DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits. Claims 1-21 are currently pending and addressed below.
Preliminary amendments filed and received on 12/12/2023 and have been accepted and approved.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-21 in the reply filed on 04/29/2026 is acknowledged. The election/restriction requirement mailed 3/23/2026 is made final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a vacuum source” in line 7 should be corrected to read “the vacuum source”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the vacuum port" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-9, 13-14, 16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Salisbury et al. (US 20200196528 A1), hereinafter Salisbury.
Regarding claim 1, Salisbury teaches:
1. (Original) An end effector for picking produce comprising:
a tube including an opening formed in a distal end portion of the tube (Paragraph 0142, "In operation, when the vacuum generating device 708 turns on and the entire harvesting system 700 moves close to the fruit 100 (e.g., within a predetermined distance such as 1-5 centimeters from the fruit 100), the fruit 100 may swing toward the tube 704. As the tube 704 contacts the fruit 100, the flexible projections 722 may loosely capture the fruit 100. If the flexible projections 722 rotate, the fruit 100 may also rotate along with the flexible projections 722. This combination of the vacuum force and a twisting force at an angle to the abscission axis 114 applied to the fruit 100 may lead to detachment from the stem 104 at the abscission 110.") and a channel extending through the tube, (Paragraph 0140, "Other techniques could be used to rotate the tube 704. FIG. 7B illustrates a perspective view of a cut section of the tube 704, in accordance with an example implementation. In the example implementation of FIG. 7B, the inside diameter of the tube 704 may have ribs 720. Upon application of a vacuum in a direction of arrow 721, the tube 704 may rotate about its longitudinal axis. The ribs 720 may include low height projections and may be made of soft material such that minimal or no damage to the fruit 100 is incurred as the fruit 100 is pulled into the tube 704 by the vacuum.") wherein the tube is configured to be attached to a vacuum source; (Paragraph 0136, "FIG. 7A illustrates a harvesting device or system 700 having a vacuum-based end-effector 702 configured to apply a twist at an angle to the abscission axis 114 of the fruit 100, in accordance with an example implementation. The harvesting system 700 may include two concentric tubes 704 and 706. The tube 704 may rotate within the tube 706, which may remain stationary and coupled to a vacuum generating device 708.") and
one or more detents attached to the tube and extending into the channel, wherein the one or more detents are configured to move between a retracted configuration and an extended configuration to change an area of the channel extending past of the one or more detents. (Paragraph 0141, "In examples, as shown in FIG. 7A, a distal end of the tube 704 may include flexible projections 722 coupled to an interior peripheral surface of the tube 704 and protruding inwardly toward a center of the tube 704. The projections 722 may be attached to the interior peripheral surface of the tube 704 and can rotate as a group as the tube 704 rotates. As illustrated in FIG. 7A, the projections 722 may bend inward if a load is applied to their outside surface facing the fruit 100.")
Regarding claim 5, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Salisbury further teaches:
5. (Original) The end effector of claim 1, wherein the end effector includes a vacuum port, wherein a proximal portion of the channel is axially aligned with the vacuum port. (Paragraph 0136, "FIG. 7A illustrates a harvesting device or system 700 having a vacuum-based end-effector 702 configured to apply a twist at an angle to the abscission axis 114 of the fruit 100, in accordance with an example implementation. The harvesting system 700 may include two concentric tubes 704 and 706. The tube 704 may rotate within the tube 706, which may remain stationary and coupled to a vacuum generating device 708.")
Regarding claim 6, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Salisbury further teaches:
6. (Original) The end effector of claim 1, wherein a transverse dimension of a portion of the channel including the one or more detents is less than a transverse dimension of a portion of the channel located proximal to the one or more detents. (Paragraph 0143, "FIG. 7C illustrates a front view depicting the distal end of the tube 704, in accordance with an example implementation. The projections 722 may be composed of any flexible and soft material such as but not limited to rubber and soft plastic. Other configurations of the projections 722 are possible.")
