DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment to the claims, filed on July 15th, 2026, is acknowledged. Entry of amendment is accepted and made of record.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's response filed on July 15th, 2026 is acknowledged and isanswered as follows.
Applicant's remarks, see pgs. 10-11, with respect to the objection of claim 1 under formalities have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pgs. 11-14, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-6, 15-16 and 2 under 35 U.S.C 102 (a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C 103(a) have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the following reasons.
Applicant argues that Liebmann fails to disclose “wherein no transistor is formed in the second device layer overlapping the first transistor in the first device layer along a vertical direction” as recited in claims 1 and 16 (see Applicant’ argument and pgs. 11-13). The Examiner respectfully disagrees because claim 1 fails to further limit the reference orientation of the vertical direction and one of ordinary skill in the art can rotate Fig 1A of Liebmann to consider Y-direction as “a vertical direction”, and interprets that no transistor is formed in the second device layer (the layer comprising gate T4 and plurality of nanosheet channels 175) overlapping the first transistor (P1 transistor) in the first device layer along the Y-direction (see rotated Fig. 1A of Liebman below). Therefore, Liebmann discloses all limitations of amended claims 1 and 16.
In view of the foregoing reasons, the examiner believes that all Applicant's arguments and remarks are addressed. The examiner has determined that the previous Office Action is still proper based on the above responses. Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIEBMANN et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0181322 A1), hereinafter as Liebmann.
Regarding claim 1, Liebmann discloses a semiconductor structure in Figs. 1A-1B, comprising: a substrate (substrate 101), including a first device region (a region of P1 transistor) and a second device region (a region of N2 transistor) (see Fig. 1A and [0061]). a first device layer (the layer comprising gate T1 and plurality of nanosheet channels 173) on the substrate, wherein a first transistor (P1 transistor) at the first device region is in the first device layer (see Fig. 1A and [0062-0064]); a second device layer (the layer comprising gate T4 and plurality of nanosheet channels 175) on the first device layer (on insulating layer 171 that above P1 transistor), wherein a second transistor (N2 transistor) at the second device region is in the second device layer, and projections of the first transistor and the second transistor on a surface of the substrate are non-overlapped with each other (N2 transistor is not vertically overlapping with P2 transistor) (see Fig. 1A and [0065]); and an electrical interconnection structure (trace 153, track 114 and trace 123) in the first device layer and the second device layer, wherein the electrical interconnection structure is electrically connected to each of the first transistor and the second transistor (connecting gate T1 of P1 transistor to gate T4 of N2 transistor) (see Fig. 1A-1B and [0065-0067]), wherein no transistor is formed in the second device layer (no transistor in the layer comprising gate T4 and plurality of nanosheet channels 175) overlapping the first transistor (P1 transistor) in the first device layer along a vertical direction (Y-direction) (see rotated Fig. 1A of Liebman above).
Regarding claim 3, Liebmann discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, wherein: the first transistor includes a first channel structure (channel of nanosheet channels 173) extending along a first direction (x-direction) and a first gate structure (gate T1) extending along a second direction (y-direction) (see Fig. 1A and [0063-0065]); the first gate structure is on a surface of the first channel structure (see Fig. 1A); and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (see Fig. 1A); and the second transistor includes a second channel structure (channel of nanosheet channels 175) extending along the first direction (x-direction) and a second gate structure (gate T4) extending along the second direction (y-direction) (see [0063-0065]); and the second gate structure is on a surface of the second channel structure (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Liebmann discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 3, wherein: the first channel structure includes a plurality of first channel layers (plurality of nanosheet channels 173) overlapped with each other along a direction (Z direction) perpendicular to the surface of the substrate, and the first gate structure surrounds (gate T1) a surface of each first channel layer (see Fig. 1A and [0061], [0065]); and the second channel structure includes a plurality of second channel layers (plurality of nanosheet channels 1775) overlapped with each other along the direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate, and the second gate structure (gate T4) surrounds a surface of each second channel layer (see Fig. 1A and [0061], [0065]); and/or the electrical interconnection structure includes a first plug on the first gate structure, a second plug on the second gate structure, and a first electrical connection structure electrically connected to each of the first plug and the second plug (not considering this limitation because of “and/or”); and the first gate structure and the second gate structure are electrically connected with each other through the first plug, the second plug and the first electrical connection structure (not considering this limitation because of “and/or”).
Regarding claim 5, Liebmann discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 4, wherein: the first electrical connection structure (trace 123) is in the second device layer (see Fig. 1A and [0065]); the first plug (trace 153) is in the first device layer and the second device layer (see Fig. 1A and [0065]); and the second plug is in the second device layer (see Fig. 1A) (also because and/or limitation in claim 4, these limitation of claim 5 does not need to be considered).
