Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being unpatentable over by Ivanov (US 2004/0020769) in view of Lee (US 6,280,579).
Regarding claim 1, Ivanov teaches a separator processing device for an electrochemical apparatus, the separator processing device comprising:
a vacuum chamber [0002];
a separator in the vacuum chamber (substrate, [0002]);
and a sputtering target (12’) in the vacuum chamber, the sputtering target comprising target elements (12’) and luminescent elements (dielectric felt 30’, fig. 4, [0034]).
wherein the sputtering target comprises a base layer (backing plate 14, fig. 4), and
a luminescent layer comprising the luminescent elements and stacked under the base layer (14, [0034], Fig. 4);
and a target layer comprising the target elements, stacked under the luminescent layer, and facing the separator ([0013], [0034], Fig. 4).
Features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2173.05(g). If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40, 100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432; In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213, 169 USPQ 226, 228 (CCPA 1971)
The Examiner takes the position that the following claim amendments represent function language in apparatus claim 1: wherein when the sputtering target reaches a limit lifespan, the target layer is consumed, the luminescent layer is exposed to an outside of the target layer; and the target elements and luminescent elements are deposited on the separator positioned below the sputtering target.
The prior art Ivanov only needs to be inherently capable of meeting these functional limitations.
Ivanov teaches when the sputtering target reaches a limit lifespan (full life, [0054] the target layer is consumed (penetration [0054-0055],
the luminescent layer is exposed to an outside of the target layer (visual inspection [0055]); and
the target elements and luminescent elements are deposited on the separator positioned below the sputtering target (formation of particles and splats on the substrate [0056-0057]).
Ivanov does not teach an opening portion is provided on one surface of the vacuum chamber facing the separator, and the sputtering target is configured to cover the opening portion.
Lee teaches an opening portion is provided on one surface of the vacuum chamber (106, Fig. 1) facing the separator wherein the sputtering target (110) is configured to cover the opening portion (Fig. 1); and an adapter (152) interposed between the sputtering target (110) and the vacuum chamber (106, col. 6, ln. 27-40).
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143.A.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the vacuum chamber of Ivanov by providing an opening portion is provided on one surface of the vacuum chamber facing the separator, and the sputtering target is configured to cover the opening portion and an adapter interposed between the sputtering target and the vacuum chamber, because one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143. A.
Regarding claim 5, Ivanov teaches a magnetron ([0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Ivanov teaches the target element comprises precious metal (pg. 2, [0011]).
Regarding claim 17, Ivanov teaches the target element comprises at least any one of platinum (Pt), iridium (Ir), and gold (Au) (pg. 2, [0011]).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Ivanov teaches the luminescent element comprises at least any one of an ultraviolet-sensitive material and colored metal wherein the ultraviolet-sensitive material comprises at least any one of silver chloride (AgCl), silver bromide (AgBr), silver iodide (AgI), spirooxazines, spiropyrans, fulgides, benzophenone, zinc oxide, and titanium dioxide (pg. 2, [0011]).
Claims 6, 8, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov (US 2004/0020769) in view of Lee (US 6,280,579).
Regarding claim 6, Ivanov teaches a separator processing device for an electrochemical apparatus, the separator processing device comprising:
a vacuum chamber [0002];
and a sputtering target (12’) provided on the vacuum chamber and comprising target elements and luminescent elements that are configured to be deposited on the separator [0034] [0057].
the sputtering target comprises:
a base layer (14);
a luminescent layer (30’) comprising the luminescent elements and stacked under the base layer (14, fig. 4);
and a target layer (12, fig. 4) comprising the target elements, stacked under the luminescent layer (30;, Fig. 4) and facing the separator (substrate [0002]); and
Features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2173.05(g). If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40, 100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432; In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213, 169 USPQ 226, 228 (CCPA 1971)
The Examiner takes the position that the following claim amendments represent function language in apparatus claim 1: wherein when the sputtering target reaches a limit lifespan, the target layer is consumed, the luminescent layer is exposed to an outside of the target layer; and the target elements and luminescent elements are deposited on the separator positioned below the sputtering target.
The prior art Ivanov only needs to be inherently capable of meeting these functional limitations.
Ivanov teaches when the sputtering target reaches a limit lifespan (full life, [0054])
the target layer is consumed (penetration [0054-0055]),
the luminescent layer is exposed to an outside of the target layer (visual inspection [0055]); and
the target elements and luminescent elements are deposited on the separator positioned below the sputtering target (formation of particles and splats on the substrate [0056-0057]).
Ivanov does not teach a susceptor provided in the vacuum chamber and configured to allow a separator to be seated thereon.
Lee teach a susceptor 114 provided in the vacuum chamber and configured to allow a separator 112 to be seated thereon (Fig. 2)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the vacuum chamber of Ivanov by providing a susceptor provided in the vacuum chamber and configured to allow a separator to be seated thereon, as taught by Lee, because it would hold the substrate in the vacuum chamber (Fig. 2).
