DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 4,427,252) in view of Eliassen (US 9,397,430).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a terminal assembly for connecting a cable to a busbar, the terminal assembly comprising: a tubular body (16) having a tubular portion disposed about a central axis and an annular end-wall disposed proximal to one end (left in Fig. 2) of the tubular portion, the tubular body defining an elongate recess (at 36) extending from another end (right in Fig. 2) of the tubular portion along the central axis, the elongate recess is configured to receive a free end of the cable therein; and a fastener (26) protruding outwardly from the annular end-wall of the tubular body, wherein the fastener includes: a first portion (inside 16) configured to be received within the tubular body; and a second portion (inside 14) having a plurality of external threads thereon, the second portion is configured to be received within an opening in the busbar to establish an electrical connection between the cable and the busbar through the tubular body and the fastener (intended use).
Lee discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the tubular portion being a crimp portion. Eliassen teaches the use of a tubular crimp portion (36) configured to be crimped onto the free end such that the free end of the cable is mechanically and electrically secured to the tubular body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a crimp connection, as taught by Eliassen, in order to provide a more permanent connection.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the tubular body defining an opening (34) extending from the annular end-wall along the central axis, and a plurality of internal threads adjacent to the opening and radially disposed about the central axis.
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the first portion of the fastener defining a plurality of external threads, and wherein the plurality of external threads on the first portion engage with the plurality of internal threads on the tubular body to removably couple the first portion of the fastener with the tubular body (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the first portion of the fastener including a taper portion (right side in Fig. 2A) that is received within the opening, and wherein the taper portion engages with the tubular body to retain the fastener within the tubular body.
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses a first diameter of the elongate recess being greater than a second diameter of the opening (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the opening extending at least partially along the annular end-wall (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the elongate recess and the opening being in communication with each other (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses at least one washer (flange of 14), wherein, upon receipt of the second portion of the fastener within the opening in the busbar, the at least one washer surrounds the second portion of the fastener (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the fastener including any one of a stud and a bolt (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses a machine comprising: an electrical component and employing the terminal assembly of claim 1.
Claim 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Eliassen, and further in view of Koch (US 3,052,866).
Regarding claim 2, Koch teaches the use of a coupling member (17) configured to couple the fastener (5) with the busbar upon receipt of the second portion of the fastener within the opening in the busbar (intended use), the coupling member defining a plurality of internal threads that engage with the plurality of external threads on the second portion of the fastener to releasably secure the tubular body and the fastener with the busbar (intended use). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a coupling member, as taught by Koch, in order to provide a stronger and more secure connection between the fastener and the coupling member.
Regarding claim 3, Koch discloses the coupling member being a nut (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the tubular body defining a means to grip the tubular body (friction texture, see Fig. 1) for securing the coupling member to the fastener.
Regarding claim 5, Lee disclose a length of the means to grip the tubular body is less than or equal to a length of the tubular body.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigl et al. (US 5,902,150) in view of Eliassen and Bradfield (US 9,154,022).
Regarding claim 15, Sigl discloses (in Figs. 1-3) a system for creating an electrical junction, the system comprising: a busbar (110) defining an opening; [a cable] mating element (not shown, to be connected to 101, 116) having a free end; and a terminal assembly (120) for connecting the mating element to the busbar, the terminal assembly including: a tubular body having a tubular portion disposed about a central axis and an annular end-wall (right side in Figs. 2 and 3) disposed proximal to one end of the tubular portion, the tubular body defining an elongate recess (not labeled, inside 120) extending from another end (left side in Figs. 2 and 3) of the tubular portion along the central axis, the elongate recess is configured to receive the free end of the mating element therein, wherein the free end of the mating element is inserted within the elongate recess of the tubular body to electrically connect the mating element to the tubular body; and a fastener (108) protruding outwardly from the annular end-wall of the tubular body, wherein the fastener includes: a first portion (left end) configured to be received within the tubular body; and a second portion (inside 110 in Fig. 2) having a plurality of external threads thereon, the second portion projecting outwardly beyond the annular end-wall, such that the annular end-wall bears against a surface of the busbar.
Sigl discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the free end of the cable is crimped within the elongate recess of the tubular body to electrically connect the cable to the tubular body. Eliassen teaches the free end of the cable crimped within the elongate recess (36) of the tubular body to electrically connect the cable to the tubular body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a crimp connection, as taught by Eliassen, in order to provide a more permanent connection.
Sigl discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the second portion being configured to be received within the opening in the busbar from a side of the busbar facing the annular end-wall. Bradfield teaches a fastener (50) including a second portion (top in Fig. 10) being configured to be received within the opening in the busbar (51) from a side of the busbar facing an annular end-wall (73), such that the annular end-wall bears against a surface of the busbar. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a fastener, as taught by Bradfield, in order to allow alignment of the connecting elements before final fastening.
Regarding claim 16, Bradfield discloses the terminal assembly including a coupling member (92) configured to couple the fastener with the busbar upon receipt of the second portion of the fastener within the opening in the busbar, the coupling member defining a plurality of internal threads that engage with the plurality of external threads on the second portion of the fastener to releasably secure the tubular body and the fastener with the busbar.
Regarding claim 17, Sigl discloses the tubular body defining a means to grip the tubular body (outer surface) for securing the coupling member to the fastener.
Regarding claim 18, Sigl discloses the tubular body defining an opening (see Fig. 3)) extending from the annular end-wall along the central axis, and a plurality of internal threads adjacent to the opening and radially disposed about the central axis.
Regarding claim 19, Sigl discloses the first portion of the fastener defines a plurality of external threads (at 108), and wherein the plurality of external threads on the first portion engage with the plurality of internal threads on the tubular body to removably couple the first portion of the fastener with the tubular body.
Regarding claim 20, Sigl discloses a first diameter (at 117) of the elongate recess being greater than a second diameter of the opening (at 120 in Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833