DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Non-final communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10, 14-17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 11, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers (US 20080287963 A1) as modified by Abdallah (US 20100280659 A1)
Claim 1:
Rogers teaches the following limitations:
An instrument system comprising: a plurality of actuators; (Rogers - [0054] The actuator assembly 140 mates with and actuates components of the robotic surgical tools 101A-101C. The actuator assembly 140 includes a plurality of rotatable actuators 126 coupled to actuator disks 122.) an instrument comprising: a plurality of joints, and a plurality of transmission systems configured to couple the plurality of joints with the plurality of actuators, (Rogers -[0055] The actuator assembly 140 may include one or more actuators 111 to actuate the entry guide 108. In one embodiment of the invention, the actuators may be the one or more servo-motors. For example, one or more actuators 111 may be used to actuate control cables to rigidize the entry guide 108 by actuating a locking tool inserted into or a part of the entry guide. … ; [0062] … One or more cables, cable loops (e.g., 380,382), hypodermic tubes, flexible push rods, and/or any combination thereof within the shaft 106 may be used to transfer the torque received by the transmission mechanism 303 to the lockable/steerable vertebrae 316 along the shaft 106, such as the vertebrae 374, to steer the end effector 348 and portions of the shaft.) wherein a first joint of the plurality of joints is distal to a second joint of the plurality of joints, (Rogers - [0057] Each of the respective robotic surgical tools 101A, 101C include end effectors 248A, 248B coupled to their respective body tubes or shafts 1006 by one or more joints 244A-244B, 246A-246B, and a parallel tube 245A-245B. … ; [See also Figure 4A]) wherein a first transmission system of the plurality of transmission systems passes through the second joint to couple to the first joint, and wherein a second transmission system of the plurality of transmission systems couples to the second joint; and (Rogers - [0077] The entry guide 108A may include one or more steering cables 482A-482B that may be used to steer at steering points 410A-410N along the length of the entry guide under computer control. The steering point 410N at or near the distal end 402 is used to steer the distal end 402 of the entry guide 108A while steering points 410A-410M are used to steer the body of the entry guide 108A. … ; 0078] The steering cables 482A-482B may be taken in and paid out by one or more actuators 111A-111B, respectively under remote control by a computer, … ; [See also Figure 4A]) a control system operably coupled to the plurality of actuators, the control system programmed to execute operations comprising: (Rogers - [0039] Robotic instruments are generally referred to herein by the reference number 101. Robotic instruments 101 may be any instrument or tool that is inserted into the entry guide 108 that can be manipulated by one or more actuators under remote control of the master control console 150. Robotic instruments include, but are not limited to, surgical tools, medical tools, biomedical tools, and diagnostic instruments (ultrasound, computer tomography (CT) scanner, magnetic resonance imager (MRI)).)
commanding the plurality of actuators such that the first transmission system applies the first tension and the second transmission system applies the second tension.
(Rogers - [0077] The entry guide 108A may include one or more steering cables 482A-482B that may be used to steer at steering points 410A-410N along the length of the entry guide under computer control. The steering point 410N at or near the distal end 402 is used to steer the distal end 402 of the entry guide 108A while steering points 410A-410M are used to steer the body of the entry guide 108A. … ; 0078] The steering cables 482A-482B may be taken in and paid out by one or more actuators 111A-111B, respectively under remote control by a computer, … ; [See also Figure 4A])
Rogers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Abdallah teaches:
determining a first tension to be applied by the first transmission system, determining a first estimate of an interaction response that results at the second joint from applying the first tension by the first transmission system, determining a second tension to be applied by the second transmission system based on a first set of parameters, the first set of parameters comprising the first estimate, and
(Abdallah - [0010] A robotic system includes a robot having at least one tendon-driven finger characterized by n degrees of freedom and n+1 tendons, and a controller having an algorithm for controlling the n+1 tendons. The algorithm is adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each of the n+1 tendons, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons, such that each tendon is assigned a tension value that is less than its corresponding maximum functional tension and greater than or equal to its corresponding minimum functional tension. ; [0011] A controller is also provided for the tendon-driven robotic finger, with the controller including an algorithm adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each tendon of the tendon-driven finger, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons as noted above.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rogers to include an algorithm for calculating or estimating the maximum and minimum tensions between interacting tendons as taught in Abdallah. Having the ability to accurately estimate the interacting tensions between tendons provides a means of accurately controlling the overall movement, configuration, torque, and applied force that is generated by the compliant robot.