Ivanov does not teach an opening portion is provided on one surface of the vacuum chamber facing the separator, and the sputtering target is configured to cover the opening portion.
Lee teaches an opening portion is provided on one surface of the vacuum chamber (106, Fig. 1) facing the separator wherein the sputtering target (110) is configured to cover the opening portion (Fig. 1); and an adapter (152) interposed between the sputtering target (110) and the vacuum chamber (106, col. 6, ln. 27-40).
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143.A.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the vacuum chamber of Ivanov by providing an opening portion is provided on one surface of the vacuum chamber facing the separator, and the sputtering target is configured to cover the opening portion and an adapter interposed between the sputtering target and the vacuum chamber, because one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143. A.
Regarding claim 8, Ivanov does not teach an insulator member interposed between the target layer and the vacuum chamber.
Lee teach an insulator member (172) interposed between the target layer (110) and the vacuum chamber (106) because it would insulate the sputtering target from the grounded adapter ring assembly (col. 6, ln. 27-40).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the vacuum chamber of Ivanov by providing an insulator member interposed between the target layer and the vacuum chamber, as taught by Lee, because it would insulate the sputtering target from the grounded adapter ring assembly (col. 6, ln. 27-40).
Regarding claim 10, Ivanov teaches the target element comprises precious metal (pg. 2, [0011]) wherein the target element comprises at least any one of platinum (Pt), iridium (Ir), and gold (Au) [0011]).
Regarding claim 12, Ivanov teaches luminescent element comprises at least any one of an ultraviolet-sensitive material and colored metal (pg. 2, ]0011]).
Regarding claim 14, Ivanov teaches a magnetron ([0004]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov and Lee as applied to claim 1 above in view of Nukeaw (US 2009/0026065).
Regarding claim 4, Ivanov does not teach a flow rate controller configured to adjust a supply flow rate of a reactant gas to be supplied into the vacuum chamber.
Nukeaw teaches a flow rate controller (MFC 3, 11, fig. 1) configured to adjust a supply flow rate of a reactant gas to be supplied into the vacuum chamber because it would supply oxygen for reactive sputtering [0021].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the vacuum chamber of Ivanov by providing a flow rate controller configured to adjust a supply flow rate of a reactant gas to be supplied into the vacuum chamber, as taught by Nukeaw, because it would supply oxygen for reactive sputtering [0021].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov and Lee as applied to claim 6 above in view of Nukeaw (US 2009/0026065).
Regarding claim 13, Ivanov does not teach a flow rate controller configured to adjust a supply flow rate of a reactant gas to be supplied into the vacuum chamber.
Nukeaw teaches a flow rate controller (MFC 3, 11, fig. 1) configured to adjust a supply flow rate of a reactant gas to be supplied into the vacuum chamber because it would supply oxygen for reactive sputtering [0021].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the vacuum chamber of Ivanov by providing a flow rate controller configured to adjust a supply flow rate of a reactant gas to be supplied into the vacuum chamber, as taught by Nukeaw, because it would supply oxygen for reactive sputtering [0021].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov and Lee as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Li (US 6,482,302).
Regarding claim 20, Ivanov does not teach the colored metal comprises at least any one of lead (Pb), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), magnesium (Mg), tin (Sn), antimony (Sb), zinc (Zn), and titanium (Ti).
Li directed to a sputtering target with a template 56 coated with sputtered material 80. Li teaches the template 56 can comprise copper-tin, therefore it teaches the colored metal comprises tin (sn) (col. 6, ln. 23-25).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the luminescent material of the target of Ivanov by providing the colored metal comprises at least any one of lead (Pb), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), magnesium (Mg), tin (Sn), antimony (Sb), zinc (Zn), and titanium (Ti), , as taught by Nukeaw, because it would provide a more ductile material for deformability and formation of a container shape (col. 6, ln. 23-27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 29, 2025 with respect to the claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Applicant argues that Ivanov does not teach the newly added claim limitations.
The Examiner does not agree. Ivanov teaches that when exposed to the sputtering plasma the dielectric particles of the felt induce arcing [0027-0028]. The arcing is detected as an end of life event of the sputtering target. The end of life event produces particles or splats on the substrate [0057]. Visual inspection confirms breakthrough of the target sputtering layer. Inspection of the substrate confirms that material from arcing is deposited in the form of particles and splats [0057].
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Applicant argues that prior art Nukeaw does not cure the deficiencies of Ivanov and Lee as applied to claims 1 and 6.
The Examiner disagrees because no deficiencies are found.
Regarding claim 20, Applicant argues that prior art Li does not cure the deficiencies of Ivanov and Lee as applied to claim 1.
The Examiner disagrees because no deficiencies are found.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN J BRAYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794