DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to the communications received March 26, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 7, 8, 16, 18 and 19 have been withdrawn by applicant in response to the response to election/restriction, dated March 26, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I and Sub-Species ii (e.g. the metallic energy absorbing layer is separated from the metal pads) in the reply filed on March 26, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7, 8 and 16, 18 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species/Sub-Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 26, 2026. In view of the Election / Restriction requirement, the elected claims appear to read on embodiments captured by Figs. 1 and 5.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and the claims that are dependent thereon, are objected to because of the following informalities: The term “the source/drain” is understood to mean the “source/drain electrode”. This is understood as the claim subsequently compares metallic material type characteristics with the “energy absorbing layer” in the limitations of lines 13-16. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant’s Claim to Figure Comparison
It is noted that this comparison is merely for the benefit of reviewers of this office action during prosecution, to allow for an understanding of the examiner’s interpretation of the Applicant’s independent claims as compared to disclosed embodiments in Applicant’s Figures. No response or comments are necessary from Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant discloses in Figs. 5 and 6, a display device, comprising:
a substrate (110);
a switching element (T1-T3) disposed on the substrate and having a source/drain (S/D);
a first insulating layer (120) covering the switching element (covering T1-T3) and having a first opening (OP1-OP3);
a first metal layer (131-1 to 131-3) disposed on the first insulating layer (on 120), wherein a part of the first metal layer extends downward through the first opening and is electrically connected to the source/drain of the switching element (via part of 131-1 to 131-3 connected to S/D), and the part of the first metal layer contacts an upper surface of the source/drain (again 131’s connect to S/D);
a second insulating layer (128) covering the first metal layer (covering 120);
an energy-absorbing layer (150-1 to 150-3) disposed on the second insulating layer (on 128),
wherein a first orthographic projection area of the first opening projected on the substrate is within a second orthographic projection area of the energy-absorbing layer projected on the substrate (OP1 to OP3 are vertically overlapping with 150-1 to 150-3, respectively), and
wherein a reflectivity of a material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to a laser is higher than a reflectivity of a material of the source/drain with respect to the laser (metals for 150 described in ¶ 0045, “the material of the energy-absorbing layer 150-1, the energy-absorbing layer 150-2, and the energy-absorbing layer 150-3 may include aluminum, copper, silver, gold, nickel”, metals for S/D described in ¶ 0035, “the material of the source/drain S/D of the switching element T1 includes molybdenum (Mo), aluminum, titanium (Ti), copper, indium (In)”), and
wherein an absorptivity of the material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to the laser is lower than an absorptivity of the material of the source/drain with respect to the laser (this is due to the selection of metals for 150 versus S/D); and
a light-emitting element (140-1 to 140-3) electrically connected to the first metal layer (connected to 131-1 to 131-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2024/0162397) in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0288046).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of Lee discloses in Figs. 6-8, a display device (see title, “Display Device”), comprising:
a substrate (“substrate 110”, ¶ 0102);
a switching element (“first switching element T1”, 0102) disposed on the substrate (on 110) and having a source/drain (from Fig. 6, “a source electrode 85a, and a drain electrode 85b.”, ¶ 0104, where the convention of referring to “source/drain” is usually meant to signify the source and drain regions of the semiconductor region, on either side of the channel, it is understood here to signify the source/drain electrode 85b, as the electrode is the metal feature which Applicant’s disclosure and claim points to, as the limitations comparing the materials of the “energy absorbing layer” and the “source/drain electrode”.);
a first insulating layer (130, ¶ 0113, wherein “The second planarization layer 130 and the first planarization layer 120 may include a same material.”, and insulating materials listed for 120 in ¶ 0111) covering the switching element (130 covers T1) and having a first opening (130 has discontinuity that accommodates vertical via portion of PE1, hereinafter referred to as ‘FO’);
a first metal layer (PE1, “The first pixel electrode PE1, the second pixel electrode PE2, and the third pixel electrode PE3 may include a metal. The metal may include, e.g., copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), lead (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), lithium (Li), calcium (Ca)”, ¶ 0116) disposed on the first insulating layer (PE1 disposed on FO),
wherein a part of the first metal layer (PE1) extends downward through the first opening (via portion of PE1 extends down through FO) and is electrically connected to the source/drain of the switching element (PE1 through FO has a direct electrical connection to 85b of “source electrode 85a and the drain electrode 85b”, ¶ 0110, where the claimed term “source/drain” is understood to be the “source/drain electrode”, as the metal material type is later compared to that of the metal material type of the “energy absorbing layer”, in lines 13-16 of this claim. The actual “source/drain regions” are formed of semiconductor material, that would not be comparable in a similar way due to the material discrepancies, and it is clear that Applicant meant and is, comparing with regard to the source/drain electrode), and the part of the first metal layer contacts an upper surface of the source/drain (vertical portion of PE1 indirectly contacts the upper surface of source/drain region electrode 85b);