Claim 3:
Rogers teaches the following limitations:
The instrument system of claim 1, wherein: the second joint is distal to a third joint of the plurality of joints; a third transmission system of the plurality of transmission systems couples to the third joint; the first transmission system further passes through the third joint and the second transmission system further passes through the third joint; and
(Rogers - [0077] The entry guide 108A may include one or more steering cables 482A-482B that may be used to steer at steering points 410A-410N along the length of the entry guide under computer control. The steering point 410N at or near the distal end 402 is used to steer the distal end 402 of the entry guide 108A while steering points 410A-410M are used to steer the body of the entry guide 108A. … ; 0078] The steering cables 482A-482B may be taken in and paid out by one or more actuators 111A-111B, respectively under remote control by a computer, … ; [See also Figure 4A])
Rogers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Abdallah teaches:
the operations further comprise: determining a second estimate of an interaction response that results at the third joint from applying the first tension by the first transmission system, determining a third estimate of an interaction response that results at the third joint from applying the second tension by the second transmission system, and determining a third tension to be applied by the third transmission system based on a second set of parameters, the second set of parameters comprising the second estimate and the third estimate; wherein commanding the plurality of actuators further causes the third transmission system to apply the third tension.
(Abdallah - [0010] A robotic system includes a robot having at least one tendon-driven finger characterized by n degrees of freedom and n+1 tendons, and a controller having an algorithm for controlling the n+1 tendons. The algorithm is adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each of the n+1 tendons, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons, such that each tendon is assigned a tension value that is less than its corresponding maximum functional tension and greater than or equal to its corresponding minimum functional tension. ; [0011] A controller is also provided for the tendon-driven robotic finger, with the controller including an algorithm adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each tendon of the tendon-driven finger, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons as noted above.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rogers to include an algorithm for calculating or estimating the maximum and minimum tensions between interacting tendons as taught in Abdallah. Having the ability to accurately estimate the interacting tensions between tendons provides a means of accurately controlling the overall movement, configuration, torque, and applied force that is generated by the compliant robot.
Claim 4:
Rogers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Abdallah teaches:
The instrument system of claim 1, wherein determining the first tension comprises: requiring the first tension to be no lower than a nominal tension.
(Abdallah - [0023] For a tendon-driven finger 19 having n degrees of freedom and n+1 tendons 34, the torque control strategy is determined by algorithm 100, which automatically distributes tension among the n+1 tendons such that each respective tendon is assigned a respective tension f.sub.1 through f.sub.n+1 that is less than the maximum functional tension, fmax, and greater than or equal to the minimum functional tension, …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rogers to include an algorithm for calculating or estimating the maximum and minimum tensions between interacting tendons as taught in Abdallah. Having the ability to accurately estimate the interacting tensions between tendons provides a means of accurately controlling the overall movement, configuration, torque, and applied force that is generated by the compliant robot.
Claim 11:
Rogers teaches the following limitations:
A method for controlling an instrument system, the instrument system comprising: a plurality of actuators, (Rogers - [0054] The actuator assembly 140 mates with and actuates components of the robotic surgical tools 101A-101C. The actuator assembly 140 includes a plurality of rotatable actuators 126 coupled to actuator disks 122.) an instrument comprising: a plurality of joints, and a plurality of transmission systems configured to couple the plurality of joints with the plurality of actuators, (Rogers -[0055] The actuator assembly 140 may include one or more actuators 111 to actuate the entry guide 108. In one embodiment of the invention, the actuators may be the one or more servo-motors. For example, one or more actuators 111 may be used to actuate control cables to rigidize the entry guide 108 by actuating a locking tool inserted into or a part of the entry guide. … ; [0062] … One or more cables, cable loops (e.g., 380,382), hypodermic tubes, flexible push rods, and/or any combination thereof within the shaft 106 may be used to transfer the torque received by the transmission mechanism 303 to the lockable/steerable vertebrae 316 along the shaft 106, such as the vertebrae 374, to steer the end effector 348 and portions of the shaft.) wherein a first joint of the plurality of joints is distal to a second joint of the plurality of joints, (Rogers - [0057] Each of the respective robotic surgical tools 101A, 101C include end effectors 248A, 248B coupled to their respective body tubes or shafts 1006 by one or more joints 244A-244B, 246A-246B, and a parallel tube 245A-245B. … ; [See also Figure 4A]) wherein a first transmission system of the plurality of transmission systems passes through the second joint to couple to the first joint, and wherein a second transmission system of the plurality of transmission systems couples to the second joint; and (Rogers - [0077] The entry guide 108A may include one or more steering cables 482A-482B that may be used to steer at steering points 410A-410N along the length of the entry guide under computer control. The steering point 410N at or near the distal end 402 is used to steer the distal end 402 of the entry guide 108A while steering points 410A-410M are used to steer the body of the entry guide 108A. … ; 0078] The steering cables 482A-482B may be taken in and paid out by one or more actuators 111A-111B, respectively under remote control by a computer, … ; [See also Figure 4A]) the method, executing on a control system programmed to control the instrument system, comprising: (Rogers - [0039] Robotic instruments are generally referred to herein by the reference number 101. Robotic instruments 101 may be any instrument or tool that is inserted into the entry guide 108 that can be manipulated by one or more actuators under remote control of the master control console 150. Robotic instruments include, but are not limited to, surgical tools, medical tools, biomedical tools, and diagnostic instruments (ultrasound, computer tomography (CT) scanner, magnetic resonance imager (MRI)).)
