DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7 and 8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 24, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on February 24, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search for the both the method and apparatus would overlap and would not present a serious burden to examiner both inventions. This is not found persuasive because the search for the apparatus differs from the search for the method and the two inventions are shown to be divergent based on their different classifications.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schroeter (DE 20 2009 016 337 U1)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Schroeter teach a shield plate fabrication apparatus said shield plate fabrication apparatus comprising: a base plate holding shaft (8) for rotatably holding a base plate (7) and winding tape (5) around the base plate (7); and a tension mechanism (4) for applying tension to the tape (5) while it is being wound around the base plate (7). (See Figs. 1, 3; Paragraph [0005] - By unwinding the films from the roll 5 over the holding device 4 onto the plate 7 and repeatedly rotating the plate 7 radially around the rotatable receptacle 8, a multi-layered film is wound onto the plate 7. By moving the holding knob 9 in an axial direction from position 15 to position 16, the film is initially separated into a part from the roll 5. This process simultaneously creates several layers of film with twice the width (short side of plate 7) of the dimensions of the end section. By repeating the process using the second holding button 9, the foil sections are now separated into their final width.)
The limitation of “for fabricating a shield plate of a sample milling apparatus which mills a sample by shielding a part of the sample with the shield plate and irradiating the sample with a charged particle beam,” is viewed as intended use and not considered a limitation of the apparatus. (See MPEP 2111.02 – If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
Regarding claim 4, Schroeter teach an enclosure (3) provided with slots (in 3) for receiving said base plate holding shaft (8); and a shaft hold-down member for holding down said base plate holding shaft in such a way that a force opposite in direction to the tension applied to said tape by said tension mechanism is applied to the tape.(Inherent in Fig. 1 for example)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising a base plate securing spring for pressing said base plate against said base plate holding shaft.
Regarding claim 5, Schroeter teach a base plate securing spring for pressing said base plate against said base plate holding shaft. (Fig. 1 – the spring clamp holding the plate 7)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
Regarding claim 6, Schroeter teach a knob (9) for rotating the base plate holding shaft. (See Paragraph 0005; Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeter (DE 20 2009 016 337 U1) in view of Colson (U.S. Pat. 4,450,027).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein said tension mechanism comprises: a sliding member to which one end of said tape is secured; and a spring connected to the sliding member and applying tension to the tape, and wherein the tape is wound around said base plate from around the other end of the tape by rotating said base plate holding shaft.
Regarding claim 2, Colson teaches a sliding member (93) to which one end of said tape is secured; and a spring connected to the sliding member and applying tension to the tape, and wherein the tape is wound around said base plate from around the other end of the tape by rotating said base plate holding shaft. (Fig. 1)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein said tension mechanism comprises an arm to which one end of said tape is secured, an arm securing shaft to which the arm is rotatably secured, and a spring for biasing the arm in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of said base plate holding shaft when the tape is wound, and wherein the tape is wound around said base plate from around the other end of the tape by rotating the base plate holding shaft.
Regarding claim 3, Colson teach the tension mechanism comprises an arm (142) to which one end of said tape is secured, an arm securing shaft to which the arm is rotatably secured, and a spring (145/148) for biasing the arm in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of said base plate holding shaft when the tape is wound, and wherein the tape is wound around said base plate from around the other end of the tape by rotating the base plate holding shaft. (Fig. 1)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Colson is that it allows for preventing wrinkles. (Column 2 line 15)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Schroeter by utilizing the features of Colson because it allows for preventing wrinkles.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
June 1, 2026