a second insulating layer (“bank layer BNL”, ¶ 0114, where the “insulating” aspect will be addressed in the combination rejection below) covering the first metal layer (BNL covers ends of PE1);
an energy-absorbing layer (“first reflective layer RFL1”, ¶ 0135, the term “energy absorbing layer” is understood in the context of the material Applicant discloses for this material layer as elected in the metallic embodiment, which is, “the material of the energy-absorbing layer … may include aluminum, copper, silver, gold, nickel, or alloys thereof.”, from the Applicant’s specification in ¶ 0045. Thus if the prior art can disclose the material disclosed, the “energy absorbing” aspect can be satisfied. Lee discloses in ¶ 0142, “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”) disposed on the second insulating layer (portions of RFL1 are disposed on BNL),
wherein a first orthographic projection area of the first opening projected on the substrate is within a second orthographic projection area of the energy-absorbing layer projected on the substrate (in a vertical direction, ‘FO’ overlaps with RFL1), and
wherein a reflectivity of a material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to a laser is higher than a reflectivity of a material of the source/drain with respect to the laser (this limitation is understood to be a comparison between the metals listed in disclosure of applicant with regard to the “energy absorbing layer” and the “source/drain electrode”. That comparison is provided below, where materials which satisfy this limitation as understood by what is disclosed in Applicant’s specification, ¶ 0035, 0045. Then Lee teaches in ¶ 0110, 0142, the same materials for the “energy absorbing layer” RFL1 and the “source/drain electrode” 85b, thus satisfying this limitation. See Applicant/Lee material comparison in the “Notes about applicant’s materials listed:”, below), and
wherein an absorptivity of the material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to the laser is lower than an absorptivity of the material of the source/drain with respect to the laser (this limitation is understood to be a comparison between the metals listed in disclosure of applicant with regard to the “energy absorbing layer” and the “source/drain electrode”. That comparison is provided below, where materials which satisfy this limitation as understood by what is disclosed in Applicant’s specification, ¶ 0035, 0045. Then Lee teaches in ¶ 0110, 0142, the same materials for the “energy absorbing layer” RFL1 and the “source/drain electrode” 85b, thus satisfying this limitation. See Applicant/Lee material comparison in the “Notes about applicant’s materials listed:”, below); and
a light-emitting element (“light emitting element LE”, ¶ 0077) electrically connected to the first metal layer (“first pixel electrode PE1… may serve as a first electrode of the light emitting element LE, and may be an anode electrode”, ¶ 0115).
Supplemental discussion about the “energy absorbing” aspect, the “wherein a reflectivity of a material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to a laser is higher than a reflectivity of a material of the source/drain with respect to the laser” limitation, and the “wherein an absorptivity of the material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to the laser is lower than an absorptivity of the material of the source/drain with respect to the laser” limitation:
It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USQP2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In this case, the reflective layer RFL1 of Lee would inherently have the property of an “energy absorbing layer”, because the reflective layer RFL1 of Lee is made of metals including aluminum and silver, which are the same as Applicant’s “energy absorbing layer” materials of metals including aluminum and silver, as disclosed.
In this case, the relationship between the equivalent “energy absorbing layer” (RFL1 of Lee) and the “source/drain” (85b of Lee) of “wherein a reflectivity of a material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to a laser is higher than a reflectivity of a material of the source/drain with respect to the laser” would inherently be satisfied by Lee’s equivalent features, because they are made of the same metals (respectively), which are the same as Applicant’s “energy absorbing layer” and “source/drain” materials as disclosed (see Applicant/Lee material comparison in the “Notes about applicant’s materials listed:”, below).
In this case, the relationship between the equivalent “energy absorbing layer” (RFL1 of Lee) and the “source/drain” (85b of Lee) of “wherein an absorptivity of the material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to the laser is lower than an absorptivity of the material of the source/drain with respect to the laser” would inherently be satisfied by Lee’s equivalent features, because they are made of the same metals (respectively), which are the same as Applicant’s “energy absorbing layer” and “source/drain” materials as disclosed (see Applicant/Lee material comparison in the “Notes about applicant’s materials listed:”, below).
See MPEP 2112.01.
Notes about Applicant’s materials listed:
1. “energy absorbing layer” (¶ 0045, “the material of the energy-absorbing layer 150-1, the energy-absorbing layer 150-2, and the energy-absorbing layer 150-3 may include aluminum, copper, silver, gold, nickel”) and
2. “source/drain electrode” (¶ 0035, “the material of the source/drain S/D of the switching element T1 includes molybdenum (Mo), aluminum, titanium (Ti), copper, indium (In)”).
