DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the Specification overcomes the objection to the Specification. Accordingly, the objection to the Specification is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 14 have been considered, but they are not persuasive. Please see the prior art rejections(s) below in view of the different interpretation of the prior art due to the claim amendments made. Thus, Applicant’s traversal of the instant rejection on these grounds is deemed unsuccessful.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byrne et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0214978)
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 1, Byrne discloses a system for an electrical enclosure (1) comprising: one or more members comprising: a body (90, 70) formed of a base material; and a film including a plurality of layers (60, 30, 10) affixed onto a surface of the body, the film comprising: a first adhesive layer (60); a graphic layer (30; various decorations such as images, colors, symbols, and graphics may be applied to the rear face 34 to form the film layer 30, paragraph [0044]) located on the first adhesive layer; and a hard coat layer (10) located on the graphic layer opposite from the body (metal layer 10 is opposite from the box 90/console 70), wherein the first adhesive layer affixes the graphic layer to the surface of the body (Figure 1), and the plurality of layers defines an exterior surface of the one or more members (Figure 1); wherein the one or more members comprises a cover plate member (70) for the electrical enclosure.
Regarding claim 2, Byrne discloses wherein the one or more members further comprises at least one plate member for covering an electrical receptacle opening (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Byrne discloses wherein the graphic layer is disposed on the first adhesive layer opposite the base material, and the graphic layer comprises one or more materials having properties configured to provide the exterior surface of the one or more members with a decorative appearance based on the one or more materials (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Byrne discloses wherein the first adhesive layer affixes the graphic layer to the surface of the one or more members (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Byrne discloses wherein the graphic layer comprises: a metallic material, wherein the properties of the metallic material are configured to provide the exterior surface of the one or more members with a metallic surface (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Byrne discloses wherein the graphic layer comprises: a plastic material, wherein the properties of the plastic material are configured to provide the exterior surface of the one or more members with a matte surface or a glossy surface (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Byrne discloses wherein the hard coat layer comprises a transparent or semi-transparent protective layer disposed on a side of the film opposite the graphic layer from the first adhesive layer, and wherein the film further comprises: a second adhesive layer, wherein the second adhesive layer is arranged between the graphic layer and the hard coat layer and affixes the hard coat layer onto the graphic layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Byrne discloses wherein the hard coat layer is configured to protect the one or more members and the other layers of the film from ultra-violet radiation, abrasion, dirt, and corrosion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Byrne discloses wherein the one or more members are formed using a molding process, the molding process comprising injecting the base material into a mold at a first temperature to enable a portion of the first adhesive layer contacting the base material to integrally fuse with the base material and form a respective member of the one or more members when the base material hardens to a second temperature (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, in Figure 1, Byrne discloses an apparatus comprising: an electrical enclosure (1), wherein the electrical enclosure includes a housing (70) for receiving one or more electrical components (94, 96, 98, paragraph [0047]) therein, and at least one member comprising: a body formed of a base plastic material (30), and a film comprising: a first adhesive layer (50), and a graphic layer (18), wherein the first adhesive layer affixes the graphic layer to the base plastic material (Figure 1), and the graphic layer provides an exterior surface of the at least one member (Figure 1) with a decorative appearance (paragraph [0042]); wherein the at least one member comprises a first member (90) configured to cover an opening (76) of the housing.
Regarding claim 11, Byrne discloses wherein the graphic layer is disposed on the first adhesive layer opposite the base plastic material, and the graphic layer comprises one or more materials having properties configured to provide the exterior surface of the first member with the decorative appearance based on the one or more materials (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Byrne discloses wherein the graphic layer comprises at least one of: a metallic material, wherein the metallic material comprises properties configured to provide the exterior surface of the at least one member with a metallic appearance, or a plastic material, wherein the plastic material comprises properties configured to provide the exterior surface of the at least one member with a matte appearance or a glossy appearance (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Byrne discloses wherein the film further comprises: a hard coat layer, wherein the hard coat layer comprises a transparent or semi-transparent protective layer disposed on a side of the film opposite the first adhesive layer and the hard coat layer defines the exterior surface of the at least one member, wherein the hard coat layer protects the at least one member from ultra-violet radiation, abrasion, dirt, and corrosion, and a second adhesive layer, wherein the second adhesive layer is arranged between the graphic layer and the hard coat layer to affix the hard coat layer to the graphic layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Byrne discloses wherein the at least one member further comprises: one or more second members, wherein the one or more second members are configured to cover an opening of the first member (Figure 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847