Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Amendment to independent claims 1 and 7 adds:
Claim 1: “…wherein the first germanium pattern having the first conductivity type directly contacts the silicon substrate having the first conductivity type.”
Claim 7: “…wherein the first germanium pattern having the first conductivity type directly contacts the silicon substrate having the first conductivity type…”
Examiner disagrees that this amendment distinguishes claim 1 and 7 from previously used prior art Hung.
In Hung, the first germanium pattern (fig. 4B: 308) having the first conductivity type is separated from the silicon substrate (fig. 4B: 110) having the first conductivity type by silicon liner 32 (please note that layer 21 is a heavily doped part of silicon substrate 110, having the first conductivity).
However, par. 39 of Hung makes clear that liner 32 is optional and thus not necessary. Thus, the embodiment of Hung used to reject newly amended claims 1 and 7 is an embodiment wherein liner 32 is absent. In this embedment of Hung, the first germanium pattern (308) having the first conductivity type directly contacts the silicon substrate (110), specifically the heavily doped portion of 110 (i.e. layer 21), having the first conductivity type.
Thus, Hung still teaches newly amended claims 1 and 7. For at least this reason, rejection will be made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung (20230369360)
Regarding claim 1, Hung teaches a image sensor comprising:
a silicon substrate (fig. 4B: 110; par. 32) having a first conductivity type (par. 32); and
a read out integrated circuit (ROIC) (fig. 4B: 630 and 640) and a photodetector (please see photodetector in photodetector region 510) on the silicon substrate,
wherein the ROIC and the photodetector are spaced apart from each other in a first direction parallel to a top surface of the silicon substrate (see spacing between region 410 and 520 in fig. 4B above),
the photodetector comprises a first germanium pattern (fig. 4B: 308) having the first conductivity type (par. 42-44 and 53) and a semiconductor pattern (fig. 4B: 302) having a second conductivity type different from the first conductivity type (par. 53), which are laminated in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the silicon substrate (please see alignment of 32 and 40), and the first germanium pattern contacts the silicon substrate (please see fig. 4B above), and wherein the first germanium pattern having the first conductivity type directly contacts the silicon substrate having the first conductivity type (please see explanation in Arguments above).
Regarding claim 2, Hung teaches a image sensor of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor pattern is a germanium pattern, and the semiconductor pattern contacts the first germanium pattern (par. 53).
Regarding claim 3, Hung teaches a image sensor of claim 1, wherein the photodetector further comprises a second germanium pattern disposed between the first germanium pattern and the semiconductor pattern, the second germanium pattern contacts the first germanium pattern and the semiconductor pattern, and the semiconductor pattern is a silicon pattern (par. 41).
Regarding claim 4, Hung teaches a image sensor of claim 1, further comprising an intrinsic silicon layer (32; par. 39) disposed on the silicon substrate, wherein the ROIC is disposed at an upper portion of the silicon layer.
Regarding claim 5, Hung teaches a image sensor of claim 4, wherein the silicon layer comprises a trench configured to expose the top surface of the silicon substrate, and the photodetector is disposed in the trench (please see fig. 4B above).
Regarding claim 6, Hung teaches a image sensor of claim 1, further comprising a line layer (80) disposed on the ROIC and the photodetector.
Regarding claim 7, Hung teaches a image sensor comprising:
a silicon substrate (110) having a first conductivity type (par. 32);
an intrinsic silicon layer (32; par. 39) disposed on the silicon substrate,
wherein the silicon layer comprises a trench (please see fig. 4B above) passing through the silicon layer;
a read out integrated circuit (ROIC) (630 and 640) disposed at an upper portion of the silicon layer;
a photodetector (see fig. 4B above) and a buried insulation pattern (20) disposed in the trench; and
metal lines (80) disposed on the photodetector and the ROIC,
wherein the photodetector comprises a first germanium pattern (308) having a first conductivity type and a semiconductor pattern (302) having a second conductivity type different from the first conductivity type, which are vertically laminated with each other (please see fig. 4B), wherein the first germanium pattern having the first conductivity type directly contacts the silicon substrate having the first conductivity type (please see explanation in Arguments above), and wherein the buried insulation pattern is disposed between the photodetector and the silicon layer to expose a top surface of the silicon substrate (please see fig. 4B above).
Regarding claim 8, Hung teaches a image sensor of claim 7, wherein the semiconductor pattern is a germanium pattern, and the semiconductor pattern contacts the first germanium pattern (par. 53).
Regarding claim 9, Hung teaches a image sensor of claim 7, wherein the photodetector further comprises a second germanium pattern disposed between the first germanium pattern and the semiconductor pattern, the second germanium pattern contacts the first germanium pattern and the semiconductor pattern, and the semiconductor pattern is a silicon pattern (par. 41).
Regarding claim 10, Hung teaches a image sensor of claim 7, further comprising a mask pattern disposed on the silicon layer, wherein the mask pattern comprises an opening that vertically overlaps the trench (par. 56 and 57).
Regarding claim 11, Hung teaches a image sensor of claim 10, wherein each of the mask pattern and the buried insulation pattern comprises a silicon oxide (par. 56 and 57).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818