DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, line 1, add --electrode-- after “the bottom.”
In claim 19, line 3, substitute “the remaining” with --a-- before “portion of the bottom electrode.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US Pub. 2015/0035096; hereinafter “Han”).
Regarding Claim 1, Han discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack 50 (page 7, paragraph 68); and a bottom electrode 40 (page 4, paragraph 50) below the MTJ stack 50 (see fig. 2B), wherein a portion 40a (vertical portion) of a bottom electrode 40 is vertically aligned with a portion of the MTJ stack 50 (see fig. 2B) and a remaining portion 40b (horizontal portion) of the bottom electrode 40 extends horizontally beyond the MTJ stack 50 (see figs. 2A and 2B).
Regarding Claim 6, Han discloses wherein the MTJ stack 50 comprises a reference layer 52 (fixed layer), a tunneling barrier 54 and a free layer 56 (page 7, paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 7, Han discloses wherein a remaining portion (edge region) of the MTJ stack 50 is vertically aligned with a lower metal wire (SL) (page 4, paragraph 49) (see figs. 2A and 2B), wherein an inter-layer dielectric (32, 42) (page 4, paragraph 47; page 7, paragraph 67) is sandwiched between the remaining portion (edge portion) of the MTJ stack 50 and the lower metal wire (SL) (see fig. 2B).
Regarding Claim 8, Han discloses wherein the bottom electrode 40 comprises a metal nitride (page 7, paragraph 66).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frougier et al. (US Pub. 2021/0280776; hereinafter “Frougier”).
Regarding Claim 16, Frougier discloses a method comprising: forming a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (41-44) (page 3, paragraph 34) on a sacrificial layer 11 (page 3, paragraph 30) (see fig. 7), a portion (side portion) of a sacrificial layer 11 is vertically aligned with a portion of the MTJ stack (41-44) (see fig. 7) and a remaining portion (middle portion) of the sacrificial layer 11 extends horizontally beyond the MTJ stack (41-44) (see fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 recites the bottom electrode comprises an interior void.
Claim 17 recites forming a bottom electrode below the MTJ stack after forming the MTJ stack, wherein the bottom electrode is hollow.
These features in combination with the other elements of the base claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 3-5 and 18-20 variously depend from claim 2 or 17, so they are objected for the same reason.
Claims 9-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 9 recites the bottom electrode comprises an interior void.
These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 10-15 depend from claim 9, so they are allowed for the same reason.
Conclusion
/CHEUNG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 March 19, 2026