DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-19 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (US 10,128,615, cited on IDS) in view of Siebens (US 8,882,548).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas discloses a terminal assembly for a cable, the terminal assembly comprising: an elongated tongue (226) adapted for connection with a busbar (intended use); a tubular body (206) disposed about a central axis, the tubular body having an end-wall integral with one end of the elongated tongue, the tubular body having a recess (220) extending partway along its length; a ferrule (100) coaxial with the tubular body, the ferrule having a tubular portion (102) and a projection (120) axially extending therefrom, the projection adapted for receipt by the recess of the tubular body to contact with the tubular body, the tubular portion defining a cylindrical recess (110) to receive a free end of the cable therein, wherein at least one of the tubular body and the ferrule defines a plurality of external threads (114); and a coupling member (300) defining a plurality of internal threads (302) to engage with the plurality of external threads on at least one of the tubular body and the ferrule to removably secure the ferrule with the tubular body to establish electrical connectivity between the cable and the busbar.
Thomas discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the co-axial arrangement between the tongue and the tubular body. Siebens teaches an elongated tongue (120) extending from a mid-portion of the end-wall such that the elongated tongue is co-axial with the central axis of the tubular body (116). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a coaxial arrangement, as taught by Siebens, in order to facilitate connection regardless of orientation.
Regarding claim 2, Thomas discloses the elongated tongue integrally formed (i.e. attached) with the busbar (intended use).
Regarding claim 3, Thomas discloses a portion of the elongated tongue overlaps and abuts with a portion of the busbar (Fig. 17), and wherein the terminal assembly further includes at least one mechanical fastener (206, 504) configured to removably couple the elongated tongue and the busbar.
Regarding claim 4, Thomas discloses the elongated tongue defining one or more holes (230) configured to receive a corresponding mechanical fastener from the at least one mechanical fastener therethrough.
Regarding claim 5, Thomas discloses (in Fig. 22) the tubular body having a first radial projection (210) extending from an outer surface of the tubular body to form an end of the tubular body disposed proximal to at least one of the ferrule and the elongated tongue.
Regarding claim 6, Thomas discloses the plurality of external threads located on the tubular body (Figs. 22 and 23).
Regarding claim 7, Thomas discloses (in Fig. 21) the ferrule including a second radial projection (112) extending from the tubular portion and located proximal to the projection.
Regarding claim 8, Thomas discloses the plurality of external threads located on the second radial projection of the ferrule (Figs. 20 and 21).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas discloses the tubular portion of the ferrule defining a means to grip (116) the ferrule to torque the coupling member against the ferrule.
Regarding claim 12, Thomas discloses the recess of the tubular body tapers (Fig. 7) along the central axis, such that the recess defines a larger diameter at an end (left) of the tubular body disposed proximal to the ferrule.
Regarding claim 13, Thomas discloses the projection (120) of the ferrule tapering along the central axis, such that the projection defines a larger diameter at an end of the projection that is coupled with the tubular portion.
Regarding claim 14, Thomas discloses a machine comprising: an electrical component and employing the terminal assembly of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Thomas discloses a system for creating an electrical junction, the system comprising: a conductor (502); a cable (400) having a free end; and a terminal assembly (100) for the cable, the terminal assembly including: an elongated tongue (226) adapted for connection with the busbar; a tubular body (204) disposed about a central axis, the tubular body having an end-wall integral with one end of the elongated tongue, the tubular body having a recess (220) extending partway along its length; a ferrule (102) coaxial with the tubular body, the ferrule having a tubular portion (106) and a projection (120) axially extending therefrom, the projection adapted for receipt by the recess of the tubular body to contact with the tubular body, the tubular portion defining a cylindrical recess (110) to receive the free end of the cable therein, wherein at least one of the tubular body and the ferrule defines a plurality of external threads (114); and a coupling member (300) defining a plurality of internal threads (302) to engage with the plurality of external threads on at least one of the tubular body and the ferrule to removably secure the ferrule with the tubular body to establish electrical connectivity between the cable and the busbar.
Thomas disclose substantially the claimed invention except for the co-axial arrangement between the tongue and the tubular body, and the conductor being a busbar. Siebens teaches an elongated tongue (120) to connect to a busbar (106, 112) and extending from a mid-portion of the end-wall such that the elongated tongue is co-axial with the central axis of the tubular body (116). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a coaxial arrangement, as taught by Siebens, in order to facilitate connection regardless of orientation.
Regarding claim 16, Thomas discloses the elongated tongue integrally formed (i.e. attached) with the busbar.
Regarding claim 17, Thomas discloses a portion of the elongated tongue overlapping and abutting with a portion of the busbar (Fig. 17), and wherein the terminal assembly further includes at least one mechanical fastener (506, 504) configured to removably couple the elongated tongue and the busbar.
Regarding claim 18, Thomas discloses the plurality of external threads located on the tubular body (Figs. 22 and 23).
Regarding claim 19, Thomas discloses the ferrule including a radial projection (112) extending from the tubular portion and located proximal to the projection, and wherein the plurality of external threads (114) located on the radial projection of the ferrule.
Claims 9, 10, and 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas and Siebens, and further in view of Dieterle et al. (US 7,494,362).
Regarding claim 9, Dieterle teaches the use of at least one washer (28, Fig. 11) positioned between a coupling member (30) and one of the tubular body (48) and the ferrule. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a washer, as taught by Dieterle, in order to reduce the chances of disconnection by vibration.
Regarding claim 10, Thomas discloses the coupling member being a hexagonal nut (300), and wherein the hexagonal nut has an internal flange (304) that abuts with the at least one washer.
Regarding claim 20, Dieterle teaches the use of at least one washer (28, Fig. 11) positioned between a coupling member (30) and one of the tubular body (48) and the ferrule. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a washer, as taught by Dieterle, in order to reduce the chances of disconnection by vibration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a coaxial arrangement, as taught by Siebens, in order to facilitate connection regardless of orientation. Please note that the use of a coaxial arrangement instead of an offset arrangement allows for a constant connection regardless of the orientation, thus allowing for an easier/faster connection by eliminating the step of choosing and setting up the correct orientation.
In response to Applicant's arguments that the modification would destroy Thomas’s fundamental variable-clocking feature, please note that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to choose features based on desirability, environment and economy. Rearranging the position of part based on desirability, environment and economy is clearly within the skill of a worker in the art. Such rearrangement does not make the device of Thomas useless.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833