DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 12/1/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it has more than one paragraph. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2020-38311 (herein after JP-311; provided with IDS of dated 5/31/2024) as supported with JPH083334939 A (herein after JP-939).
Note: All the citations below would be found in the English translation of the JP-311 and JP-939.
Regarding claim 1, JP-311 discloses a process of making a water-repellent antireflection structure, in which a plurality of column protrusions (32) are provided on a multilayered film structure 2, the height of the columnar protrusions 32 is 90 nm, and the columnar protrusions 32 are formed using Si3N4, which is an inorganic transparent material with a high degree of hardness" (paragraph [0036]: Si3N4 or Al203; paragraphs [0057]-[0068], [0128], and an average value of 90 nm for the height H of the columnar protrusions; fig. 7), which reads on the limitation of the average height of the protruding portion is “1 micrometer or less”; and aforesaid column protrusions (32) reads on the claimed “fine uneven structure having a stair shape having one or more stairs in a vertical cross -sectional shape of the functional membrane”.
JP-311 discloses etching the hard inorganic layer using a mask pattern (6) to form the columnar protruding structure (32) [0085], [0089],[0090] and the patterned mask 6 is composed of metal [0086].
JP-311 may not explicitly disclose that the Mohs hardness of the inorganic material satisfy the Formula 1: 10 ≥ X x Y, when the Mohs hardness is denoted as X and the number of the stairs of the protruding portions is denoted by Y.
However, JP-311 discloses above that the inorganic material may comprises silicon nitride (Si3N4) and JP-939 disclose that the Mosh hardness of silicon nitride is 9-10; and for Al2O3 is 9 [0035]; and assuming the number of stairs is 1 and Mohs hardness of silicon nitride (inorganic material) is about 10 and therefore, such satisfy the claimed Formula 1.
Regarding claims 2-3, JP-311 discloses a water-repellent layer 4 provided so as to cover the fine concave-convex structure 3 [0023]; and the water-repellent layer 4 is provided so as to cover the fine concave-convex structure 3 [0024] and Figure 7.3
Regarding claim 4, the water-repellent antireflection structure, in which a plurality of column protrusions (32) are provided on a multilayered film structure 2 is a mesh shape (see at least Figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, JP-311 discloses that a water-repellent layer 4 s formed of a water-repellent material having a contact angle of 90 ° or more with respect to a water droplet when applied to a smooth surface [0053], which contact angle overlaps the claimed range of 110 degrees or more.
Regarding claim 9, JP-311 discloses a step of forming a plurality of conical or pyramidal projections 31 or a plurality of columnar projections 32 by an ion etching method using a reactive ion gas to obtain the fine uneven structure 3 [0084]; therefore, isotropic and anisotropic etching being combined during the formation of the columnar projections 32.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2020-38311 (herein after JP-311; provided with IDS of dated 5/31/2024) as supported with JPH083334939 A (herein after JP-939 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Singh (US 2022/0390836).
Regarding 10, JP-311 may not disclose the number of the stairs of the protruding portions is 2 but it would have been optimized into two steps or stairs because it would have been a simple design choice.
However, Singh discloses a process of making a method of making a plurality of discrete structures 520 on a substrate 102 by using a masking martial (522, 526 in Fig 5) in order to form a protruding structure having two steps or stairs (520b) in step 512, wherein the mask material is metal [0055]-[0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Singh's teaching of forming a plurality of discrete structures into the teaching of JP-311 for efficiently forming the structure having at least two steps or stairs as suggested by Singh.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of co-pending Application No. 18/274,626 (US pub 2024/0308902) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the dry etching step in the application ‘626 encompasses the generic etching step to form the plurality of the fine uneven structure in the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or renders obvious to a process step, wherein “before forming the mask, a compound that reacts with the metal is disposed on a layer that will be adjacent to the mask, and the mask is formed such that the mask has contact with the compound that reacts with the metal” as the context of claim 6.
Claims 7-8 are directly depends on claim 6 and are also objected.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713