Notes about Lee’s materials listed:
1. “energy absorbing layer” (e.g. RFL1) Lee discloses in ¶ 0142, “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”, and
2. “source/drain electrode” (e.g. 85b) Lee discloses in ¶ 0110, “The source electrode 85a and the drain electrode 85b may include a metal oxide such as ITO, IZO, ITZO, In.sub.2O.sub.3, and the like or a metal such as copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), aluminum (Al), molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), calcium (Ca), chromium (Cr), magnesium (Mg), nickel (Ni),”.
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the “bank layer (BNL)” is an insulating layer, and therefore does not disclose, “a second insulating layer covering the first metal layer” (italicized portion).
Park discloses in Fig. 2 and in ¶ 0072, “The bank layer 119 may include at least one organic insulating material of PI, polyamide, acrylic resin, BCB, and phenolic resin, and may be formed by spin coating.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitation of, “a second insulating layer covering the first metal layer” (italicized portion), as disclosed by Park in the system of Lee, for the purpose of providing isolation between neighboring electrodes and as a pattern upon which to create a dedicated space for each light emitting diode. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of Lee et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, and Lee discloses, wherein the part of the first metal layer and the upper surface of the source/drain are in contact with a contact surface (in Lee’s Fig. 6, PE1 and 85b are in direct electrical connection with each other and are in in-direct contact with each other), and a third orthographic projection area of the contact surface projected on the substrate is within the second orthographic projection area of the energy-absorbing layer projected on the substrate (in Lee’s Fig. 6, in a vertical direction, 85b overlaps with RFL1 at various points along a horizontal direction and in vertical).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of Lee et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, and Lee discloses, wherein the material of the energy-absorbing layer (Lee’s RFL1) comprises aluminum, copper, silver, nickel, gold, or alloys thereof, and the material of the source/drain comprises molybdenum, aluminum, titanium, copper, indium, or alloys thereof (¶ 0142, “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”). It should be noted that the listing of materials presented are understood to be written as a “Markush group” (see MPEP § 2117 and 2173.05(h)).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of Lee et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, and Lee discloses in Fig. 8,
further comprising a contact pad (“connection electrode 150 … reflective layer 151”, ¶ 0125) disposed between the light-emitting element (LE) and the first metal layer (PE1),
wherein the contact pad (151 of 150) and the energy-absorbing layer (RFL1) comprise a same material (“reflective layer 151 may include, e.g., aluminum (Al), silver (Ag)”, ¶ 0125, and “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”, ¶ 0142), and the contact pad (150/151) is separated from the energy-absorbing layer (shown “separated” from RFL1).
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of Lee discloses in Figs. 6-8, a display device (see title, “Display Device”), comprising:
a substrate (“substrate 110”, ¶ 0102);
a first switching element (T1, “Switching elements T1, T2, and T3 may be positioned on the substrate 110”, ¶ 0102) disposed on the substrate (on 110) and having a source/drain (from Fig. 6, “a source electrode 85a, and a drain electrode 85b.”, ¶ 0104, where the convention of referring to “source/drain” is usually meant to signify the source and drain regions of the semiconductor region, on either side of the channel, it is understood here to signify the source/drain electrode 85b, as the electrode is the metal feature which Applicant’s disclosure and claim points to, as the limitations comparing the materials of the “energy absorbing layer” and the “source/drain electrode”.);
a second switching element (T2, “Switching elements T1, T2, and T3 may be positioned on the substrate 110”, ¶ 0102) disposed on the substrate (same previously mentioned 110) and having a source/drain (85b for T2);
a first insulating layer (130, ¶ 0113, wherein “The second planarization layer 130 and the first planarization layer 120 may include a same material.”, and insulating materials listed for 120 in ¶ 0111) covering the first switching element (covering T1) and the second switching element (covering T2) and having a first opening (130 has discontinuity that accommodates vertical via portion of PE1, hereinafter referred to as ‘FO’) and a second opening (130 has discontinuity that accommodates vertical via portion of PE2, hereinafter referred to as ‘SO’);
a second insulating layer (“bank layer BNL”, ¶ 0114, where the “insulating” aspect will be addressed in the combination rejection below) disposed over the first insulating layer (BNL disposed over 130);
