and
the first upper electrode is disposed between and contacts the dielectric pattern and the second upper electrode, and surrounds the second upper electrode (UE1 is conformably provided on DI and UE2 is provided on UE1 to fill the inner space defined by UE1, FIG. 3, [0064, 0080-0081]).
Lee does not teach that the first upper electrode includes a metal nitride, the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode has a crystal orientation that is different from a crystal orientation of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode, and a work function of the first upper electrode is greater than a work function of the second upper electrode.
Chiu teaches that an upper electrode structure (work-function layer 66 includes different crystalline orientations within the same TiN material, including [111] and [200] orientations, [0032-0037, 0056, 0058]) wherein: the first upper electrode includes a metal nitride (one layer of 66 includes TiN), the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode ([111] orientation of 66; hereinafter ‘66111’) has a crystal orientation ([111]) that is different from a crystal orientation of the metal nitride ([200]) included in the second upper electrode ([200] orientation of 66; hereinafter ‘66200’).
As taught by Chiu, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Lee to obtain and achieve that the first upper electrode includes a metal nitride, the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode has a crystal orientation that is different from a crystal orientation of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode as claimed, because different orientations of TiN provide different work function characteristics for tuning the electrical properties of the TiN layer [0037].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Chiu in combination with Lee due to above reason.
Lee in view of Chiu does not teach that a work function of the first upper electrode is greater than a work function of the second upper electrode.
Huotari teaches that a work function of the first upper electrode is greater than a work function of the second upper electrode (a TiN film having a [111] crystal orientation exhibits a work function of 5.3 eV, whereas a TiN film having a [200] crystal orientation exhibits a work function 4.4 eV, [0061]).
As taught by Huotari, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Lee in view of Chiu to obtain and achieve that a work function of the first upper electrode is greater than a work function of the second upper electrode as claimed, because crystal orientation of the electrode material affects the work function of the electrode and thus allows tuning of the electrical characteristics of the semiconductor device, such as the threshold voltage [0016].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Huotari in combination with Lee in view of Chiu due to above reason.
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 15, wherein the metal nitride includes titanium nitride (Lee: UE includes titanium nitride, [0065, 0069]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 16, Lee in view of Huotari does not teach the semiconductor device wherein: a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the first upper electrode is [111], and a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the second upper electrode is [200].
Chiu teaches that a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the first upper electrode ([111] orientation of 66; hereinafter ‘66111’) is [111] ([111]), and a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the second upper electrode ([200] orientation of 66; hereinafter ‘66200’) is [200] ([200]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Chiu to obtain and achieve the semiconductor device wherein: a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the first upper electrode is [111], and a primary crystal orientation of the titanium nitride of the second upper electrode is [200] as claimed, because different orientations of TiN provide different work function characteristics for tuning the electrical properties of the TiN layer [0037].
Regarding claim 20, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 15, wherein the second upper electrode further includes a Group 15 element or a Group 16 element (Lee: UE2 contains TiN, which includes nitrogen, a Group 15 element, [0101-0103]).
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2017/0069711) in view of Chiu (US 2018/0174922) and Huotari (US 2004/0106261), and further in view of Li et al. (J Mater Sci: Mater Electron 33; 3606-3616, 2022; hereinafter ‘Li’).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the capacitor structure as claimed in claim 2, but does not teach the capacitor structure wherein a resistance of the second upper electrode is lower than a resistance of the first upper electrode.
Li teaches that a resistance of the second upper electrode is lower than a resistance of the first upper electrode (a TiN film having a [200] preferred orientation exhibits lower resistivity than a TiN films having a [111] preferred orientation, Figs. 3 and 8. Table 1, 3.4 Resistivity of TiN films).
As taught by Li, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari to obtain and achieve the capacitor structure wherein a resistance of the second upper electrode is lower than a resistance of the first upper electrode as claimed, because the TiN film with a [200] preferred orientation has higher density and compact grain arrangement, resulting in lower resistivity (3.4 Resistivity of TiN films).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Li in combination with Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari due to above reason.