Regarding claim 6, Liebmann discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 3, wherein: the first transistor further includes a first source electrode (one first terminal structure) and a first drain electrode (second terminal structure) on two sides of the first gate structure (see Fig. 1A and [0069]); and the second transistor further includes a second source electrode (another one of first terminal structure) and a second drain electrode (third terminal structure) on two sides of the second gate structure (see Fig. 1A and [0069]).
Regarding claim 15, Liebmann discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, further including a dielectric layer (insulating layer 171) between the first device layer and the second device layer (see Fig. 1A and [0062]).
Regarding claim 16, Liebmann discloses a forming method of a semiconductor structure in Figs. 1A-1B, comprising: forming a substrate (substrate 101), wherein the substrate including a first device region (a region of P1 transistor) and a second device region (a region of N2 transistor) (see Fig. 1A and [0061]); forming a first device layer (the layer comprising gate T1 and plurality of nanosheet channels 173) on the substrate, wherein a first transistor (P1 transistor) at the first device region is in the first device layer (see Fig. 1A and [0062-0064]); forming a second device layer (the layer comprising gate T4 and plurality of nanosheet channels 175) on the first device layer (on insulating layer 171 that above P1 transistor), wherein a second transistor (N2 transistor) at the second device region is in the second device layer, and projections of the first transistor and the second transistor on a surface of the substrate are non-overlapped with each other (N2 transistor is not vertically overlapping with P2 transistor) (see Fig. 1A and [0065]); and forming an electrical interconnection structure (trace 153, track 114 and trace 123), wherein the electrical interconnection structure is electrically connected to each of the first transistor and the second transistor (connecting gate T1 of P1 transistor to gate T4 of N2 transistor) (see Fig. 1A-1B and [0065-0067]); and forming a dielectric layer (insulating layer 171) between the first device layer and the second device layer (see Fig. 1A and [0062]), wherein no transistor is formed in the second device layer (no transistor in the layer comprising gate T4 and plurality of nanosheet channels 175) overlapping the first transistor (P1 transistor) in the first device layer along a vertical direction (Y-direction) (see rotated Fig. 1A of Liebman above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIEBMANN et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0181322 A1), hereinafter as Liebmann, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Liebmann discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, wherein: a conductivity type of the first transistor (P type conductivity) is opposite to a conductivity type of the second transistor (N type conductivity) (see Fig. 1A and [0061]); the first transistor is an N-channel metal-oxide semiconductor (NMOS) transistor, and the second transistor is a P-channel metal-oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistor (not considering this limitation) and/or a spacing range between the first transistor and the second transistor is from about 20 nanometers to about 100 nanometers (Liebmann fails to disclose this limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the semiconductor device comprising spacing range between the first transistor and the second transistor is from about 20 nanometers to about 100 nanometers because the semiconductor device are nano device and forming the spacing in nanometer range would maximize the number of devices in a wafer and circuit and would increase manufacturing profit. Since it has been held that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIEBMANN et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0181322 A1), hereinafter as Liebmann, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FULFORD et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0163185 A1), hereinafter as Fulford.
Regarding claim 2, Liebmann discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, wherein: a conductivity type of the first transistor (P type conductivity) is opposite to a conductivity type of the second transistor (N type conductivity) (see Fig. 1A and [0061]); but fails to disclose the first transistor is an N-channel metal-oxide semiconductor (NMOS) transistor, and the second transistor is a P-channel metal-oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistor; and/or a spacing range between the first transistor and the second transistor is from about 20 nanometers to about 100 nanometers (not considering this limitation).
Fulford discloses a semiconductor device comprising the first transistor is an N-channel metal-oxide semiconductor (NMOS) transistor (left lower stack 140 of transistor 110 being N type), and the second transistor is a P-channel metal-oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistor (upper right stack 140 of transistor 120 being P type) (see Fig. 1B and [0051-0053], [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first transistor and the second transistor of Liebmann to be NMOS and PMOS as same as the semiconductor device of Fulford because the disclosure of Fulford NMOS and PMOS can be interchangeably formed by changing the conductivity type of the channel and source/drain for effectively forming integrated circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to disclose or suggest the claimed invention having: a first electrical contact structure electrically connected to the first source electrode; a second electrical contact structure electrically connected to the first drain electrode; a third electrical contact structure electrically connected to the second source electrode; and a fourth electrical contact structure electrically connected to the second drain electrode; and/or a third plug on the second electrical contact structure, a fourth plug on the third electrical contact structure, and a second electrical connection structure electrically connected to each of the third plug and the fourth plug, wherein the second electrical contact structure and the third electrical contact structure are electrically connected with each other through the third plug, the fourth plug and the second electrical connection structure as recited in claim 7. Claims 8-14 depend on claim 7, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818