DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicants are reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not in narrative form as the abstract is a single run-on sentence that appears to be a restatement of the independent claim.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 14, in the preamble, recite “[A] fender cover for mounting of an autonomous driving sensor”. This wording is cumbersome as it appears grammatically incorrect. Further, claims 1 and 14 claim more than one sensor. A suggested revision could be similar to “[A] fender cover for mounting autonomous driving sensors”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20230359254) in view of Shibata (US 20210229754).
Regarding claim 1: Chen discloses a fender cover for mounting of an autonomous driving sensor 212, 214 (Figs. 2A-2C; [0062]). Chen discloses a first cover part fastenable to a fender for a vehicle (Figs. 2A-2C; [0065]). Chen discloses that sensors 212 and 214 can be at least two sensors ([0062], [0065]). Chen is silent regarding the details of the mounting and thus does not explicitly disclose that a mounting area is machined and configured to guide a first sensor to be mounted in a protruded state in the mounting area, a second cover part coupled to the first cover part and configured to guide a mounting position of the first sensor, and a third cover part coupled to the second cover part and fastened to the mounting area, disposed to support the second cover part and a second sensor mounted in the mounting area, and including a mounting guide hole with a shape corresponding to a shape of the second sensor.
Shibata discloses a mounting structure for fender mounted sensors (Fig.1A, [[0056]). Shibata discloses a mounting area 10 a, 12 that is machined (the mounting area is a flat part of fender 10 and must be machined to be so configured – the examiner finds that as broadly recited, the Shibata fender is machined (i.e. shaped by mechanical means (machine) to be flat)) and configured to guide a first sensor to be mounted in a protruded state (Fig. 3B) in the mounting area, a second cover part (Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011] – Shibata teaches several parts of the cover that discloses the broadly recited first, second, and third cover parts) coupled to the first cover part and configured to guide a mounting position of the first sensor (Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011], [0056]). Shibata discloses a third cover part coupled to the second cover part and fastened to the mounting area disposed to support the second cover part and a second sensor mounted in the mounting area (see above; Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011] – Shibata teaches several parts of the cover that discloses the broadly recited third cover part; Chen ([0062], [0065]) discloses a second sensor that can be included with the first sensor – the examiner finds that Shibata’s mounting structure can include that dual sensors disclosed by Chen). Shibata discloses a mounting guide hole (Fig. 1B, 3B) with a shape corresponding to a shape of the second sensor (Figs. 1B, 3B; [0061], [0067], [0075]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured the system of Chen so that a mounting area is machined and configured to guide a first sensor to be mounted in a protruded state in the mounting area, a second cover part coupled to the first cover part and configured to guide a mounting position of the first sensor, and a third cover part coupled to the second cover part and fastened to the mounting area, disposed to support the second cover part and a second sensor (Chen – discloses second sensor grouped with first sensor so as to be covered par a cover such as disclosed by Shibata) mounted in the mounting area, and including a mounting guide hole with a shape corresponding to a shape of the second sensor as taught by Shibata. As Chen and Shibata are both directed to mounting sensors on a fender, as Chen discloses two sensors within a single mount (212, 214 - Figs. 2A-2C; [0062], [0065]), as Chen is silent regarding the mounting cover details, and as Shibata discloses a specific fender mounting configuration for sensors, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific fender mounting configuration for sensors from a finite selection of fender mounted sensor configurations (i.e. protruding sensors or non-protruding sensors). Such a selection and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2: Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses that the mounting area and a plurality of mounting holes are pre-machined in the fender (Shibata - Figs. 1A, 1B, 3A; [0057]).
Regarding claim 3: Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses that the first cover part comprises a bracket for mounting of the first sensor and has a first side that is rounded to surround an outer circumferential surface of the first sensor (Shibata - Figs. 1A, 3A; abstr.; [0055]).
Regarding claim 4: Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses that the first sensor comprises a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor (Chen - 212, 214 - Figs. 2A-2C; [0062], [0065]).
Regarding claim 5: Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses that the second cover part comprises a seating groove with a shape corresponding to a shape of the first sensor and is configured to guide the mounting position of the first sensor in a state in which the first sensor is exposed to the outside through the seating groove (Chen - 212, 214 - Figs. 2A-2C; [0062], [0065] discloses two sensors together under one fender cover; therefore, the shape of the Shibata mounting structure could be configured to meet the as recited claim as there are no explicit or specific shapes being claimed).
Regarding claim 13: Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses that the second sensor comprises a radio detecting and ranging (radar) sensor coupled at different mounting angles in a vertical direction (Chen - 212, 214 - Figs. 2A-2C; [0062], [0065]).