a first metal layer (in “first emission area EA1”, ¶ 0121, the “first metal layer” is interpreted as PE1, “The first pixel electrode PE1, the second pixel electrode PE2, and the third pixel electrode PE3 may include a metal. The metal may include, e.g., copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), lead (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), lithium (Li), calcium (Ca)”, ¶ 0116) disposed in the second insulating layer (PE1 is disposed within BNL),
wherein a part of the first metal layer extends downward through the first opening (via portion of PE1 extends down through FO) and is electrically connected to the source/drain of the first switching element (PE1 through FO has a direct electrical connection to 85b of T1, “source electrode 85a and the drain electrode 85b”, ¶ 0110);
a second metal layer (in “second emission area EA2”, ¶ 0121, the “second metal layer” is interpreted as PE2, “The first pixel electrode PE1, the second pixel electrode PE2, and the third pixel electrode PE3 may include a metal. The metal may include, e.g., copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), lead (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), lithium (Li), calcium (Ca)”, ¶ 0116) disposed in the second insulating layer (PE2 in BNL),
wherein a part of the second metal layer extends downward through the second opening (via portion of PE2 extends down through SO) and is electrically connected to the source/drain of the second switching element (PE2 through SO has a direct electrical connection to 85b of T2, “source electrode 85a and the drain electrode 85b”, ¶ 0110);
a first energy-absorbing layer (in EA1 region, “first reflective layer RFL1”, ¶ 0135, the term “energy absorbing layer” is understood in the context of the material Applicant discloses for this material layer as elected in the metallic embodiment, which is, “the material of the energy-absorbing layer … may include aluminum, copper, silver, gold, nickel, or alloys thereof.”, from the Applicant’s specification in ¶ 0045. Thus if the prior art can disclose the material disclosed, the “energy absorbing” aspect can be satisfied. Lee discloses in ¶ 0142, “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”) disposed on the second insulating layer (portions of RFL are ‘on’ BNL),
wherein a first orthographic projection area of the first opening (‘FO’) projected on the substrate is within a second orthographic projection area of the first energy-absorbing layer (RFL1 in EA1) projected on the substrate (FO, RFL1 in EA1, and 110 all overlap in vertical direction);
a second energy-absorbing layer (in EA2 region, “first reflective layer RFL1”, ¶ 0135) disposed on the second insulating layer (on BNL in EA2),
wherein a third orthographic projection area of the second opening projected (‘SO’ in EA2 region) on the substrate (110) is within a fourth orthographic projection area of the second energy-absorbing layer (in EA2, RFL1) projected on the substrate (SO, RFL1 in EA2, and 110 all overlap in vertical direction),
wherein a reflectivity of a material of the first energy-absorbing layer and the second energy absorbing layer with respect to a laser is higher than a reflectivity of a material of the source/drain of the first switching element and the source/drain of the second switching element with respect to the laser (this limitation is understood to be a comparison between the metals listed in disclosure of applicant with regard to the “energy absorbing layer” and the “source/drain electrode”. That comparison is provided below, where materials which satisfy this limitation as understood by what is disclosed in Applicant’s specification, ¶ 0035, 0045. Then Lee teaches in ¶ 0110, 0142, the same materials for the “energy absorbing layer” RFL1 and the “source/drain electrode” 85b, thus satisfying this limitation. See Applicant/Lee material comparison in the “Notes about applicant’s materials listed:”, below), and
an absorptivity of the material of the first energy-absorbing layer and the second energy-absorbing layer with respect to the laser is lower than an absorptivity of the material of the source/drain with respect to the laser (this limitation is understood to be a comparison between the metals listed in disclosure of applicant with regard to the “energy absorbing layer” and the “source/drain electrode”. That comparison is provided below, where materials which satisfy this limitation as understood by what is disclosed in Applicant’s specification, ¶ 0035, 0045. Then Lee teaches in ¶ 0110, 0142, the same materials for the “energy absorbing layer” RFL1 and the “source/drain electrode” 85b, thus satisfying this limitation. See Applicant/Lee material comparison in the “Notes about applicant’s materials listed:”, below); and
a first metal pad (in EA1, “connection electrode 150 … reflective layer 151”, ¶ 0125) and a second metal pad (in EA2, “connection electrode 150 … reflective layer 151”, ¶ 0125) in contact with the first metal layer (PE1) and the second metal layer (PE1), respectively; and
a first light-emitting element and a second light-emitting element electrically connected to the first metal pad and the second metal pad, respectively.
a first light-emitting element (“light emitting element LE”, ¶ 0077, which is over PE1 in area EA1) and a second light-emitting element (“light emitting element LE”, ¶ 0077, which is over PE2 in area EA2) electrically connected to the first metal pad (LE in EA1 connects to 150) and the second metal pad (LE in EA2 connects to 150), respectively.