Regarding claim 8, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Salisbury further teaches:
8. (Original) The end effector of claim 1, further comprising a flexible conduit coupled to the vacuum port, (Paragraph 0230, "The robot arm 1402 is configured to control position of an end-effector 1406, which could include any of the end-effectors discussed above. The robot arm 1402 may be configured to move the end-effector 1406 in position next to a fruit 1407 (e.g., within a predetermined distance such as 1-5 centimeters from the fruit 1407) on a trellis of a tree. The end-effector 1406 is fluidly coupled to a vacuum generating device or system via a vacuum tube 1408. As an example, the vacuum generating device may include a blower 1410 configured to generate a vacuum in the vacuum tube 1408. The vacuum pulls the fruit 1407 off the tree and causes the fruit 1407 to traverse the length of the vacuum tube 1408.") wherein an interior surface of the conduit is smooth. (Paragraph 0140, "Other techniques could be used to rotate the tube 704. FIG. 7B illustrates a perspective view of a cut section of the tube 704, in accordance with an example implementation. In the example implementation of FIG. 7B, the inside diameter of the tube 704 may have ribs 720. Upon application of a vacuum in a direction of arrow 721, the tube 704 may rotate about its longitudinal axis. The ribs 720 may include low height projections and may be made of soft material such that minimal or no damage to the fruit 100 is incurred as the fruit 100 is pulled into the tube 704 by the vacuum.")
Regarding claim 9, Salisbury further teaches:
9. (Original) A produce harvester comprising:
a robotic limb;
a vacuum source;
an end effector configured to pick produce, (Paragraph 0007, “In another aspect, the present disclosure describes a fruit harvesting robotic system. The fruit harvesting robotic system includes: (i) a vacuum generating device; (ii) a robotic arm; and (iii) a harvesting device coupled to the robotic arm. The harvesting device includes: (a) an end-effector having an inlet; (b) a vacuum tube coupled to the inlet of the end-effector and to the vacuum generating device, where the vacuum generating device is configured to generate a vacuum environment in the vacuum tube, and where the inlet of the end-effector has a size that allows fruit of a particular type to pass through the inlet and enter the vacuum environment in the vacuum tube; (c) an outlet mechanism coupled to the vacuum tube, where fruit that has entered the vacuum environment is able to exit the vacuum environment through the outlet mechanism, and (d) a director toggle formed as a bracket having a first plate and a second plate coupled to each other at a junction, where the director toggle is pivotably mounted by five junction to a hinge within the harvesting device, where the director toggle is longitudinally aligned with the vacuum tube, such that fruit that hits exited the vacuum tube impacts either the first plate or the second plate of the director toggle causing the director toggle to rotate about the hinge.”) the end effector comprising:
a tube including an opening formed in a distal end portion of the tube (Paragraph 0142, "In operation, when the vacuum generating device 708 turns on and the entire harvesting system 700 moves close to the fruit 100 (e.g., within a predetermined distance such as 1-5 centimeters from the fruit 100), the fruit 100 may swing toward the tube 704. As the tube 704 contacts the fruit 100, the flexible projections 722 may loosely capture the fruit 100. If the flexible projections 722 rotate, the fruit 100 may also rotate along with the flexible projections 722. This combination of the vacuum force and a twisting force at an angle to the abscission axis 114 applied to the fruit 100 may lead to detachment from the stem 104 at the abscission 110.") and a channel extending through the tube, (Paragraph 0140, "Other techniques could be used to rotate the tube 704. FIG. 7B illustrates a perspective view of a cut section of the tube 704, in accordance with an example implementation. In the example implementation of FIG. 7B, the inside diameter of the tube 704 may have ribs 720. Upon application of a vacuum in a direction of arrow 721, the tube 704 may rotate about its longitudinal axis. The ribs 720 may include low height projections and may be made of soft material such that minimal or no damage to the fruit 100 is incurred as the fruit 100 is pulled into the tube 704 by the vacuum.") wherein the tube is configured to be attached to a vacuum source; (Paragraph 0136, "FIG. 7A illustrates a harvesting device or system 700 having a vacuum-based end-effector 702 configured to apply a twist at an angle to the abscission axis 114 of the fruit 100, in accordance with an example implementation. The harvesting system 700 may include two concentric tubes 704 and 706. The tube 704 may rotate within the tube 706, which may remain stationary and coupled to a vacuum generating device 708.") and
one or more detents attached to the tube and extending into the channel, wherein the one or more detents are configured to move between a retracted configuration and an extended configuration to change an area of the channel extending past of the one or more detents. (Paragraph 0141, "In examples, as shown in FIG. 7A, a distal end of the tube 704 may include flexible projections 722 coupled to an interior peripheral surface of the tube 704 and protruding inwardly toward a center of the tube 704. The projections 722 may be attached to the interior peripheral surface of the tube 704 and can rotate as a group as the tube 704 rotates. As illustrated in FIG. 7A, the projections 722 may bend inward if a load is applied to their outside surface facing the fruit 100.")