Regarding claim 14: Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a fender cover for mounting of an autonomous driving sensor (Chen - 212, 214; Figs. 2A-2C; [0062]). Chen discloses a first cover part fastenable to a fender for a vehicle (Chen - Figs. 2A-2C; [0065]). Chen discloses that sensors (Chen - 212 and 214) can be at least two sensors ( Chen - [0062], [0065]). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a mounting area (Shibata - 10 a, 12) that is machined (Shibata - the mounting area is a flat part of fender 10 and must be machined to be so configured – the examiner finds that as broadly recited, the Shibata fender is machined ((i.e. shaped by mechanical means (machine) to be flat)) and configured to guide a first sensor to be mounted in a protruded state (Shibata - Fig. 3B) in the mounting area, a second cover part (Shibata - Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011] – Shibata teaches several parts of the cover that discloses the broadly recited first, second, and third cover parts) coupled to the first cover part and configured to guide a mounting position of the first sensor (Shibata - Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011], [0056]). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a third cover part coupled to the second cover part and fastened to the mounting area disposed to support the second cover part and a second sensor mounted in the mounting area (see above; Shibata - Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011] – Shibata teaches several parts of the cover that discloses the broadly recited third cover part; Chen ([0062], [0065]) discloses a second sensor that can be included with the first sensor – the examiner finds that Shibata’s mounting structure can include that dual sensors disclosed by Chen). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a mounting guide hole (Shibata - Fig. 1B, 3B) with a shape corresponding to a shape of the second sensor (Figs. 1B, 3B; [0061], [0067], [0075]). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a fourth cover part configured to shield an inside of the first cover part on which the first sensor is mounted from the outside as the first sensor is mounted to be inclined on the first cover part (see above; Shibata - Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011] – Shibata teaches several parts of the cover that discloses the broadly recited first, second, third, and fourth cover parts).
Regarding claim 18: Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses vehicle comprising a vehicle body comprising a fender in which a mounting area (Shibata - 10 a, 12) is machined (Shibata - the mounting area is a flat part of fender 10 and must be machined to be so configured – the examiner finds that as broadly recited, the Shibata fender is machined (i.e. shaped by mechanical means (machine) to be flat)). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a first autonomous driving sensor and a second autonomous driving sensor (Chen - Figs. 2A-2C; [0062], [0065]; 212 and 214 can be at least two sensors). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a fender cover, that the first autonomous driving sensor and the second autonomous driving sensor are mounted on the fender cover (Chen - Figs. 2A-2C; [0062], [0065]; 212 and 214 can be at least two sensors). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses that the fender cover comprises a first cover part fastened to the fender and configured to guide the first autonomous driving sensor to be mounted in a protruded state in the mounting area (Chen – Fig. 2C – protrusion of sensors; Shibata - Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011]). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a second cover part (Shibata - Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011] – Shibata teaches several parts of the cover that discloses the broadly recited first, second, and third cover parts) coupled to the first cover part and configured to guide a mounting position of the first autonomous driving sensor (Shibata - Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011], [0056]). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a third cover part coupled to the second cover part and fastened to the mounting area disposed to support the second cover part and the second autonomous driving sensor mounted in the mounting area (see above; Shibata - Figs. 1A, 2-3B; abstr. [0011] – Shibata teaches several parts of the cover that discloses the broadly recited third cover part; Chen ([0062], [0065]) discloses a second sensor that can be included with the first sensor – the examiner finds that Shibata’s mounting structure can include that dual sensors disclosed by Chen). Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses a mounting guide hole (Shibata - Fig. 1B, 3B) with a shape corresponding to a shape of the second autonomous driving sensor (Figs. 1B, 3B; [0061], [0067], [0075]).
Regarding claim 19: Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses that the first cover part comprises a bracket for mounting of the first autonomous driving sensor and has a first side that is rounded to surround an outer circumferential surface of the first autonomous driving sensor (Shibata - Figs. 1A, 3A; abstr.; [0055]).
Regarding claim 20: Chen, as modified by Shibata, discloses that the first autonomous driving sensor comprises a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor, and wherein the second autonomous driving sensor comprises a radio detecting and ranging (radar) sensor coupled at different mounting angles in a vertical direction (Chen - 212, 214 - Figs. 2A-2C; [0062], [0065]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20230359254) and Shibata (US 20210229754), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Miwa (US 20190256009).