Supplemental discussion about the “energy absorbing” aspect, the “wherein a reflectivity of a material of the (first and second) energy-absorbing layer(s) with respect to a laser is higher than a reflectivity of a material of the source/drain with respect to the laser” limitation, and the “wherein an absorptivity of the material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to the laser is lower than an absorptivity of the material of the source/drain with respect to the laser” limitation:
It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USQP2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In this case, the reflective layer RFL1 of Lee would inherently have the property of an “energy absorbing layer”, because the reflective layer RFL1 of Lee is made of metals including aluminum and silver, which are the same as Applicant’s “energy absorbing layer” materials of metals including aluminum and silver, as disclosed.
In this case, the relationship between the equivalent “energy absorbing layer” (RFL1 of Lee) and the “source/drain” (85b of Lee) of “wherein a reflectivity of a material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to a laser is higher than a reflectivity of a material of the source/drain with respect to the laser” would inherently be satisfied by Lee’s equivalent features, because they are made of the same metals (respectively), which are the same as Applicant’s “energy absorbing layer” and “source/drain” materials as disclosed (see Applicant/Lee material comparison in the “Notes about applicant’s materials listed:”, below).
In this case, the relationship between the equivalent “energy absorbing layer” (RFL1 of Lee) and the “source/drain” (85b of Lee) of “wherein an absorptivity of the material of the energy-absorbing layer with respect to the laser is lower than an absorptivity of the material of the source/drain with respect to the laser” would inherently be satisfied by Lee’s equivalent features, because they are made of the same metals (respectively), which are the same as Applicant’s “energy absorbing layer” and “source/drain” materials as disclosed (see Applicant/Lee material comparison in the “Notes about applicant’s materials listed:”, below).
See MPEP 2112.01.
Notes about Applicant’s materials listed:
1. “energy absorbing layer” (¶ 0045, “the material of the energy-absorbing layer 150-1, the energy-absorbing layer 150-2, and the energy-absorbing layer 150-3 may include aluminum, copper, silver, gold, nickel”) and
2. “source/drain electrode” (¶ 0035, “the material of the source/drain S/D of the switching element T1 includes molybdenum (Mo), aluminum, titanium (Ti), copper, indium (In)”).
Notes about Lee’s materials listed:
1. “(first / second) energy absorbing layer” (e.g. RFL1) Lee discloses in ¶ 0142, “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”, and
2. “source/drain electrode” (e.g. 85b) Lee discloses in ¶ 0110, “The source electrode 85a and the drain electrode 85b may include a metal oxide such as ITO, IZO, ITZO, In.sub.2O.sub.3, and the like or a metal such as copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), aluminum (Al), molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), calcium (Ca), chromium (Cr), magnesium (Mg), nickel (Ni),”
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the “bank layer (BNL)” is an insulating layer, and therefore does not disclose, “a second insulating layer” (italicized portion).
Park discloses in Fig. 2 and in ¶ 0072, “The bank layer 119 may include at least one organic insulating material of PI, polyamide, acrylic resin, BCB, and phenolic resin, and may be formed by spin coating.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitation of, “a second insulating layer” (italicized portion), as disclosed by Park in the system of Lee, for the purpose of providing isolation between neighboring electrodes and as a pattern upon which to create a dedicated space for each light emitting diode. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of Lee et al. disclose the display device of claim 15, wherein the material of the first energy-absorbing layer and the second energy-absorbing layer is metallic (¶ 0142, “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”).
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of Lee et al. disclose the display device of claim 15, wherein the first energy-absorbing layer is separated from the first metal pad (in Lee’s Fig. 8, RFL1 is separated from 150).
Claims 4, 5, 9, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2024/0162397) in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0288046) in view of Kim et al. (US 12,063,816).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of Lee et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, and Lee discloses, wherein the energy-absorbing layer comprises a conductive material (¶ 0142, “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”), however Lee does not disclose, “the light-emitting element is electrically connected to the first metal layer through the energy-absorbing layer.”
Kim discloses in Fig. 10B, the light-emitting element (“light-emitting elements LD”, col. 10, line 47) is electrically connected to the first metal layer (“first electrode AE may be an anode”, col. 10, lines 54-55) through the energy-absorbing layer (“conductive pattern BDE2”, col. 20, line 18. Where “the conductive pattern BDE2 may be used as a reflective member RMTL which guide light emitted from the light-emitting element LD in the image display direction of the display device DD. To this end, the conductive pattern BDE2 may be made of an opaque conductive material having a reflectivity.”, col. 20, lines 27-33. Further, “The conductive material may include an opaque metal advantageous in reflecting light emitted from the light-emitting elements LD in the image display direction (or a desired direction) of the display device DD. The opaque metal may include, for example, a metal such as silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), or an alloy thereof.”, col. 19, lines 24-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitation of, “the light-emitting element is electrically connected to the first metal layer through the energy-absorbing layer.”, as disclosed by Kim in the system of Lee et al., for the purpose of merging an electrode that passes electric signal, with a light reflector to minimize the methods required to form both functional layers. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of Lee et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, and Lee discloses, wherein the second insulating layer has a second opening (the discontinuity in BNL which allows contact between PE1 and LE, hereinafter referred to as ‘SO’), the energy-absorbing layer is disposed in the second opening (RFL1 is formed in SO), …
and the first orthographic projection area of the first opening projected on the substrate is within a third orthographic projection area of the second opening projected on the substrate (FO and SO overlap vertically).