Regarding claim 13, where all the limitations of claim 9 are discussed above, Salisbury further teaches:
13. (Original) The produce harvester of claim 9, wherein the end effector includes a vacuum port configured to be attached to the vacuum source, wherein a proximal portion of the channel is axially aligned with the vacuum port. (Paragraph 0136, "FIG. 7A illustrates a harvesting device or system 700 having a vacuum-based end-effector 702 configured to apply a twist at an angle to the abscission axis 114 of the fruit 100, in accordance with an example implementation. The harvesting system 700 may include two concentric tubes 704 and 706. The tube 704 may rotate within the tube 706, which may remain stationary and coupled to a vacuum generating device 708.")
Regarding claim 14, where all the limitations of claim 9 are discussed above, Salisbury further teaches:
14. (Original) The produce harvester of claim 9, wherein a transverse dimension of a portion of the channel including the one or more detents is less than a transverse dimension of a portion of the channel located proximal to the one or more detents. (Paragraph 0143, "FIG. 7C illustrates a front view depicting the distal end of the tube 704, in accordance with an example implementation. The projections 722 may be composed of any flexible and soft material such as but not limited to rubber and soft plastic. Other configurations of the projections 722 are possible.")
Regarding claim 16, Salisbury further teaches:
16. (Original) A method of harvesting produce, the method comprising:
positioning an opening of a channel of an end effector adjacent to a product;
applying a vacuum to the channel of the end effector; (Paragraph 0129, “FIG. 6A illustrates a schematic representation of a vacuum-based harvesting system 600, in accordance with an example implementation. The harvesting system 600 is shown in the vicinity of or within a predetermined distance (e.g., 2 centimeters or a distance in a range between 1 and 5 centimeters) from a targeted fruit 602 growing in a cluster 603 of fruits. An advantage of the vacuum-based harvesting system 600 is that the targeted fruit 602 can be plucked without physical contact between an end-effector 604 and the targeted fruit 602 before or during the process of plucking. As such, the risk of injury to the targeted fruit 602 during plucking is reduced.”)
biasing one or more detents positioned within the channel of the end effector towards an extended configuration with the vacuum; and
moving the one or more detents towards a retracted configuration as the product moves through the channel past the one or more detents. (Paragraph 0141, "In examples, as shown in FIG. 7A, a distal end of the tube 704 may include flexible projections 722 coupled to an interior peripheral surface of the tube 704 and protruding inwardly toward a center of the tube 704. The projections 722 may be attached to the interior peripheral surface of the tube 704 and can rotate as a group as the tube 704 rotates. As illustrated in FIG. 7A, the projections 722 may bend inward if a load is applied to their outside surface facing the fruit 100.")
