Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palombini (US Patent No. 11273724 B1), in view of Wiegman (US Patent No. 20230208148).
In re claim 1, Palombini teaches A data logging and transmission device for an electric aircraft having a charging port for on-ground charging of an energy storage system of an electric propulsion system of the aircraft (Col 5, lines 34-43: “FIG. 3 illustrates a block diagram of an electrical system for recharging an electric aircraft, which may, without limitation, be incorporated in station 100. In one embodiment, an electric aircraft 300 may be electrically coupled to a rechargeable component 302 of station 100. Rechargeable component 302 may have a plurality of connections to comply with various electric air vehicle needs. In one embodiment, rechargeable component 302 may connect to manned and unmanned electric aircrafts of various sizes, such as an EVTOL or a drone.” and col 19, lines 37-54: “As used in this disclosure a “flight controller” is a computing device of a plurality of computing devices dedicated to data storage... Flight controller 904 may include and/or communicate with any computing device as described in this disclosure, including without limitation a microcontroller, microprocessor, digital signal processor (DSP) and/or system on a chip (SoC) as described in this disclosure… In embodiments, flight controller 904 may be installed in an aircraft, may control the aircraft remotely, and/or may include an element installed in the aircraft and a remote element in communication therewith.”), [the device comprising]: a control unit (SEE FIG. 9 Flight Controller 904 and FIG. 13, Processor 1304), a data storage unit (SEE FIG. 9 Flight Controller 904 and FIG. 13, Storage Device 1324), a transmitter (SEE FIG. 9 Flight Controller 904 and FIG. 13, Network Interface 1340), wherein the control unit is configured such that:
in a state of flight of the electric aircraft, the control unit collects inflight data from the electric aircraft (Cols 21-22, lines 58-67 and 1-6: “In an embodiment, and without limitation, logic component 920 may be configured to calculate a flight element 924. As used in this disclosure a “flight element” is an element of datum denoting a relative status of aircraft. For example, and without limitation, flight element 924 may denote one or more torques, thrusts, airspeed velocities, forces, altitudes, groundspeed velocities, directions during flight, directions facing, forces, orientations, and the like thereof. For example, and without limitation, flight element 924 may denote that aircraft is cruising at an altitude and/or with a sufficient magnitude of forward thrust. As a further non-limiting example, flight status may denote that is building thrust and/or groundspeed velocity in preparation for a takeoff. As a further non-limiting example, flight element 924 may denote that aircraft is following a flight path accurately and/or sufficiently.”) and saves the inflight data to the data storage unit (Col 29, lines 26-29: “In some embodiments, and with continued reference to FIG. 9, any data, software, and/or firmware that may be usable/storable by flight controller 905 may be exchanged with the recharging station.”), and
[in a state of on-ground charging of the electric aircraft, the control unit], [commands the data transmitter to transmit the inflight data] saved on the data storage unit to a remote receiver (Cols 6-7, lines 64-67 and 1-5: “Computing device 312 may interface or communicate with one or more additional devices as described below in further detail via a network interface device. Network interface device may be utilized for connecting computing device 312 to one or more of a variety of networks, and one or more devices. Examples of a network interface device include, but are not limited to, a network interface card (e.g., a mobile network interface card, a LAN card), a modem, and any combination thereof.”, col 8, lines 34-37: “In some embodiments, computing device 312 may be configured to monitor and track the state of health of the batteries, which is discussed in further detail with regards to FIG. 7 below.” and col 29, lines 26-38: “In some embodiments, and with continued reference to FIG. 9, any data, software, and/or firmware that may be usable/storable by flight controller 905 may be exchanged with the recharging station. In some embodiments, the data exchanged may include flight plans, flight records, current navigational status, and/or commands from the recharging station. In some embodiments, the commands from the recharging station may include commands to alter, steer, or navigate an electric aircraft. In other embodiments, the data exchanged between flight controller 905 and the recharging station may include a battery state of an electric aircraft. In some embodiments, the battery state may be tracked by any battery management system as described above.” and Col 7, lines 22-24: “Computing device 312 may include one or more computing devices dedicated to data storage, security, distribution of traffic for load balancing, and the like.”, col 8, lines 19-24: “In some embodiments, computing device 312 may receive a battery status from electric aircraft 300, either or both while charging the electric aircraft 300 and while electric aircraft 300 is in the air. Computing device 312 may also receive and report health and damage status of electric aircraft 300.”, and cols 8-9, lines 64-67 and 1-3: “In some embodiments, computing device 312 may transfer many forms of data to and from electric aircraft 300, either wired or wirelessly. These forms of data may include, but are not limited to, flight plan updates, software updates, firmware updates, flight records, charge data, weather data, traffic data, or other data, as described in detail below in FIG. 9.”).
Palombini fails to teach [the device comprising]:
and a sensor configured to detect connection of the charging port of the electric aircraft to a ground-side charger and then issue a trigger signal to the control unit,
[in a state of on-ground charging of the electric aircraft, the control unit], on receipt of the trigger signal, [commands the data transmitter to transmit the inflight data].
