Notice of AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mi et al., hereinafter Mi961 (US 2016/0027961 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1: Mi961 teaches (e.g., Figs.1-8) an optoelectronic device, comprising:
at least one quantum wire ([0073]: “the nanowires have AlGaN shells 895 and are separated by polyimide 890”),
wherein the at least one quantum wire has a quantum wire band gap (inherent); and at least one quantum dot ([0073]: 840A) incorporated in the quantum wire,
wherein the at least one quantum dot has a quantum dot band gap ([0073]);
wherein the quantum wire band gap is larger than the quantum dot band gap ([0062], [0073]-[0076] and [0095]: inherent for light emitting device using dot-in-a-wire).
Regarding claim 2: Mi961 teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the at least one quantum dot has a quantum dot diameter (Fig. 8; [0073] and [0099]),
wherein the at least one quantum wire has a quantum wire width (Fig. 8; [0073] and [0099]), and
wherein the quantum dot diameter is at least half a nanometer smaller than the quantum wire width (Fig. 8; [0073] and [0099]).
Regarding claim 3: Mi961 teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the at least one quantum wire has a quantum wire effective mass (Fig. 8; [0073] and [0099]),
wherein the at least one quantum dot has a quantum dot effective mass (Fig. 8; [0073] and [0099]), and
wherein the quantum wire effective mass is larger than the quantum dot effective mass (Fig. 8; [0073] and [0099]; inherent).
Regarding claim 4: Mi961 teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the at least one quantum wire has a quantum wire composition (Fig. 8; [0073] and [0099]; inherent), and
wherein the quantum wire composition varies in a radial direction of the at least one quantum wire ([0074] and [0079]: dopant modulated).
Regarding claim 5: Mi961 teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the at least one quantum dot in a quantum wire comprises periodic quantum dot arrays ([0073]: ten quantum dots 840A through 840J,).
Regarding claim 6: Mi961 teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 5, on which this claim depends,
wherein the periodic quantum dot arrays have an effective barrier height ([0073]-[0074]),
a characteristic tunneling length ([0073]-[0074]: inherent), and a distance between quantum dots ([0073]-[0074]: inherent), and
wherein the effective barrier height is adjusted by adjusting the distance between quantum dots ([0073]-[0074]: inherent) and by having a distance between quantum dots larger than the characteristic tunneling length ([0073]-[0074]: inherent).
Regarding claim 7: Mi961 teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein there are more than one quantum dots in a quantum wire (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]), and
wherein the quantum dots in the quantum wire form a one-dimensional periodic array (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 8: Mi961 teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein there are more than one quantum dot in a quantum wire (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]), and
wherein the quantum dots in the quantum wires form a two-dimensional periodic array (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 9: Mi961 teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein there are more than one quantum dots in the quantum wire (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]), and wherein the more than one quantum dots emit at more than one wavelength (Fig. 8; [0006], [0065], [0068] and [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 11: Mi teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein a conduction band discontinuity between the at least one quantum wire and the at least one quantum dot is larger than an optical phonon energy (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]: inherent based on device physics).
Regarding claim 12: Mi961 teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein a valence band discontinuity between the at least one quantum wire and the at least one quantum dot is larger than an optical phonon energy (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]: inherent based on device physics).
Regarding claim 13: Mi961 teaches device, comprising a vertically emitting LED comprising the optoelectronic device of claim 1 (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 14: a device, comprising a laterally emitting LED comprising the optoelectronic device of claim 1 (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi et al., hereinafter Mi961 (US 2016/0027961 A1) in view of Mi et al, hereinafter Mi613, (US 2012/0205613 A1).
Regarding claim 10: Mi teaches the claim limitation of the optoelectronic device of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein there are more than one quantum dots in the quantum wire (Fig. 8; [0073]-[0074]).
Mi961 does not expressly teach that the more than one quantum dots sizes and compositions are such that they emit red, green, and blue light.
Mi613 teaches (e.g., Figs. 3-28) an optoelectronic device comprising more than one quantum dots sizes ([0115], [0120]-[0122] and [0124]) and compositions are such that they emit red, green, and blue light ([0023]-[0024], [0029] and [0135]-[0136]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the device of Mi961, the more than one quantum dots sizes and compositions being such that they emit red, green, and blue light, as taught by Mi613, for the benefits of improving the display’s image quality by incorporating color rendering capacity.
Conclusion
/HERVE-LOUIS Y ASSOUMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812