commanding the plurality of actuators such that the first transmission system applies the first tension and the second transmission system applies the second tension.
(Rogers - [0077] The entry guide 108A may include one or more steering cables 482A-482B that may be used to steer at steering points 410A-410N along the length of the entry guide under computer control. The steering point 410N at or near the distal end 402 is used to steer the distal end 402 of the entry guide 108A while steering points 410A-410M are used to steer the body of the entry guide 108A. … ; 0078] The steering cables 482A-482B may be taken in and paid out by one or more actuators 111A-111B, respectively under remote control by a computer, … ; [See also Figure 4A])
Rogers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Abdallah teaches:
determining a first tension to be applied by the first transmission system; determining a first estimate of an interaction response that results at the second joint from applying the first tension by the first transmission system, determining a second tension to be applied by the second transmission system based on a first set of parameters, the first set of parameters comprising the first estimate, and
(Abdallah - [0010] A robotic system includes a robot having at least one tendon-driven finger characterized by n degrees of freedom and n+1 tendons, and a controller having an algorithm for controlling the n+1 tendons. The algorithm is adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each of the n+1 tendons, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons, such that each tendon is assigned a tension value that is less than its corresponding maximum functional tension and greater than or equal to its corresponding minimum functional tension. ; [0011] A controller is also provided for the tendon-driven robotic finger, with the controller including an algorithm adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each tendon of the tendon-driven finger, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons as noted above.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rogers to include an algorithm for calculating or estimating the maximum and minimum tensions between interacting tendons as taught in Abdallah. Having the ability to accurately estimate the interacting tensions between tendons provides a means of accurately controlling the overall movement, configuration, torque, and applied force that is generated by the compliant robot.
Claim 13:
Rogers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Abdallah teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein determining the first tension comprises: requiring the first tension to be no lower than a nominal tension.
(Abdallah - [0023] For a tendon-driven finger 19 having n degrees of freedom and n+1 tendons 34, the torque control strategy is determined by algorithm 100, which automatically distributes tension among the n+1 tendons such that each respective tendon is assigned a respective tension f.sub.1 through f.sub.n+1 that is less than the maximum functional tension, fmax, and greater than or equal to the minimum functional tension, …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rogers to include an algorithm for calculating or estimating the maximum and minimum tensions between interacting tendons as taught in Abdallah. Having the ability to accurately estimate the interacting tensions between tendons provides a means of accurately controlling the overall movement, configuration, torque, and applied force that is generated by the compliant robot.
Claim 18:
Rogers teaches the following limitations:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising a plurality of machine-readable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors associated with an instrument system comprising a plurality of actuators and an instrument, causes the one or more processors to perform a method comprising:
(Rogers - [0039] Robotic instruments are generally referred to herein by the reference number 101. Robotic instruments 101 may be any instrument or tool that is inserted into the entry guide 108 that can be manipulated by one or more actuators under remote control of the master control console 150. Robotic instruments include, but are not limited to, surgical tools, medical tools, biomedical tools, and diagnostic instruments (ultrasound, computer tomography (CT) scanner, magnetic resonance imager (MRI)). ; [0048] The computer 151 may include one or more microprocessors 182 to execute instructions and a storage device 184 to store software with executable instructions that may be used to generate control signals to control the robotic surgical system 100. …. )
wherein the plurality of transmission systems is configured to couple a plurality of joints of the instrument with the plurality of actuators, (Rogers -[0055] The actuator assembly 140 may include one or more actuators 111 to actuate the entry guide 108. In one embodiment of the invention, the actuators may be the one or more servo-motors. For example, one or more actuators 111 may be used to actuate control cables to rigidize the entry guide 108 by actuating a locking tool inserted into or a part of the entry guide. … ; [0062] … One or more cables, cable loops (e.g., 380,382), hypodermic tubes, flexible push rods, and/or any combination thereof within the shaft 106 may be used to transfer the torque received by the transmission mechanism 303 to the lockable/steerable vertebrae 316 along the shaft 106, such as the vertebrae 374, to steer the end effector 348 and portions of the shaft.)wherein a first joint of the plurality of joints is distal to a second joint of the plurality of joints, (Rogers - [0057] Each of the respective robotic surgical tools 101A, 101C include end effectors 248A, 248B coupled to their respective body tubes or shafts 1006 by one or more joints 244A-244B, 246A-246B, and a parallel tube 245A-245B. … ; [See also Figure 4A]) wherein the first transmission system passes through the second joint to couple to the first joint, and wherein a second transmission system of the plurality of transmission systems couples to the second joint; (Rogers - [0077] The entry guide 108A may include one or more steering cables 482A-482B that may be used to steer at steering points 410A-410N along the length of the entry guide under computer control. The steering point 410N at or near the distal end 402 is used to steer the distal end 402 of the entry guide 108A while steering points 410A-410M are used to steer the body of the entry guide 108A. … ; 0078] The steering cables 482A-482B may be taken in and paid out by one or more actuators 111A-111B, respectively under remote control by a computer, … ; [See also Figure 4A])
commanding the plurality of actuators such that the first transmission system applies the first tension and the second transmission system applies the second tension.