Lee does not disclose, “the light-emitting element is electrically connected to the first metal layer through the energy-absorbing layer”.
Kim discloses in Fig. 10B, the light-emitting element (“light-emitting elements LD”, col. 10, line 47) is electrically connected to the first metal layer (“first electrode AE may be an anode”, col. 10, lines 54-55) through the energy-absorbing layer (“conductive pattern BDE2”, col. 20, line 18. Where “the conductive pattern BDE2 may be used as a reflective member RMTL which guide light emitted from the light-emitting element LD in the image display direction of the display device DD. To this end, the conductive pattern BDE2 may be made of an opaque conductive material having a reflectivity.”, col. 20, lines 27-33. Further, “The conductive material may include an opaque metal advantageous in reflecting light emitted from the light-emitting elements LD in the image display direction (or a desired direction) of the display device DD. The opaque metal may include, for example, a metal such as silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), or an alloy thereof.”, col. 19, lines 24-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitation of, “the light-emitting element is electrically connected to the first metal layer through the energy-absorbing layer.”, as disclosed by Kim in the system of Lee et al., for the purpose of merging an electrode that passes electric signal, with a light reflector to minimize the methods required to form both functional layers. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of Lee discloses in Figs. 6-8, a display device (see title, “Display Device”), comprising:
a substrate (“substrate 110”, ¶ 0102);
a first switching element (T1, “Switching elements T1, T2, and T3 may be positioned on the substrate 110”, ¶ 0102) disposed on the substrate (110) and having a source/drain (from Fig. 6, “a source electrode 85a, and a drain electrode 85b.”, ¶ 0104, where the convention of referring to “source/drain” is usually meant to signify the source and drain regions of the semiconductor region, on either side of the channel, it is understood here to signify the source/drain electrode 85b, as the electrode is the metal feature which Applicant’s disclosure and claim points to, as the limitations comparing the materials of the “energy absorbing layer” and the “source/drain electrode”.);
a second switching element (T2, “Switching elements T1, T2, and T3 may be positioned on the substrate 110”, ¶ 0102) disposed on the substrate (same previously mentioned 110) and having a source/drain (85b for T2);
a first insulating layer (130, ¶ 0113, wherein “The second planarization layer 130 and the first planarization layer 120 may include a same material.”, and insulating materials listed for 120 in ¶ 0111) covering the first switching element (covering T1) and the second switching element (covering T2) and having a first opening (130 has discontinuity that accommodates vertical via portion of PE1, hereinafter referred to as ‘FO’) and a second opening (130 has discontinuity that accommodates vertical via portion of PE2, hereinafter referred to as ‘SO’); [it is noted that this “second opening”/SO is a second opening in “first insulating layer” which is different than the “second opening” which takes place in the “second insulating layer” as set forth in claim 5]
a second insulating layer (“bank layer BNL”, ¶ 0114, where the “insulating” aspect will be addressed in the combination rejection below) disposed over the first insulating layer (BNL disposed over 130);
a first metal layer (in “first emission area EA1”, ¶ 0121, the “first metal layer” is interpreted as PE1, “The first pixel electrode PE1, the second pixel electrode PE2, and the third pixel electrode PE3 may include a metal. The metal may include, e.g., copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), lead (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), lithium (Li), calcium (Ca)”, ¶ 0116) disposed in the second insulating layer (PE1 is disposed within BNL),
wherein a part of the first metal layer extends downward through the first opening (via portion of PE1 extends down through FO) and is electrically connected to the source/drain of the first switching element (PE1 through FO has a direct electrical connection to 85b of T1, “source electrode 85a and the drain electrode 85b”, ¶ 0110);
a second metal layer (in “second emission area EA2”, ¶ 0121, the “second metal layer” is interpreted as PE2, “The first pixel electrode PE1, the second pixel electrode PE2, and the third pixel electrode PE3 may include a metal. The metal may include, e.g., copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), lead (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), lithium (Li), calcium (Ca)”, ¶ 0116) disposed in the second insulating layer (PE2 in BNL), wherein a part of the second metal layer extends downward through the second opening (via portion of PE2 extends down through SO) and is electrically connected to the source/drain of the second switching element (PE2 through SO has a direct electrical connection to 85b of T2, “source electrode 85a and the drain electrode 85b”, ¶ 0110);