Regarding claim 19, where all the limitations of claim 16 are discussed above, Salisbury further teaches:
19. (Original) The method of claim 16, wherein applying the vacuum to the end effector includes applying a vacuum to a vacuum port of the end effector, wherein a proximal portion of the channel is axially aligned with the vacuum port. (Paragraph 0136, "FIG. 7A illustrates a harvesting device or system 700 having a vacuum-based end-effector 702 configured to apply a twist at an angle to the abscission axis 114 of the fruit 100, in accordance with an example implementation. The harvesting system 700 may include two concentric tubes 704 and 706. The tube 704 may rotate within the tube 706, which may remain stationary and coupled to a vacuum generating device 708." Examiner Note: These projects are biased towards the center of the cylinder when the vacuum is engaged as well as when the vacuum is not engaged. They move inward as the produce moves down the cylinder.)
Regarding claim 20, where all the limitations of claim 16 are discussed above, Salisbury further teaches:
20. (Original) The method of claim 16, further comprising moving the product into a portion of the channel located proximal to the one or more detents, wherein the portion of the channel proximal to the detents has a transverse dimension that is greater than a transverse dimension of the portion of the channel including the one or more detents. (Paragraph 0143, "FIG. 7C illustrates a front view depicting the distal end of the tube 704, in accordance with an example implementation. The projections 722 may be composed of any flexible and soft material such as but not limited to rubber and soft plastic. Other configurations of the projections 722 are possible.")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 12, 15, 18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salisbury in view of Chi et al. (US 20200246839 A1), hereinafter Chi.
Regarding claim 4, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Salisbury does not specifically teach an opening angled relative to the longitudinal axis. However, Chi, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
4. (Original) The end effector of claim 1, wherein the opening is angled relative to a longitudinal axis of the distal end portion of the end effector. (See Figures 2A and 2B which demonstrate the angled opening at the end of the end effector. Paragraph 0046, "Referring to FIGS. 2A-2B, the apparatus further includes an end-effector 114. The end-effector has an end-effector nozzle with an opening. The end-effector 114 also has a flexible tube 109 facilitating connection of the end-effector 114 to the crop sorter 104. It is contemplated for the flexible tube 109 to have a smooth inner surface. In some embodiments, the end-effector nozzle opening is angled. For instance, the end-effector 114 can have an end-effector nozzle with a first end, a second end, an inner surface, and an outer surface. The flexible tube 109 can be connected to the second end. The first end preferably has the angled opening, which can be any angle that is not perpendicular. For example, the angle can range from 30-degrees to 60-degrees, and in a preferred form is approximately 45-degrees. Of course, other angles and angle ranges are also contemplated (including perpendicular) depending on the crop or object to be garnered.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and methods as taught by Salisbury with the end effector configuration as taught by Chi. This would allow the end effector to get close to the fruit while also preventing the produce from dropping to the ground by providing a surface of the end effector below.
Regarding claim 7, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Salisbury does not specifically teach the produce being tomatoes. However, Chi, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
7. (Original) The end effector of claim 1, wherein the produce includes tomatoes. (Paragraph 0042, "Referring to FIG. 3, the apparatus 100 further includes a crop sorter 104 in connection with the vacuum source 102. The crop sorter 104 is configured to sort crops based on at least one criterion. The crop sorter 104 moves crops (e.g., tomatoes) either in path one or path two. Path one ends inside the hopper 106, which is connected to a conveyor 111 that transfers the tomatoes to a packing cart. Path two ends in the rejection bin 108.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and methods of operation as taught by Salisbury with the ability to harvest tomatoes as taught by Chi. This would allow the system to harvest tomatoes as well as a variety of produce types.