(Rogers - [0077] The entry guide 108A may include one or more steering cables 482A-482B that may be used to steer at steering points 410A-410N along the length of the entry guide under computer control. The steering point 410N at or near the distal end 402 is used to steer the distal end 402 of the entry guide 108A while steering points 410A-410M are used to steer the body of the entry guide 108A. … ; 0078] The steering cables 482A-482B may be taken in and paid out by one or more actuators 111A-111B, respectively under remote control by a computer, … ; [See also Figure 4A])
Rogers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Abdallah teaches:
determining a first tension to be applied by a first transmission system of a plurality of transmission systems of the instrument,
(Abdallah - [0010] A robotic system includes a robot having at least one tendon-driven finger characterized by n degrees of freedom and n+1 tendons, and a controller having an algorithm for controlling the n+1 tendons. The algorithm is adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each of the n+1 tendons, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons, such that each tendon is assigned a tension value that is less than its corresponding maximum functional tension and greater than or equal to its corresponding minimum functional tension. ; [0011] A controller is also provided for the tendon-driven robotic finger, with the controller including an algorithm adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each tendon of the tendon-driven finger, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons as noted above.)
determining a first estimate of an interaction response that results at the second joint from applying the first tension by the first transmission system; determining a second tension to be applied by the second transmission system based on a first set of parameters, the first set of parameters comprising the first estimate; and
(Abdallah - [0010] A robotic system includes a robot having at least one tendon-driven finger characterized by n degrees of freedom and n+1 tendons, and a controller having an algorithm for controlling the n+1 tendons. The algorithm is adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each of the n+1 tendons, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons, such that each tendon is assigned a tension value that is less than its corresponding maximum functional tension and greater than or equal to its corresponding minimum functional tension. ; [0011] A controller is also provided for the tendon-driven robotic finger, with the controller including an algorithm adapted for determining a maximum and a minimum functional tension of each tendon of the tendon-driven finger, and automatically distributing tension among the n+1 tendons as noted above.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rogers to include an algorithm for calculating or estimating the maximum and minimum tensions between interacting tendons as taught in Abdallah. Having the ability to accurately estimate the interacting tensions between tendons provides a means of accurately controlling the overall movement, configuration, torque, and applied force that is generated by the compliant robot.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers (US 20080287963 A1) as modified by Abdallah (US 20100280659 A1) in view of Prisco (US 20100082041 A1)
Claim 2:
Rogers in combination with Abdallah does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Prisco teaches:
The instrument system of claim 1, wherein: the operations further comprise: computing a first torque for the first joint based on a difference between a current configuration of the first joint and a desired configuration of the first joint; and (Prisco - [0034] - … FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate an illustrative shape sensing fiber 250 that extends to jaw 212 for sensing of the position of jaw 212. For the control loop, a control system compares a desired joint position with a measured joint position to compute a joint position error. A control or correction torque is then computed based on the current value of the joint position error, for instance using a Proportional Derivative Integral control law. Depending on the control torque sign indicating a clockwise or counterclockwise correction, one of the motors associated with the joint is commanded to apply a torque to its associated capstan while the other motor associated with the joint is commanded to zero its motor torque, thereby letting go of its associated capstan. In this way, the joint is placed in the desired position.) the first tension is determined based on at least the first torque. (Prisco - [0033] The drive motors coupled to backend mechanism 230 of FIGS. 2A and 2B are generally operated to either apply a torque to the associated capstan or to allow the associated capstan to turn freely. In a process that controls a pair of tendons that are connected for rotation of a structural member of instrument 200, one drive motor applies a torque to a capstan around which one tendon is wrapped, and the capstan about which the other tendon is wrapped is allowed to freely rotate. For example, to rotate jaw 212 counterclockwise in the view of FIG. 2A, motor 242, which engages capstan 232, is activated and turns capstan 232 in a direction that pulls on tendon 222. The resulting torque that tendon 222 applies to jaw 212 tends to rotate jaw 212 counterclockwise toward jaw 214. The maximum tension that capstan 232 can apply to tendon 222 without tendon 222 slipping on capstan 232 is proportional to the force from spring 236 and increases exponentially with the wrap angle of tendon 222 about capstan 232. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rogers and Abdallah to include determining the applied torque based on the configuration of the compliant robot and further using the applied torque value to determine the tension in the cables as taught in Prisco. Having the ability to accurately estimate the interacting torques and tensions between cables provides a means of accurately controlling the overall movement, configuration, torque, and applied force that is generated by the compliant robot.