a first metal pad (The Applicant’s only embodiment that refers to the “metal pad” 132 which is shown in Fig. 1, which is integrally formed as the same material layer as the metal layer 131. Lee shows an analogous feature of Applicant’s 132 portion as “first reflective layer RFL1” in area EA1, ¶ 0135. So the “first metal pad” is interpreted to be RFL1 which is a reflective layer, but does not function as a ‘pad’, which will be addressed in the combination rejection below.) disposed on the second insulating layer (RFL1 on ends of BNL),
wherein a first orthographic projection area of the first opening (FO) projected on the substrate (110) is within a second orthographic projection area of the first metal pad (RFL1) projected on the substrate (RFL1 in EA1 overlaps vertically with SO and 110);
a second metal pad (The Applicant’s only embodiment that refers to the “metal pad” 132 which is shown in Fig. 1, which is integrally formed as the same material layer as the metal layer 131. Lee shows an analogous feature of Applicant’s 132 portion as “first reflective layer RFL1” in area EA2, ¶ 0135. So the “first metal pad” is interpreted to be RFL1 which is a reflective layer, but does not function as a ‘pad’, which will be addressed in the combination rejection below.) disposed on the second insulating layer (RFL1 on ends of BNL),
wherein a third orthographic projection area of the second opening (SO) projected on the substrate (110) is within a fourth orthographic projection area of the second metal pad projected on the substrate (RFL1 in EA2 overlaps vertically with SO and 110),
wherein an absorptivity of a material of the first metal pad (RFL1 in EA1) and the second metal pad (RFL1 in EA2) with respect to a laser is lower than an absorptivity of a material of the source/drain of the first switching element and the source/drain of the second switching element with respect to the laser (this limitation is understood to be a comparison between the metals listed in disclosure of applicant with regard to the “first metal pad/second metal pad” and the “source/drain electrode” of the T1 and T2. That comparison is provided below, where materials which satisfy this limitation as understood by what is disclosed in Applicant’s specification, ¶ 0035, 0045. Then Lee teaches in ¶ 0110, 0142, the same materials for the “energy absorbing layer” RFL1 and the “source/drain electrode” 85b, thus satisfying this limitation. See Applicant/Lee material comparison in the “Notes about applicant’s materials listed:”, below); and
a first light-emitting element (“light emitting element LE”, ¶ 0077, which is over PE1 in area EA1) and a second light-emitting element (“light emitting element LE”, ¶ 0077, which is over PE2 in area EA2) electrically connected to the first metal layer (LE in EA1 connects to PE1) and the second metal layer (LE in EA2 connects to PE2), respectively.
Supplemental discussion about the “absorptivity” aspect, the “wherein an absorptivity of a material of the first metal pad and the second metal pad with respect to a laser is lower than an absorptivity of a material of the source/drain of the first switching element and the source/drain of the second switching element with respect to the laser”, limitation:
It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USQP2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In this case, the “first metal pad/second metal pad” (RFL1) of Lee would inherently have the relationship property with respect to the of an “wherein an absorptivity of a material of the first metal pad and the second metal pad with respect to a laser is lower than an absorptivity of a material of the source/drain of the first switching element and the source/drain of the second switching element with respect to the laser”, because the “first metal pad/second metal pad” (RFL1) of Lee are made of metals including aluminum and silver, which are the same as Applicant’s “first metal pad/second metal pad” materials of metals including aluminum and silver” and Lee’s equivalent to “the source/drain of the first switching element and the source/drain of the second switching element”, are the “85b may include a metal oxide such as ITO, IZO, ITZO, In.sub.2O.sub.3, and the like or a metal such as copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), aluminum (Al), molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), calcium (Ca), chromium (Cr), magnesium (Mg), nickel (Ni),”, as disclosed. See MPEP 2112.01.
Notes about Applicant’s materials listed:
1. “first metal pad/second metal pad” (¶ 0035, “the material of the metal pad 132-1b includes aluminum, copper, silver (As), gold (Au), nickel, or alloys thereof.”) and
2. “source/drain electrode” (¶ 0035, “the material of the source/drain S/D of the switching element T1 includes molybdenum (Mo), aluminum, titanium (Ti), copper, indium (In)”).