However, Wiegman teaches [the device comprising]:
and a sensor (SEE FIG. 1, Sensor 132 and Contactor 136) configured to detect connection of the charging port of the electric aircraft to a ground-side charger and then issue a trigger signal to the control unit (Para [0032]: “In one or more embodiments, charging port 100 may include a sensor 132 communicatively connected to charging port 100 and configured to detect a characteristic of charger 116 and/or electric aircraft 104, such as a charging connection between electric aircraft 104 and charger 116. In one or more embodiments, sensor 132 is configured to identify a communication of charging connection. For instance, and without limitation, sensor 132 may recognize that a charging connection has been created between charger 116 and electric aircraft 104 that facilitates communication between charger 116 and electric aircraft 104.”),
[in a state of on-ground charging of the electric aircraft, the control unit], on receipt of the trigger signal, [commands the data transmitter to transmit the inflight data] (Para [0032]: “In one or more embodiments, charging port 100 may include a sensor 132 communicatively connected to charging port 100 and configured to detect a characteristic of charger 116 and/or electric aircraft 104, such as a charging connection between electric aircraft 104 and charger 116. In one or more embodiments, sensor 132 is configured to identify a communication of charging connection. For instance, and without limitation, sensor 132 may recognize that a charging connection has been created between charger 116 and electric aircraft 104 that facilitates communication between charger 116 and electric aircraft 104.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Palombini to incorporate the teachings of Wiegman to provide [the device comprising]: and a sensor configured to detect connection of the charging port of the electric aircraft to a ground-side charger and then issue a trigger signal to the control unit, [in a state of on-ground charging of the electric aircraft, the control unit], on receipt of the trigger signal, [commands the data transmitter to transmit the inflight data] with the Recharging Station For Electric Aircrafts And A Method Of Its Use of Palombini. Doing so enables detecting a characteristic of charger 116 and/or electric aircraft 104, such as a charging connection and identify a communication of charging connection, as recognized by Wiegman (Para [0032]).
Method claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as device claim 1 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope; examiner notes Palombini teaches “A method for wirelessly transmitting inflight data collected from an electrical aircraft to a remote receiver” in cols 8-9, lines 64-67 and 1-2: “In some embodiments, computing device 312 may transfer many forms of data to and from electric aircraft 300, either wired or wirelessly. These forms of data may include, but are not limited to, flight plan updates, software updates, firmware updates, flight records, charge data, weather data, traffic data, or other data, as described in detail below in FIG. 9.”.
In re claim 2, Palombini and Wiegman teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Wiegman further teaches wherein the sensor is a relay (SEE FIG. 1, Sensor 132 and Contactor 136, and para [0034]: “In one or more embodiments, sensor 132 may include one or more sensors. As used in this disclosure, a “sensor” is a device that is configured to detect an input and/or a phenomenon and transmit information related to the detection. For example, and without limitation, a sensor may transduce a detected charging phenomenon and/or characteristic, such as, and without limitation, temperature, voltage, current, pressure, and the like, into a sensed signal. Sensor 132 may detect a plurality of data about charging connection, electric aircraft 104, and/or charger 116. A plurality of data about, for example, charging connection may include, but is not limited to, battery quality, battery life cycle, remaining battery capacity, current, voltage, pressure, temperature, moisture level, and the like. In one or more embodiments, and without limitation, sensor 132 may include a plurality of sensors. In one or more embodiments, and without limitation, sensor 132 may include one or more temperature sensors, voltmeters, current sensors, hydrometers, infrared sensors, photoelectric sensors, ionization smoke sensors, motion sensors, pressure sensors, radiation sensors, level sensors, imaging devices, moisture sensors, gas and chemical sensors, flame sensors, electrical sensors, imaging sensors, force sensors, Hall sensors, and the like. Sensor 132 may be a contact or a non-contact sensor. For instance, and without limitation, sensor 132 may be connected to electric aircraft 104, charger 116, and/or controller 108. In other embodiments, sensor 132 may be remote to electric aircraft 104, charger 116, and/or controller 108. As discussed further in this disclosure below, controller 108 may include a computing device, a processor, a pilot control, a controller, control circuit, flight controller, and the like. In one or more embodiments, sensor 132 may transmit/receive signals to/from controller 108. Signals may include electrical, electromagnetic, visual, audio, radio waves, or another undisclosed signal type alone or in combination.” and para [0038]: “As used in this disclosure, a “contactor” is an electrical component configured to selectively disengage electric communication. In some cases, a contactor may include a switch, a relay…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Palombini and Wiegman to further incorporate the teachings of Wiegman to provide wherein the sensor is a relay with the Recharging Station For Electric Aircrafts And A Method Of Its Use of Palombini as modified by Wiegman. Doing so enables Sensor 132, which may be a contact or a non-contact sensor, and as used in the disclosure, a “contactor” is an electrical component configured to selectively disengage electric communication, as recognized by Wiegman (Paras [0034] and [0038]).