Claim 12:
Rogers in combination with Abdallah does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Prisco teaches:
The method of claim 11, further comprising: computing a first torque for the first joint based on a difference between a current configuration of the first joint and a desired configuration of the first joint, (Prisco - [0034] - … FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate an illustrative shape sensing fiber 250 that extends to jaw 212 for sensing of the position of jaw 212. For the control loop, a control system compares a desired joint position with a measured joint position to compute a joint position error. A control or correction torque is then computed based on the current value of the joint position error, for instance using a Proportional Derivative Integral control law. Depending on the control torque sign indicating a clockwise or counterclockwise correction, one of the motors associated with the joint is commanded to apply a torque to its associated capstan while the other motor associated with the joint is commanded to zero its motor torque, thereby letting go of its associated capstan. In this way, the joint is placed in the desired position.) wherein the first tension is determined based on at least the first torque. (Prisco - [0033] The drive motors coupled to backend mechanism 230 of FIGS. 2A and 2B are generally operated to either apply a torque to the associated capstan or to allow the associated capstan to turn freely. In a process that controls a pair of tendons that are connected for rotation of a structural member of instrument 200, one drive motor applies a torque to a capstan around which one tendon is wrapped, and the capstan about which the other tendon is wrapped is allowed to freely rotate. For example, to rotate jaw 212 counterclockwise in the view of FIG. 2A, motor 242, which engages capstan 232, is activated and turns capstan 232 in a direction that pulls on tendon 222. The resulting torque that tendon 222 applies to jaw 212 tends to rotate jaw 212 counterclockwise toward jaw 214. The maximum tension that capstan 232 can apply to tendon 222 without tendon 222 slipping on capstan 232 is proportional to the force from spring 236 and increases exponentially with the wrap angle of tendon 222 about capstan 232. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rogers and Abdallah to include determining the applied torque based on the configuration of the compliant robot and further using the applied torque value to determine the tension in the cables as taught in Prisco. Having the ability to accurately estimate the interacting torques and tensions between cables provides a means of accurately controlling the overall movement, configuration, torque, and applied force that is generated by the compliant robot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Diolaiti (US 20070287992 A1) describes a medical robotic system having non-ideal actuator-to-joint linkage characteristics, includes a control system including a proximal control loop with actuator sensor feedback to control dynamic response of an actuator coupled to a distal joint which in turn, is coupled to an end effector to provide a degree of freedom movement of the end effector, a distal control loop with distal joint sensor feedback and feedforward to the actuator to ensure steady-state convergence of the distal joint position, and an end effector control loop with end-point sensor feedback to control the end effector position to reach a commanded end effector position.
Swarup (US 20090088774 A1) describes a method in which a lock sensing mode is entered for a robotic surgical instrument. In the lock sensing mode, the degrees of freedom of movement in the robotic surgical instrument are switchably reduced. An increased level of torque may also be applied to the end effectors to increase a gripping force applied by the one or more end effectors in response to the reduced degrees of freedom of movement in the robotic surgical instrument.
Kirschenman (US 20110021984 A1) describes an apparatus for maintaining a robotic catheter system in a responsive state includes a catheter, a plurality of linear translatable control elements, and a controller. In an embodiment, the catheter includes a proximal portion, a distal portion, and at least two steering wires. The steering wires may be configured at one end to control the movement of at least a portion of the distal portion of the catheter and at the other end for connection to a control member.
/ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657