Regarding claim 18, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 15, but does not teach the semiconductor device wherein a resistance of the second upper electrode is lower than a resistance of the first upper electrode.
Li teaches that a resistance of the second upper electrode is lower than a resistance of the first upper electrode (a TiN film having a [200] preferred orientation exhibits lower resistivity than a TiN films having a [111] preferred orientation, Figs. 3 and 8. Table 1, 3.4 Resistivity of TiN films).
As taught by Li, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari to obtain and achieve the capacitor structure wherein a resistance of the second upper electrode is lower than a resistance of the first upper electrode as claimed, because the TiN film with a [200] preferred orientation has higher density and compact grain arrangement, resulting in lower resistivity (3.4 Resistivity of TiN films).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Li in combination with Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari due to above reason.
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2017/0069711) in view of Chiu (US 2018/0174922) and Huotari (US 2004/0106261), and further in view of Zhou et al. (Journal of Alloys and Compounds 688, 44-50, 2016; hereinafter ‘Zhou’).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the capacitor structure as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach the capacitor structure wherein a grain size of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode is greater than a grain size of the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode.
Zhou teaches that a grain size of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode is greater than a grain size of the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode (a grain size of a [200] crystal orientation TN5 is greater than a grain size of a [111] crystal orientation TN4, Figs. 2-4, Table 1).
As taught by Zhou, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari to obtain and achieve the capacitor structure wherein a grain size of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode is greater than a grain size of the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode as claimed, because deposition process conditions influences the preferred crystal orientation of TiN films, which in turn affects the microstructure including the grain size (Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Zhou in combination with Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari due to above reason.
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 15, but does not teach the semiconductor device wherein a grain size of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode is greater than a grain size of the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode.
Zhou teaches that a grain size of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode is greater than a grain size of the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode (a grain size of a [200] crystal orientation TN5 is greater than a grain size of a [111] crystal orientation TN4, Figs. 2-4, Table 1).
As taught by Zhou, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari to obtain and achieve the capacitor structure wherein a grain size of the metal nitride included in the second upper electrode is greater than a grain size of the metal nitride included in the first upper electrode as claimed, because deposition process conditions influences the preferred crystal orientation of TiN films, which in turn affects the microstructure including the grain size (Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Zhou in combination with Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari due to above reason.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2017/0069711) in view of Chiu (US 2018/0174922) and Huotari (US 2004/0106261), and further in view of Urdahl et al. (US 6573150; hereinafter ‘Urdahl’).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari teaches the capacitor structure as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach the capacitor structure further comprising an interface oxide layer between the dielectric pattern and the first upper electrode.
Urdahl teaches a capacitor structure (thin film capacitor, col. 5, line 48) further comprising an interface oxide layer between the dielectric pattern and the first upper electrode (parasitic oxide layers forms between the dielectric layer and the top electrodes, col. 5, lines 41-44).
As taught by Urdahl, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari to obtain and achieve the capacitor structure further comprising an interface oxide layer between the dielectric pattern and the first upper electrode as claimed, because it enhances electrical performance by lowering leakage current density while reducing the effective capacitance of the device (col. 5, lines 44-47).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Urdahl in combination with Lee in view of Chiu and Huotari due to above reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
Applicant submits, in page 9 of Remark, that
“However, none of the cited references, individually or in combination, discloses or teaches features corresponding to a first electrode that is disposed closer to the dielectric pattern than a second electrode”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lee teaches the first upper electrode UE1 disposed between and contacting the dielectric layer DI and the second upper electrode UE2. Therefore, UE1 is closer DI than UE2 (FIG. 3, [0064]). Lee further teaches that UE1 is conformally provided on DI and that UE2 fills the inner space defined by UE1 [0080-0081]. Applicant’s description of the disclosed embodiment does not distinguish the claimed structure from Lee. The remaining limitations and reasons for combining the cited references are addressed in the rejection above. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIYOUNG OH/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 8/24/26