DETAILED ACTION
Currently, claims 1-8, 10-13, 22, and 23 are being examined, while the remaining claims have been canceled/withdrawn.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “wherein the radiating portion is exposed without an insulating layer extending therearound”. However, there is insufficient support for this specific negative claim limitation the specification. Furthermore, fig. 1 of the instant application appears to contradict this claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rossetto, U.S. 9,173,706 (hereinafter Rossetto).
Regarding claim 1, Rossetto discloses (note paragraphs 6-7B) an energy delivery system comprising: a generator (14) configured to generate an electrical signal having a ‘predetermined’ (necessarily) operating frequency for an ablation operation; and an ablation probe (112) coupled to the generator and configured to receive the electrical signal from the generator, the ablation probe necessarily configured for the operating frequency and including: a flexible body portion (note col. 2, line 49) including an ‘inner conductor’ (composed of proximal regions of ‘150’, ‘152’, and ‘156’ surrounded by ‘157’), an outer conductor (158), and a dielectric (157) between the inner and outer conductors; and a ‘radiating portion’ (‘170’ - composed of distal/exposed regions of ‘150’, ‘152’, ‘156’, and ‘180a’) electrically connected to and extending distally from the inner conductor, the radiating portion capable of being configured to radiate energy received from the electrical signal to provide a circular ablation zone (note col. 1, line 43; col. 6, lines 10-46), the radiating portion having a fixed length between 0.35 and 0.65 times an operating wavelength (note col. 5, line 20), the operating wavelength necessarily being dependent on the operating frequency of the electrical signal.
Regarding claim 2, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system capable of meeting the claimed functional limitations. It should be noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claims 4-5, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system wherein the operating wavelength corresponds to the claimed operating frequency (note col. 5, lines 6).
Regarding claim 7, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system wherein radiating portion is an extension of the inner conductor that is not surrounded by the outer conductor (note fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 8, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system wherein the flexible body portion and the radiating portion comprises a coaxial cable (note col. 2, line 64; fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 10, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system further comprising: a fluid cooling system (note col. 2, line 43; col. 4, line 21) including one or more cooling conduits extending along the flexible body portion and providing inlet flow (via ‘86’); and an outer jacket enclosing the flexible body portion, the radiating portion, and the one or more cooling conduits in an interior thereof, the interior configured to be filled with saline (note col. 4, line 21) from the one or more cooling conduits and providing a conduit for outlet flow (to ‘88’).
Regarding claim 11, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system wherein the ablation probe further comprises a ‘cap structure’ (180a) necessarily ‘encompassing’ (i.e., partially defining) the radiating portion.
Regarding claim 22, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system wherein the ‘flexible body portion’ comprises a ‘distal end’ (see point where ‘150’, ‘152’, and ‘156’ are no longer surrounded by ‘157’ – i.e., the proximal boundary of ‘170’), the inner conductor, the outer conductor, and the dielectric of the flexible body portion extending to the distal end, the radiating portion disposed distally of the distal end of the flexible body portion.
Regarding claim 23, Rossetto discloses (see above; as best understood by Examiner) an energy delivery system wherein the radiating portion is exposed without an insulating layer extending therearound (i.e., nothing surrounds ‘156’ and ‘180a’ – note fig. 7B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossetto in view of Hancock, U.S. 11,344,367 (hereinafter Hancock).
Regarding claim 3, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system where the ablation probe necessarily provides a reflectivity. However, Rossetto fails to explicitly disclose that the reflectivity is equal to or less than -10 dB. Hancock teaches a similar system (see abstract) comprising an ablation probe that provides a reflectivity that is equal to or less than -10 dB (note col. 3, line 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the system of Rossetto to comprise an ablation probe that provides a reflectivity that is equal to or less than -10 dB (as taught by Hancock). This is because this modification would have merely comprised a simple substitution with known parameter values in order to produce a predictable (and desirable) result.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossetto.
Regarding claim 6, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system wherein the radiating portion is an extension of the inner conductor. However, Rossetto fails to explicitly disclose that the radiating portion is separate from the inner conductor and attached thereto. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have constructed the energy delivery system in this manner (i.e., multiple attached components instead of a single integral component), since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossetto in view of Kim, U.S. 2011/0238055 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 12, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system comprising a flexible body portion, a radiating portion, and a cap structure. However, Rossetto fails to explicitly disclose a barrier encompassing these components. Kim teaches (note figs. 3-8) a similar apparatus comprising a flexible body portion (note paragraph 41), a radiating portion (portion of inner conductor ‘210’ that extends distally beyond outer conductor ‘260/660’), and a cap structure (351), and further comprising a barrier (322) encompassing these components. It is well known in the art that this insulative barrier configuration (note paragraph 65) would minimize unwanted electrical currents, thereby resulting in increased safety. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the system of Rossetto to comprise a barrier encompassing the flexible body portion, the radiating portion, and the cap structure (as taught by Kim) in order to increase safety.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossetto in view of Kasevich, U.S. 6,233,490 (hereinafter Kasevich).
Regarding claim 13, Rossetto discloses (see above) an energy delivery system comprising a generator and an ablation probe, but fails to explicitly disclose an impedance matching device electrically coupled between the generator and the ablation probe to adjust reflected power to the generator. Kasevich teaches a similar system comprising a generator, an energy delivery probe, and an impedance matching device electrically coupled therebetween (note col. 2, line 21). This design has been utilized to “maximize power transfer therebetween” (note col. 2, line 21), thereby resulting in increased efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the system of Rossetto to comprise an impedance matching device electrically coupled between the generator and the ablation probe in order to maximize power transfer and increase efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 5, 2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning Rossetto, Examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically, Examiner maintains that the claims (including the new claim language) have been met by Rossetto as they are currently written, due to the breadth of limitations such as “inner conductor,” “radiating portion,” and “distal end” (see above rejections for updated interpretation). Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning the ‘circular ablation zone’ of Rossetto, Examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically, Examiner maintains that Rossetto would be capable of providing a circular ablation zone, as can be seen in the rejection of claim 1 above (and as noted previously). As above, it should be noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, Examiner asserts that the claims are still met in view of the cited references.
Conclusion
/THOMAS A GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794