Regarding claim 12, where all the limitations of claim 9 are discussed above, Salisbury does not specifically teach an opening angled relative to the longitudinal axis. However, Chi, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
12. (Original) The produce harvester of claim 9, wherein the opening is angled relative to a longitudinal axis of the distal end portion of the end effector. (See Figures 2A and 2B which demonstrate the angled opening at the end of the end effector. Paragraph 0046, "Referring to FIGS. 2A-2B, the apparatus further includes an end-effector 114. The end-effector has an end-effector nozzle with an opening. The end-effector 114 also has a flexible tube 109 facilitating connection of the end-effector 114 to the crop sorter 104. It is contemplated for the flexible tube 109 to have a smooth inner surface. In some embodiments, the end-effector nozzle opening is angled. For instance, the end-effector 114 can have an end-effector nozzle with a first end, a second end, an inner surface, and an outer surface. The flexible tube 109 can be connected to the second end. The first end preferably has the angled opening, which can be any angle that is not perpendicular. For example, the angle can range from 30-degrees to 60-degrees, and in a preferred form is approximately 45-degrees. Of course, other angles and angle ranges are also contemplated (including perpendicular) depending on the crop or object to be garnered.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and methods as taught by Salisbury with the end effector configuration as taught by Chi. This would allow the end effector to get close to the fruit while also preventing the produce from dropping to the ground by providing a surface of the end effector below.
Regarding claim 15, where all the limitations of claim 9 are discussed above, Salisbury does not specifically teach the produce being tomatoes. However, Chi, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
15. (Original) The produce harvester of claim 9, wherein produce includes tomatoes. (Paragraph 0042, "Referring to FIG. 3, the apparatus 100 further includes a crop sorter 104 in connection with the vacuum source 102. The crop sorter 104 is configured to sort crops based on at least one criterion. The crop sorter 104 moves crops (e.g., tomatoes) either in path one or path two. Path one ends inside the hopper 106, which is connected to a conveyor 111 that transfers the tomatoes to a packing cart. Path two ends in the rejection bin 108.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and methods of operation as taught by Salisbury with the ability to harvest tomatoes as taught by Chi. This would allow the system to harvest tomatoes as well as a variety of produce types.
Regarding claim 18, where all the limitations of claim 16 are discussed above, Salisbury does not specifically teach an opening angled relative to the longitudinal axis. However, Chi, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
18. (Original) The method of claim 16, wherein positioning the opening adjacent to the product includes positioning an angled opening of the end effector adjacent to the product, wherein the angled opening is angled relative to a longitudinal axis of the distal end portion of the end effector. (See Figures 2A and 2B which demonstrate the angled opening at the end of the end effector. Paragraph 0046, "Referring to FIGS. 2A-2B, the apparatus further includes an end-effector 114. The end-effector has an end-effector nozzle with an opening. The end-effector 114 also has a flexible tube 109 facilitating connection of the end-effector 114 to the crop sorter 104. It is contemplated for the flexible tube 109 to have a smooth inner surface. In some embodiments, the end-effector nozzle opening is angled. For instance, the end-effector 114 can have an end-effector nozzle with a first end, a second end, an inner surface, and an outer surface. The flexible tube 109 can be connected to the second end. The first end preferably has the angled opening, which can be any angle that is not perpendicular. For example, the angle can range from 30-degrees to 60-degrees, and in a preferred form is approximately 45-degrees. Of course, other angles and angle ranges are also contemplated (including perpendicular) depending on the crop or object to be garnered.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and methods as taught by Salisbury with the end effector configuration as taught by Chi. This would allow the end effector to get close to the fruit while also preventing the produce from dropping to the ground by providing a surface of the end effector below.
Regarding claim 21, where all the limitations of claim 16 are discussed above, Salisbury does not specifically teach the produce being tomatoes. However, Chi, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
21. (Original) The method of claim 16, wherein the product is tomatoes. (Paragraph 0042, "Referring to FIG. 3, the apparatus 100 further includes a crop sorter 104 in connection with the vacuum source 102. The crop sorter 104 is configured to sort crops based on at least one criterion. The crop sorter 104 moves crops (e.g., tomatoes) either in path one or path two. Path one ends inside the hopper 106, which is connected to a conveyor 111 that transfers the tomatoes to a packing cart. Path two ends in the rejection bin 108.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and methods of operation as taught by Salisbury with the ability to harvest tomatoes as taught by Chi. This would allow the system to harvest tomatoes as well as a variety of produce types.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 10-11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the referencesapplied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations arerepresentative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
/H.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657