In re claim 3, Palombini and Wiegman teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Wiegman further teaches wherein the sensor is further configured to issue the trigger signal to the control unit continuously while the charging port is connected to the ground-side charger (Para [0063]: “In some cases, sensor 132 may sense a characteristic as an analog measurement, for instance, yielding a continuously variable electrical potential indicative of the sensed characteristic… In one or more embodiments, sensor 132 may sense a characteristic through a digital means or digitize a sensed signal natively.”), the control unit being further configured to command the data transmitter to transmit the inflight data only while in receipt of the trigger signal (Para [0032]: “In one or more embodiments, charging port 100 may include a sensor 132 communicatively connected to charging port 100 and configured to detect a characteristic of charger 116 and/or electric aircraft 104, such as a charging connection between electric aircraft 104 and charger 116. In one or more embodiments, sensor 132 is configured to identify a communication of charging connection. For instance, and without limitation, sensor 132 may recognize that a charging connection has been created between charger 116 and electric aircraft 104 that facilitates communication between charger 116 and electric aircraft 104. For example, and without limitation, sensor 132 may identify a change in current through a connector of charger 116, indicating connector 112 is in electric communication with, for example, port 100 of electric aircraft 104, as discussed further below. Similarly, sensor 132 may identify that a charging connection has been terminated between electric aircraft 104 and electric aircraft 104. For example, and without limitation, sensor 132 may detect that no current is flowing between electric aircraft 104 and electric aircraft 104.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Palombini and Wiegman to further incorporate the teachings of Wiegman to provide wherein the sensor is further configured to issue the trigger signal to the control unit continuously while the charging port is connected to the ground-side charger, the control unit being further configured to command the data transmitter to transmit the inflight data only while in receipt of the trigger signal with the Recharging Station For Electric Aircrafts And A Method Of Its Use of Palombini as modified by Wiegman. Doing so enables sensing a characteristic as an analog measurement yielding a continuously variable electrical potential indicative of the sensed characteristic, indicating connector 112 is in electric communication with port 100 of electric aircraft 104, and identifying that a charging connection has been terminated by detecting no current is flowing between electric aircraft 104 and electric aircraft 104, as recognized by Wiegman (Paras [0063] and [0032]).
In re claim 4, Palombini and Wiegman teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Palombini further teaches wherein the data transmitter is a cellular modem (Cols 6-7, lines 64-67 and 1-5: “Computing device 312 may interface or communicate with one or more additional devices as described below in further detail via a network interface device. Network interface device may be utilized for connecting computing device 312 to one or more of a variety of networks, and one or more devices. Examples of a network interface device include, but are not limited to, a network interface card (e.g., a mobile network interface card, a LAN card), a modem, and any combination thereof.”).
Method claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as device claim 4 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 5, Palombini and Wiegman teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Palombini further teaches wherein at least the control unit, the data storage unit and the data transmitter of the data logging and transmission device are configured as a module that is installable or replaceable as self-contained unit from the aircraft (Col 19, lines 36-54: “Now referring to FIG. 9, an exemplary embodiment 900 of a flight controller 904 is illustrated. As used in this disclosure a “flight controller” is a computing device of a plurality of computing devices dedicated to data storage, security, distribution of traffic for load balancing, and flight instruction. Flight controller 904 may include and/or communicate with any computing device as described in this disclosure, including without limitation a microcontroller, microprocessor, digital signal processor (DSP) and/or system on a chip (SoC) as described in this disclosure. Further, flight controller 904 may include a single computing device operating independently, or may include two or more computing device operating in concert, in parallel, sequentially or the like; two or more computing devices may be included together in a single computing device or in two or more computing devices. In embodiments, flight controller 904 may be installed in an aircraft, may control the aircraft remotely, and/or may include an element installed in the aircraft and a remote element in communication therewith.”).
In re claim 6, Palombini and Wiegman teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Palombini further teaches An electric aircraft having a charging port for on-ground charging of an energy storage system of an electric propulsion system of the aircraft, and the data logging and transmission device of claim 1 (Col 34, lines 1-7: “At step 1104, an electric aircraft placed on the elevated landing pad is connected to the rechargeable component. In one embodiment, the connection between the rechargeable component and the electric aircraft may be wired. In another embodiment, this connection may be wireless. In some embodiments, the connection between the electric aircraft and the rechargeable component may be automated.”).
In re claim 7, Palombini and Wiegman teach all of the limitations of claim 6 stated above where Palombini further teaches A combination of the electric aircraft of claim 6 and a ground-side charger connected thereto at the charging port of the electric aircraft (Col 34, lines 1-7: “At step 1104, an electric aircraft placed on the elevated landing pad is connected to the rechargeable component. In one embodiment, the connection between the rechargeable component and the electric aircraft may be wired. In another embodiment, this connection may be wireless. In some embodiments, the connection between the electric aircraft and the rechargeable component may be automated.”).
Conclusion
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2688 09/29/2026