Chen and Shibata disclose the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 7: Chen, as modified by Shibata, does not explicitly disclose that the second cover part comprises a clip member mounted therein and configured to be inserted into a fastening hole disposed in the first cover part. Miwa discloses that the second cover part comprises a clip member 421 mounted therein and configured to be inserted into a fastening hole disposed in the first cover part (Fig. 2; [0048]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured the system of Chen, as modified by Shibata, so that the second cover part comprises a clip member mounted therein and configured to be inserted into a fastening hole disposed in the first cover part as taught by Miwa. As Chen, Shibata, and Miwa are directed to mounting sensors on a fender, as Chen discloses two sensors within a single mount (212, 214 - Figs. 2A-2C; [0062], [0065]), as Chen, as modified by Shibata, is silent regarding the mounting cover having a clip, and as Miwa discloses a specific fender mounting configuration for sensors, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific fender mounting configuration for sensors from a finite selection of fender mounted sensor configurations (i.e. use of a clip). Such a selection and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 8: Chen, as modified by Shibata and Miwa, discloses that the clip member has a wedge shape and is configured to be positioned by being caught due to an expanded width as the clip member is inserted into the fastening hole (Miwa – Fig. 2).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20230359254) and Shibata (US 20210229754), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamaji (US 20210148737).
Chen and Shibata disclose the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 9: Chen, as modified by Shibata, does not explicitly disclose that the second cover part is disposed on a mounting member extending toward the second sensor and comprises a mounting hole disposed so that the third cover part is coupled by being disposed to overlap. Yamaji discloses that the second cover part is disposed on a mounting member extending toward the second sensor and comprises a mounting hole disposed so that the third cover part is coupled by being disposed to overlap (Figs. 2-4). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured the system of Chen, as modified by Shibata, so that the second cover part is disposed on a mounting member extending toward the second sensor and comprises a mounting hole disposed so that the third cover part is coupled by being disposed to overlap as taught by Yamaji. As Chen, Shibata, and Yamaji are directed to mounting sensors on a fender, as Chen is silent regarding the mounting structure, as Chen, as modified by Shibata, is silent regarding the mounting cover overlap, and as Yamaji discloses a specific fender mounting configuration for sensors, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific fender mounting configuration for sensors from a finite selection of fender mounted sensor configurations (i.e. mounting hole and overlap). Such a selection and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 10: Chen, as modified by Shibata and Yamaji, discloses that the third cover part comprises coupling guide members insertable into a pair of mounting holes disposed to be spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction in the mounting member (Yamaji – Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11: Chen, as modified by Shibata and Yamaji, discloses that the third cover part comprises3 a first cover member including the mounting guide hole; and a second cover member extending integrally from the first cover member to support a lower portion of the second cover part and mounted in the mounting area (Yamaji – Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12: Chen, as modified by Shibata and Yamaji, discloses that the second cover member comprises a plurality of coupling protrusions inserted into mounting holes of the mounting area and allowing a first side of the third cover part to be fixed; and the first cover member comprises a hook member positioned by being caught on a mount for mounting of the second sensor and allowing a second side of the third cover part to be fixed (Yamaji – Figs. 2, 4-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Autonomous driving vehicles, including sensors and mounting structure are very well known in the art. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Chen et al. (US 20230359254), Shibata (US 20210229754), Miwa (US 20190256009), Yamaji (US 20210148737), Ahn et al. (US D954620), Braley et al. (US 20250102679), Hwang (US 11292396), Moltmann et al. (US 20230271590), Mori et al. (US 12523766), Lang et al. (US 20150274091), Shitara et al. (US 20210016703), and Brem et al. (US 12405350). In general, this art, alone or in combination, discloses various recited features, including but not limited to, a fender cover for autonomous driving sensors, multiple cover parts (first, second, third, and fourth) that are inter-linked and/or support one another, a machined mounting area, sensors mounted so as to protrude out from the fender, and that the sensors are ranging (LiDAR) sensors and radio detecting and ranging (radar) sensors. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically combined structure regarding the explicit positional, structural, and connectional relationships of the variously recited covers when combined as a whole with the limitations of the independent claims. It could be argued that as mounting accessories and functional structure to the exterior is very well known and that a variety of mounting structures are known in the art, and thus, could just be combined and re-configured to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites specific structure and operational relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known systems and/or structures. Further, the claimed systems, structures, and operational relationships are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning system as claimed in the instant application. Thus, it would not have been within routine skill to glean the specifically combined limitations of the instant invention, from the art, without the benefit of hindsight reasoning or extensive experimentation.
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
2/18/2026