Notes about Lee’s materials listed:
1. “first metal pad/second metal pad” (e.g. RFL1) Lee discloses in ¶ 0142, “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”, and
2. “source/drain electrode” (e.g. 85b) Lee discloses in ¶ 0110, “The source electrode 85a and the drain electrode 85b may include a metal oxide such as ITO, IZO, ITZO, In.sub.2O.sub.3, and the like or a metal such as copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), aluminum (Al), molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), calcium (Ca), chromium (Cr), magnesium (Mg), nickel (Ni),”.
First, Lee does not explicitly disclose that the “bank layer (BNL)” is an insulating layer, and therefore does not disclose, “a second insulating layer covering the first metal layer” (italicized portion).
Park discloses in Fig. 2 and in ¶ 0072, “The bank layer 119 may include at least one organic insulating material of PI, polyamide, acrylic resin, BCB, and phenolic resin, and may be formed by spin coating.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitation of, “a second insulating layer covering the first metal layer” (italicized portion), as disclosed by Park in the system of Lee, for the purpose of providing isolation between neighboring electrodes and as a pattern upon which to create a dedicated space for each light emitting diode. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Second, Lee does not disclose that the RFL1 is integrally connected a pad portion, so then Lee does not disclose, “a first metal pad … a second metal pad”.
Kim discloses in Fig. 10B, a feature identified as “RMTL”, which is similarly equivalent to the “a first metal pad … a second metal pad” feature of Lee’s (Fig. 6) RFL1 layer. The Lee reference, shows that the RFL1 layer is formed on the equivalent “second insulating film” which is Lee’s BNL layer. So the RFL1 layer is formed on BNL and also within the discontinuity in BNL. What is missing in Lee is that RFL1 functions as a reflector, but not as a pad. However in the prior art, a reference such as Kim, shows in Fig. 10B, where a reflector RMTL (“reflective member RMTL”, col. 20, lines 28-29) also functions as a pad (a portion of RMTL is formed between “first electrode AE”, col. 20 lines 34-35, and the “light emitting element LD”, col. 20, lines 25-26, thus RMTL also functions as a “pad” for the light emitting diode. RMTL is a “conductive pattern BDE2”, col. 20, line 18. Where “the conductive pattern BDE2 may be used as a reflective member RMTL which guide light emitted from the light-emitting element LD in the image display direction of the display device DD. To this end, the conductive pattern BDE2 may be made of an opaque conductive material having a reflectivity.”, col. 20, lines 27-33).
Therefore when modifying Lee’s RFL1 in both regions EA1 and EA2, then the above teaching of Kim satisfies, “a first metal pad … a second metal pad”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitation of, “a first metal pad … a second metal pad”, as disclosed by Kim in the system of Lee, for the purpose of merging an electrode that passes electric signal, with a light reflector to minimize the methods required to form both functional layers. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of Lee et al. disclose the display device of claim 9, wherein the material of the first metal pad and the second metal pad comprises aluminum, molybdenum, titanium, copper, indium, or alloys thereof (Lee discloses that RFL1 in ¶ 0142, “first reflective layer RFL1 may include aluminum, silver, the like, or an alloy thereof.”), and the material of the source/drain of the first switching element and the source/drain of the second switching element comprises molybdenum, aluminum, titanium, copper, indium, or alloys thereof (Lee discloses in ¶ 0110, “The source electrode 85a and the drain electrode 85b may include a metal oxide such as ITO, IZO, ITZO, In.sub.2O.sub.3, and the like or a metal such as copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), aluminum (Al), molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), calcium (Ca), chromium (Cr), magnesium (Mg), nickel (Ni),”).
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of Lee et al. disclose the display device of claim 9, and Lee discloses in Fig. 6, wherein the second insulating layer (BNL) has a third opening (discontinuity in BNL in area EA1, hereinafter referred to as ‘TO’), the first metal pad (RFL1 which is also combined with the Kim reference in the combination rejection of claim 9 to be a reflector and a pad) is disposed in the third opening (RFL1 in ‘TO’), and the first light-emitting element (LE in EA1) is electrically connected to the first metal layer (PE1) through the first metal pad (again, the combination rejection of claim 9 under Lee in view of Kim, modified RFL1 to not only be a reflector, but also a pad RMTL in Kim’s Fig. 10B, to intervene between LED and lower electrode AE), and the first orthographic projection area of the first opening (FO) projected on the substrate (110) is within a fifth orthographic projection area of the third opening (TO) projected on the substrate (FO and TO are vertically aligned and overlap).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 11 and 12 are objected to, due to their dependence of claim 10.
“10. (Original) The display device of claim 9, further comprising a third metal pad disposed between the first light-emitting element and the first metal layer, wherein the third metal pad and the first metal pad comprise a same material, and the third metal pad is separated from the first metal pad.”
Contact Information
/EDUARDO A RODELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893